Fashion Sale Hier klicken Strandspielzeug calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More HI_PROJECT madamet Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip NYNY

Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

TOP 1000 REZENSENTam 3. November 2015
Als Krimifan bin ich immer auf der Suche nach neuen Autoren mit neuen Helden- aber leider wurde ich hier von Bentley doch massiv enttäuscht.
Die Geschichte ist absolut 08/15, die Wendungen und Verwicklungen einfach sehr konstruiert und unglaubwürdig und das Ende mehr als vorhersehbar. Dazu die unnötige Liebesgeschichte ...
Nein, wirklich kein Highlight im Krimiherbst.
Fazit: Lesbar, aber 08/15 Fastfood ohne Nachhaltigkeitsfaktor: Buch zugeklappt, hat man den Inhalt schon wieder vergessen.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Oktober 2014
When so minded I can cavil with the best of them, nit-pick and chunter like a grumpy old git. It seems that "48 Hours" has attracted the attention of some who have these predilections.

They complain that the proof-reading has not been sufficiently thorough. Surely allowances must be made for the fact that self-publishers are on their own... self-editing one's text for the nth time borders on masochism. And so, yes, a scattering of typos must be reckoned with.

Then there are reviewers who seem to be sorely offended by the kind of ebook formatting oddities which make reading less comfortable than it might otherwise be. But in this respect surely the author is blameless.

It is easy to write off petty criticisms of this nature. It is more tricky when it comes to suggestions that "48 Hours" is fatally flawed by underlying plotting implausibility. The reader is invited to immerse himself or herself in a fictitious world in which protagonists who are 'civilians' enjoy a very close relationship with the forces of law and order. The relationship may not reflect 'real life' accurately, but it makes for gripping and highly entertaining storytelling.

And surely entertainment is what it is about here. Or do we spurn the writings of Ian Fleming because of unrealistic portrayal of the secret agent? Do we avoid the work of Dan Brown because of his frequent 'bloopers'?

"48 Hours" entertains wonderfully. This is a spiffing, almost old-fashioned yarn, the tale of a complex caper pulling the reader from chapter to chapter. It is also rich in contemporaneity... one recalls newspaper headlines and controversial issues when presented with some of the passages which are generous with well-researched information. There are sufficient action-adventure highlights, and yet in no instance are there stomach-churning descriptions of violence or suffering. There is a developing romance, but no cringe-worthy pages of inept description of sexual antics.

It is admittedly demanded of the reader that he or she suspend some measure of disbelief in order to enjoy the overall construct of the author's mischief making. And this goes beyond just the text on our Kindle screens. We are possibly inclined to assume that J Jackson Bentley is a descendant of the cynical American journalist, Jackson Bentley, who wrote for the Chicago Courier.

Then we finally smirk at the realization that this figure was imagined by Robert Bolt, the scriptwriter of "Lawrence of Arabia" in 1962.

A tangled web, indeed, in which this reader will be happy to remain enmeshed.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. April 2016
Sehr einprägsame, detailgetreue Sprache, die einen mitten ins Geschehen zieht. Man kann es förmlich spüren, wie der Regen den erzählenden Hauptakteur Josh, bis auf die Haut durchnässt oder wie ihm der Kaffeeduft in die Nase zieht, so dass man direkt selber Lust bekommt, einen zu trinken.
Auch die Eskapaden und die absolute Selbstverliebtheit des Täters ziehen einen in den Bann, mit einem ungläubigen Lächeln auf der einen Seite, ob der Dreistigkeit dieses Mannes und mit einem entrüstetem Aufschrei auf der anderen Seite, was dieser Mensch sich meint erlauben zu können.
Alle Gefühle der Akteure werden in diesem Buch sehr gut transportiert!
Die im Buch untergebrachte Liebesgeschichte kommt komplett ohne nervige Sexszenen aus und entwickelt sich erfreulich dezent. Auch wenn es scheint, als wenn der Autor gerade selbst ein wenig in „seine“ Personenschützerin verliebt ist und sie daher ziemlich perfekt erschaffen wurde ;-)
Amüsant fand ich, beim Lesen meines Kindles, mit zu erleben, wie Josh einen Kindle in die Hand bekommt und lernt, damit umzugehen.
Nachdem sich das Buch in der Mitte leider etwas zog und ich auch leider nicht weiss, ob die ganzen Erläuterungen über die Funktionsweise der englischen Politik mit der Realität übereinstimmen, nahm es kurz darauf wieder Tempo und Spannung auf, so dass ich es kaum aus der Hand legen konnte.
Fazit: Ein spannendes Buch , flüssig geschrieben, mit unerwarteten Tricks und Wendungen und einem noch erstaunlicherem Ende und der Erkenntnis, das man mit Geld leider nur fasst alles kaufen kann…
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juni 2013
Probably won 't take you this long to read the book. I couldn't put it down. So typically British and a joy to race around London at top speed. Look forward to reading more from this author
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. April 2014
This was a 0 € deal and you don't look a gift horse in the mouth, I guess. Still, even my low expectations weren't met with this one. The plot and the characters are totally unbelievable, this is the first book in a while that I didn't finish.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Juli 2013
Good plot, generally well written. Characters good but romance a bit forced. I will probably read more of his books.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Oktober 2013
I won't go into story details, so no spoilers. Enjoyed reading my first JJ Bentley as it was my type of book, exciting, a little bit of humour to take the edge off and well thought through until the end. It took unexpected turns and also a few foreseeable ones but it all fitted. Will be reading another one soon as the teaser at the end of my Kindle version wet my appetite for more.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2014
I just couldn't stop reading this book - after every chapter, I was so excited to read the next one! The most important parts are really well described, so you could completely empathise with the main characters.

Very clever, a lot of suspense and unpredictable.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. März 2014
Es handelt sich um einen schnellen, recht kurzweiligen "Krimi" mit netten und unerwarteten Wendungen. der reale Showplatz London ist für mich noch ein Grund gewsen, ihn zu lesen.
Unterhaltsame, leichte Lektüre.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Januar 2014
It's a book that you don't want to put away. It makes you wanna finish it in one read. Surprises on every corner. End wasn't foreseen. Very exiting. I'd definitely recomment 48 hours!
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden