Fashion Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Philips Multiroom Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip NYNY

Kundenrezensionen

3,7 von 5 Sternen10
3,7 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. August 2014
I disliked this book. Yes, that's right. I didn't like a book, which happens rarely. So prepare for a review that's a little different then usually, because I just cannot write this review in my normal style. It's my first review with such a rating so bare with me on this one.

Let's start from the beginning.

Meet Anna - the ultimate good girl. So sweet, innocent and naive that it actually makes her seem as unrealistic as a talking chair. But, Anna is not only overly perfectly good, no, she also happens to have super powers. Anna can see people’s emotions, which more or less works like those mood rings that I'm sure each and every one of us had at some point when we were kids. Only that it's not in ring form but rather like an aura. But that's not all. Anna can also hear everything in the radius of one mile, see and smell amazingly. Saint Anna also happens to never every lie - except once, on purpose, and let's be real, that was the lamest lie ever.
Besides Anna, there's also Kaiden about whom Anna said the following: “He was smoking hot. As in H-O-T-T, hott. I’d never understood until that moment why girls insisted on adding an extra t. This guy was extra-t-worthy.” I'm not kidding. And she also said: "Kai, like Thai, only yummier!". Kaiden also happens to be the drummer in a rock band and also has one of those English accents. Now why doesn't that surprise me at all. By the way, Kaiden also has that mood aura superpower going, more or less like Anna.

But I didn't tell you the 'best' part about them yet ... they are related to angels. Yes, angels. Kaiden's dad happens to be the Duke of Lust and Anna's the Duke of Substance Abuse, which totally explains why Anna feels a pull toward both alcohol and drugs. So, them being the kids of these Dukes means that they are supposed to do their daddies dirty work. In Kaiden's case this means he is supposed to have sex with random girls and ruin their lives which he treats and calls his 'work', which is just straight out wrong if you ask me. Each time he excused himself to go and 'work' I felt like throwing my copy of the book across the room.

“Good gracious, he was sexy—a word that had not existed in my personal vocabulary until that moment. This guy was sexy like it was his job or something.”

Unfortunately that isn't all, Anna's adoptive mother, Patti, also happens to be the most irresponsible parent out there. Patti wouldn't allow Anna to go to a Party without calling the parents of whoever throws the party to make sure adults will be there, but she lets her daughter go on a road-trip with a seventeen year old boy, who I repeat is the son of lust, across the country. Sure, sounds like something that every logically thinking parent would do, right? No. Especially because the first time Anna told Patti about Kaiden, Patti told Anna to stay the hell away from him.

Also, Sweet Evil put's an extreme emphasis upon the fact that Anna is a virgin and should in every case possible stay that way, which makes sense because she just turned sixteen, but the way this topic is discussed is just mildly disturbing.

The LOVE part of Sweet Evil - I saw it coming. I knew it would happen at some point but it still make me want to stop reading. Of course Anna and Kaiden have to fall for each other. Big time. And it's all put out there in the most cheesy and predictable way possible. Okay, this entire book is predictable but oh well. And the author also introduces another male who will join in so they can form the thing we all love most - a love triangle.

The 'plot' of Sweet Evil caused me to dislike the book even more then the exaggerated main characters. Higgins unfortunately didn't succeed in creating a angel/demon story which would captivate me. The plot just went from one pointless thing to another and the narrative was horrible. Sometimes I just couldn't stop myself from face palming at the ridiculous things Anna thinks or does. A lot of the interactions between the characters seemed awkward and made me as reader feel uncomfortable. The way the story moved from point A to point B seemed to lack any logic, which makes me wonder if Higgins even really considered putting more thought into it or if she just went along with it. Here are two examples:
Anna's dad is in jail, but he is needed out of it right about now, how handy that he happens to have a parole hearing coming up!
Or, there's also the thing that neither Anna nor Kaiden are adults, so they cannot rant a room in a motel on their way to California. The solution? Let's just make Kaiden a emancipated minor.
See my point?

The last two chapters also just put the dot above the ‘i’ for me. They were straight out horrible and made the cringe all the way through both of them. The ending was awful and kind of obvious.
One thing I almost forgot which made me laugh was that in the second to last chapter Higgins makes one of the characters say a sentence in German. As German speaker I felt more than confused by what she was trying to say because the sentence was neither a real sentence nor grammatically correct in any sort of way, which makes me wonder if she just used google translate. If you want your characters to speak in foreign languages, at least put in enough effort so the sentence is correct and doesn't just look fancy to everybody who doesn't speak that language.

Anyway, all in all, I guess it's obvious that I really didn't enjoy this read. For me the whole package - characters, plot, and mythology - just did not work. Who knows, maybe it's because I don't dig the whole angel/demon genre. I don't know. Maybe if you like that, this book may be for you, but it most definitely was not my cup of tea.

I give Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins 1 out of 5 Stars.
0Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. September 2014
Anna ist sehr christlich aufgewachsen: in einem Nonnenstift geboren, adoptiert von einer alleinerziehenden Mutter mit starken Bindungen zur Kirche ist sie nicht gerade eines der populären Kinder in der Schule.
Dazu kommt, dass sie die Gefühle anderer in Farben um die Menschen herum sehen kann. Ihre Sinne sind auch viel stärker als bei jedem Normalsterblichen - und wir reden hier von Superman-artig.
Trotz allem ist sie ein normaler Teenie: sie geht mit ihrem besten Freund zu Konzerten und hat die gleichen Sorgen, wie alle.
Auf einem der Konzerte lernt sie den Drummer der Band Kaidan kennen, der ihr seltsame Fragen stellt. Einige Tage später sieht sie ihn auf einer Party wieder und er fängt an ihr Dinge über ihre Fähigkeiten zu erzählen. Sie sind Kinder von Dämonen, gefallene Engel, die sich einer der Todsünden verschrieben haben und ihre Kinder für sich arbeiten lassen. Kaidans Vater ist der Dämon der Lust. Dementsprechend manipulativ kann Kaidan sein, wenn es um Annas Jungfrälichkeit geht.
Aber auch wenn er der Sohn des Dämons der Lust ist, hat er nicht viel Erfahrungen mit der Liebe gemacht - im Gegensatz zu Anna, die davon immer viel erfahren hat und auch eine Menge zu vergeben hat.
Im Laufe der Geschichte lernt Anna ihren Vater, den Dämon der Sucht kennen und gerät immer tiefer in die Gesellschaft der Dämonen.

Erste Lehre aus dem Buch: eine gesunde Kindheit mit viel Liebe ist gut beim Kampf gegen Süchte! :-)

Mir gefällt die Welt, die hier aufgebaut wird. Es macht Sinn und bis jetzt sind keine logischen Fehler zu erkennen. Selbst Kaidans kalt-heiß Verhalten macht Sinn. Und man hat immer gerade genug Zweifel an ihm, um ihm nicht zu trauen.

Es gab nur eine Sache, über die ich mich schrecklich aufgeregt habe: es gab einen einzigen Satz auf Deutsch in diesem Buch und der machte komplett keinen Sinn. Man weiß zwar, was gesagt werden sollte, aber es hat mich richtig sauer gemacht. Vor allem, weil Harper Collins keine kleine Klitsche ist und wohl irgendwoher jemanden hätte auftreiben können, der einen simplen Satz übersetzt. Stattdessen hat man offensichtlich eine Übersetzungssoftware genommen. Grrrrr - hatten wohl gedacht, dass liest sowieso keiner aus Deutschland?

Aber das wird mich nicht davon abhalten den nächsten Band zu lesen. ich denke, Kobal wird nicht wieder auftreten oder etwas auf Deutsch von sich geben ...
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Januar 2016
Der Plot ist simpel. Unschuldiges Teenager-Mädchen (Anna) mit nahezu unerschütterlichem Werte-Rahmen (christlich aber nicht bieder) trifft auf den "Bad-Boy" (Kaidan Rowe, Rockmusiker und natürlich wahnsinnig gutaussehend), der sie in Versuchung führt und ihre Welt (und ihr Herz) erschüttert - und umgekehrt. Eine Liebesgeschichte, die nicht sein darf, weil die äußeren Umstände es nicht erlauben. „Romeo und Julia“ eingebettet in ein christliches-Engel-Dämonen-Setting, was den Rahmen für "Gut" und "Böse" eindeutig vorgibt.
Was gefällt, ist, dass die gesamte Geschichte in sich sehr gut konstruiert ist und deshalb so gut funktioniert. Die Entwicklung der Figuren ist plausibel, gut verwoben in die Handlung, nicht in die Länge gezogen und die Klischees werden als solche thematisiert und problematisiert (z.B. das „Good-Girl-Syndrom“), weshalb sie dadurch nicht nur erträglich werden, man kann sich sogar richtig reinfallen lassen. Man erfährt immer genau so viel, wie man wissen muss, um ungeduldig weiter lesen zu wollen.

Sweet Evil ist der erste Teil einer Trilogie. Anna Whitt ist hier 16 Jahre alt und hat ihr bisheriges Leben unbescholten und unter den beschützenden Augen ihrer Adoptivmutter Patti verbracht. Schnell wird klar, dass Anna so normal gar nicht ist. Sie hat besondere Fähigkeiten, die ihr Leben allerdings nicht erleichtern: Ihre fünf Sinne sind ausgeprägter als bei anderen Menschen. Sie kann besser sehen, hören, fühlen, riechen und die Auras der Menschen um sie herum sehen. Ihr Leben ändert sich, als sie auf den Schlagzeuger einer Rockband, Kaiden Rowe, trifft, der keine Aura hat und von dem sie vom ersten Augenblick an fasziniert und gefesselt ist, was auf Gegenseitigkeit beruht. Er ist ihr Gegenpol in jeder Hinsicht. Wo sie das Licht verkörpert, verkörpert er die Dunkelheit. Über ihn erfährt sie, wer sie wirklich ist: Die Tochter eines Dämons, eines gefallenen Engels, ein Nephilim, kurz Neph, dazu verdammt auf Erden ihren bösen Vätern zu dienen und die Menschen zu verführen, Böses in jeglicher Hinsicht zu tun. 12 Sünden werden von 12 Dukes auf Erden verkörpert, denen ein Heer von körperlosen Dämonen sowie ihre Nachkommen zur Verfügung stehen, ihre jeweilige sündenhafte Spezialität unter die Menschen zu bringen. Im Falle von Kaidan ist es die „Lust“. Der Job des jungen Mannes, zu dem sich Anna so hingezogen fühlt, ist also nichts anderes, als Herzen zu brechen und die Unschuld zu rauben. Alle Neph dienen ihren Väter, ob sie wollen oder nicht. Folgen sie diesem Ruf nicht, werden sie bestraft, nicht selten mit dem Tod. Anna ist ein nie dagewesenes Phänomen. Weder kennt sie ihren Vater, noch muss sie arbeiten. Außerdem verrät ihre dämonische Markierung, dass sie noch mehr ist, als die Tochter ihres Vaters... Im Gegensatz zu ihren Leidensgenossen ist sie die Reinheit und Liebenswürdigkeit in Person, die in ihrem Handeln versucht, den Menschen in ihrer Umwelt zu helfen. Sie verkörpert ein Sehnsucht, die Kaidan in sich bisher unterdrückt hat, zu der er sich gleichermaßen hingezogen und abgestoßen fühlt, weil er dieses Leben niemals haben wird.

Im ersten Band der Trilogie wird Anna in die Welt der Dämonen und Nephs eingeführt, lernt ihren Vater und ihre Wurzeln kennen und muss erkennen, dass ihr Leben von Kräften beeinflusst wird, die sie nicht lenken kann. All das, was sie sich für ihr Leben erträumt hat, wird niemals Realität werden. Einziger Lichtblick in dieser neuen, gefährlichen Welt ist Kaidan, doch es wird schnell klar, dass auch eine Beziehung zu ihm nicht sein darf. Sie wäre für beide viel zu gefährlich – und würde darüber hinaus nicht nur geliebte andere Menschen, sondern die große, höhere Bestimmung Annas gefährden, die sich zum Ende des ersten Teils immer mehr herauskristallisiert.

Die einzelnen Romane sind in sich abgeschlossen, obgleich man sogleich zum nächsten Band greifen möchte, um zu wissen, wie es weitergeht.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. März 2013
SWET EVIL is so forbiddingly well written that I can't imagine anyone ever setting this book aside for more than a few minutes after starting it. Well, I needed to for bathroom and kitchen breaks, but believe me, I would have read straight on from beginning to end if that was possible.

Anna is one heroine I could almost 100 % identify with. A very rare occurance. She's the good girl, shy and very emotional about everything.
That Anna is one of a kind adds thrill and curiosity to the story. She is angel and demon all at once. Having an angelic mother and a demonic father. Everything's new to her and she has yet to find her destiny and place in life. How evil does she have to be to survive the Dukes constant supervision and how much evil might kill the goodness that makes her the person she is?

Kaidan, our male protagonist, is pure dynamite. Erasing every other book boy from my dreams. Well, as the son of Pharzuph he knows how it's done. Ladies, get ready to be expertly seduced! Kaidan Rowe is attractive, sexy and even if he would never admit it, he has a heart and is very capable of using his brain and not only..yeah, you know.

The contrast between Anna and Kaidan is enormous at first look. He is the bad boy, having to have as much sex as possible to please his demonic father of lust. Anna is the angelic good girl. You'll see them being together is an explosive combination. Anna will be tested and also Kaidan has to face who he really is.
I like how much Wendy Higgins extracts from her characters and gifts to us readers. Her characters are made of awesome!

There was one teeny tiny thing that bugged me though. Wendy Higgings incorporated a few German sentences, which I really appreciate. More foreign languages in YA English books, please! But somehow the phrase got mixed up and wasn't translated correctly. I guess it just slipped through the edits.

What would SWEET EVIL be wihout the big evil? Wendy Higgins spins a story of sins and acts of kindness. Goodness battleling evil. So there's no way round meeting the various Dukes of sin and all the bad in the world. Quite entertaining I say. Expect to read a lot about inappropriate behaviour, much cussing, cheating, sleeping around etc.
There's a list of the Dukes and their offspring at the end of the book, so don't worry if you can't remember all the names and attributes after their first mention.

Up until a few days ago Wendy Higgins hadn't been sure if there would be another book in the SWEET EVIL series. The news: Harper signed her for a trilogy. So there will be two more books after SWEET EVIL!! I can hardly contain my excitement.

THE VERDICT

SWEET EVIL – A seductively delicious treat!

This book was so much more than I'd hoped it would be. Kaidan and Anna's connection is sizzling hot. The entire cast is so brazenly charismatic and wonderful. The challenge to ever get that book out of my mind is on! It's a real joy for sinners and a dare for saints! SWEET EVIL makes you want to be both!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juli 2012
Dark. Heart-breaking. Thrilling. Sexy. It's all there. 'Sweet Evil' features the whole emotion palette, and leaves nothing out. The way it twists and plays with emotion makes is mesmerizing and most definitely one of a kind. Just let me be clear on one thing: it's nothing it purports to be.

Both the blurb and the cover scream 'steamy, light YA fantasy' and try to convince with the usual clichés of good girl falls for bad boy, bad boy is not so bad after all, he's only 'protecting' her, because they cannot be together, blah, blah, blah... You all know that one, right? Although 'Sweet Evil' doesn't lack clichés, it always brings along a unique twist, somethign that gives it its very own coloring. It's hard to explain without spoiling, but it just makes other YA novels pale in comparison.

There's also nothing light about this story. This is not a novel to pass a few hours with every now and then. It's intense and edgy and kind of won't leave your head for days.

As for my opinion, I'm still torn.
It's a very character-driven storyline. There are hardly action-scenes which doesn't mean the story isn't fast-paced. It does keep you intrigued, or actually glued to the pages and effortelssly. The author's spin on the angel/demon lore absolutely fascinated me - the idea of demons living as Dukes of he sins on earth and forcing their offspring to 'work' for them is so genious, I don't think I'll ever be able to read another angel themed books without thinking how Higgins did it so much better.

And here goes my problem. The thing is, angel/demon mythology can be a tricky subject, either too heavy on the religious side or too much on the satanistic side, which is why authors have to be careful not to let their own opinion dictate the world they're creating, otherwise... it might get a little offensive. Wendy Higgins is obviously a strictly religious person, which wouldn't have become such a problem for me had she not let it influence her work. And when I say influence, I mean you couldn't ignore her beliefs if you tried.

Anna, the MC, is the perfectly good girl, all Bella Swan-mode, innocent and pure as a nun, and not only a virgin but words like 'sexy' never even entered her mind before catching sight of Kaidan. What bothered me most about her personality is not even that the Bella-Swan copy is so overused it's not funny anymore, but that she's so incredibly innocent it's creepy. Her lack of humanity, or whatever she was lacking made her either look like an alien or a psycho. The worst thing isn't that her tear ducts start leaking each time she might get upset, or that she literally seems incapable of lying, and that she's generally unable to think any dark (read: sinful) thoughts. To say I had major issues with that alone would be an understatement.

But the author had to go the extra mile. Anna is strictly religious. She regularly goes to church, she prays A LOT, she wants to say a virgin until her wedding night and she's really into it. I maybe could have taken the whole praying and church thing; but sorry, the thing with keeping her virginity took it too far for me. I respect religous people, I really do and I'm not trying to judge anyone here, just pointing out that I just cannot sympathize with an MC who believes in something so strongly I think is pure discrimination. That's just me saying it might be little offensive for atheists and not so strict believers. It's beyond frustrating when the author pushes his/her faith so evidently on the reader. And I don't think it's okay.

What balanced out the 'goodness', though, was Kaidan. Doubtlessly he was also based on a cliché, the player incarnate - thankfully he wasn't just that. There's a tragic twist to his story and I'm not talking about soap-opery-drama in the style of I-can't-let-you-go. This boy is broken and their realationship is doomed from the beginning to be non-existent. There's no sweet-talking or floating on cloud nine or crushing on each other - this is star-crossed romance at its best.

For all Anna's goodness - here comes Kaidan's badness. His job is to rip hearts out -literally. He's not your average sweet guy hiding behind a brooding, reserved facade. He's broken and wicked and hot and cruel in his own twisted way. In the first half of the book we get to see their relationship developing, showing us different aspects of his personality which seems so shallow in the beginning and I ate it up. The second part was more slow-paced with hardly any Kaidan and long time leaps inbetween. The romance really was everything I could have asked for - flawlessly bittersweet, just as I like it.

My only complaint was that it doesn't go anywhere from where it leaves off at the end of the first half and after that temporary 'end' Kaidan more or less disappeares, so I had to deal with Anna without him as distraction. So no progress on their behalf - except that Anna rose a few notches in my respect scale during the party scene - I couldn't believe the girl could actually be fun. But then again I totally adored the oarty scene and it kind of leaves hope for her for the sequel. The entire ending was absolutely epic - if that isn't a showdown I don't know what is.

So I'm taking away one star for the pushy religiousness, and for her father (no I don't think it's suitable for a supposedly kick-a** demon to be bawling like a baby) and I'm giving four amazing stars for the plot and mostly for Kaidan, of course.

Favorite quote:

"I know I'm just a human woman, but so help me, if anything happens to her while she's with you--"
"I assure you she'll be in good hands."
"Mm-hm, that's part of what I'm worried about." She pointed at his hands. "Hands off, mister."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juni 2013
Das Buch war der absolute Hammer! Es war viel besser als ich es erwartet hatte. Kaidan und Anna sind ein tolles Paar und es ist nicht so das Kaidan auf einmal total "Gut" ist, wie es in vielen anderen Büchern der Fall ist. Hier gibt es auf und abs, was die Story noch spannender macht.
Allerdings muss ich für die Verarbeitung des Covers einen halben Punkt abziehen. Es gibt keine Schutzhülle oder sowas. Man muss unglaublih vorsichtig mit dem Buch umgehen, da es sehr schnell Macken bekommt.
Aber dafür kann natürlich die Autorin nichts und deshalb finde ich, dass das Buch die fünf Sterne absolut verdient hat. Kann es gar nicht erwarten den zweiten Teil zu lesen und hoffe, dass noch weitere Bücher der Autorin folgen werden, denn ich liebe ihren Schreibstil!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2014
Gut oder Böse? Was wenn man beides in sich trägt? Noch dazu von unglaublich heißen Jungs umgeben ist? Eine angenehme und reizvolle Story von Engeln und Dämonen auf Erden und ihren Abkömmlingen.
Kann Anna der Versuchung widerstehen und ihren Weg in dieser Welt finden? Oder ist gar nicht alles schwarz und weiß? Ich fand es eine angenehme Story und habe die gesamte Trilogie verschlungen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Juli 2015
I still can't decide about the book. Some parts took like forever (car ride) and other parts just flew by.
And of course there's the always needed love triangle.. Although Anna loves Kai, she s attracted to another. At least, only short mentions.

I still need to read the next two books to find out more about Anna and Kai s relationship and about what's her destiny.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Januar 2014
The story is nice but not quite ambitious. A girl who lives like a religious and overprotected live discovers that she is a nephilim. Well, what a pitty if you should be bad but you have no idea how to play this game. On top a handsome guy who is the personalized lust and tries to talk every woman round especially the good girl.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Januar 2015
It was a nice story but it had a lot of scenes that weren't that good. Since it's the first book of a trilogy I hope the second and last book will bring a deeper story than just this shallow one.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden