Fashion Sale Hier klicken indie-bücher Cloud Drive Photos OLED TVs Learn More MEX Shower HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen13
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 8. Juli 2013
My evaluation of Jurgen Appelo's book „Management 3.0“ is as follows:
* 5 points for the sound management practices minus
* 0 points for the theoretical / popularizing science part
equals 2,5 → 3 points.

Please, let me explain this evaluation a little bit:

===================
5 stars target group of readers
===================
„Management 3.0“ is a good start for those readers who haven't much knowledge neither of current management / organization studies nor of the loosely coupled discipline of complexity science. So, if you`re interested in applying down-to-earth management principles to make your organization / team more agile, then this is the book for you. But, forget the complexity science part (see below).

===================
4 stars target group of readers
===================
If you`re familiar with current management and organization literature, you might be disappointed because (besides the claim of basing management on complexity science) most of the principles and ideas are well-known. Therefore, 5 stars minus 1. But, at least, you have these principles and ideas in one place, and you don't have to read a lot of different management books. And that`s still a good thing.

===================
2,5 stars target group of readers
===================
If you`re familiar with complexity science, Jurgen Appelo`s attempt of „popularizing“ science is rather disappointing. What are the problems?
In the preface you can read statements like these:
„What makes this a unique management book is that it is grounded in science and leans heavily on complex systems theory.“ [p. XXIX]
„[..] you can read about research, metaphors, ideas, and suggestions. This won’t make the book less useful. On the contrary, it is claimed that the biggest advancements are made when ideas from one domain are copied and adapted in another.“ [p. XXXI]
Let me be crystal clear, the problem is not that this book is „not“ a scientific oeuvre. It`s a book that tries to popularize some general insights from complexity science. But, it`s the way „how“ these insights are popularized that is highly problematic:

===================
Problem 1
===================
When talking about management practices, teams, and organizations, we don't mean "complexity in general". We're talking about „social“ complexity. Normally, you'd expect that the social sciences (esp. sociological approaches on communication, power, knowledge, trust, etc. in interactions, organizations, and society as a whole) are mentioned. But, you won't find many social scientific references and insights in this book. "Management 3.0" is rather an example of studying „social“ phenomena without taking the social sciences, which are „specialized“ in analyzing these kinds of phenomena, into account.
If you think that`s no big deal then you might also think that it`s a good idea to talk to a priest, a sales person, or a politician, but not to visit a dentist when having tooth ache.

===================
Problem 2
===================
Appelo compensates his lack of more or less profound social scientific / sociological knowledge by resorting to:
* some „general“ principles of complex adaptive systems such as the notion of „system“ seen as an emergent dimension of interacting „agents“ (cells, animals, humans, etc.), the concept of „non linearity“, and so on,
* obsolete approaches such as the sender-receiver-model of communication, which is still useful for machine- and data-based communications, but not for human interactions,
* common sense assumptions regarding knowledge, trust, power, etc.,
* analogies and metaphors.

===================
To sum up
===================
In short, Jurgen Appelo's management approach is „less grounded“ in complexity science, but it consists mainly of semantic innovations (i.e., the theory of complex adaptive systems is used as a kind of „rhetorical device“) and a common sense-, analogy- and metaphor-based style of writing.

===================
Consequences of Appelo's chosen
approach of popularizing science
===================
This is just an Amazon review, so I'll mention only one consequence of Appelo's approach of popularizing science.

The general principle „a (complex adaptive) system emerges through the interactions of agents (who might be complex adaptive systems themselves)“ is "not an answer" that can simply be applied to various scientific disciplines (chemistry, biology, psychology, neuroscience, sociology, etc.) - it`s an hypothesis! At the same time, „emergence“ is not a self-evident solution - it`s a problem that has to be addressed!

When Jurgen Appelo uses an inference such as „general system principle + bunch of people = agents → emergent social system (groups, projects, organizations)“, then this inference is without any scientific value because it explains nothing. This is rather a case of magical thinking regarding emergence and systems. To be (social) scientifically valid, you`d have to explain „how“ social emergence is possible and how it works exactly (including the question of how to conceptualize the emergent social dimension). Sociologists such as Niklas Luhmann have done exactly that by conceptualizing „communication“ as an emergent social mechanism.

The essential thing in this context isn't Luhmann`s concept of communication. The essential thing is to „develop“ a mechanism whatsoever that is able to explain the problem of the social as an emergent coordination mechanism. But Appelo`s common sense solution is rather: There`s nothing to explain because when there`s an interaction of a bunch of people then we have a social system that is emergent, complex, adaptive, non linear, etc.

Consequently, when it comes to management, teams, and organization, according to Appelo`s approach, we have just a „bunch of people doing something“. That`s what common sense has always known. And this knowledge is very rudimentary so that, for example, organizations are compared to something living like plants due to a lack of understanding the underlying social dynamics.

~PB
22 Kommentare|18 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Mai 2016
Das Buch Management 3.0 von Jurgen Appelo beschäftigt sich mit der veränderten Rolle des Managements in agilen Unternehmen. Einer der wichtigsten agilen Aspekte sind selbstorganisierte Teams. Welche Auswirkungen hat dies nun auf einen Manager?

Jurgen Appelo stellt in seinem Buch verschiedene Management Modelle vor. Er ist jedoch davon überzeugt – und macht dies auch von Anfang an klar – dass die benötigten Management-Modell nicht aus der klassischen Management-Theorie abgeleitet werden können.

Vielmehr tritt Jurgen Appelo dafür ein, dass das Geheimnis des Erfolgs im Verständnis des menschlichen Elements zu suchen ist. Aus seiner Sicht ist die wichtigste Aufgabe des Managements in einem agilen Unternehmen, eine „gesunde Kultur“ zu schaffen.

Dabei wird ein wichtiger Sachverhalt oftmals falsch verstanden: Der Unterschied zwischen People Management und Project Management. Agile Methoden fokussieren auf das Project Management. Aber erst gutes People Management befähigt Teams Projekt mit agilen Methoden effektiv und effizient durchzuführen.

Ein weiteres Thema, das durch das gesamte Buch mitschwingt, ist die Unterscheidung zwischen Management und Leadership. Das richtige Verständnis und das Bewusstsein für die Unterschiede sind die Schlüsselfaktoren eines Managers in der Führung von agilen Teams. Dieses Verständnis ist sehr oft die grösste Herausforderung von Managern, wenn sie nach der Einführung von agilen Methoden Mitarbeiter führen sollen, die Mitglieder in einem agilen Team sind.

Aus meiner Sicht ist das Buch Management 3.0 von Jurgen Appelo ein wichtiger Beitrag zum Thema Management in agilen Unternehmen und sollte zur Pflichtlektüre eines jeden Manager gehören, der zukünftig oder bereits heute Mitarbeiter führt, die in einem agilen Team arbeiten und die Selbstorganisation als agiler Wert bewusst gelebt wird.

Da das gesamte Buch mit einer Prise Humor gewürzt ist und die Themen anhand von vielen Beispielen erläutert werden, ist das Lesen des Buches ein kurzweiliges Vergnügen, bei dem man viel für seinen Arbeitsalltag mitnehmen kann.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Mai 2016
First of all, I want to mention that I recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand why agile software development fits best to the complex systems in which it takes place, how to deal with those complex environments, and what it takes to develop outperforming teams. There are a lot of parts that are well worth reading and a few parts that are extremely helpful. But because I do not agree in all aspects with Jurgen I give only four stars.

Jurgen describes very well why agile software development environments are the best fit for the complex, unpredictable, and unmanageable systems in which software development occurs nowadays. Chapter six and seven are a must-read for anyone who wants to introduce agile software practices into his company, to setup a more productive working environment, or to simply establish a working environment that attracts excellent employees. For example, in chapter six, “The Basics of Self-Organization”, Jurgen very well describes what self-organization is and that it is inherent in our daily live, from micro to macro cosmos. He also convincingly explains the advantages of self-organizing teams compared to managed teams working in a command-and-control environment in complex system environments. In addition, his self-defined Management 3.0 model is a step-by-step explanation on what is necessary to create high performance working environments. Each chapter carries on the previous chapter and adds another view to Agile management.

But I also have some critics. One criticism is that Jurgen still supports hierarchical structures in organizations with managers and their subordinates and even talks about hierarchies in agile environments. On page 13 he writes that “This book can help you to become a better manager. In particular, it tells you what your responsibilities are as an Agile manager in an Agile organization executing Agile software development projects”. In my opinion the absence of hierarchies in agile software development frameworks (e.g. Scrum does have three roles but no hierarchy) will also transform existing organizations into 21st century organizations, organizations with no hierarchies. Take the company Menlo Innovations cofounded by Richard Sheridan and described in his amazing book “Joy, Inc.: How We Built a Workplace People Love” as an outstanding example.

Another point of critique is that in Jurgen’s opinion a manager is both, a ruler and a leader, even in agile software development environments. I do not agree with this statement, especially when looking at the role ScrumMaster. In her book “Coaching Agile Teams” Lyssa Adkins identifies six disciplines an Agile Coach is dealing with: Facilitator, Teacher, Coach and Mentor, Conflict Navigator, Collaboration Conductor, and Problem Solver. None of which is related to Ruling.

And with some explanations Jurgen even overshoots. For example, in his chapter “How to Improve Everything” he uses Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle to prove that uncertainty is inherent in any complex system. This simply is wrong! Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle is not related to complex systems, instead it depends on the scale of matter. The Uncertainty Principle appears on atomic scales and less and is part of the Quantum Mechanics. For example, a hydrogen atom consists of one electron and one proton, not really complex, right, but affected by the Uncertainty Principle. Instead, a galaxy with millions of stars, their planets, H2 regions, and other interstellar objects, exposed to gravity, dark matter, and dark energy is a very complex system, but not affected by the Uncertainty Principle due to its large scale. The Uncertainty Principle states that one cannot precisely measure the momentum and position of a particle simultaneously. The more precisely one measures the momentum the more imprecisely the measurement of the position will be. Regarding stars one can definitely precisely measure the momentum and position of a star simultaneously.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. September 2012
Jurgen Appelos Buch über zeitgemäßes Management kann ich absolut empfehlen. Angesichts der annhähernd 400 Seiten in recht kleiner Schriftgröße dachte ich zunächst, dass ich Jahre brauchen würde, bis ich das Buch durchgelesen habe. Es liest sich aber so flüssig und spannend und nebenbei witzig, so dass ich überhaupt nicht aufhören konnte und nach wenigen Wochen durch war. Das Buch ist klar strukturiert und die Kapitel liesen sich auch in beliebiger Reihenfolge lesen, wenn man dies möchte.

Zum Inhalt: Vor noch nicht all zu langer Zeit hätte man wahrscheinlich alle Manager vor diesem Buch gewarnt. Wie Appelo in seiner Einleitung schreibt, galten in der Vergangenheit Prozesse, Command&Control, klare Hierarchien usw. als DIE einzigen Wege, das Chaos, also komplexe Systeme überhaupt steuern zu können. Heutige Organisationen - gerade in der IT-Branche - müssen sich hingegen sehr schnellen und umfangreichen Veränderungen in ihrem Gesamtkontext stellen. So wundert es nicht, dass viele bisherige Managementmethoden aufgrund ihrer Trägheit einfach nur scheitern müssen. Vor diesem Hintergrund sind die in Management 3.0 genannten Ansätze ein Zugeständnis an die heutigen Rahmenbedingungen und wie man damit besser umgehen kann. Apello beschreibt in seinen 6 Views des Management 3.0 Modells zunächst immer den theoretischen Aspekt dahinter und geht dann auf praxisnahe Beispiele und Empfehlungen ein.

Mir hat das Buch in dem Sinne sehr geholfen zu verstehen, wie die einzelnen Teile eines komplexen Systems miteinander agieren und dass sich das Gesamtverhalten des Systems eben nicht am Verhalten einzelner Subsysteme vorherbestimmen lässt. Wer meint ein Problem durch einen spezifischen Prozess in den Griff zu bekommen findet nur die zweitbeste Lösung dafür. Vielmehr muss man verstehen wie das Problem durch welche Ursachen überhaupt zustande kommt und wie man mit kleinen Veränderungen auf breiter Basis dafür sorgen kann, dass sich die Ursachen und damit das Problem an sich von alleine in Luft auflösen. Dazu gibt das Buch viele hilfreiche Ansätze und Gedankengänge.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. April 2011
Angezogen hat mich das Buch ursprünglich, weil sich mit einem Mal über Twitter herum sprach, dass das Buch von Jurgen Appelo jetzt endlich erschienen sei. Zu meiner Schande muss ich gestehen, voher noch nie etwas von Jurgen Appelo gehört zu haben. Da aber Leute - Gurus ;-) - denen ich auf Twitter folge, ganz aufgeregt waren, habe ich mir die Kindle Version besorgt.

Das erste, was ich las, waren die Vorreden von Uncle Bob (Martin) und Ed Yourdon. Bob Martin schrieb, das er normaler Weise Management Bücher nur auf dem Klo (!) liest, dies vorliegende Exemplar aber eine Ausnahme bilde. Das deutete für mich darauf hin, dass es sich um ein Management Buch handelt, das nahe an der Praxis ist.
Schon die ersten Seiten zeigten zudem, das der Schreibstil sehr unterhaltsam und witzig ist, ohne unsachlich zu werden.

Folgender Massen strukturiert sich das Buch:
1.Teil: Einführung (Übersicht über das 6 äugige Monster, Was ist agile Software Entwicklung überhaupt?)
2.Teil: Überblick über System Theorie (zur Zeit wohl eines der Buzz-Words)
3.Teil: Erstes Auge - Energize People
- im ersten Teil geht es um viele Dinge, die so ähnlich auch schon in "Drive" von Dan Pink zu finden sind; Motivation 3.0
4.Teil: Zweites Auge - Empower your Teams
- wie kann man es schaffen, die Individuen zu einem Team wachsen zu lassen; Stichwort Selbst-Organisation
- wie kann man das Team in die Lage versetzen, selbst sie richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen (das Team empowern)
- Delegation richtig anwenden
5.Teil: Drittes Auge - Align Constrains
- die Ziele vom Individuum bis zur Organisation aufeinander ausrichten
- nur wie bekommt man Selbst-Organisation ausgerichtet?
6.Teil: Viertes Auge - Develop Competencies
- Feedback Möglichkeiten und Modelle
- wie wird die Kompetenz gemessen, wie kann man die Informationen zusammen tragen
7.Teil: Fünftes Auge - Grow Structure
- wie funktioniert die Kommunikation in komplexeren Systemen?
- die zentrale Idee ist es, Strukturen im kleinen auf zu bauen und dann - analog zu fraktalen Strukturen - diese auf Organisationsebene wachsen zu lassen
8.Teil: Sechstes Auge - Improve Everything
- Modelle zum Change Management

Es ist nicht alles neu, was in den einzelnen Teilen steht. Aber neu - und daher mit dem Titel "Management 3.0" durchaus zusammenfassbar - sind die Ideen, wie sich die einzelnen und die Teams zu einem komplexen "Organismus" entwickeln und mit welchen Methoden und Werkzeugen man diese Entwicklung initiieren, begleiten und in die richtige Richtung wachsen lassen kann. Für mich ist das Buch letzten Endes eine Weiterentwicklung Tom DeMarcos "Peopleware".

Das Buch kann ich nur wärmstens empfehlen!
0Kommentar|12 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. November 2015
Liest sich super und lustig.
Es ist keine wissenschaftliche Abhandlung, noch ist es Management-Bla-Bla ohne wissenschaftliche Theorien.
Es hat genau die richtige Mischung.
Allerdings könnte es aus meiner Sicht etwas mehr Tiefe vertragen.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. August 2015
Das Buch ist wirklich eine sehr gute und detaillierte Übersicht, über die vielen Modelle, welche sich mit Komplexität auseinander setzen. Es ist locker und z.T. unterhaltsam geschrieben, gut recherchiert und mit Quellen versehen.
Appelo entwickelt hier auch einige eigene Ansätze.
Insgesamt eine empfehlenswerte 'Synthese' zum sehr aktuellen Thema.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. November 2012
Hier lernt man noch was von wahrem Management, Obwohl der Autor an vielen Stellen unangenehm selbstverliebt wirkt:
Ein sehr gelungener, allumfassender Managementratgeber. Die intellektuelle Herleitung aus einer Mischung von Chaos- und Evolutionstheorie ist nicht jedermanns Sache, aber die Schlussfolgerungen sind alle schlüssig und aus dem richtigen Leben belegt. Ein Muss.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Mai 2013
This book gave me very interesting new view/perspective on my company and my team. Connection of Complexity Theory from other sciences to the Management of Agile teams is excellent.
Writing style fitted me perfectly. Just right amount of humor for me. Also, mix of theory and practice examples was very well balanced.
The only reason why I didn't give 5 starts to this book is in the fact that there are a LOT of useful peaces of information. That made it at times very hard for reading. I struggled to get to the end of the book, although everything was very interesting. Simply, at stages I didn't have place in my brain to store new info and I had to make some bigger brakes in reading.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2014
At first, I thought by my self: "Oh my god, another of those agile apolygetes, who want to explain the world of software development to you." Of course, I was convinced that I know better in my environment. But I was taught better. Many of things described in the book, I have felt but couldn't express it. Now I am able to express them and to apply to my organization. Even though, I don't agree with everything, I was forced to rethink my own perceptions.
@Jurgen: Thank you very much!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)