Kundenrezensionen


23 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (14)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Simple, Clear Introduction to How Habits Are Formed and Overcome
"For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice." -- Romans 7:19 (NKJV)

This book could have been more aptly titled, "How Can I Stop ________ ?"

The author's purpose seems to be making you more aware of your habitual behaviors, especially the ones that you probably wish you hadn't done just a short time...
Veröffentlicht am 29. Juni 2012 von Donald Mitchell

versus
17 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting yet repetitive
We all have our little habits, some of them most likely of the bad kind, and those are the ones we strive to overcome. If only it would be that simple. In his book The Power Of Habit Charles Duhigg approaches the subject of what habits are and how we can ultimately change them.
Written in an engaging style, with just the right balance of scientific fact and actual...
Veröffentlicht am 5. August 2012 von BLehner


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Simple, Clear Introduction to How Habits Are Formed and Overcome, 29. Juni 2012
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
"For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice." -- Romans 7:19 (NKJV)

This book could have been more aptly titled, "How Can I Stop ________ ?"

The author's purpose seems to be making you more aware of your habitual behaviors, especially the ones that you probably wish you hadn't done just a short time later. Will this book help you to live without regret? No. But it will make you feel better equipped to try.

If you have read anything about neuroscience and habits, you are probably already more knowledgeable than you will be after reading The Power of Habit, which seems to be intended for those new to the subject who would like the simplest possible explanation. And it is a very clear and simple explanation. I admire people who can do that. It's beyond my personal skills.

So what will you learn? In many diagrams, you will see expressed the concept that when we act on cues (a "routine") that give us a reward, we form habits of doing the things that got us the reward the last time we acted on the cue. In other words, Pavlov rang the bell when he fed the dogs. After awhile, he could just ring the bell and the dogs would salivate because they associated the bell with food to soon come. Animal training is often based on the same approach, by providing food when a desired behavior occurs.

You'll also learn a little about how you can overcome such habits in a brief (too brief, to my taste) appendix:

(1)Identify the routine you habitually do.
(2)Experiment with different rewards to replace the one you don't want to seek any more.
(3)Isolate the cue that triggers the routine.
(4)Have a plan to act differently.

As a simple example, if you stuff yourself full of ice cream at night, you would need to find a reward that you like better than ice cream (That will be a challenge, but you'll eventually find one.). If a trip to the refrigerator normally triggers the ice cream eating, you might have a plan that kept you out of the kitchen at night while you were occupied with something you really love doing in a different part of your home (such as painting with water colors in a workroom).

You'll learn a bit of the neurology behind these observations in Part One about individual habits. Keep in mind that the old habit is still in your brain and nervous system. You can only overcome it with a new, stronger habit. Key examples involve how people became consistent at brushing their teeth and how Febreze found a way to attract customers by building on observations of a little ritual people do while cleaning.

Part Two explores organizational change with an example from Alcoa of using safety to lead people to rethink their work habits, a training example from Starbucks, how horrible medical results led Rhode Island Hospital to improve protocols, and ways that Target uses data-mined information about its customers to entice them to spend more money.

Part Three looks at social habits and makes an unusual argument for why the Montgomery bus boycott worked. I wasn't sure that I completely agreed with the analysis, but it's the best example in the book. There's also a brief look at how Saddleback Church uses small groups to encourage its congregants.

The final chapter of this part looks at when we can operate with free will and when we probably can't. The argument is that if we are awake we are able to make choices. Now, there's a big surprise! The chapter distinguishes between compulsive gambling and sleepwalking. Hmmm.

What's the book's biggest weakness? Mr. Duhigg has tunnel vision. Everything fits neatly into his nonfiction thesis. Not! So take what you read with at least a few grains of salt.

The book's biggest potential strength is in providing you with encouragement that you may be able to get rid of some pesky habits that you've struggled with for some time. Good luck!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


17 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting yet repetitive, 5. August 2012
We all have our little habits, some of them most likely of the bad kind, and those are the ones we strive to overcome. If only it would be that simple. In his book The Power Of Habit Charles Duhigg approaches the subject of what habits are and how we can ultimately change them.
Written in an engaging style, with just the right balance of scientific fact and actual examples, you can tell straight away that the author has a journalistic background. This certainly pays off and pulled me right into this fascinating field of social sciences, or more precisely, human behavior.
As much as I enjoyed the first few chapters, it soon became clear that despite the different case studies of individuals, organizations, as well as societies, the core of each chapter was repeating itself over and over again, ultimately becoming redundant. The underlying message that habits cannot be eradicated, but must instead be replaced, and the connection between "cue", "routine" and "reward" haven't just been presented once or twice, but countless times, culminating in a guide to using the ideas presented in the book. You could practically skip the actual book and still get the gist by reading the appendix alone. As much as the narrative swept me along and the deliberations proved to be insightful, I felt that the book in its entirety has been unnecessarily blown up by its length.
In short: Interesting yet repetitive study on habits and how to change them!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Random House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Worst book ever., 8. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do, and How to Change (Kindle Edition)
"The Power of Habit" is probably the worst book I've ever read. I've never read a book containig so much nonsensical repetition and redundancy and so much simplistic pseudo-science in my entire life. The book reminds me of the importance of examining an author's reputation before buying a book. He or she should probably at least have a PhD in his or her field when writing on a topic like neuroscience. The author won a Pulitzer prize? That's hilarious, because his books reads like the homework of a twelve-year-old. Almost 400 pages of incoherent, pseudo-scientific ramblings. The success of this book can only be explained by the fact that it was promoted by The New York Times, where the author works as a journalist.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Intriguing, 23. August 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do, and How to Change (Kindle Edition)
Mostly common sense: but then that is usually the most difficult thing to apply when thinking about oneself and one's habits.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Meisterhafte Beschreibung von Gewohnheiten, 26. August 2014
Charles Duhigg beschreibt in seinem Buch Gewohnheiten von Individuen, von erfolgreichen Firmen und von Gesellschaften. Er deckt dabei versteckte Gewohnheiten auf, die man so nicht ohne weiteres erkannt hätte. Manchmal erscheinem einem die beschriebenen Gewohnheiten fast etwas abstrakt, vor allem wenn es um Gewohnheiten von Firmen und Gesellschaften geht.

Er beschreibt Gewohnheiten, aber auch wie sie entstehen und wie sie verändert werden können. Dabei verwebt er auf unnachahmliche Art verschiedene, teilweise sehr unerwartete Beispiele für Gewohnheiten miteinander. Die größte Stärke des Buches ist die wirklich meisterhafte Erzählung verschiedener Geschichten zur Illustration von Gewohnheiten. Das ist so spannend und interessant, das sich das Buch fast wie ein Thriller liest. Die Beispiele kommen aus dem Football, von den anonymen Alkoholikern und aus der amerikanischen Bürgerrechtsbwegeung, um nur ein paar zu nennen.

Unser Leben wird von Gewohnheiten bestimmt - ohne dass wir es merken. Aber Gewohnheiten können verändert werden. Ein erster Schritt ist sie zu durchschauen. Dazu kann dieses Buch anregen. Aber es wird auch klar gesagt, dass Gewohnheiten nicht so simpel sind wie sie erscheinen und es gibt kein Standardrezept, Gewohnheiten zu verändern.

Man sollte also von diesem Buch keine Anleitung "How to change" erwarten. Man darf aber auf jeden Fall meisterhafte Unterhaltung erwarten.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Freizeitlektüre, 24. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Interessantes Buch über Gewohnheiten wie sie enstehen wie man sie bearbeiten kann und welche Auswirkungen diese haben wenn sie schlechter natur sind. Der Wille ist am Ende stärker als jede Gewonheit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Great book, 20. März 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do, and How to Change (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting book, it investigates the psychology of habits in depth, but in a way that is easy to read. In fact i read this book within five days.
I recommend it to anybody who is interested in how habits work and perhaps want to adjust their own.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Must read!, 22. Februar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Duhigg explains how to change habits on a personal or organizational/ society level by using a lot of examples. The idea is quite simple and well explained. Furthermore, the stories motivate to take action.

After reading this book you understand how to change your habits and how to keep your new habits!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent roadmap to change., 21. Dezember 2013
Based on recognition of habit forming patterns, this book shows how to improve yourself and your company in a significant way. Strongly recommended!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Sehr zu empfehlen! Für jeden!, 25. Oktober 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Dies ist ein super Buch für jedermann/jede Frau! Es ist sehr interessant geschrieben und hat super Tipps für die praktische Anwendung, um schlechte Gewohnheiten loszuwerden und sich gute Gewohnheiten anzueignen.
Wenn ihr dieses Buch gelesen habt, werdet ihr viele Situationen im Alltag aus einem anderen Blickwinkel sehen.
Sehr zu empfehlen!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen