Kundenrezensionen


12 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (3)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Guter Beginn
Nach einem verheerenden Krieg wird die Gesellschaft der Vereinigten Staaten von Maschinen bedient, die von hochbezahlten Ingenieuren und Doktoren gesteuert werden. Die restliche Bevölkerung fristet ein langweiliges, illusionsloses Leben, weil es für die normalen Menschen nichts mehr zu tun gibt, diese Erledigungen haben die Maschinen übernommen...
Veröffentlicht am 18. Mai 2006 von Ossiwan

versus
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Doesn't nearly aproach Vonnegut's potential
Although I consider myself an avid reader of Vonnegut, I was surprised to find that I couldn't help finding this book kind of childish in the simplicity of it and its message. Don't get me wrong! I love Vonnegut. I'm just saying that this book happens to be an exception to his great work, possibly because it was his first and his style hadn't fully matured then. The...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Juli 2000 von Yuri Mednikov


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Guter Beginn, 18. Mai 2006
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Player Piano: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Nach einem verheerenden Krieg wird die Gesellschaft der Vereinigten Staaten von Maschinen bedient, die von hochbezahlten Ingenieuren und Doktoren gesteuert werden. Die restliche Bevölkerung fristet ein langweiliges, illusionsloses Leben, weil es für die normalen Menschen nichts mehr zu tun gibt, diese Erledigungen haben die Maschinen übernommen. Abgeschottet vom normalen Bürgertum lebt die finanzielle Spitze der Gesellschaft auf ihrer Insel der Seeligen, mit wirtschaftlichen Ritualen und Kastenverhalten, freiwillig eingesperrt in einem goldenen Käfig. Nur Paul Proteus, Leiter der Werke von Ilium, findet immer weniger Geschmack an diesem Leben in Luxus auf den Kosten von vielen und liebäugelt damit auszubrechen.

Vonneguts erster Roman nimmt die Marktwirtschaftliche Gesellschaft unter ein scharfes Auge und vieles, was er in den frühen 60ern in diesen Roman gepackt hat, ist heute Alltag geworden. Somit liest man mit verhaltenem Lachen, da man erkennt, wie sehr die Vision von Proteus auf die heutige Gesellschaft zutrifft. Wenn er in der Parallelhandlung den Schah von Brathpur die Vereinigten Staaten bestaunen lässt, der alle Einwohner nur als Sklaven sieht, dann trägt Vonnegut literarisch fast schon ein bisschen zu dick auf, trifft die sozialkritische Komponente aber wie die Faust aufs Auge. Besonders gegen Ende des Romans wechselt er dann wie wild zwischen Stilelementen und Textsorten und verwirrt so die Lesestrategie, was das Buch dann etwas mühsam werden lässt.

Schade auch, dass es keine deutschsprachigen Fassungen gibt, aber man sollte keine Angst vor dem Original haben, da es sich bei normalen Englischkenntnissen ohne gröbere Probleme lesen lässt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen An Accurate Prediction of the Future, 11. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Player Piano: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I think most of the reviewers missed the boat on this one. This is probably one of the most accurate predictions of the future I have read. All it needs is an update in computer nomenclature, and this could have been written yesterday. Think about it: How many craftsmen have been replaced by the kind of machines he describes? How many "engineers" are walking around today, who have never physically built anything? How useless is a high school diploma in today's job market? Planned obslescence, artificial economies-The only thing he got wrong was the world war (at least for now). And yes, I realize the irony of writing this review on a computer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A good quick read, 26. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Player Piano: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
A good quick read about an American Society where machines take care of all the work for us humans. After all the mahines are more efficient than man could ever be. Thoughout the book the question is constantly posed "if machines do all the work, what is a human being for?" The question is mainly left unanswered by kurt, I guess he leaves that up to us to figure out. All in all it was a good book that kept my interest and i would recommend to anyone, especially someone who is a fan of Kurt Vonnegut's work.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brilliant, 1. April 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PLAYER PIANO (Taschenbuch)
I am only 25 and already burnt out and disgusted with the corporate world. This book really hit home with me. Vonnegut mocks and satarizes corporate life, which, after reading this book, obviously hasn't become any less discouraging or frusterating as it was 47 years ago. Player Piano is a must read for anyone who is appauled by the reality that, with few exceptions, one must completely sell out and conform in order to advance in a large corporation. Anyone who is currently mired in corporate America will recognize at least one or two of the characters and/or situations in this book as ones they themselves have had to (or continue to) deal with regularly, and therefore will feel a strong bond with Paul Proteus by book's end.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Biting commentary worth reading, 8. Februar 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PLAYER PIANO (Taschenbuch)
This book is getting a little long in the tooth, but it is still worth reading. I can understand how it may be read (superficially) as a typical fifties/Star Trek 'omigosh-the-machines-have-taken-us-over" novel. I do think, however, that Vonnegut has a lot to say in this book about the scaryass, stupidass ways we order ourselves in the pursuit of social status. He has created in this book a society of rigidities and absurdities: how different are the formalized executive games in _Player_ from the informal good-old-boys golf game...no women invited...that occur every weekend in the real world. How many proteges are groomed or rebuffed based on their conduct during those golf games? This is an example of the commentary on conformity that I believe Vonnegut created in _Player_.
There's a lot in this book for the modern reader, especially if you like Vonnegut (which I obviously do...)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen one of Vonnegut's best novels, 12. Juni 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PLAYER PIANO (Taschenbuch)
One of Vonnegut's best novels; certainly his most traditionally narrative and coherent. In the glorious future, machines have freed man from most types of labor, and simplified the categorization of people. Everyone is tested scientifically for IQ, personality, and aptitude; everyone's life determined by the tests. Most people spend most of their time bored; they cannot compete for the few real jobs available, most of them in engineering, and must choose between the Army and the Reconstruction & Reclamation Corps. Only the few, like Dr. Paul Proteus, have IQs high enough to make them more useful than computers. Proteus gets involved in a minor revolution, but it is ultimately to no end. Progress is inevitable, but what is good for the body may not be good for the soul
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen From a different perspective, mine., 28. Mai 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PLAYER PIANO (Taschenbuch)
When Vonnegut wrote this novel, I was a young lad and lived in the same upstate village of Alplaus, NY. Kurt was a PR person for General Electric. And, so because of this he became associated with GE scientists. When I first read Player Piano, I was amazed at the similarity with that small village. As I read, the fictional characters became evident. Local village scientists. I won't name names..I found this somewhat interesting having know some of them as a youngster. Kurt used to rent a room above a nearby home. Mrs. Cheney's. Just to go and write. And, remove himself from his house which overlooked the Alplaus Creek.This is just a bit of literature history that few know. Just an insight. Trust that you enjoyed it. And, how great authors get their background for novels. Yes, he did use my mom as a very brief character. They were friends.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Incredibly accurate prophecy of future society, 2. Januar 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PLAYER PIANO (Taschenbuch)
Written in the 1950's just when people were starting to envision computerized machines (ie. Robots)
Vonnegut presents a dark look at society divided between the priviledged engineer class that designs
and runs industry and the passive dumb masses that are either directy supported by government welfare or assigned
to the Reconstruction and Reclaimation Corp (Wreaks & Wrecks) - a work fare program with no real aim or agenda.
All funded by robot manned factories where the machines are taxed. Able to produce massive amounts of cheap products
that allows the welfare state to survive. Look around folks, it's happening here today!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Doesn't nearly aproach Vonnegut's potential, 28. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Player Piano: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Although I consider myself an avid reader of Vonnegut, I was surprised to find that I couldn't help finding this book kind of childish in the simplicity of it and its message. Don't get me wrong! I love Vonnegut. I'm just saying that this book happens to be an exception to his great work, possibly because it was his first and his style hadn't fully matured then. The true Vonnegut books that I recommend reading, are 'Slaughter-House-five' and 'Mother Night.' Please don't dissmiss Vonnegut as a bad writer if you don't like this book or hear that it isn't good. It is not in any way representational of what Vonnegut can do. Go read 'Slaughter-House-Five' and you'll witness the true power of Vonnegut's art.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Good Book, 13. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Player Piano: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Its a very nice book and is realy good
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xaa07a960)

Dieses Produkt

Player Piano (Kurt Vonnegut Series)
EUR 6,92
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen