Kundenrezensionen


72 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (54)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Continues to be an important work
I read Cat's Cradle when I was about 15, and I just reread it recently as a 39 year old. While the book remains an important work, I think a bit of the urgency and vitality wore off. I remembered that it had some cool ice-stuff and a frozen dog from being a teen. Upon this reading, I was amazed how spiritual the essence of the story seemed under the layers of obvious...
Veröffentlicht am 23. Juli 2000 von Melinda Lucas

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Vonnegut -- master of imagination, king of foolish endings
I love Vonnegut's books. Few, if any, American writers display such imagination and wit. Or depth of conviction. However, in most of the five books by him that I have read, the endings are disappointingly weak. This is definitely the case in "Cat's Cradle". The book progresses with near Huxlian vision (and much more humor) until Vonnegut appears to run...
Veröffentlicht am 5. Oktober 1999 von Walter V. Cicha


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Continues to be an important work, 23. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I read Cat's Cradle when I was about 15, and I just reread it recently as a 39 year old. While the book remains an important work, I think a bit of the urgency and vitality wore off. I remembered that it had some cool ice-stuff and a frozen dog from being a teen. Upon this reading, I was amazed how spiritual the essence of the story seemed under the layers of obvious satire. Jonah, the reporter, is attracted to the exotic Mona, not because of her beauty (but being the typical male, that's what he thinks) but because, ultimately through the simple act of touching his feet to hers, he finds God. Vonnegut seems a very anti-religious man.....hating the organized religions of the world, but still facing up to the fact that God can be found anywhere and everywhere, even if one dosen't know what one seeks. The book, due to it's anti nuclear theme, was perhaps more urgent in the 1970's, but it is still a laugh-out-loud enjoyable read. I also admire the layers of storytelling. It is one of my favorite Vonnegut offerings.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen so deprimierend und unterhaltsam..., 10. August 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Cat's Cradle ist ein faszinierendes Weltuntergangszenario. Mit teiweise schwarzem Humor schildert Vonnegut was eine außer Kontrolle geratene Erfindung bewirkt. Besonders nachdenklich haben mich dabei die Erkenntnisse über die Ziele von Wissenschaft und Religion gemacht. Ich habe das Buch in englisch gelesen. Vonnegut benutzt rel. viele, auch für einen einigermaßen erfahrenen Leser englischer Literatur, unbekannte Ausdrücke, deshalb könnte das Nachschlagen in einem Wörterbuch ab und zu brauchbar sein, aber es lohnt sich!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Inspires me to read yet more Vonnegut, 19. September 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I picked up CC after a friend recommended SH5, which I read and enjoyed. Vonnegut's sly, subtle wit will probably strike many at first as just cynicism, but the character's all have heart. Ironically in all of the absurdity of Vonnegut's characters and stories, he manages to capture more of humanity than any author I've read in quite some time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen See the cat? See the cradle?, 18. Mai 2006
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Der Ich-Erzähler möchte ein Buch über den Tag des Atombombenabwurfs über Hiroshima aus der Sicht der direkt Beteiligten schreiben. Und so stößt er auf die Familie des Konstrukteurs der Bombe, Dr. Hoenikker. Von dessen drei Kindern bekommt er vom jüngsten Sohn bereitwillige Auskunft über das Leben des Vaters und erfährt auch, dass der ältere Sohn mittlerweile technischer Berater einer autonomen Diktatur eines Inselstaates nahe den Vereinigten Staaten ist. Nach mehreren Verwicklung kommt der Erzähler auf diese Insel und damit fangen die Verwicklungen erst an.

Mit „Cat's Cradle" hat Vonnegut wohl eines der phantasievollsten und ungewöhnlichsten Bücher aller Zeiten geschrieben. So erfindet er eine eigene Religion, aufbauend auf Versatzteilen der üblichen, die in sich geschlossen und logisch ist. Er revolutioniert die physikalischen Gesetze und führt „Ice-Nine" ein, eine neue Aggregatsform von Wasser, die jenseits der bisher bekannten liegt. Er untergräbt politische Gedankengute und soziale Vorgaben und wirft mit einer neuen Art der Apokalypse jegliches althergebrachtes Vorstellungsvermögen über den Haufen. Und literarisch orientiert er sich nur an sich selbst, literarische Grundprinzipien wohlweislich ignorierend.

Deshalb auf jeden Fall lesen, keine Angst vor dem englischen Original haben, mit ein bisschen Kenntnis ist es kein Problem.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen First an author, then a president, then a martyr, kind of., 10. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Jonah, the main character, plans on writing a book about the day that Hiroshima was hit by the a-bomb, but not about the bomb itself: he wants anecdotes, stories that happened to people on that particular day. To pursue this idea, he gets in touch with Newton Hoenikker (son of Felix Hoenikker, inventor of the a-bomb) and many other characters related to Hoenikker's life. We see that his interest shifts slowly from the day the a-bomb hit Hiroshima to the Hoenikker family. This wild information chase leads him to an island, San Lorenzo, where Frank Hoenikker (another son of Felix's) is one of the top dogs - his title exactly, I can't remember.
Anyway, before dying, Felix had invented ice-nine, a chemical product able to "teach" water molecules to assemble themselves in a different manner, the way oranges can be piled up in a different manner in a crate.
This tale, also revolving around a religion thoroughly explained - called Bokononism - gives us an apocalyptic view of ourselves, and takes to the extremes many things we take for granted. And still, for some reason, you just can't help laughing at the bitterness and harshness with which this story is written.
This is without a doubt a must-read, and is one of the best-ended books of all time. You will not be disappointed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Nicht sein Bester, aber immer noch genial, komisch und verstörend, 12. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich liebe Vonnegut! Von ganzem Herzen. Er hat den besten und schwärzesten Humor. Er zeichnet ein Bild von der Welt, wie sie deprimierender, aber wahrer, nicht sein könnte. Auch wenn das Buch besser in die Zeit des kalten Krieges und der Atombombe passt, sind die Themen immer noch aktuell und ja teilweise akut. Man möchte ja erst meinen, es ginge nur um ein Thema, aber Vonnegut schafft es so viele Themen aufzugreifen und Denkanstöße zu geben… wenn man nur mal richtig und intensiv liest. Seine Themen mögen ja für die meisten Leute immer zu dunkel erscheinen: Weltuntergang, Zerstörung der Erde, Vernichtung der Menschheit durch die Menschheit – aber lest ihn Leute – ihr werdet dabei so so so laut lachen. Die Themen kommen weder pathetisch daher, noch mit erhobenen Zeigefinger.

Ich hab das Buch in englisch gelesen und habe sonst nur bei Klassikern hin und wieder Probleme mit einigen Wörtern und muss sie nachschlagen – bei diesem Buch von Vonnegut passierte mir das auch… er verwendet hin und wieder seltene Ausdrücke und Wörter. Das Nachschlagen war zwar für den Sinn nicht notwendig, aber ich wurde doch neugierig.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Vonneguts fand ich dieses jedoch nicht durchgängig gut. Es strotzt nur so vor Humor und Ungewöhnlichem, aber mein Lieblingsbuch wird es nicht. Trotzdem unbedingte Leseempfehlung für alle die gerne über Macht und Machtspielchen, Religionen und was sie anrichten, lesen möchten, ohne dabei von Rührseligkeit oder Moral erschlagen werden wollen.

“See the cat? See the cradle?”
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Vonnegut's finest work, 28. November 1999
Von 
Michael Vanier (Pasadena, CA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I became an instant fan of Vonnegut when I read this book. This is certainly the best of all his novels. His imagination is astounding; not only does he write better science fiction than most "real" science fiction writers, but he also invents a believable new religion (with a whole new vocabulary) and peppers the book with dark comedy so black it makes the movie "Dr. Strangelove" look cheerful. This is not a book to read when you're depressed. However, it is the perfect statement of Vonnegut's manic-depressive genius.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen How does Vonnegut do it, 4. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I had heard so much about Vonnegut since my freshman year in High school. I know now that I will become a hard core fan of all his books. I'm an avid reader of all science fiction novels and this one is definitely one of my favorites. This book is by far a thrill ride of an apocolyptic adventure. There are also alot of great charcter introduced in the book and alot of funny scenes. This was my first experience with Vonnegut and I enjoyed every moment of it. When I first saw the cover of the book I thought that it would be interesting and it was. It was not so hard and it was not very easy either. I love the way he satires religon and science. Blending his patented wry humor with acute social insight presented in an absurd fantasy world, Vonnegut has written an exceptional novel of love lies and the self destruction of mankind. The story centers around the narrator, Jonah, who is called by name only once in the entire book. We are told in the begining of the book that he is writing a book on the events of the day the first atomic bomb was dropped on Japan.His research leads him to a correspondence with Newt Hoenikker, the midget son of doctor Felix Hoenikker, father of the atomic bomb. After meeting with Newt, destiny leads our protagonist to the impoverished island republic of San Lorenzo, where among other adventures he finds religon, falls in love and becomes a president. All of this by itself would make for a very entertaining book, but it is not in the story line that Vonnegut's genius lies. Cat's Cradle is rife with painfully accurate insights into the institutions that our society holds so dear, such as, religion, politics, and science. Vonnegut invents for the inhabitants of San Lorenzo a brand new religion based completely and admittedly on "foma", or lies. This wouldn"t be so shocking, except for the fact that this "bokonism" seems to make perfect sense. Other Vonnegut ironies pervade the book and are too elaborate to go into. Cat's Cradle is one of the most absurd,and frightening novels. This book truly causes one to stop and think about the things that one holds as unquestionably true. All of these incredible people, places, things and ideas in Cat's cradle are intricately woven into a perfect tapestry that sums up and spells out many of mankind's self-created problems in 191 pages. I haven't read any of Kurt Vonnegut's other books but I know that I most certainly will. After checking this book out from the library I went and bought my own copy. I strongly recommed this book to anyone over the age of four-teen. There is no reason not to buy this masterpiece of modern literature. SO IF YOU READ IT WAS AND DIDM'T LIKE IT THAN READ IT AGAIN. IF YOU READ IT ONCE AND ENJOYED BUY IT AND READ IT AGAIN.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen hot knife through butter, 12. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Either this guy is an immaculate genius, or he labours his prose to the bone; it is so ridiculously simple to read, but what a read! You're easily halfway through before the realisation seeps in that this is a HELL of a ride you're going on, you have no clue what'll happen next, but look back and all you see is perfect necessity. You're in a maelstrom of whirling bits of dazzling colour, apparently unrelated, and before your very eyes they start to fit together in ways unimaginable and faster than you can grasp. The beauty and the terror just keep building up until your eyes start to tear with the unbearableness of it all. God, how it all fits together! The laughter strangled in my throat again and again because it was beyond funny. You can't even call it tragic any more. There are no words in the English language with enough of their original intensity left to describe what Vonnegut achieves with this book, at least for me. He does it perfectly, inimitably. Your vision is stretched so severely, your heart so laden with emotions with no name, you find yourself mute. Which is frustrating, because the first thing you want to do is evangelise about your newfound belief in humanity and great things like that, to deaf people eagerly armed with sharp, sharp pins.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Vonnegut -- master of imagination, king of foolish endings, 5. Oktober 1999
Von 
Walter V. Cicha "Cichacech" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Cat's Cradle: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I love Vonnegut's books. Few, if any, American writers display such imagination and wit. Or depth of conviction. However, in most of the five books by him that I have read, the endings are disappointingly weak. This is definitely the case in "Cat's Cradle". The book progresses with near Huxlian vision (and much more humor) until Vonnegut appears to run out of resources. His ending, the apocalyptic suffocation of the world with the cancerous "ice-nine", is far too abrupt and cartoonish. It hits the reader like, well, a dose of "ice nine". This is a major shame, as his magnificently creative tale deserves a better thought out -- perhaps more subtle -- ending, something that lingers on the brain for a long, long time. The problem with most of his books is their unfortunate diffusion from one's conciousness, more than likely due to their relatively poor endings. I suggest that any readers buying this book bail out about 20 or 30 pages before the end. In fact, I would advise this to readers of most Vonnegut books. Perhaps then, the words of the Master of Black Humor would enjoy a longer half-life, and deserve a much better rating.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Cat's Cradle (English Edition)
EUR 2,68
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen