MSS_ss16 Hier klicken Frühling Cloud Drive Photos HP Spectre Learn More Jetzt informieren Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip GC FS16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen10
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. September 2012
After a traumatic childhood of growing up in abusive foster families and juvenile group homes, Victoria Jones is released from state care on her 18th birthday and left to fend for herself on the streets of San Francisco. Emotionally scarred, aggressive and unable to connect with the people around her, Victoria instead capitalizes on her love for flowers, taking a job in a small flower shop to support herself and survive. As time goes by, Victoria starts to build a tentative friendship with the owner of the flower shop, and, through a surprising coincidence, with characters from one key happy episode of her childhood. However, knowing that she has failed at every other human relationship in the past, she fully expects failure and loneliness now, and she struggles between her desire for family and friendship, and her fear of once again bitterly disappointing those who love her…

When I first came across this book, I was a little put off by the title and cover image; it looked like a silly romance novel to me. This is not the case at all. It is true that the main themes (relationships and friendship, mother-daughter love, flowers, babies and weddings) are more likely to appeal to a female audience, and almost all of the characters (with one necessary exception) are women. However, these are woven into a beautiful and cleverly written account of Victoria’s struggles against adversity, jumping between her present life and her past, offering just enough glimpses into that one particular episode of her childhood to keep the reader in suspense and trying to piece together the puzzle of her life. A very touching story, and as a bonus, you do learn a lot about flowers!
0Kommentar|10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Oktober 2013
es ist schwer zu beschreiben, worum es in diesem buch geht oder was es mich hat fühlen lassen, ohne dass ich das gefühl habe, dem buch nicht gerecht zu werden. die art, wie es geschrieben ist, macht es von beginn an besonders, weil man zwischen der vergangenheit und gegenwart hin und her wechselt und sich dadurch immer fragt, inwiefern es alles zusammenhängt.
je mehr man den hauptcharakter (victoria jones) kennenlernt, desto mehr fühlt man mit dir. das mag nicht besonders sein, aber bei dieser frau war es für mich ständig wechselnd. es ist kein buch das so verläuft, wie man es sich vielleicht wünscht. es gibt viele starke veränderungen, schlimme erlebnisse und tiefe gefühle.
ich finde dieses buch einfach großartig. victoria's verbindung zu den blumen ist so einzigartig, dass sie einen dazu bringt, blumen und menschen mit anderen augen zu sehen.
22 Kommentare|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. März 2014
Man könnte vom Titel und der Aufmachung her denken, es handle sich um eine eher oberflächliche Geschichte. Aber das stimmt nicht. Ich fand das Buch anrührend und tiefgehend, eigentlich ist es eher eine - wie soll ich sagen - fast poetische psychologische Fallbeschreibung der schwierigen Kindheit und Jugend einer empfindsamen Persönlichkeit. Man lernt nebenbei eine ganze Menge über Blumen - was auch in diesem Rahmen überrascht und interessant ist. Ein ungewöhnliches Buch. Es hat vielleicht gewisse Längen, man könnte es eventuell kürzen, aber dieses Symptom kann man bei sehr vielen modernen Romanen feststellen (eigentlich bei den meisten, finde ich). Aber mit ein bißchen Geduld... Alles in allen eine wunderbare Erzählung.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Dezember 2011
A red rose means love, everyone knows that. How about Canterbury Bells or Mistletoe then? Most people know that flowers convey certain feelings and while we still revert to a floral language by giving flower bouquets on special occasions, much of the meaning behind the individual flowers has been reduced to a very limited and generalized one since Victorian times.
Mandy Kirkby presents a wonderful book with The Language Of Flowers: A Miscellany, the official companion to the novel of the same title by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. Enveloped with beautiful illustrations and poetry, you learn about the meaning and history of fifty different flowers. Short and crisp the author introduces each flower in a perfect blend of information and fascinating references of how a certain flower makes an appearance in certain books, poems, or even paintings. An emotional dictionary and the suggestions on composing posies for specific occasions such as courtship, births, or funerals round off this miscellany.
Just like similar books were meant for the coffee table, to be studied and indulged in, in Victorian times, this adorable book has invited me more than once to browse in it since first reading it. If you've ever been fascinated by flowers and their meaning, I can only recommend this lovely compendium. It goes without saying it also makes for a lovely gift to a good friend. Just don't forget to include a freesia when you present it!
In short: A gorgeous gift book in best Victorian tradition!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Pan MacMillan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: 'Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.'
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Januar 2014
This is really a totally fascinating book. I never thought I could be interested. But then I ran out of books and I allways have to read something :-) so I startet it and just couldn't stop! Now I also bought one for my Mum and a german one for my mother in law. Both just loved it.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Dezember 2012
Ich hatte mir ehrlich gesagt ein wenig mehr erwartet - die Geschichte ist doch recht vorhersehbar und ich persönlich konnte die Wandlungen in den Gefühlen der Hauptperson nicht richtig nachvollziehen. Dafür hat mir die Sprache gut gefallen und die Idee, die hinter dem Buch steckt!
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Dezember 2012
Victoria ist ein Pflegekind, das immer wieder die Familie wechselt, bis sie nicht mehr vermittelbar in einem Heim aufwaechst. Wie sie ab der Volljaehrigkeit ihr Leben langsam in den Griff bekommt, einen Job findet etc, das wird hier mit einigen Rueckblenden in ihr altesLeben erzaehlt. Dazu kommt als roter Faden die viktorianische Blumensymbolik, die dem Ganzen ein besonderes Flair verleiht. Dabei gar nicht kitschig.
Schoene Urlaubslektuere.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Februar 2014
Nice enough read, but in some parts the character traits of the protagonist are hard to get. I liked the flower part though. Anyway it is not a book I would read twice and I am not sure if I would recommend it to a friend.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Januar 2014
It's a pleasant enough story to read before bedtime, nothing genius but good enough to keep you interested. About life, family, motherhood, love and the meaning of the flowers is a nice touch.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. März 2014
Victoria drückt sich nur über Blumen aus. Sie hat zwischenmenschlich viele Enttäuschungen erlebt. Dennoch entdeckt sie das Leben und findet, den für Sie richtigen Weg.

Ein schönes Buch
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden