Kundenrezensionen


147 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (105)
4 Sterne:
 (20)
3 Sterne:
 (10)
2 Sterne:
 (6)
1 Sterne:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Which came first?
After reading Ender's Game, and loving it more than I thoughtpossible, I read "Speaker for the Dead". In theintroduction, (if you ever bother to read those things), the authorpoints out that Speaker was his original idea. He wrote "Ender's Game" as BACKGROUND! "Game" won the Hugo and Nebula awards as a background novel. In this story we...
Veröffentlicht am 17. März 2000 von Glade Cornelius

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Not as good as Ender's Game
The writing becomes dull and overly religious. Ender's Game's plot was much more interesting. I loved Ender's Game and really wanted to read this book but it was very dissapointing.
Am 17. Februar 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 215 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Which came first?, 17. März 2000
After reading Ender's Game, and loving it more than I thoughtpossible, I read "Speaker for the Dead". In theintroduction, (if you ever bother to read those things), the authorpoints out that Speaker was his original idea. He wrote "Ender's Game" as BACKGROUND! "Game" won the Hugo and Nebula awards as a background novel. In this story we "meet" Ender again, this time as a rather jaded thirty-something man who has to keep his identity a secret. History has unfairly branded him a mass murderer rather than the hero as he was first regarded, or the abused child he was in reality. He is the original "Speaker for the Dead", a humanistic ideology/psuedo-religeon that teaches the virtues of the truth. Don't let this mumbo jumbo throw you, its a great read that doesn't get too mystical. The book would be great on its own, but it's all the greater because anyone who's read "Ender's game" already knows the protagonist in more depth than any character in recent memory from any book. Ender is our childhood friend, who we have the priviledge of meeting again in adulthood. The reader will root for the boy to become greater than the myth and end his life of lonliness. He is summoned to a colony world that has discovered another form of sentient life. Ender is there to speak a death, (give an honest to the point of being harsh eulogy), but finds himself once again wrapped up in the politics of humanity. Basically he has to save the Portuguese Catholic world of Lusitania from a variety of things that would destroy it. What turns out to be his hardest task though is helping a family in emotional distress.
If it sounds complicated, it isn't. Card has given us another moral human tale, told in great detail and depth, yet never boring. Although the events in this book are far less catostrophic than the events our "hero" went through in Ender's game, the emotional impact is still there. We see what became of the lonly mistreated little genius, and how his life turned out. In "Game" Ender was battling for his own personal sanity and survival, playing by the rules of his controllers. In "Speaker", Ender fights for others. He has more control over the circumstances and chooses to help people he barely knows, and the last survivor of the race he was accused of wiping out.
We get a philosophically different book than "Ender's game", but it still has the power to break your heart and lift your spirits. We get a whole new set of personal moral dillemas, and see the dark and light sides of relationships. This book may be different in tone and philosophy than the prequel, but the main player is still intact. If you've read "Ender's Game", this is a must read. If you haven't, don't read this book yet. You'll like it, but that prize winning background novel is still worth the effort before going on to "Speaker". These two are the best books I've read in years.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A landmark of sci-fi and humanism, 2. Juli 2000
Von 
William Krischke (Portland, OR United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
As he tells us in the introduction (which is, by the way, the best introduction I've ever read), this is the book Card intended to write when he began the ever-popular Ender series. Ender's Game was simply a prologue -- originally a short story.
There are so many good things about this book. Card has a talent for writing deep, real characters that I've never seen in sci-fi and seldom in any modern literature. He is a master storyteller, and this book is wonderfully paced -- you will continually be twisting your brain trying to uncover what is up with the pequeninos before the scientists do.
But most of all, this book is a eloquent manifesto of humanism. As Speaker for the Dead, it is our hero Ender's lifelong task to understand people and tell the truth about them -- a truth that will reveal their good, bad, and ugly, but most importantly, their inherent worth and um, goodness. This truth-seeking carries from the individual to the entire races, as Card (and Ender) examine how we relate to those we don't understand, even those we can't understand.
So what is it? It's a page-turner, crazy idea-filled(as all sci-fi should be) thrilling, thoughtful, powerful, funny, poignant novel. It is an excellent piece of writing that I would love to see taught in high school classrooms.
My only problems with it are that terrible cover(who designed these covers? They have nothing to do with the story -- not even the tone of the story) and the sometimes indecipherable use of portuguese. But those are both minor.
An excerpt:
"We know you now. That makes all the difference, doesn't it? Even Quim doesn't hate you now. When you really know somebody, you can't hate them." "Or maybe it's just that you can't really know them until you stop hating them." "Is that a circular paradox? Dom Cristao says that most truth can be only expressed in circular paradoxes." "I don't think it has anything to do with truth, Olhado. It's just cause and effect. We can never sort them out. Science refuses to admit any cause except first cause-- knock down one domino, the one next to it also falls. But when it comes to human beings, the only type of cause that matters is final cause, the purpose. What a person had in mind. Once you understand what people really want, you can't hate them anymore. You can fear them, but you can't hate them, because you can always find the same desires in your own heart."
If you'd like to discuss this novel, e-mail me at krischwe@whitman.edu
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Not as good as Ender's Game, 17. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
The writing becomes dull and overly religious. Ender's Game's plot was much more interesting. I loved Ender's Game and really wanted to read this book but it was very dissapointing.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the Best., 13. Juli 2000
Von 
John D. Costanzo "johndc" (Bensalem, PA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Very different from its predecessor, this novel has very little warfare or space action. However, it is just as absorbing and suspenseful and probably the better of the two. A story about redemption, forgiveness and the power of love, this was a moving and well-written novel. This (with Ender's Game right behind) is one of the best sci-fi books I have ever read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Not an adventure story, but a story of humanity, 25. Juli 2000
Von 
R. Platten "rsvpdock" (Philadelphia, PA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Unlike Enders War or Enders Shadow, this is not a combat adventure; it is about remorse and redemption. It is about respect for differences so different that you find them abhorent. It is about accepting things as they are and trying to make them better rather than giving up or feeling sorry for yourself. While the "Enders" books are ripe for teens, this book is for adults in that it is more thoughtful and more about preventing wrongful action as opposed to taking aggressive action.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Sequel to Ender's Game requires a different mindset., 6. Juni 1997
Von Ein Kunde
As a teacher, I have insisted that my high school freshmen all read Ender's Game. The fast pace and excellent character development engage the students and lead them toward discussion of serious issues, like how we treat those who are "different" and the ultimate goals and purposes of education. Speaker for the Dead has a different focus, and perhaps a different audience. Although many of my students have read it because they so loved Ender's Game, not many were ready for its sophistication.
Speaker for the Dead works for me in its treatment of two major issues. The first of these, expressed through the interaction (and its disastrous results) between the piggies and the humans, has to do with cultural relationships and the arrogant assumptions often made by the dominant culture. The humans function at a level of cultural blindness hard to understand through most of the novel, and that blindness has tragic consequences.
The second issue I love in this book is the concept of the Speaker for the Dead, the role that Ender Wiggin has taken on in his adulthood. A Speaker's job consists of traveling to places he is called to "speak" the life of someone who has died. These itinerant Speakers come to the person's life completely objectively, and thus they are able to speak the truth about that person--good and bad. The speaker helps the community deal with the person's death by allowing them to see that person completely; all the person's facets, foibles, and fortes are displayed. I found myself thinking that if mopre people read this book, we might have a whole new funereal ritual to deal with.
In short, while of a completely different tone than Ender's Game, Speaker for the Dead brings up some important issues, and it is well worth the time spent in reading it. Invest several days in this book; it deserves them.
--Prudence Plunkett (Prudence_Plunkett@breadnet.middlebury.edu)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Ender Saga continues with new characters and a tired plot., 18. August 1996
Von Ein Kunde
A ineffective plot with a few surprises. I barely finish this marathon of tedium
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Nicht wie Ender's Game., 25. Februar 2014
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Speaker for the Dead: 2 (The Ender Quintet) (Kindle Edition)
Nicht ganz was ich nach Ender's Game erwartet habe, aber trotzdem sehr gut. Ich traue mich kaum die nächsten Titel im Quintett zu lesen, da sie fast überall schlechte Kritiken bekamen. Allerdings geht nichts über die eigene Meinung. Auch hier gilt das. Manch einem könnte das Buch genauso gefallen wie mir und anderen wiederum nicht. Immer schwer zu sagen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Enders adulthood., 16. Februar 2014
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Speaker for the Dead: 2 (The Ender Quintet) (Kindle Edition)
Rather different than the first part, but very enjoyable nonetheless. The little boy, Ender all grown up.
I'm still reading it and hate having to put it down.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen We shall never cease from exploration, 1. Februar 2014
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Speaker for the Dead: 2 (The Ender Quintet) (Kindle Edition)
We shall never cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time. - T. S. Eliot

We start off where the last book ended. Now Ender the writer of "The Hive Queen and the Hegemon", after traveling three thousand years of penance as a Speaker for the Dead is summoned to a planet where there is a new race and an opportunity to put things right.

Even though the author says that you can read this book as a complete story without reading the first novel it is actually part of a five book series. True the essential background will be repeated or contemplated in this volume it is still not as complete as reading the first volume.

Once again you can bypass the introduction but then you will have missed crucial information on the author and his intent. The introduction can also be used as part of a good writing course.

The first book was thinly veiled as a version of "Starship Troopers" and you can see that somewhere the author must have read some field manuals. In "Speaker for the Dead" you can see that Orson Scott Card knows his Catechism. I used to teach RCIA so he could not fake it. I also come from a strong LDS background. I suspect he spiced it up with a little "Tony Hillerman." Our main character may have changed focus a tad form the first book but people change, authors change, and we change.

The only part of the writing the did not go too smoothly was the inclusion of references to "The Tempest" it seemed a tad forced where other authors such as Dorothy Sayers for example with "stale flat and unprofitable" would not be spotted if one had not read "Hamlet" but it fits her story like a glove.

I can see why this book has a problem with being pigeonholed as sci-fi or space opera, etc. as it has all the elements needed to thinly veil a message. What is the message you ask? Read the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 215 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xad9965d0)

Dieses Produkt

Speaker for the Dead: 2 (The Ender Quintet)
EUR 4,67
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen