Kundenrezensionen


174 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (110)
4 Sterne:
 (40)
3 Sterne:
 (12)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen enjoyable book
I really enjoyed reading this book. When you start reading you have to get used to the style of writing. I first saw the movie and was amazed how detailed the movie is even if they changed some things. The book is definitely better than the movie!!
Also for me with German as my mother tongue and English as my second language I needed some time to understand...
Veröffentlicht am 21. Oktober 2010 von little-billie

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen A brief description of the plot and analysis of characters
Throughout Alice Walker's The Color Purple Celie, the main character, undergoes several changes brought about by her contact with other people. Her Pa or who turned out to be her stepfather was a major influence in her life - not good, though, but bad influence. He abused her physically by raping her and left her to take care of her siblings as a surrogate mother even...
Am 4. Mai 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen enjoyable book, 21. Oktober 2010
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. When you start reading you have to get used to the style of writing. I first saw the movie and was amazed how detailed the movie is even if they changed some things. The book is definitely better than the movie!!
Also for me with German as my mother tongue and English as my second language I needed some time to understand everything. I wouldn't recommend this book to people just beginning to learn English.
It's a great book that shows the tragic life of Ceilie and everyone that has a bit of interest to a part of american histroy will definitely enjoy this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Nachdenklich stimmend!, 20. Juni 2005
In "The Color Purple" schildert Alice Walker eine nachdenklich stimmende Lebensgeschichte der schwarzen Amerikanerin Celie. In Briefen - zuerst an Gott und später an ihre Schwester Nettie - erfährt der Leser das bedrückende Schicksals Celies. Geprägt von der Mißhandlung durch Männer sucht Celie Zuflucht in der Freundschaft zu Shug Avery, die Celie letztlich hilft, aus dem Netz der Mißhandlung und Abhängigkeit auszubrechen.
Alice Walker hat zweifellos mit diesem Werk einen wichtigen literarischen Beitrag gestaltet zur englischsprachigen emanzipatorischen Literatur geleistet.
LeserInnen, welche nicht dingfest im Englischen sind, würde ich allerdings die deutsche Übersetzung ans Herz lesen, denn Celie charakterisiert sich nämlich auch durch den Schreibstil in ihren Briefen. Abweichungen vom Standardenglisch, Slangwörter und ungrammatikalische Ausdrücke zeigen den verschlossen gebliebenen Zugang Ceilies zu formeller Bildung an. Andernfalls laufen LeserInnen Gefahr, den Facettenreichtum des Romans nicht gänzlich zu erfassen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen A brief description of the plot and analysis of characters, 4. Mai 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Color Purple (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Throughout Alice Walker's The Color Purple Celie, the main character, undergoes several changes brought about by her contact with other people. Her Pa or who turned out to be her stepfather was a major influence in her life - not good, though, but bad influence. He abused her physically by raping her and left her to take care of her siblings as a surrogate mother even when she was but a child. He didn't even tell her that he wasn't her real Pa, or that her children were alive.
The second man in her life was even worse in some ways - her husband, Mr.______ or Albert whom she married, but she really was bought - he got a cow with the deal. He abused her not only physically by beating her but he also abused her verbally by calling her names while working her to the bone. He kept her under his thumb with these tactics. These two men left her subdued and passive, who acquiesced and gave in rather than put up a fight. She became emotionally dead with this suppression of her personality of who she was - she was just a person who cooks and cleans and takes care of the children without any consideration given to her. Even a horse who has worked hard and loyally for its master gets to enjoy freedom and relaxation, but not Celie. She is treated worse than an animal.
However this changes with the coming of two women into her life - Sophia and Shug Avery. Sophia, wife of Harpo, was a strong willed women both physically and emotionally, also as stubborn as a mule. When Sophia first arrived Celie became jealous of her as she waw how much in love she and Harpo were in and no matter how difficult life became they were truly happy - something Celie thought she could never have. So when Harpo came to her for advice on how to deal with Sophia, Celie said, "Beat her". And he did. When Sophia found out that Celie had told him to beat her, she rushed to Celie and demanded to know what she was doing to her marriage and said, "All my life I had to fight ... but never did I think that I would have to fight in my own home". The realization of what she had done to Sophia came to her and from then on Celie and Sophia were fast friends. Sophia's courage to fight for her rights with Harpo, Mr.______ and the Mayor taught Celie to stand up in the face of adversity not crumble. And later on in the book she does stand up to Albert.
Shug Avery was the one person in her life who affected Celie the most in her life. Shug had held a fascination for Celie ever since Celie first saw her picture which had fallen out Albert's pocket. When Shug first arrived she was very sick and was practically at death's doorstep. Celie through clever manipulation brought Shug from the very jaws of death, metaphorically speaking. Slowly but steadily their friendship grew until the time when they went to bed together. That was when Celie unburdened herself and told Shug her life story. When Celie told Shug her about her Pa who raped her and had two children by Shug said, "You're still a virgin then" and Celie replied, "I guess I still am". By these small acts of listening and other small acts of kindness and love, the first Celie had known for a long time - not since her sister Nettie went away, Celie broke out her shell of isolation. Shug brought Celie back not only emotionally and physically but also sexually and religiously. It was as though Celie was reborn as a different person. A person who not only had the courage to tell Albert off and stabbed his hand with a knife, but someone who left her husband to go with Shug to Memphis to start a sort of pant factory there with two girls working under her.
Celie wasn't the only one in The Color Purple who underwent changes in personality - Albert became more the kind of person who Celie could grow to love - caring, loving and who helps her. Sophia changed from strong willed to pathetic in her old age as she became more like Celie of old - subdued and passive from her long stay in prison and as a servant, a change that was the direct opposite of the change Celie underwent. These changes in Celie and others through their interaction with others were akin to the ever changing shoreline, which, under the influence of others is being altered and transformed constantly. The changes that Celie underwent are aptly surmised by Alice Walker's poem "Remember". At first Celie was, "the girl holding their babies cooking their meals sweeping their yards washing their clothes Dark and rotting and wounded, wounded". But after meeting and befriending Shug she becomes, "the woman: Dark repaired, healed". In the end the woman that Celie turns out to be, is confident, resolute and healed from the scars left from her childhood.
This was not an exceptional book nor did it have an original plot but it did do a very good job of the portrayal of characters and their reactions to their surroundings and other stimuli. Therefore, the two characteristics of the book in my mind tend to even out thus it received an average scoring.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A colourful tale, 23. Dezember 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Color Purple. (Phoenix) (Taschenbuch)
It began with Celie. Writing letters to God. Under the strong instruction from her father never to tell anyone but God about his abuse, that is who Celie turns to.
This book is written in the form of correspondence, an exchange of letters that as often as not doesn't end up being read by the intended readers for most of a lifetime.
There is abuse, child abuse, sexual abuse, pain that no one should have to go through. They go through it. Celie is a strong enough person to realise that her father might not stop with her, and feels protective of her younger sister.
'Sometime he still be looking at Nettie, but I always git in his light. Now I tell her to marry Mr. _____. I don't tell her why. I say Marry him, Nettie, an try to have one good year out your life. After that, I know she be big.'
Celie delivered children of her father, children who were cast away, presumably dead (although Celie has the intuition to know better).
Celie put up with separation from loved ones, and a loveless, unfaithful marriage, playing second-fiddle to a more flamboyant mistress, Shug Avery. And Celie was raised not to know she deserved better.
She deserved better.
Shug Avery ironically was one who helped teach her that. There was a friendship beyond words that developed, a realisation of humanity and caring beyond the abuses of the world; Shug was neglected by her father, a pain that cut her almost as deep as Celie's pain.
But Celie found out something. Alphonso, her Pa, wasn't her Pa--he was a step. The children weren't to be shunned. The worst sin was mitigated just a bit.
And Celie and Nettie found out more. The land and house belonged to them, not to 'Pa', but rather their real daddy, who left it to them and their mother.
This is a painful story. It is a hopeful story. The courage of the women against family and societal tyranny is strong, but the courage against their own fears and shortcomings is even stronger.
Now, you may be asking, what right does a white man have in reviewing this kind of book? White people are very peripheral in the story, never central, never figuring more than just side characters, and not very human ones at that. I review this book in the hopes that it will be more widely read by those of every colour, as it gives insight into a different side of the human condition that is so far beyond my experience that, without this book, I would never have realised such things are possible.
Such despair. Such longing. Such courage. Such victory.
God is present even in the pain, even in the absence, and Celie resists (much more than I would, or indeed do in less severe circumstances) to judge God. She may be angry at times, but always faithful in her own way.
She believes in her family, even when it isn't deserved. She believes in herself in the end, when it is needed.
The Color Purple -- what does that mean? This is the symbol of God. The royal colour, the sign that all can see, that God is present and has a plan for beauty. This story is beautiful, even in its darkest moments.
'Well, us talk and talk bout God, but I'm still adrift. Trying to chase that old white man out of my head. I been so busy thinking bout him I never truly notice nothing God make. Not a blade of corn (how it do that?) not the color purple (where it come from?). Not the little wildflowers. Nothing.'
Celie learns to see. Learns to love. Even to forgive a little. She finds the love of God in her family.
I am richer for having read this story. I think everyone would be.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Colorful Story, 10. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Color Purple (Taschenbuch)
The Color Purple, written by Alice Walker, is an emotional story of an African American woman's journey through an unbearable life which teaches women to unite in order to find strength and happiness. The main character, Celie, journeys through many different abusive relationships to discover who she really is and to find the strength she possesses. However, until she discovers her hidden strength, she allows herself to be physically and mentally abused, first by her father, and then later by her husband. Two independent women enter her life and help her to see past her feelings of self worthlessness and discover her own beauty. She discovers that life is not a matter of simply existing, but rather, it is about enjoying living. This book may be hard for some readers who are especially sensitive, because it is very graphic. It deals with sexuality, rape, homosexuality and offensive language. It is easy to read because it is divided into short diary entries and letters, but the language and dialect can be somewhat confusing. Also, the story seems to drag on and on. I liked the ending because everything ties together, but it almost seems to end too perfectly and unrealistically. Celie goes from being a weak, submissive wife to Albert at the beginning to a his equal at the end just because she has become a stronger person. Albert's personality doesn't seem as if it would permit this drastic change. In addition, Celie's long lost sister suddenly appears on her front porch. It's a good book with a powerful story, but if you have a choice, watch the movie instead.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Color Purple: Guidline to Staying Alive, 7. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Color Purple (Taschenbuch)
_The Color Purple_ by Alice Walker provides an outstanding story of a woman's journey through an unbearable life which teaches women to understand how to achieve true happiness. The main character, Celie, journys through many different, but abusive, relationships to find herself and her own happiness. However, until she finds her own strength as a woman, she allows herself to be both physically and mentally beaten down. Examples of both independent and needy women and men help Celie on her hard journey of realization. I enjoyed this look into the journey to become a strong individual. I have never read a book as realistic as _The Color Purple_ in describing the survival of one who could have so easily given up. Celie's final state of mind portays an almost idealistic example of being happy with oneself. I would definetaly recomend this book to anyone, unless they do not wish to read about some disturbing abusive and sexual situations. The treatment of women and thier place in society were the only things that made me feel uneasy while I was reading. If you like this book then you should try reading Zora Neale Hurston's _Thier Eyes Were Watching God_.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen It was puzzling and compelling, 12. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Color Purple (Taschenbuch)
The Color Purple, by Alice Walker, takes place in the south, in the early twentieth century, and spans thirty years in the life of Celie, a poor southern black woman. When her stepfather warns her that, "You better not never tell nobody but God," Celie pregnant again, begins letters addressed to God, written in black folk speech, that record details of her difficult times growing up. The book moves forward by means of Celie's letters to God and to her sister, Nettie, who Celie thinks is dead. The letters exchanged by the sisters are never delivered or are "found" too late for a response. As the novel develops, Celie learns to love and her observations even include a description of the color purple. The storytelling style of The Color Purple makes the book hard to put down. The tragic tale of incest, misguided love, lesbianism and violence is not for the young at heart but for those mature enough to see what matters in The Color Purple is that everybody has possibilities on the on the inside. Celie has a right to participate in the celebration of life and to honor the pleasure of living.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen This book is revealing and too graphic for teens., 15. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Color Purple (Taschenbuch)
While I found this story warm and sensitive, I also believe it is too detailed for young adults. Teenagers have a hard enough time trying to avoid sexual fantasies without reading the graphic situations presented in this book that can only cause more mental images of sexual situations that are improper, some illegal, and certainly far from encouraging abstinence. Adults, read this book and learn from it; teens, this book presents unhealthy relationships that you should avoid.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Poetic and moving, 6. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Color Purple (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
The story of a simple, hard life of tow sisters, told in letters between the two - I could hardly put it down, although I had seen the movie years before (I'm not sure but I think the movie has only a part of the story).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen tolles buch!, 12. Januar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich musste das Buch für meinen Englisch Referat lesen, und ich muss sagen: Das Buch soll einfach mal gelesen werden!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Color Purple (English Edition)
EUR 6,29
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen