Kundenrezensionen


18 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (10)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


17 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Science Fiction
Well, that was surprising. I only picked this book up because I was looking for a short book of something else than fantasy to get back to ASOIAF afterwards, but the story sucked me in and refused to let me go for way too long. In fact, I have spent almost all my free time of the last three days on this book, instead of learning for the upcoming exams. Go figure...
Veröffentlicht am 14. Januar 2012 von Malexmave

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Okay Sci-Fi but no Space Opera
First imprsssion after the first couple of pages: great read! I'm excited how this is going to turn out. Everything needed for a good space opera is there: space battles, a rundown detective, witty dialogue an interesting politics.
And then comes the BUT. After about 100 pages the two main stories/characters meet up and the book loses its energy and drive. The...
Vor 4 Monaten von Amazon Kunde veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

17 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Science Fiction, 14. Januar 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Well, that was surprising. I only picked this book up because I was looking for a short book of something else than fantasy to get back to ASOIAF afterwards, but the story sucked me in and refused to let me go for way too long. In fact, I have spent almost all my free time of the last three days on this book, instead of learning for the upcoming exams. Go figure.

So, about the book. First off, let me tell you that I am by no means an expert on Science Fiction. The last science fiction book I read has been more than a year ago. So, I can't give fancy comparasions to other books or anything like that.
I can only say that this probably has to be the best science fiction book I have read to date. The story was relly interesting and actually managed to keep my guessing for a long time, which does not happen too often. Every time I think I figured it out, a new twist of the story comes out of nowhere and I am back to square one with my prediction of how the book will go on. In fact, I only saw the ending coming about ten or twenty pages before the book was actually over.
Another think I really liked about the book is that there were some parts where I thought "Well, this would make for a fine cliff-hanger ending, since the book is only part one of the Series. I guess it's just a short book", only to take a look at the page number and see that I was only halfway through (This can obviously only happen if you are reading on an eReader...).
To point out a few more things that I liked: The characters were really believable and alive, and I really enjoyed the development Miller went through, the story mostly free of obvious cliches (Again, I don't know much about Science Fiction cliches), and there were some really humorous moments that didn't seem artificial at all.

I would recommend this book to just about anyone who isn't afraid of space or a physics student (Some parts of the physics seemed a bit strange to me, but I am not an expert on physics either, so whatever).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Schöne SF-Unterhaltung, 20. Oktober 2013
Von 
Parsec - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
James Coreys LEVIATHAN WAKES ist ohne Frage ein Roman, welcher bei vielen SF-Fans in den letzten Jahren gut ankam. Ich hörte und las immer wieder, dass es Corey gelungen ist, eine klasssiche Space Opera mit Hard SF zu verbinden und einer Menge Tempo zu präsentieren.

Nach der Lektüre von LEVIATHAN WAKES muss ich feststellen, dass dies durchaus zutrifft - der Roman ist unterhaltsam und fährt spannende Actionszenen auf, die Helden sind permanent gefordert, und das auf unser Sonnensystem beschränkte Setting verbindet in der Tat Space Opera mit einigermaßen plausibel klingender Science Fiction.

Dennoch komme ich auch nicht umhin, ein paar (kleinere) Schwachstellen auszumachen. Ich fand die Protagonisten etwas vorhersehbar geschildert, die Story entwickelt sich auch nicht immer ganz logisch und hat den einen oder anderen Hänger, und wenn das Mysterium erstmal aufgedeckt ist merkt der routinierte SF-Leser, dass die Idee auch nicht so ganz neu ist.

Alles in allem ist LEVIATHAN WAKES sicherlich für Fans temporeicher SF ein guter Tipp und die ideale Urlaubslektüre - und mich beschleicht das Gefühl, dass man in dem von Corey entwickelten Setting noch eine Menge Geschichten erzählen kann, insofern bin ich gespannt, was hier noch kommt. Im Auge werde ich diesen Autor definitiv behalten.

Von mir insgesamt knappe, aber dennoch verdiente 4 Sterne.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Okay Sci-Fi but no Space Opera, 26. August 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Expanse 01. Leviathan Wakes (Taschenbuch)
First imprsssion after the first couple of pages: great read! I'm excited how this is going to turn out. Everything needed for a good space opera is there: space battles, a rundown detective, witty dialogue an interesting politics.
And then comes the BUT. After about 100 pages the two main stories/characters meet up and the book loses its energy and drive. The characters start making weired choices, the overall story gets pushed into the background. The things happening focus too much on action and not enough on good storytelling. The suspense is okay, but everything is just not enough for real good space opera (which in my opinion needs to be bigger and more complex).
So after reading the first book, I'm not hooked enough for the rest of the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent with some minor defects, 17. September 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
First of all, a warning: Buy this book on a Friday evening. You might not get much sleep after starting reading.

I admit that I felt uneasy after reading the first scene in the "Look Inside" sample chapter. Julie's fate made me wonder whether this was going to become splatter & gore later. That didn't happen. The author does use violence when it makes sense at that point in the story. It's still repugnant but it makes sense.

Which is the strong point: Everyone in the book is smart. There aren't any stereotype evil guys. Everyone - protagonists and side characters - has a clear plan, a goal, means and will to achieve that goal - even if someone else is getting in the way. If something goes wrong, it goes wrong for a reason. If people make mistakes, they make them because it seemed a really good idea at the time. Shit happens. A lot of shit. The hard-boiled cop and the righteous ex-military, scraping off each other. Each absolutely sure that their course of action isn't the best but only viable solution. Don't get me wrong. This isn't about cop vs. military. This is the struggle of two completely different characters that need to achieve the same goal and who actually get along pretty well. If one of them isn't broadcasting information that might kill thousands of people in riots. And the other isn't shooting people in the head in cold blood because he believes them dangerous sociopaths that might get away with their crimes.

The story takes many twists and turns, never losing enough speed to get boring, but with slower sections to allow the reader to put down the book. To handle the most pressing human urges. Eating. Drinking. Restroom. Reading on to know what happens next.

Characters: Great individuals. Most of them seem to be the usual stereotypes but cracks appear pretty quickly. People get away and people die. I cared. Well done.

World: He doesn't go into much physics and cuts a few corners (distances are probably not quite right and flight times are probably not accurate) but the world as a whole makes sense. After reading the book, you have a feeling how Ceres and Eros look on the in- and outside, and how they work. Medicine is advanced but not almighty. If your bones break, you're mobile again after a few minutes but it still takes the bone some weeks to heal.

I have only two minor points of criticism: When Julie comes out of her locker after four days without water, she passes a lot of ship but doesn't stop to find something to drink. I could imagine that she's too frightened to stop and get killed but there is no hint either way in her thoughts.

And there is no trace of information how everyone makes sure they don't get contaminated with the "virus" as they enter and leave infected areas. A few sentences about medical checkups and decontamination would have worked wonders.

Apart from that, I loved the many details.

Q: What's the most important part of a military ship? A: A coffee machine that spits out good stuff no matter free fall or 5 g acceleration.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Gut., 28. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Ein gutes SF-Buch. Besonders gelungen fand ich die leicht verständliche Darstellung einer recht komplexen Welt. In dieser scheint fast jeder Winkel unseres Sonnensystems in Beschlag genommen zu sein. Der Verständlichkeit trägt dabei sicherlich auch bei, dass es eine überschaubare Zahl handelnder Personen und eine Erzählweise aus Sicht der 2 Hauptprotagonisten gewählt wurde. Deren Beweggründe und Überlegungen werden dabei immer gut dargelegt und zeigen auch die ein oder andere Ecke und Kante.

Die Geschichte ist durchaus abwechslungsreich, zuweilen hätte es für mich noch etwas schneller voran gehen können. Es wabert so ein wenig vor sich hin.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great old-fashioned Sci Fi, 25. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
It's been a long time that I read some good, old-fashioned sci fi like this. Awesome story, interesting characters, nice plot twists. Believable, in a hard sic fi kind of way. I was absolutely sucked in, couldn't put it down.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Sehr glaubwürdiges Universum, guter Schreibstil., 11. Dezember 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Für Fans von Hard Scifi & glaubwürdige Charactere.
Bin noch nicht ganz durch, werde den Rest der Trilogie allerdings auch kaufen & lesen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great!, 13. November 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Great images in my head! Got everything i love in SciFi. I'm a fan of Star Wars, Alien, Prometheus... and I'm curious where it goes in the next book...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Protomolecules to the fore, 2. Oktober 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Great, enjoIng read for people who like to read SciFi related to the Sol system and possible futures. Add people, war, politics, space battles, and an alien weapon that threatens humanity's existence and you won't put the book down until its conclusion :-)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen author thought about physics, 28. März 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (English Edition) (Kindle Edition)
i've studied physics and i like to read sci fi books - what a surpise. most authors do not spend enough time to think about realistic physics or the invent some hogwash magic future device which resolves all open questions. James Corey did a better jop on this topic and imagined a realistic way of science fiction combined with a really interesting story and good characters. i liked it and i can recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen