Kundenrezensionen


279 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (220)
4 Sterne:
 (35)
3 Sterne:
 (10)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hasn't Everyone Felt Like Meg Once?
Wrinkle in Time makes you think. A tale about three extra-ordinary children embarking on a adventure to save a life. This book is one you will love from age 10 to age 110! If your thinking about a L'Engle book start with this one. Passionate and a page-turner for sure!
Am 27. Juli 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Hateful classic; dull, dull, dull
Why does everyone love this book? Why? I thought I would really connect with Meg and Charles Wallace and Calvin, beacuse they're all intelligent misfits who don't quite fit in, and I connect with that, but I didn't. The characters are dull, stultifying, snobby, mundane. They're so in love with their enormous intellects and unusual, close-knit family life that I could...
Veröffentlicht am 1. November 1999 von Jessica (tellarren@yahoo.com)


‹ Zurück | 1 228 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Something different, 31. Juli 2000
One thing which stands out on the advenures of the Murry family is that they have elements of sci-fi and fantasy. A Wrinkle in Time is no exception and can be read on many levels. Even at 16 I still enjoyed this book. L'Engle is a very talented writer and her stories have an imagination not usually found in most writing. However, A Wrinkle in Time does have a rather annoying downfall. Without ruining anything, I found that the ending came too soon and that the story felt like it was abandoned rather than finished. Still, it's a great story and one that should not be missed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hasn't Everyone Felt Like Meg Once?, 27. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Wrinkle in Time makes you think. A tale about three extra-ordinary children embarking on a adventure to save a life. This book is one you will love from age 10 to age 110! If your thinking about a L'Engle book start with this one. Passionate and a page-turner for sure!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Can you believe that this isn't a movie yet?, 6. Juni 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Wrinkle in Time (Taschenbuch)
In the world of bad sci-fi films (such as "Star Wars" The Phantom Menace", a poor excuse for a child's movie - or even an adult fan's movie, at that), it's simply astounding that no one has made this amazing book into the wonderful movie that it wants to be. Teenage romance, deep family and social dynamics, interesting characters, space travel, alien witches who can morph into beautiful creatures with crystal wings, the basic - and vital - interaction between good and evil, and even a brain on a pedestal as the "Bad Guy" - this book has EVERY element of a major box-office success. Combine these facts with the supreme brand recognition and fond memories of my generation (I'm 36, read this in grade school, and continually reread it into adulthood), and the fact that L'Engle even wrote sequels, and you have to wonder what the Hollywood set is thinking in ignoring this classic literary work.
If you have children, get this book for them. No, there are no supporting toy lines to buy, no merchandising nightmares to contend with, no Taco Bell "Camazotz" cups - just a great, compelling story. If you are grown up, get this book and remind yourself that good science fiction requires nothing more than a good idea and an expressive writer - and nothing less, either.
Mr. Lucas and Mr. Spielberg, if you REALLY want to make a good _children's_ movie (clearly, neither "Star Wars" or "Hook" accomplish this with any degree of success), then wake up and read "A Wrinkle in Time". Your next box office smash is waiting for you, no dinosaurs, gratuitous effects or lasers required!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Hateful classic; dull, dull, dull, 1. November 1999
Why does everyone love this book? Why? I thought I would really connect with Meg and Charles Wallace and Calvin, beacuse they're all intelligent misfits who don't quite fit in, and I connect with that, but I didn't. The characters are dull, stultifying, snobby, mundane. They're so in love with their enormous intellects and unusual, close-knit family life that I could cry with frustration and annoyance. The writing is weird, the characaters are weird, the plot is weird, and none of it is entertaining. I love a different book with a different plot, but the triteness and egotism and coldness of this book destroyed it for me.
I must admit that the story has some truly interesting elements to it. Madeleine L'Engle does well with storylines and plots, and the story does indeed move along, (like I said, I like weird--i.e., unusual and original-- plots) but the stuffy dullness of all the characters, main and supporting, ruins the book. I couldn't relate to anyone in this book, and I found I really didn't want to.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Deep, 17. Juli 2000
Von 
M. Tidman (nowhere in particular) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book when I was 10 or 11, and much of it went straight over my head. My college philosophy teacher recommended it, so I decided to try again. It really does give one a lot to think about, so I'll have to follow Dr. Peterson's example and recommend it to you, regardless of what age you may be at this time. My only complaint about this book is that it ended rather abruptly. My plan is to find the companion works and see if they remedy that.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Wrinkle in Time - Thoreau Middle School Report, 15. Dezember 1999
Von Ein Kunde
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle is an outstanding book. All Meg and her brother Charles Wallace want is to find their father, who mysteriously disappeared during experiments with time and space travel. Along with the eighth grade superstar Calvin, and three ladies with a special secret, Meg and Charles go on an amazing journey into the unknown. They travel through time and space to many different planets and meet many different people and creatures.
It is truly a grabbing story that will pull you into the world of imagination. My favorite part was in the beginning. It was a dark and stormy night when a stranger walked into the house of Charles Wallace, the unsuspecting Meg, the twins Sandy and Dennys, and Mrs. Murry, who is the mother of all these children. "Wild nights are my glory," said the stranger. "I just got caught in a down draft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I'll be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract". There is something unearthly about this stranger and Meg gets the feeling that they will meet again.
This is a book of love and hope. Madeleine L'Engle has truly created a masterpiece. A Wrinkle in Time is a wonderful book for just about anyone. I would give this book five stars and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in science fiction involving time and space. But even if you're not interested in that kind of thing, this would still be a great book for you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Absolutely a classic, 5. Juni 2000
I have loved this book since childhood. In certain ways, I literally have even used it as a sort of ruler, against which I can measure my own spiritual growth... But remember one thing, O book buyer -- this is not science fiction. Whatever you may have heard, you have to realize that this is a book about love, and about learning to value yourself for the person you are deep down, even if that person has some outwardly appalling qualities -- and about trying to love others, even when there is little apparent reason to do so. There are a few quasi-scientific elements to the story, but that isn't really the point...
Read this for the fantastic characters you will meet. Meg is relatively normal in many ways -- she has braces, and is sort of plain, and gets a lot of grief from all the jerks in her school who like to make fun of people. She has depth, but I will let you discover that for yourself. Charles Wallace, her brother, is one of the most interesting characters in all of children's literature. Think of Linus from "Peanuts", but even younger, and with a mysterious rapport with angelic figures. He is sort of a "genius" in many ways, but is viewed by his fellow townsfolk as the village idiot, much like "the fool on the hill" in the Beatles song who's mind's eye is drawn by the wonder of the word spinning 'round, while all those around him mock him for his lack of attention to more mundane concerns.
The Murry family in general is really neat. You will want to belong to it. The parents are both brilliant scientists, Meg and Charles Wallace are two of the children, and then the twins have some good moments in Madeleine L'Engle's later books. They live in a beautiful old house, and are the only dreamers in their town, the only ones connected up to larger things... In some ways I was once disturbed by what I percieved to be a certain class bias in this book, i.e. the Murrys seem to have inherited their house, and there are no signs of any financial worry. However, if you have this feeling as well, look to some of the sequels for L'Engle's efforts to rectify this situation, especially "A Swiftly Tilting Planet".
The tesseract is a "wrinkle in time", which is similar for story purposes to Dorothy's tornado; Lucy, Edmund, Susan and Peter's wardrobe; Milo's tollbooth; or any number of similar devices... Bear in mind when this was written, when you get to the part about Camazotz, the Conformist Capital of the Known Universe. This book came out first in the early 60s, and in many important ways can be seen as a reaction to Eisenhower era suburbia, with its plastic cheerfulness. A few years later, I wonder if the market for this might have diminished. At any rate, I am glad it was published, it has a lot of important things to say.
Please read this if you are a child, or if you are an adult. There are different things you might take away from it, but I cannot imagine anyone reading this without being touched by it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Many years of enjoyment, 20. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
My best friend and I spotted A Wrinkle in Time in the library when we were nine years old in 1965. There was only one copy, but it sounded so fascinating on the jacket that we read it together on her grandmother's front porch. It made such an impression on us that we still pass it on to the children in our lives. She just gave a copy to her daughter and I recently gave one to my niece and the eleven year old boy downstairs. A Wrinkle in Time is a marvelous story of how outcast Meg Murry, her genius little brother Charles Wallace and "sport" friend Calvin embark on a quest to other worlds to find her missing father, lost after going through a time-space continuum phenomenon called a tesseract. The sequels and related books about the Austins are also special treats.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Review of "A Wrinkle in Time", 23. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
With apologies to those who read this book as children andloved it, I found it tiresome. The author appears to be trying veryhard to instill proper values in young readers. The "good" characters are unfailingly polite and considerate. The "Miss Manners" tone becomes so obtrusive at times that it's bothersome. Along similar lines, several of the book's sympathetic characters are child prodigies who go around spouting multisyllabic words and generally showing off their brilliance. Children who read the book are evidently supposed to identify with these characters and emulate them, while absorbing lots of big impressive words. I can think of several "adult" science fiction/fantasy authors I enjoyed as a child, whom I would recommend much more highly for children than L'engle: Jules Verne, H. G. Wells, Ray Bradbury, and J. R. R. Tolkien, among others.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen A bit dated, a bit scary, a bit too Christian for my taste, 1. Juli 2014
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Wrinkle in Time (Taschenbuch)
The good: this is a fairly fast paced, interesting and imaginative children's book, and the prose is very nice.

The not so good: children might not even notice this, but I found it slightly dated... somehow you can tell that this doesn't belong to the most recent, post-Harry Potter generation of children's literature. I also thought that the super-genius scientist family is a bit of a trope and not quite believable. Finally, I think the climax might be a bit scary for younger readers, so I would reccommend this for children who aren't easily scared by monsters or frightening scenes or... disembodied brains. Seriously, I'm an adult, but I thought it was unsettling.

The subjective / political: I wouldn't give this to my children to read because it has some questionable family / gender politics (the child heroine marries a boy she just met in this book, we're told how many children they have etc.) and some rather obvious Christian motives. If you think the Narnia books are problematic, you'll probably also think this one is problematic (and the Narnia books are more fun!)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 228 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen