Fashion Sale Hier klicken Kinderfahrzeuge calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Learn More madamet fissler Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,0 von 5 Sternen11
4,0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
6
4 Sterne
3
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
2
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 30. April 2000
This review is mainly about the 2nd edition of Norton Critical Edition of War and Peace. This book is superb. The layout now is much better compared to the first edition -- almost as good as A. A. Knopf -- which makes reading an enjoying. But there are certain drawbacks. The detailed content list has been dropped from the previous edition. If you are familiar with the content, there is no problem. Otherwise, it's not very convenient. Also some maps were omitted. Now we have only three maps of 1812 campaign. The are no maps of '05 or '07 campaigns. Also a list of main figures and brief chronology are appreciated since it's such a big book. A suggestion of the remedy--xerox what you need from, e.g., other editions and bring with you.
A common drawback in almost all current English translations and editions of W&P is the lack of the translations of French words. In my opinion, it's appropriate to keep the French usage in the context as the author desired but have the corresponding English translation in footnote. It should not be that difficult, shouldn't it?
Finally, my suggestion is: read the book, live with it at least for a period in your life. You can actually read from some very different viewpoints and the book presents itself in very different aspects when you do so. If you don't like it, it's OK. You can always enjoy life itself. I repulsed the book when I was young. But I go back to it after all.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Dezember 2013
I had tried to read War & Peace once before and had stopped, because I found the other translation dull and therefore lost interest. This take on Tolstoy's classic is full of life, fresh and seems to capture the essence of the original. I truly enjoyed reading the novel through this translation.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2016
I read this many years ago, and after the recent hype decided I could do it again. This Kindle edition has footnotes after each chapter to explain the background of the war and the relationships of the characters, very useful indeed. Tolstoy keeps the action moving and his people grow and mature. There are mysterious hints in the background of things they couldn't write explicitly in those days.
It was written as a historic novel; the wartime events were known to readers. So the glittering parties and opulent lifestyles, the defeats and victories, the vastness of the Russian campaign, and of course the outcome were legendary.

With a cast of thousands it's sometimes hard to keep up. There are maps and lists at the end.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Dezember 1999
I would strongly recommend that you begin reading this book with the intention of finishing. At a few points you may need to just stick to it and wade through, BUT IT IS WORTH IT! In my opinion, Tolstoy wrote this book with the intent to explain a point rather than to just entertain. He is very thorough in explaining his ideas and it proves to be very interesting. I especially enjoyed following Pierre's story! Good Luck!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. November 2013
Wer dieses Buch beendet, hat eine Gratulation verdient. Zieht sich lang, aber lesenswert.

Wordsworth Classics Taschenbuch wie immer mit Hilfestellungen und guten Erklärungen, für nicht Muttersprachler.

Das Buch und Inhalt ist wohl bekannt, Taschenbuch recht stabil und zum mehrfachlesen ohne zerfläddern geeignet.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. August 2014
nachdem in meiner Bibliothek gewisse Klassiker einfach nicht fehlen dürfen - und diese Serie recht günstig ist - habe ich mir einige Bände der "Wordsworth Classics" zugelegt. Format ist handlich, Schrift SEHR klein - aber noch gut lesbar.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. November 2013
Es wäre ein tolles Buch, aber der Druck ist definitiv zu klein! Auch mit Brille und bei gutem Licht ist der Text kaum zu lesen!
Es gab letztendlich der Ausschlag mir auch einen Kindle zuzulegen!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. August 1999
This is simply the best novel ever written. Large in scope but particular in its characterization, it's a true masterpiece. Bravo, Tolstoy!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. November 2009
Ein Muss in jedem Bücherschrank. Allerdings ist die Schrift (ca. 1.000 Seiten) sehr klein und daher wird das Lesen mit der Zeit etwas anstrengend.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. April 2000
This review is mainly about the 2nd edition of Norton Critical Edition of War and Peace. This book is superb. The layout now is much better compared to the first edition -- almost as good as A. A. Knopf -- which makes reading an enjoying. But there are certain drawbacks. The detailed content list has been dropped from the previous edition. If you are familiar with the content, there is no problem. Otherwise, it's not very convenient. Also some maps were omitted. Now we have only three maps of 1812 campaign. The are no maps of '05 or '07 campaigns. Also a list of main figures and brief chronology are appreciated since it's such a big book. A suggestion of the remedy--xerox what you need from, e.g., other editions and bring with you.
A common drawback in almost all current English translations and editions of W&P is the lack of the translations of French words. In my opinion, it's appropriate to keep the French usage in the context as the author desired but have the corresponding English translation in footnote. It should not be that difficult, shouldn't it?
Finally, my suggestion is: read the book, live with it at least for a period in your life. You can actually read from some very different viewpoints and the book presents itself in very different aspects when you do so. If you don't like it, it's OK. You can always enjoy life itself. I repulsed the book when I was young. But I go back to it after all.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden