Kundenrezensionen


1.824 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (506)
4 Sterne:
 (275)
3 Sterne:
 (328)
2 Sterne:
 (294)
1 Sterne:
 (421)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I'll read it again
Unlike alot of the reviewers here, I don't think that I somehow could have written this book better, or that my opinion should count in what Mr. Jordan writes. My opinion is my money, and when the next one comes out... well... Mr. Jordan will be able to buy those two cases of beer he was always wanting to get. Most of the common gripes between the good reviewers and...
Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2000 von Brian D. Williams

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Beware of the 5 Star Reviews: Take them with a grain of salt
Be warned all ye who read these reviews: This is NOT a 5 star book. Even the reviews contained here should tell you that if you read them. Sure, there are 5 star reviews but even those people tell you that this book is not that great, or has problems or suffers from pacing issues. The truth of the matter is that Jordan is riding on reputation and a public's...
Veröffentlicht am 11. Juli 2000 von Andres R. Guevara


‹ Zurück | 1 2183 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I'll read it again, 19. September 2000
Von 
Unlike alot of the reviewers here, I don't think that I somehow could have written this book better, or that my opinion should count in what Mr. Jordan writes. My opinion is my money, and when the next one comes out... well... Mr. Jordan will be able to buy those two cases of beer he was always wanting to get. Most of the common gripes between the good reviewers and those who would chew on something they think is a turd just to tell everyone how awful it tastes, is the lack of Mat. Well... surprise! Mat was in the book after all. Infact, Mr. Jordan clearly set Mat up to be a HUGE part of the next book (or maybe the one after that<g>). Alot of the turd-eaters (people who say that 5 books ago the series sucked and were never going to read another but... still do yet post how evil Mr. Jordan is) have gone to say how dull this series is then gone on to say How riviting the Lord of The Rings is and Jordan is ripping off Tolkien... Get off your high horses.... We've all read Tolkien too. All they do in LOTR is walk around and eat. You can't deny it.
I applaud Mr. Jordan for creating a world, its history, and its language. Maybe that is the only similarity to Tolkien I will grant. The keywords in this series is Final Battle. When that happens,it's done. It's a shame people want to see the end of the journey without stopping to smell the roses along the way. It is your short comming, not Mr. Jordan's. I don't think Mr. Jordan sat down and started writting stories with the intention to be poor and starving. It's a shame that people judge successful writers and artists that way and go out of their way to try and deny something special to others. Read the book. Read them all. It's good eatin.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen MAY THE LIGHT BE PRAISED! WOT WINS AGAIN!, 1. August 2000
Well, I just finished reading the latest available installment of the WOT series, "The Path of Daggers," and as per usual, I HAD CHILLS reading the last paragraph of the book. I read a lot of science fiction/fantasy and I can honestly say that no other author has ever had that affect of me so consistantly and powerfully over the course of every book in the series. Every book! Jordan's storytelling powers are nothing short of amazing! Now I know many of you have probably read reviews from malcontents who are ready to rip Jordan apart because they are becomming impatient with the pace of his story. I'll admit, he does have a tendency to become far too flowery in his descriptions of places and minor characters who may never develop very far in the story. Yes, I too often find myself skipping several pages of "the land was baren or dusty or muddy or hot or cold, and yada, yada, yada...skimming the book for the next line of dialogue or action that moves the plot forward or continues to develop the characters and their relationships. Yes, it can be frustrating wading through all the unnaturally long descriptions, but that is not the point. As the great bard once said, "the play's the thing." In the WOT series and continuing in "The Path of Daggers," Jordan offers a play or plot that is engrossing and utterly compelling. No, let me rephrase...a gripping, suspensful, and unrelenting plot that in no uncertain terms, forbids the reader to put the book down to go to work, have a social life, eat, sleep, or drink. Want more? How about characters that are so real you just know you could reach out and touch them if you only believed hard enough. Characters you can laugh with, cry with, and relate with in countless, meaningful, everyday ways. What's more, the relationships these characters share are powerful and moving, evoking an astonishingly strong emotive response on the part of the reader. And isn't that the point? This story touches me and moves me like nothing else I have ever read. I'm so caught-up in it that I can't wait to see what hapens next, and yet I dread the idea that with each new installment the series draws closer to a final conclusion. I pick-up a WOT book and I sit enraptured by what unfolds within. That is the mark of a great story and a masterful storyteller. If I have to skip the occasional page or three then that is simply the fare that must be paid to take a journey through Jordan's lush, rich, and vivid imagination. Anyway, who are Jordan's critics trying to kid? If they've made it this far, then thay are in it to stay...and so should you, gentle reader. Buy this book. Forget about minor nit-pickings and come back to Jordan's realm, the world of "The Wheel of Time," and set your feet on "The Path of Daggers."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Beware of the 5 Star Reviews: Take them with a grain of salt, 11. Juli 2000
Von 
Andres R. Guevara (Aurora, CO United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Be warned all ye who read these reviews: This is NOT a 5 star book. Even the reviews contained here should tell you that if you read them. Sure, there are 5 star reviews but even those people tell you that this book is not that great, or has problems or suffers from pacing issues. The truth of the matter is that Jordan is riding on reputation and a public's perception that his new stuff is good ONLY because he has written good books in the past.
Jordan has passed into a form os self mockery. His character are starting to act in a unintentionally comical fashion. Entire pages (and yes, I do mean entire pages) will cover a rather meaningless discussion in which Jordan will describe how each character responds to another character's facial expressions. NO JOKE.
IF THIS WAS THE FIRST BOOK YOU READ IN THE SERIES YOU WOULD'T READ ANOTHER ONE! That is the absolute truth. Instead of rewarding dedication with a plot that carries through the promise of exposition and background, Jordan plods along. This book's plot (as well as Crown of Swords) is so instantly forgettable that only the most diehard fans would be able to repeat it, although the story could probably be described in short shrift.
My message to my fellow reviewers is to judge this book for what it is, and not within the context of a series which was once full of promise. To grant this book a 5, or 4 star rating simply because, say, you loved the Great Hunt (as I did) does a vast diservice to other readers.
I am realistic about the fact that a reader of this review isn't going to use it to determine whether to start the series. I am sure that this review is being read only be people who's opinions are set in stone one way or the other. But in the hope that there is someone out there unsure about whether to read this book, or even to start this series, my answer is "No." After such a long amount of time devoted to this series and its characters, it has turned to utterly terrible. I strongly feel that I have wasted my time reading through Jordan's last three books. I am sorry to say this, but if I had known at the time I started Eye of the World what I know now, I believe that I wouldn't have started the series. Instead, I would have dedicated myself to stories and authors who understood basic storytelling devices such as plot and pacing.
One additional point for those people who would ignore my advice: If you must read these books, I would take breaks often. It took my months to finish Crown of Swords, for example, because the plot would literally stop cold. Additionally, do not think yourself daft because you do not like Jordan's writing style. At first I thought it was just me, but I realize by the other reviews, that I am not alone. Yes, Jordan has a great grasp of the English language. What Jordan suffers from is an apparent disrespect for his reader's intelligence. While other writers will fast forward time (say a week), Jordan seems intent on describing every hour in the day. The result is that the reader is told every detail of a character's day, even those events which the character himself thinks are boring.
I would also be very wary of the earlier reviews. Having read many of the reviews on Jordan's earlier books, I have found that many of the earlier reviewers simply gave the book 5 stars and then admitted in their review that they hadn't read the book yet but they were "sure it was going to be great." Obviously, that type of review is worthless. However, check for yourself: the Jordan faithful are so dedicated to a author who apparently feels less respect for his audience.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Please Stop, 5. Juli 2000
Von 
Leigh McMullen (Atlanta, GA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Listen, I'll read a cereal box if there is nothing else around, but I didn't even finish this novel. I read the earlier books while waiting for Goodkind's next work, and steadily began to regret not taking up TV.
Mr. Jordan: I DO NOT NEED TO KNOW EVERY LEAF THAT FALLS FROM THE TREES. The pacing of these books is MISERABLE. For the LOVE OF GOD SPEED IT UP. I swear to GOD in Crown of Swords NOTHING HAPPENED. I'd invite Mr. Jordan to review the 3 act structure just incase he has become lost in describing to us the rustling sound mice make when they walk across the broken dried leaves of falls past.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Male-Female sterotypes, 18. September 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I just finished rereading the entire series through this book in preparation for #9. I was enjoying myself through #7. I have to say I was facinated all over again by the way in which all the myriad plots and their characters were developed.
This one dragged. New plots/characters were introduced and dropped. Older, better-developed characters like Matt and Perrin almost didn't make it into the book. One thing didn't change-hasn't changed since the beginning.
The exceedingly stereotypical male-female pattern of interaction is VERY boring. Reactions, gestures, attitudes...you name it. Every male is baffled by women (except maybe Lan), and every female is sure men are still small boys, specially the Aes Sedi. Actually, Lan treats Nyneave as if she were a small girl child. It has ceased to be amusing. I think Mr. Jordon has some issues with male-female relationships that he REALLY needs to work on outside of this series. Character Development: I'd settle for one male or female that wasn't clueless about the opposite sex.
THE STANCE: He hasn't used the word "akimbo", but he must really think women stand with their fists/hands on their hips whenever a male is being his usual small boy self. I can't think of the last time I actually saw any woman stand that way. And that stance certainly doesn't work at all when one is wearing a shawl!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Das schwächste Buch der Reihe, aber nicht wirklich schlecht, 15. Oktober 2009
Die sehr schlechten Bewertungen vieler Rezensenten kommen meiner Ansicht nach zum Großteil daher, dass nach langem Warten auf das neue Buch die Handlung nicht dem Finale entgegensteuert, sondern sich weiter davon entfernt. Das Buch ist deutlich dünner als die vorigen Bände und am Ende ist mehr offen als am Anfang.

Andererseits ist es eigentlich nicht schlecht. Bis auf ein paar Passagen, in denen man wiederholte Muster erkennt, die die Sache nur in die Länge ziehen, gibt es durchaus ein paar bedeutende Ereignisse und insgesamt ist das Buch gut lesbar. Beim ersten Lesen nach langem Warten dachte ich, RJ habe den Elan verloren. Nach Lektüre von Band 11 glaube ich eher, dass die neuen Entwicklungen in Band 8 von Anfang an als Teil der ganz großen Geschichte geplant waren.

Weiterlesen, es geht wieder bergauf!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great continuation, 19. September 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Many here are complaining about this book. I think that it was great. Although, there wasn't a "big" ending, it left me hanging by a thread, waiting for the next one. The fact that so many people are in such anticipation for the next book just shows how good RJ is at keeping readers hooked. The WOT community is one of the largest online for fictional books.
I don't think that I need to sell you on the wheel of time if you're reading this review. You've probably read at least the first. So, I'll sell you on PoD(Path of Daggers). This book has many exciting scenes in it. I believe it did take a step towards the end of the series despite what others may say. There is nothing much to say besides that this is just some good Robert Jordan reading. Enjoy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Not his greatest but..., 28. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
still nothing to look down your nose at. This is a short book but I hope you are not expecting him to cramp his style so that he fits into a page number bracket. If he did that is writing would be truly artificial. On top of that many complain about the twists and turns of the plot and then complain that nothing happened in this book. NOTHING HAPPENED! If you look closely a plethora of things happened, especially with Verin and several other characters who have had little new plot in a while. And what about the women. Their life is not going to be easy considering who is pursuing them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Vital piece of the puzzle - and GOOD!, 28. Juli 2000
Von 
If you enjoy the standard sci-fi/fantasy trilogies where everything mystery is revealed as soon as you turn to the next page, don't read this series. The Path of Daggers is a neccesary (sp?) part of the series - without this book, Jordan could not continue! This book give the series remarkable flexibility - anything could happen in Winter's Heart (November 2000). All throughout the series, future events are hinted at. Foretellings in Book 1 come true in book 5, a viewing in book three comes true in book 7, etc. I'm wondering what events will occur in Winter's Heart that have been hinted at previously. I have it on good authority that we'll find out more about Mazrim Taim - and That, I am really looking forward to! Jordan's series is well composed and I keep on re-reading the books, piecing together storylines and trying to predict what comes up next.
This bok just makes me wish that I had been introduced to the series after it was written (I got in at The Dragon Reborn) because I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, 25. Juli 2000
This book is great. It brings out the character's defining points and it also gives more insight into what is to come in the next novel(s). I can hardly wait. Definitely worth owning and a great addition to the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2183 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen