Kundenrezensionen


27 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (15)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen Jean Sasson - A person who is making a change!
Most of us live our lives plodding along in our own self-indulgence, within our own microcosms, leaving little behind before moving on to another dimension. Few are able to help our society move on and develop; those are the individuals who have achieved greatness either during their lifetimes though the majority reach fame and bring on change after their deaths...
Veröffentlicht am 16. April 2000 von John Redding

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen A Serious Misrepresentation Of The Truth
This book is very well written and has a serious appeal to the Western World but it is far from the true picture of reality.
I read both Princess and Princess Sultana's Daughter's.
These books state many negative aspects (from a one sided point of view) about one particular princesses life and about the corruptions of the Royal family.
This book...
Veröffentlicht am 14. Februar 2000 von Sarah S.


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen Jean Sasson - A person who is making a change!, 16. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
Most of us live our lives plodding along in our own self-indulgence, within our own microcosms, leaving little behind before moving on to another dimension. Few are able to help our society move on and develop; those are the individuals who have achieved greatness either during their lifetimes though the majority reach fame and bring on change after their deaths.
Great individuals who have helped humanity develop for the better are usually greatly critised when their new ideas or opinions are expressed. The reaction from their peers varies from endorsement to repudiation. These few fortunate individuals are the ones who make a difference, who have taken us away from the middle ages to be what humanity is today. These people make a change to society as it evolves; they leave their mark behind, they help our race evolve. Jean Sasson truly is one of these fortunate few.
In reading the reviews it is interesting to note how persons from all over the world endorse her ideas, yet many Muslims continue to deny the very fact that womens freedom is a natural progression and evolution in today's world. Their reaction is aggressive and focuses on denial. Just by reading the reviews one notes that a whole "Office" (obviously Muslim) has joined "en masse" to try to discredit her books. Having read all three books I find the matter rather disconcerting. Why try to utilise mass negativity to discredit fact. The Third Reich utilised misinformation to control and manipulate a whole race. In this age of technology our world is free and we are free to express! Try as these persons may, positivity always reigns.
As a professional expatriate who has travelled the world, lived in the Saudi Arabia, and has had the good fortune of seeing so many different cultures, I say: "Jean Sasson, I salute you. You have had the strength to stand up and say your piece. You are making a difference and are leaving an indelible mark to humanity. The books are important and are making a change. Keep writing!"
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen More than true, 18. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
I have lived in Saudi Arabia, my husband, and children are from there, and I myself am an Arab. I can tell you that Jean Sasson knows what she is talking about, as I myself have had similar experiences living in Saudi, as have friends and family. I know that everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but many reviewers have said that the accounts in the books could not be true, because their Arab boyfriends told them, or because an Arab friend denies it. You would have to live in that country to know how true it is. And really live there, emersed in the culture, and society, and not living on some campus, or compound, surrounded by westerners, and with limited access to the average Saudi. I totally related to the books, PRINCESS, and DAIGHTERS, and found that some of the experiences the Princess had were exactly the same, or similar to things I myself had gone through, or others that I knew had. Those who think this book is fictional have obviously had no experience living in Saudi, or have some agenda, possibly someone who has been paid to give the book a bad review, as the Saudi government is very keen to keep up a facade, favourable to their royal family, and have been known to use these kinds of tactics, even going so far as to purchase large amounts of stock in certain media, either radio, television, and newspaper, to keep bad press about Saudi Arabia hidden from the outside world. These books are a danger to the Saudi Royal family, and I applaud Ms. Sassons courage, and that of the Princess for bringing the truth to the world, in a way that is both respectful, and in no way and indictment of the Islamic faith. Beleive me, it is true, and my only regret is that I only have 5 stars to give.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Women's Rights/Abuses a global issue, 13. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
Being a woman in a world dominated by males, I could identify with the issues presented by the subject and her author; however the abuses she presents on Saudi society tips the scale to the ground on a barbaric level for female infants, children and women. I first learned of middle eastern culture in depth in college through my many friends in those societies who came from all walks of life from many of their countries. From rich to poor. What was appalling to me was exactly what Jean Sasson wrote about. Wealth or not, the problems of female abuse has been traditional for centuries in those countries and most heinously facilitated by and through their Islamic religious tenets by men whose interpretations so obviously veered from the founder of that faith. Even where religion is not the issue, it is apparent to those who can see, the oppression and violence against women is global. Where it is violently portrayed with such extreme measure and protected the same, in middle eastern countries such as Saudia Arabia, is where the value of Jean Sasson's book lays. It behooves all women everywhere on the globe, to have this knowledge, for how can we as fully valued and responsible humans say we are even humans, if there are among us those who are as devalued, oppressed, violently abused, cast aside, genitally mutilated, and murdered or isolated for life because a male's honor were impuned or his powers were defied? There is so much content for life-long hatred and mental illness for those who suffer these grave abuses. What will the world's future population look like if we continue to allow these grievous, dangerous beliefs to be perpetrated. There are so many levels of terrible consequences and outcomes here. The value of Jean Sasson's books and those like hers, are making us aware. Nothing will ever be redressed or changed without the knowledge that it even exists. We must change our traditions if those enslave, regress, or allow for oppressions to the point of murder and mutilation, not to mention the myriad and complex mental health issues that naturally come from all of the above. I thank Jean Sasson for her expose, as hard as it was to read of these abuses of women in that land. I could believe it. I am a Native American woman in America for all those who do not know what that has meant and does continue to mean. I could write my own book. There is a saying, "if my brother is not free, then I am not free". This is my premise for being a human being. I believe Jean Sasson was telling us the same. Let us do the most that we are able with this knowledge she and all others who give us, so that we change everything that enslaves, oppresses,mutilates, or abuses in any way, women, men and our children.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen A Serious Misrepresentation Of The Truth, 14. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
This book is very well written and has a serious appeal to the Western World but it is far from the true picture of reality.
I read both Princess and Princess Sultana's Daughter's.
These books state many negative aspects (from a one sided point of view) about one particular princesses life and about the corruptions of the Royal family.
This book seriously gives a bad impression of Saudi Arabia, Arab men, and Muslims and Islam. I find this outrageously disgusting.
I am an American woman who converted to Islam and happened to be married to an Arab man. I know countless Saudi Women and only one or two out of about fifty are not happy in their lives.
I feel this book gives the impression that Islam is the cause of women's oppression....this again is not true. There is a big difference between culture and religion.
Islam gives women many rights and oppurtunities and even custodial rights to children (depending on the circumstances). Culture on the other hand is oppressing the women...culture says women cannot be educated or drive or many other things we citizen's of the western world find shocking and appalling.
The women who are unhappy are unhappy as a result of a culture which has been created by a government corrupted by wealth but by no means of Islam. Most arab men, even those who have more than one wife, are very wonderful with their wives because they truly live by the religion (and Islam tells men that they must retain their wives in kindness and to treat them equally and fairly).
So if you read this book I implore you to keep in mind that it is just a story of one women with unfortunate circumstances and does not represent the Arab World and definately does not represent Islam. I do not reccomend this book to anyone. If you want to know the people or about them you have to meet them personally and get to know them and you will se for yourself that Arabs and Muslims are really a very relaxed and peaceful people who live by religion to the best of their abilities.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Exposes the Huge Contrast Between the Past and the Present, 12. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
"Princess Sultana's Daughters," the sequel to "Princess," uses the princess's daughters to mirror the great gaps that exist in Saudi society between those who wish to keep the country in the 6th century and those who want to bring it into the 21st. Unfortunately, the religious fanatics, symbolized by the ever-present "mutawain" (religious police)are determined to keep the people backward, uneducated, and living in fear.By their public beatings, canings, beheadings, and other tortures, the powerful "mutawain" serve to subjugate the public. Their violations of human rights inspire fear and keep the educated moderates from speaking out. Those who do speak out, even children, end up as prisoners in Saudi jails, are executed, subject to torture, banned, fired from their jobs--all for trying to exercise a freedom that we take for granted--the freedom of speech. Even Americans working in the Kingdom are not exempt from the mutawain's abuses; a few years back they broke up a children's Christmas party at an American school, smashing furniture, destroying the stage, and terrorizing the children. Ms. Sasson speaks from first-hand observation, having lived in Saudi Arabia for over ten years. While there, she befriended many Saudi women, among them Princess Sultana; for obvious reasons of personal safety, the Princess and the other women Jean writes about had to retain their anonymity. I know from personal experience the abuses that Saudi men are able to heap upon their wives and daughters--all in the name of religion--which most of these men misinterpret. As with Christian or any other fanatics, many of these so-called Islamists (of the Wahhabi sect--a 19th and early 20th century version of Islam--not the Prophet Mohammed's version), interpret the religion to their own liking. I have had my child kidnapped to Saudi Arabia by her non-custodial father, Abdulbaset Ahmed Mohammed Al-Omary. Saudi Arabia does not recognize any of the mother's custodial rights, even though the Prophet Mohammed severely condemned anyone who came between a mother and her children. Ms. Sasson writes about my daughter, Heidi, in one chapter of her newest book, soon to come out in the United States. From being married to a Saudi here in the USA, I quickly learned that the Princess's description of women's lives in the Kingdom are totally accurate. All of Ms. Sasson's books about the Princess are very important catalysts for social change, especially for those of us (American and Saudi mothers) who have girl children living in Saudi Arabia.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen getting a little "out there", 10. Juli 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
i hate to say it...i was totally into the first book "princess" even though my arab boyfriend warned me not to believe all that i was reading...but i fought with him and told how very true i knew it was...i even made him read it...well...now i feel sooo STUPID...the sequel just proves that my boyfriend was right alllll along and i was a wide eyed impressionable american, willing to believe anything about another culture and religion...it is very exciting to read folks...ONLY if you keep in mind that it is a fascinating FICTIONAL title....this is NOT possible my fellow americans...please believe me....please....the first book was outrageous enough...but this...this is too much...hehehehhe....jean...please...dont take us for idiots....one a lesbian....the other a fanatic...comeeeee onnnnnnnn.....i implore you readers to meet arabs...saudis...talk to them...get a true personal story....although things seem to be extremely difficult through our "western" eyes...and sometimes things there are difficult....ms. sasson has an imagination of great fictional writer.....study the middle east...study islam...LEARN LEARN LEARN....don't be ignorant and rely on the words of others...sometimes it is simply NOT TRUE....please don't allow these books to cloud your opinions of arabs and islam....please resist this....islam is a great religion and arabs are wonderful people...women AND THE MEN....very warm loving people...not ALL arab women are oppressed and unhappy....the large majority are very content with their lives AND their culture....bad things do happen there...but please folks, remember that veryyyy bad things happen here also...don't buy into stereotypes!!!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Princess Sultanas Daughters, 9. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
A shocking story of the treatment of women as objects of mens pleasure. The extreme's that are gone to to "keep women in line" for the benefit of men, is beyond belief. It is clearly against the intent of their own religion and yet these things are called the law of Allah and enforced in the extreme. A must read for all women.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen UNBELIEVABLE BUT TRUE!, 17. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
Having lived in Saudi Arabia for five years, I applaud Ms. Sasson for having written about the position of women in that society. In my work, I had contact with Saudis - both men and women - together and separately. There are few western women there and even fewer that have contact with Saudi women and families. This is the only explanation I can give for the reviewers that claim to 'know better'. In Saudi Arabia women have very little freedom and are often abused. Princess is well written and very enlightening for Westerners. I have recommended the book to friends, who always express disbelief. This book is sad, scary, and unbelievable. But it surely is the true story of one woman's life and should be read by one and all. The world needs to know!
Islam has nothing to do with the Saudi's treatment of women. This is cultural, not religious, practice. The story of Princess Sultana's children continue to bring the horror of this system into focus for the rest of the world. I hope there will be more! Bravo, Ms. Sasson!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen How do Arabian men get away with it?, 29. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
It's incredible the way Arab women allow themselves to be treated by their men. They've got to be the most spineless creatures on earth. This true story tells some of the atrocities that Arab men commit against their wives and children. The Saudi Arabian princess who told the story is an activist, but not much of one. She simply gives her word that she won't do anything. Why? Anyway, an interesting book, and very fast reading. The title is misleading because Princess Sultana's daughters aren't the main characters in the story. I like the way she reveals how quirky, how odd, she is. Actually, her husband comes off very well, a patient, tolerant, gentle man who puts up with a high-strung wife. Why expect him to be more of an activist for women's rights or anything else. He's filthy rich. The only member of Sultana's family who takes positive action in a just cause is her son. Maybe the enlightened men of the Arab world will straighten things out. It doesn't seem like the women will. They're too afraid, too beaten down.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent book, 28. September 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Princess Sultana's Daughters (Taschenbuch)
I've worked for the royal family in Saudi Arabia for the past twenty-five years, and I can say with all honesty that this book depicts the lives of Saudi Princes and Princesses very accurately. This is a natural outcome for a family that has low morale values and encourages its members to indulge in life's materialistic leisure in every possible way at the expenses of the Saudi people. While at the same time leaching the religious police to tighten the iron grip on the their poor citizens in the name of Islam. However, let not confuse Islam with the practices of the royal family, the religious police, or the religious fanatics in the country. The majority of Saudi men and women live according to the principles of their religion in what they consider it to be a near perfect way of living, despite the obvious lack of freedom, human rights violations, and social and economic injustices that they suffer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen