Kundenrezensionen


332 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (267)
4 Sterne:
 (31)
3 Sterne:
 (7)
2 Sterne:
 (7)
1 Sterne:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


25 von 27 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Meisterwerk
Kein Buch seit "Im Westen nichts Neues" hat das Grauen des Krieges zu auf Papier zu bannen vermocht als "Catch 22". Und dennoch ist es so fundamental anders geschrieben im Vergleich zu Remarque's Klassiker aus dem Jahr 1929. Heller beschreibt das Phänomen Krieg so, wie er es entfindet: absurd, grotesk, unlinear, unlogisch, unmenschlich. Genau das ist die...
Veröffentlicht am 6. März 2005 von Michael Dienstbier

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Almost worth reading
This book definitely had its good points - Yossarian's antics ("I yearn for you deeply"), the out-of-sequence structure (yes, I actually liked that), and some of the philosophizing about war which struck a chord with me - but its annoying points outweighed them in the end. The main thing that ruined the book for me was the ridiculously illogical behavior of...
Am 19. Januar 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 234 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

25 von 27 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Meisterwerk, 6. März 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22 (Taschenbuch)
Kein Buch seit "Im Westen nichts Neues" hat das Grauen des Krieges zu auf Papier zu bannen vermocht als "Catch 22". Und dennoch ist es so fundamental anders geschrieben im Vergleich zu Remarque's Klassiker aus dem Jahr 1929. Heller beschreibt das Phänomen Krieg so, wie er es entfindet: absurd, grotesk, unlinear, unlogisch, unmenschlich. Genau das ist die Herausforderung an den Leser. Er (sie) ist ständig mit komplett absurden Situationen konfrontiert, die sich schwerlich in irgendein Interpretationsschema einordnen lassen. Ein Soldat, der das eigene Camp bombadieren lässt, um seinen Handel florieren zu lassen. Protagonist Yossarian, der monatelang offiziell mit einem schon längst gefallenen Soldaten in einem Zelt lebt, ohne das die Bürokratie seine ständigen Klärungsversuche zur Kenntnis nimmt. Und natürlich der Catch 22. Als Soldat kann man sich vom Dienst befreien lassen, wenn man ünerzeugend darlegt, dass man wahnsinnig ist. Dieser Versuch ist jedoch schon von Anfang an zum Scheitern verurteilt, da der Versuch sich als verrückt zu bezeichenen von der Verwaltung als höchst rationeller Akt bewertet wird (der Begriff "Catch 22" ist mittlerweile sogar im OED zu finden und wird dort als "Teufelskreis" bezeichnet). So ist Yossarian nicht vergleichbar mit Paul Bäumer, sondern vielmeht mit K. aus Kafkas "Der Prozeß".
Im Zentrum des Romans steht die Frage: Warum scheint Yossarian der einzige zu sein, der versucht gegen den Wahnsinn des Krieges anzugehen? Welches Ereignis hat dazu geführt? Schon auf den ersten Seiten offenbart der Text Hinweise auf das zentrale Schockerlebnis in Yossarians Leben. Diese Hinweise bleiben jedoch zuerst unverständlich, da sie völlig unzusammenhängend in die laufende Handlung eingefügt sind. Erst langsam ernthüllt sich das Grauen welches dazu geführt hat, Yossarians Sinn für Humanität zu bewahren. Erst auf den letzten Seiten enthüllt sich der Schrecken der hinter den Worten "I'm cold, I'm cold" verborgen liegt und welche den Leser seit mehreren hundert Seiten verfolgt haben. Bis dahin ist einem das Lachen mehrmals im Hals stecken geblieben, da man nicht weiß ob es, wegen der tragischen Thematik, überhaupt angebracht ist, sich vor Lachen im Bett zu kugeln. Eine echte Alternative bleibt allerdings nicht. Denn Heller nähert sich dem Horror auf die einzige Art und Weise, mit der man ihn ertragen kann ohne verrückt zu werden: mit Humor.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


20 von 22 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen It's the best there is...., 9. September 2004
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22 (Taschenbuch)
Catch 22 is one of the best books I've ever read. Heller's main character, Captain Yossarian, finds himselves in a war that is absolutely ridiculous and pointless, still he has to face death every day.
The book might be slightly hard to read in the beginning because it takes some time until you get used to Heller constantly going back and forth in time but once you know the characters I can guarantee that you will find this book amazing. It's dead funny on the one hand but on the other hand it will also make you feel horrible. You'll read a passage and laugh so hard you'll almost cry and then in the next passage you'll be struck dumb with terror and really start to cry.
The book will make you feel different about war, maybe also about life in general. It will definitely give you an idea about what's it all (not) about. Read it and experience the ridiculousness of war, without heroism or patriotism, just the way it is. Stupid. And, have a great laugh while doing it...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A paradox that has entered the language ..., 19. September 2000
I read this when I was eighteen and loved it ever since. I can't count how many times I have read it. I believe Heller once said that the book was not really about WWII but about 'the next war'. That is probably why it struck such a chord with the Vietnam generation for whom the war was happening daily on their TV sets. The surrealism of the novel seemed to be reproduced in the US Army officer saying about a devastated city 'We destroyed it in order to save it'. For there is a ferocious paradox in battle - why don't both sides just run away? This book does not try to resolve the paradoxes (leave that to Keegan, Grossman, Marshall and the military historians), it celebrates the 'grunts', the poor bloody infantry (or air pilots) who just endure the madness, hoping to escape the terrible combination of circumstances that may demand their deaths. Probably the soldiers who endured the trenches of WWI might understand Catch-22 better than those of WWII. Read and be amused, scarified and ultimately humbled.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A cynical analysis of any war, 4. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22: A Novel (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I would first like to inform other reviewers that I am a high school junior, read this as part of a choice novel project, and had no trouble grasping the ideas that Joseph Heller presented within his Catch-22.
The sarcastic attitude of this novel is conspicuous, and all bonds with reality are dropped with the first character introductions. The humor that has previously been criticized I found to be easy to understand, not monotonous, and a unique aspect to illustrate WW2. This is not to say the humor is for all, because Heller uses many paradoxes (look up definition of "catch-22"), simple one line contradictions, and subtle word choices to draw a laugh-all which represent the personality of the novel.
Yes, there are many characters, probably over fifty, yet grasping the names is not important at all times. Of course you quickly get associated with Yossarian and the other main characters, and chapter do reintroduce people from the early parts of the book. This may be annoying, yet each character is distinct, and there is little chance of confusing Milo, and entrepeneur, with Havermeyer, the elite pilot. In truth, the novel lacks a linear time, but chooses, rather, to define the novel through numerous character sketches, focusing them loosely around Yossarian. By the later chapters of the novel, Heller subtly introduces the gruesome truths of the war, balancing the early humor with more realistic look. It is through this transition that the weight of the situation is elucidated, and by contrasting the final chapters with the first, Heller is able to attract our attention and force us to analyze the war.
What is the novel about? There is no simple answer, yet if I attempt to state it in a single sentence Catch-22's theme, it would be "The only true fault of America's once the war began, was that we as a nation began to glorify war, without truly understanding the implications of our actions."
What is the idea behind catch-22 as a statement? Read the book. Enjoy. Open your eyes with laughter and tears. Perhaps you won't like the satirical tone, but I would suggest to all that you try.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen fascinating, hilarious, 31. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22 (Taschenbuch)
This book is more about people than it is about war. It is more about life than it is about death. It is more about Yossarian and Nately (and his old man) and Sheisskopf and Major Major than it is about World War II. Hell, I even took my username from my favorite character in this book (as well as literature universall), Milo Minderbinder.
I have heard from many that Heller has not approached this brilliance since. He once, when asked why he had not written another novel as good as Catch-22, said, "Well, nobody else has either." That just might be true. This book made me look at people with all their quirks and their inconsistencies and try to laugh instead of argue. It helped me look at our world with a smile and a laugh insead of a frown and a spoonful of critisism. Parts were hilarious, parts were poignant.
Its story is far less important than its character (as made evident by the format). In every character you see something in yourself. In Yossarian I saw much of what I would like to have the guts to do. I saw common sense. It was also a manifestation of Orwell's famous quotations, "Sanity is Not Statistical."
Read this book: laugh, cry, think, be enlightened.
{{{milo}}}
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the top 5 American novels written, 2. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22 (Taschenbuch)
I can clearly recall after over 30 years the stir that Catch-22 caused in the group of friends I was close to in college. The book at first reading was so outrageously funny and captivating that it was a major error to put down the only copy we had for any reason. The sole copy left unattended would immediately be picked up by one of the "vultures" that were constantly circling the fortunate one who had the book, looking for an opening.
On subsequent readings of this remarkable novel the incredible depth of characters and irony comes through more forcefully and new meaning is discovered. Heller's command of the language and his fine understanding not only of the madness of war and the insane reasons those in charge offer for its necessity but also of the day to day absurdities of life in the military and by extension in everyday life, make this a novel a Bible of Truth that for those of us who have experienced those absurdities and that madness. Conversely, those who do not have the experiences of armed conflict and interaction with any military machine still get full meaning of "the catch". This novel touches so completely the soul of an ultimately sane man, Yossarian, living in a totally insane world. That the phrase "its a Catch-22 situation" has so completely entered the language and that it is understood by those who use it exactly as Heller intended is the ultimate compliment and review of this timeless work.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


13 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Lesen BEVOR man seinen Wehrdienst antritt..., 22. September 2002
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22 (Taschenbuch)
... denn bis heute besteht Dienst in einer Armee - selbst in Friedenszeiten - selbst in einer Demokratie - hauptsächlich daraus, daß man von kompletten Idioten mithilfe idiotischer Vorschriften systematisch fertiggemacht wird. Wenn ich dieses Buch ernst genommen hätte, hätte ich Zivildienst geleistet. Macht nicht denselben Fehler und erspart euch damit Stunden des Stiefelputzens.
In einer beißenden Satire, angesiedelt auf einem Flugplatz der US Air Force in Italien 1944, beleuchtet Heller das Dasein, die Liebe und den Krieg und kommt zu verblüffenden Schlüssen. Das Buch ist schreiend komisch, bestechend intelligent und unverändert aktuell. Es ist auf jeden Fall die Mühe wert, die Originalversion zu lesen. Das Buch wurde verfilmt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen There has to be catch..., 13. April 2009
Von 
Nicole Mueller (Wolfsburg) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22 (Taschenbuch)
In Catch-22 by Joseph Heller a bombardier named Yossarian struggles to survive World War II. Yossarian is stationed in Italy fighting in the American Army. The only thing he wants is to go home, but as his colonel is constantly raising the missions they are supposed to fly before going home, because he wants to be promoted, there seems to be no way out of war, but dying in combat.
Catch-22 stands for an argument that does not make any sense at all. Right at the beginning of the novel Yossarian wants to be sent home because he is crazy. He is told the only way to be sent home is if he is crazy, but if he acknowledges to be crazy and wants to go home he is not crazy anymore, because wanting to get home from war is the sanest thing there is. So in order to get home he has to be crazy, but wanting to go home makes him sane. This banal principle draws through the whole novel.
This novel is told as a satire. It is not supposed to make you laugh all the time, but there sure are some laughs in it, and it sure makes you shake you head a lot thinking "This can not be serious!" A lot of situations are exaggerated and characters are also much exaggerated described and they don't make any sense mostly. But this is exactly what makes this novel worth reading. It shows the banality in war. War does not make sense, why should a story about it make any sense?
"'You're a good mess officer, Milo.'
'I'm not the mess officer, sir.'
'You're a good mess officer, Milo.'
'Thank you, sir. I'll do everything in my power to be a good mess officer."' (chapter 13)

Hilarious!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Booby Trap of the World, 17. Februar 2000
Undoubtedly, this book is a modern classic. To describe and elucidate all peculiarities of its style, allusions (Shakespeare, Dostoevsky, etc.), plot, characters and its influence on the modern culture and life one will need to write another book of similar volume. So I'll be short: the novel is excellent, a must read.
It starts as a brilliant satire showing absurdity of a war machine and its human components. In times the story is so funny that it is preferably to read in solitude in order not to exasperate people with irrepressible laughter. But in the second half of the novel the festive mode metamorphoses: a hilarity becomes a horror of a man ensnared by a booby trap. The events and orders are crazy but the blood of friends is absolutely real. The black comedy, taking place in Italy during World War II, transforms into a hideous picture of the human society, where a life of an ordinary person signifies nothing being only a card in heinous game of rapacious and salacious potentates. In one of the last chapters Rome, the Eternal City, appears as an apocalyptic vision of impending destruction of the iniquitous world. The marvelous novel of Joseph Heller warns us: Be vigilant!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Bösartig absurdes Kriegstheater, 28. Februar 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition (Kindle Edition)
Zynischer Roman über eine US-Fliegerstation in Italien gegen Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs. Die Absurdität des Kriegs wird in vielen Facetten durchgespielt - meist nicht im Kampf, sondern im Fliegerhorst oder bei Ausflügen nach Rom. Der Ton ist trocken, nonchalant, sarkastisch, zynisch und unterhaltsam intellektuell. Selten war ein Roman so dicht gepackt mit Aperçus, Leuchtfeuer und souveränen, weit gestreuten Querbezügen. Auf jeder Seite fiel mir dreimal die Kinnlade herunter.

Insgesamt sehr vergnüglich und stilistisch meisterlich, ohne je unangenehm aufzutrumpfen. Doch vielleicht geriet Catch-22 etwas lang (497 Seiten in meiner englischen Ausgabe): Heller strapaziert das Prinzip, sich widersprechende Aussagen in einen einzigen kuriosen Satz zu packen, auf Dauer zu sehr; ähnlich wie das Stilmittel, Empörendes oder Widersinniges trocken als normal zu präsentieren - auch wenn es immer wieder den Atem raubt.

Störend zudem die Diskussion zwischen jungem US-Soldaten und altem Italiener über Krieg und Nationen als solche - hier wird Heller zu Prediger-haft, selbst wenn er seine Meinung wieder in Absurditäten packt. Und gelegentlich erscheint Hauptdarsteller Yossarian etwas zu rührend aufrichtig und herzensgut gegenüber der allgemeinen Weltstumpfheit.

Meine englische Ausgabe enthielt viele Wörter, die ich nicht kannte, z.B. homiletic, unctuous, pugnacious, swathy, petulant. Dies war ein Grund, warum ich die Lektüre relativ leicht unterbrechen konnte. Dazu kommt natürlich, dass die Handlung eher tröpfelt, in Episoden zerfällt und nicht chronologisch erzählt wird.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 234 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition
EUR 3,94
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen