Kundenrezensionen


15 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (8)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting ideas, enjoyable writing
I really liked the series. After finishing Avogadro Corp, I definetly wanted to read the other two books.

"Avogadro Corp" - the first book in the series is a plausible near-future scenario, describing the emergence of the first human-level (and later beyond) AI and humanities reaction to it.

"A.I. Apocalypse" is set a little further in the future and...
Vor 10 Monaten von Binarystar veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Mittelmäßige SciFi
Ich hatte mir die Kindle-Version für den Sommerurlaub in die Strandtasche gepackt. Recht realistisch geschrieben, aber nicht wirklich überaschend oder packend. Flache Charaktere.
Vor 11 Monaten von Florian Matthes veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting ideas, enjoyable writing, 25. September 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I really liked the series. After finishing Avogadro Corp, I definetly wanted to read the other two books.

"Avogadro Corp" - the first book in the series is a plausible near-future scenario, describing the emergence of the first human-level (and later beyond) AI and humanities reaction to it.

"A.I. Apocalypse" is set a little further in the future and continues the story. It tells us about a new and different kind of AI emerging from a different source and how it (very rapidly) evolves and interacts with humanity and the AI from the first book. There is also intense and breathtaking action.

"The Last Firewall" is set further in the future still, although two characters from the first book give continuity throughout the series. The third part develops ideas further: How will humanity and AIs develop and coexist? There are some battles in cyberspace, which introduce interesting ideas about fighting in cyberspace.

Overall, I liked the ideas - the reason why I read SF, and I also liked the writing. The action-scene in A.I. Apocalypse was fascinating to me and really justifies using the title "A.I. Apocalypse", which I found a little silly aside from that. I think, these books are not so much about the relationships between people though. I didn't expect that and didn't miss it.

There is only one thing I didn't like: I read the kindle versions and there were some missing words and other errors here and there. That is irritating to me and feels sloppy.

If you ignore that: Great books! I'm happy I read them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Mittelmäßige SciFi, 1. September 2013
Von 
Florian Matthes (München) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Ich hatte mir die Kindle-Version für den Sommerurlaub in die Strandtasche gepackt. Recht realistisch geschrieben, aber nicht wirklich überaschend oder packend. Flache Charaktere.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen No, but no., 31. Dezember 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoy sci-fi and near-term future scenarios such as the "singularity". Amazon kept recommending the book based on other authors I've read, and when the Kindle edition was featured for 0.00 EUR, I thought this might be a good time to start the series.

I was hugely disappointed. This might be an acceptable first novel, but it is in need of a serious rewrite.

Cardboard cut-outs would have more character than the protagonists. They are completely flat and predictable, and inconsistent, and make really, really dumb mistakes. There is a lot of telling instead of creating and taking the reader along (my 'favorite': "The thirty second video was incredible impressive." Uhm. Why?). Some plot devices are incredibly far fetched - such as the reasoning why they suddenly end up with weaponized data centers on the high seas. Of course the one person who insists on printing everything on paper (which, wink, wink!, never lies!) will spot it. It's all so ... obvious. There are no surprises. The book also loses itself in hero and Portland worship.

I read significantly over a hundred books per year. I was unable to finish this one. It felt like a huge waste of time and I wanted to shout at the author.

The only reason why I'm giving 2 instead of 1 star is that I paid no more than the book was worth. I'll not be continuing the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Fesselndes Buch, 10. Juli 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Echt empfehlenswert! Avogadro ist in diesem Buch eine Firma wie Google. W. Hertling beschreibt in einer spannenden Story wo es noch hingehen könnte in der Zukunft in einer stark vernetzten Welt...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Gripping, believable, terrifying!, 19. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Ingredients for changing the face of the world: a piece of sophisticated software developped for an innocuous purpose, embellished with some freak features never meant to be seriously used, created by programmers playing around. A project manager under pressure, crossing a few lines to save his pet project from being scrapped, rashly plugging it online. All that happening in the world's biggest internet service provider company. No conspiracy, not even seriously bad intent anywhere.

Though I've read stories that were more fun to read and also better written, this one is extremely compelling because of its realism. It's so easy to imagine that something similar could happen the day after tomorrow - or maybe it already happened last Tuesday.
Just now, going online to post my review, I saw a headline: 'Facebook temporarily offline worldwide'.
Scrapping a virus, Mark?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Brilliante Ideen, etwas platte Charaktere, spannende Story, 6. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Das definitv beste an dieser Geschichte sind die technischen Einfälle. Die sind immer so präzise geschildert, dass man sich als Programmierer denkt, "doch, so könnte das gehen!". Man fragt sich, wann genau die geschilderte Story real umgesetzt wird. ;)
Auch die Wendungen und Wirrungen sind genau die Art von Abkürzungen und Unfällen, die auch exakt so in der Wirklichkeit passieren. Man merkt, hier schreibt jemand, der sich mit der Software-Industrie auskennt.

Die Story an sich bleibt immer spannend, ich hatte das Buch sehr schnell durchgelesen.

Nur 4 Sterne gibt es, weil die Charaktere zwar durchaus realistisch sind, aber es fehlt ihnen einfach etwas an Persönlichkeit. Das stört zwar nicht unbedingt, aber es fällt im Kontrast zum Rest vom Buch schon auf. Mehr Hintergrund hätte auch dazu geführt, dass das Buch etwas länger gewesen wäre. ;)

Aber gleich vorweg, Hertling steigert sich auf jeden Fall noch in den Nachfolgebänden, insbesondere auch bei der Charakterentwicklung!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Second Book, 31. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
The introduction of an AI to our lives with doubtful loyalty to our present way of existing. I recommend all Hertling's books!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Story, 20. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This is an exciting story which has been described very realistically. I enjoyed reading it and sure I will read more from this author.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen what technology can technology will do, 21. April 2014
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
clever without too mucg techno babble w. hertling provides a believable scenario. i had to read the book during a long long day. could not lay it down...an absolute recommendation.hopefully the coders of today do not forget to implement some robotic law......
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Klasse Buch, 15. Februar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series Book 1) (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Ich habe dieses Buch quasi verschlungen, wie auch schon alle anderen Bücher dieses Autors.
Ich freue mich auf alle weiteren Bücher von William Hertling.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen