Kundenrezensionen


24 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (21)
4 Sterne:    (0)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen O.J. Simpson in Russia
Hare you having trouble in your life? Falling behind in your bills? Problems communicating with the husband/wife/significant other? Murderous thoughts coursing through your brain? Then THIS is a novel for YOU. Dostoevsky's "The Brothers Karamazov" is a classic novel with a modern twist. Just like the O.J. Simpson case, Dmitri Karamazov is accused of a crime he...
Am 9. Dezember 1996 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen great ideas; sluggish otherwise
I've read three of Dostoyevsky's novels, and each time I've approached one of his major works I did so for the ideas, rather than for the characters and plot. If you're of a philosophical bent, this is a good book for you; Dostoyevsky possessed deep insight into the human condition; he foresaw (as did Nietzche) the onslaught of nihilism that would overthrow almost all...
Am 7. Juli 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen O.J. Simpson in Russia, 9. Dezember 1996
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Brothers Karamazov (Hörkassette)
Hare you having trouble in your life? Falling behind in your bills? Problems communicating with the husband/wife/significant other? Murderous thoughts coursing through your brain? Then THIS is a novel for YOU. Dostoevsky's "The Brothers Karamazov" is a classic novel with a modern twist. Just like the O.J. Simpson case, Dmitri Karamazov is accused of a crime he believes he did not commit. And, just like the Simpson trial, all of St. Petersburgh has an opinion on the matter. Find out what REALLY happened. If you want to become a first-class intellectual, just buy this tape and listen to it on your way to work. By the time you are done, you will be -- honest -- totally cool. God has touched man this time
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A classic, beautifully printed and bound!, 2. Januar 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
This Everyman’s Library edition of The Brothers Karamzov is beautifully bound and printed. It is joy to handle it, leaf through it, read it, and watch it lying on your shelf. Highly recommended!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An all time classic, 14. Dezember 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Brothers Karamazov (Taschenbuch)
THE BROTHERS KARAMAZOV, which is one of Dostoyevsky's all time best, perhaps the best, adds to make him perhaps the best writer of all times. The author came up with so many great ideas and characters that are so real to life even in their complex emotions and rationales that we relate to the characters as if we are in their heads. In the end, not only do we have a great story, we are also left with a beautifully written work of political, psychological, sociological, ethical and psychological thought that is very true not only to Russia, but to other lands and peoples as well.

The greatest soul writer of all times and great contributor to human psychology successfully created a beautiful and amazing dynamism between the Karamazov brothers that has been the core of many stories after involving siblings. There is the unreliable father, the old Fyodor Karamazov whose life dominates his sons and whose death casts a huge shadow on their future.

Sensual Alyosha who is the youngest of the Karamazov brothers is the main character of the story, and he is noted for his strong faith in god and humanity, deep kindness and sense of sacrifice.
Ivan the atheist has a sharp mind and is the critical analyzer who seeks for meaning in everything. He is skeptical and dwells more on rationale in his dealing with people and issues. In the end, his intellectual mind misleads him and opens the doors to the nightmares in his life.
Dmitry is the sensitive brother who has a strong consideration for anything living, Smerdyakov their half-brother, is the cunning illegitimate son of old Fyodor Karamazov and works as Fyodor's servant.

The characters of the brothers and the events of their lives made for the complex and fascinating story of exceptional proportions, where faith, meekness, atheism, indifference and slavery to negative instincts and impulses are often in conflict. Faith and atheism or disbelief in God is taken to epic proportions in Ivan's encounter with the devil.

Dostoevsky stated that, "when there is no God, all is permitted.". That assertion is reinforced in books like The Union Moujik, The Idiot, Crime and Punishment. The absence of God or lack of faith in man makes it possible for man to thrive in his worst animal instincts. Even when man starts with good intentions, the absence of faith usually derails him to the point where the good intentions are overshadowed by the negative effects of his actions. My conclusion is that this is a rare masterpiece.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Will change your week, may change your life, 11. Mai 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Brothers Karamazov (Taschenbuch)
It's a long book, certainly, exhausting, it goes on and on, in several voices, too, and it awes you time and again. Dostoevsky's best, a window to the Russian soul if you will, but never pompous, it's simply too good for that. One of those books that won't go away, long after it's finished. This, incidentally, is the translation to read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen It slowly changed my life. It's still haunting me., 27. Juli 2000
I think I am going to read this wonderful book again. There is so much life and passion in it, that reading it again will definitely enrich my soul even further.
I want to tell you how this novel changed my life. It was recommended to me by a Russian Orthodox priest who considered it the best source of Russian Orthodox spirituality in literature. So I read it. I read it because at the time I was striving to become a true Orthodox Christian myself. The result, however, turned out the opposite: I lost any faith I ever had in the truth of the Church and all its dogmas. This book gave me an idea that if there is God, it is certainly not what we are taught He is.
I think that in this work Dostoevsky reached the very height of what I would call "a war with oneself". He created this unforgettable contrast between what he wanted to believe (and, indeed believed at times) and what he actually was going through in his spiritual search, which were probably indescribable spiritual torments of doubt. I now have this indelible image of Ivan confiding in Alesha, arguing with Satan and, at last, denying God himself in his search for the truth. It was he, who stirred my whole being and it was Dostoevsky himself speaking through Ivan with the most profound sincerety and desperation.
On the opposite, Dostoevsky introduces Alyosha, who didn't doubt, but just loved and believed. This young man, according to Dostoevsky's plan, is a prototype of Jesus Christ himself, a man in whom the truth is open within, a man through whom one can truly feel God's love. It is a fascinating character, although, Dostoevsky depicts him in the light of Christian Orthodoxy, as an example of TRUE spirituality, as opposed to any other spirituality. Nevertheless, if we were to take liberties in the interpretation of the work, put the dogmas aside and look at Alyosha as a human being, then we could boldly say, that this young man IS the embodiment of love, truth and godliness. I really would want to at least resemble such a person!
And in the midst of this spiritual struggle, there is murder, treachery, repentance, love and comedy, which bring the characters out into your own life. I just love this book! I love the brothers, even though they are so different! There are so many things to love "The Brothers Karamazov" for, but it is for this brave, but nevertheless desperate challenge to our faith, and at the same time, a great example of living it, that I praise this book so highly. It is truly as rich, thought-provoking and awe-inspiring as life itself.
P.S. I highly recommend the translation by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky. It is the most correct and true to the spirit of the book translation available. By the way, they also translated "Crime and Punishment", "The Demons", "Notes from the Underground" and lots more, so I recommend those as well. And if you really would like to get the feel of how Dostoevsky DID NOT write, try the translation by Constance Garnett! It is outdated and, frankly, in some places she took liberties at what to leave and what to take out. I read "The Brothers Karamazov" in Russian and English, going line-by-line sometimes and discovering those literary atrocities all along the text.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen great ideas; sluggish otherwise, 7. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I've read three of Dostoyevsky's novels, and each time I've approached one of his major works I did so for the ideas, rather than for the characters and plot. If you're of a philosophical bent, this is a good book for you; Dostoyevsky possessed deep insight into the human condition; he foresaw (as did Nietzche) the onslaught of nihilism that would overthrow almost all vestiges of traditional values, in Russia and Europe; in this sense his books are "prophetic" (it is fruitful to read this book if you are trying to understand, for example, the epidemic of school shootings in this country in the past couple of years). He was possessed of a deep and genuine Christian faith, which he believed to be the best (perhaps only) antidote to the problems of "modernity".
However, I think most people read novels for believable characters and an engaging plot that moves along at enough of a pace to keep the reader interested. This isn't to say people aren't interested in theme. But theme is generally brought out through concrete events, rather than long, digressive conversation among characters(Dostoyevsky's method). As compelling as these conversations sometimes are, they do bog the movement of the story along, tremendously. Chekhov's economy of means represents the opposite of Dostoyevsky's method, and his best stories are so poignant that they can evoke in the reader the same deep questioning about life. So, if you're looking for a light read or a book in which the characters are not merely puppets in services of the author's ideas, there are much better choices out there.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Quite simply the best., 21. Juni 2000
The best translation of what is unquestionably the best book I've ever read. If you don't own this book, buy it. If you've never read it, do so.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen It slowly changed my life. It's still haunting me., 16. Mai 2000
I think I am going to read this wonderful book again. There is so much there to relive and cherish, that it's really worth it.
I want to tell you how this novel changed my life. It was recommended to me by a Russian Orthodox priest (who was an American though), who considered it the best source of Russian Orthodox spirituality in literature. So I read it. I read it because at the time I was striving to become a true Orthodox Christian myself. The result, however, was the opposite: I lost any faith I ever had in the truth of the Church and all its dogmas. This book gave me an idea that if there is God, it is certainly not what we are taught He is.
I think that in this work Dostoevsky reached the very height of what I would call "a war with oneself". He created this unforgettable contrast between what he wanted to believe (and, indeed believed at times) and what he actually was going through in his spiritual search, which were probably indescribable spiritual torments of doubt. I now have this indelible image of Ivan confiding in Alesha, arguing with Satan and, at last, denying God himself in his search for the truth. It was he, who stirred my whole being and it was Dostoevsky himself speaking through Ivan with the most profound sincerety and desperation.
Yes, there also was Alyosha, who didn't doubt, who just loved and believed, but, alas, such a gift is not given to everyone! Unfortunately, most of us are more earthly and human, than the sweet Alyosha was.
I love this book! I love the brothers, even though they are so different! There are so many things to love "The Brothers Karamazov" for, but it is for this brave, but nevertheless desperate challenge to our faith, and at the same time, a great example of living it, that I praise this book so highly. It is truly as rich, thought-provoking and awe-inspiring as life itself.
P.S. I highly recommend the translation by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky. It is the most correct and true to the spirit of the book translation available. By the way, they also translated "Crime and Punishment", "The Demons", "Notes from the Underground" and lots more, so I recommend those as well. And if you really would like to get the feel of how Dostoevsky DID NOT write, try the translation by Constance Garnett! It is outdated and, frankly, in some places she took liberties at what to leave and what to take out. I read "The Brothers Karamazov" in Russian and English, going line-by-line sometimes and discovering those literary atrocities in the most straightforward places.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen BEAUTIFUL TRANSLATION, 9. März 2000
you don't need me to tell you this is one of the greatest works in the history of mankind. that's fairly well known (even in this dumbed-down dump of a decade). anyhow ... what isn't so well known is how indescribably beautiful this translation is. scintillating. without doubt, the version to own.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The beating heart of world literature., 21. Februar 2000
Von 
Will Errickson (Portland, OR United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
There are few words to describe this towering achievement: Magnificent. Chilling. Overwhelming. Ferocious. Intense. Uplifting. Dostoevsky's masterpiece, published just months before his death, is the single greatest book I have ever read. Every book I'd encountered is just a pale shadow of this one, for it contains everything the human heart holds dear. What I truly love about this book is its depiction of human suffering and evil--why, even the Devil himself makes an appearance, as an old Frenchman who engages atheist Karamazov brother Ivan in a philosophical discussion. The Devil takes the old Latin phrase, "I am human, therefore nothing human is alien to me" and changes it to: "I am Satan, therefore nothing human is alien to me." Jesus. My blood runs cold at the perfection of that. And Ivan himself says to his young Christian brother Alyosha: "I believe that if the Devil exists, man created him in his own image." These are some of the truest, most profound words ever spoken....
But the story! Oh, what a tangled, complex, gripping tale we have of murder, jealousy, lust, anger, and guilt! Dostoevsky knew how to spin a murder mystery, that's for sure. The genius of this book (and many of Dostoevksy's) is that it is utterly contemporary--its intensity translates well to today's world; in many ways the violence and psychological torment here is comparable to a Martin Scorsese film (the filmmaker has indeed invoked the great writer's name on several occasions). While I was reading this book, the OJ Simpson trial was in full force, and it paralleled the book's penultimate chapters in the Russian courts. All of Russian society was there, and fascinated by what the murder of Fyodor Karamazov, the father, said about Russia at the turn of the century. This is precisely what America went through during that trial in 1995--Dostoevsky's book, written over 100 years before, perfectly captured our world today. I was stunned, and what seemed like a ridiculous media circus became fraught with meaning, illuminated by "The Brothers Karamazov." Who ever would've thought...?
Read this book. Read it. It is what every work of literature wants to be... but can't quite make it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen