Kundenrezensionen


89 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (37)
4 Sterne:
 (22)
3 Sterne:
 (14)
2 Sterne:
 (12)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wow . . . extrodinarily powerful
Many people have complained about this book that they dislike (a) the physics involved and (b) the transition between Path and Lusitania. Well, anyone coming to Xenocide, be forewarrned: The chapters alternate between two planets, and there is some philosophy and physics discussion. Perhaps this book isn't for you. If you've already read the other Ender books,...
Veröffentlicht am 17. April 2000 von Navah

versus
12 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The worst book of a great series
I have been a passionate fan of 'Ender's game' and 'Speaker for the dead' since my childhood. When 'Xenocide' came to the stores, I immediately bought it.
To be frank, while the book provides good, solid reading by itself, it is very bad compared to the rest of the first two books and makes you feel bad about the whole series. The story is not centered around Ender...
Am 29. Mai 2004 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

12 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The worst book of a great series, 29. Mai 2004
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
I have been a passionate fan of 'Ender's game' and 'Speaker for the dead' since my childhood. When 'Xenocide' came to the stores, I immediately bought it.
To be frank, while the book provides good, solid reading by itself, it is very bad compared to the rest of the first two books and makes you feel bad about the whole series. The story is not centered around Ender in the least anymore, and while that might be a good thing, Card doesn't manage to make any of the other characters interesting enough for the reader to identify with. The story seems a little awkward at times, and the central conflict moves away from the threat of xenocide of the 'little folk' of lusitania to an elaborate, but somewhat superflous philosophical discussion about the descolada virus being sentient or not. In addition, the final resolution of the story comes up with really weird ideas that shackle the grand universe Card had created in the first two books in its basic principles and make it seem somewhat shallow.
My recommendation to the reader: don't read Xenocide (nor Ender's children, for that), but stay with the first two books. Then continue the series with Ender's shadow and it successors, because *they* are really, really great.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Don't try to improve on perfection, 26. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
Orson Scott Card, one of the greatest living American authors and certainly in the pantheon of sci-fi authors, made me smite my forehead in pain after I read Xenocide. Ender's Game was an incredibly powerful novel; Speaker For the Dead was less powerful but more thoughtful, and the two existed in an elegant symmetry: the first told the story of Ender's childhood and consequent crimes, the second showed an adult Ender and his redemption.
Xenocide, and its equally smite-inducing sequel Children of the Mind, imbalance the near-perfect duo by tacking on additional, irrelevent material at the end of Speaker for the Dead. The problem is that the character of Ender has already developed as much as possible; by the end of Speaker for the Dead he has come full circle. I felt cheated that OSC (or at least, I suspect, his publishers) took the characters from the end of the second book and used them statically, in the manner of a Star Trek novel, to advance a meandering, tritely philosophizing plot that really contributed nothing to the "Ender" lexicon.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Does not live up to expectations, 28. Dezember 2002
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Saga) (Taschenbuch)
Having read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow, both of which are
good and entertaining to read (IMO), I find this Ender book to be
extremely weak. Scientists working on a remedy against a very
deadly virus raise issues like "If we don't do anything it will
kill all humans, but it might be sentient, so we must not kill or modify (seen as crippling)it";
the christians on Lusitania have views that do not fit into a
more advanced culture (they are rather medieval);
and there is a rather far-fetched mechanism that explains how
things and living beings come into existence - it is required
to create a cure later in the book, but it still gave me a
headache and seems to have been invented just to be able to
produce this miracle-like solution.
Definitely my last Ender book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A bit talkier than the first two, but solid., 10. Juli 2000
Von 
William Krischke (Portland, OR United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
The third of a truly great series, Xenocide is a good deal more talky than the first two books. Maybe it's inevitable: Ender's Game is a novel about gifted youngsters, Speaker for the Dead is about a messed up family and a bizaare alien race; Xenocide is about the nature of existence.
There's not a lot of a plot, there are just a lot of problems to solve. I didn't miss the twisting-turning plot all that much. The story is still pretty strong, and the answers to the problems aren't easily guessable. You learn a lot about Card's philosophy/metaphysics, or at least a philosophy he's made up, even if he doesn't believe in it. Lots of science, a hint or two of mormonism (preexistence and attainable godhood) and some miracles. But all of this is well-woven into the story, so it's handleable-- though difficult at times to get through. If you're a fan of "hard" sci-fi, you'll love it. But if you're like me -- not really a sci-fi fan so much as a Card fan -- it might be better to speedread these passages. You'll miss an interesting way of looking at the nature of the soul, but you can follow the story just fine.
Characterization remains Card's greatest strength, and continues to make me wish he'd write books about the "real" world. His characters are multi-dimensioned, people I can care about, and I appreciate his ability to give them different worldviews and still maintain their integrity here. Unlike in Speaker for the Dead, in this book it's possible to be Catholic--or Taoist-- and not a moron. On top of that, I admire his willingness to make risky moves, like killing off key characters. There are some truly painful scenes in this book, and they are some of the most powerful, best-written pieces. Some of his risks don't quite work (why take away Novinha?) but they're all worthwhile.
There is a subplot about a brilliant race of Taoists afflicted with a form of Obssessive-Compulsive Disorder that is really wonderful. It is some of my favorite pages in the book, and often feels fresh when it feels like Card is tired of his Lusitania characters. It is beautiful, poignant, and well-written. Though it's not all that crucial and never truly ties into the main plot in a significant way, I'm glad it's there.
A passage from the book:
"Jakt gave her his impatient look. "I thought we were coming to Lusitania to help in the struggle against Starways Congress. what does any of this have to do with the real world?"
"Maybe nothing," said Valentine. "Maybe everything."
Jakt buried his face in this hands for a moment, then looked back up at her with a smile that wasn't really a smile. "I haven't heard you say anything so transcendental since your brother left Trondheim."
That stung her, particularly because she knew it was meant to. After all these years, was Jakt still jealous of her connection with Ender? Did he still resent the fact that she could care about things that meant nothing to him? "When he went," said Valentine, "I stayed." She was really saying, I passed the only test that mattered. Why should you doubt me now?
Jakt was abashed. It was one of the best things about him, that when he realized he was wrong he backed down at once. "And when you went," said Jakt, "I came with you." Which she took to mean, I'm with you, I'm really not jealous of Ender anymore, and I'm sorry for sniping at you. Later, when they were alone, they'd say these things again openly. it would do to reach Lusitania with suspicions and jealousy on either's part."
---
If you'd like to discuss this novel (or this review) with me, or recommend books I might enjoy, email me at williekrischke@hotmail.com. But be nice about it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Card Cheats, 2. Juni 2000
Von 
Peter A. Kimball (Chicago) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
Two separate reviews on the back cover of the paperback edition use the same phrase:
"Card has raised to a fine art the creation of suspense by means of ethical dilemmas" - Chicago Sun-Times
"hard ethical dilemmas.." - NY Daily News
These dilemmas are indeed raised, faced, and discussed by the characters, including Ender, Valentine, and the various battling members of the Ribeira family. (Warning: if you haven't read the preceding volumes, Ender's Game and Speaker for the Dead, which are both excellent, you are very likely to be completely lost in this volume.)
However, when it comes to resolving them....
There was a kind of science fiction story, more popular in the 1950's than recently, in which humans would get themselves out of intractible scrapes by reinventing physical law. You couldn't beat those humans, by golly! If a crew got stranded somewhere, they would invent a few new laws of motion, then whomp up a faster-than-light drive or a perpetual motion machine out of spare parts. The rule was, "When all possible solutions fail, pick an impossible one and make it work." Nothing was too far out. I remember that the punch line of one such story was "We brought the planet with us." If individuals got stranded alone without a laboratory, necessity would impart to them the skills of teleportation.
To get away with this kind of nonsense you need a certain kind of brassy showmanship: you can't convince the reader it's not a trick, but you can make it fun. Van Vogt was good at this. In Rogue Ship, one of his characters wakes up his pal and tells him, "Hey, I've discovered the secret of the universe!" And he had: "The universe is a lie!" This meant he could do all kinds of amazing stuff, like going places by thinking about it.
Xenocide is ostensibly a much different book in style, emphasis, areas of focus, mood, and characterization. There are some inventive Card touches: a subplot involving super-intelligent prophets with obsessive-compulsive disorder on a Chinese-settled planet is good. And suspense is indeed created through a set of dilemmas which appear to pit humans, pequeninos, the hive queen, Jane the intelligent program (as she is thought to be), and the arguably-intelligent descolada virus against each other in an inescapable Hobbesian war of all species against all.
But when it comes close to the time of actually making the hard choices, we start to see stuff like this:
"We're on the verge of reconceptualizing the universe. We've discovered the illuminating principle that wishing makes it so..."
I hardly have to point out how closely this parallels the Van Vogt device above! But while it works for Van Vogt, in Card's novel it falls with a hollow thud. The reader can see it coming, because early on Card throws in some stuff about how all mass-energy has been proved by experiments on the planet "Ganges", which nobody tried to replicate because of the universal heavy hand of scientific dogma, to be composed of "philotes" which are like little souls for all atoms, particles, planets, people, etc. (By the way, this is sort of like another Van Vogt invention, "adeledicnander," from another novel!) By bringing together the proper group of High-Tension Thinkers (to borrow from Doc Smith) to ponder these matters for a couple weeks, it is discovered that the beleaguered Lusitanians can do - well - all sorts of amazing stuff.
Well, if you are writing whiz-bang space opera and use such devices, that's one thing. But if you are supposedly dealing seriously with "ethical dilemmas" and writing a cycle about "the ethical awakening of humanity", as the blurb to the sequel says, I believe it is just cheating to change the rules of the game so drastically. In Valentine's words, "It would be too idiotically convenient if the universe could be manipulated to work this way."
Furthermore, there is the added drawback that additional baggage, residue, and characters are created (sic) which/who clutter up the plot considerably as the saga moves into volume 4, "Children of the Mind." Ultimately there are enough good Card tricks here to keep this from being a bad book, but I don't think it's a really good one either.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wow . . . extrodinarily powerful, 17. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
Many people have complained about this book that they dislike (a) the physics involved and (b) the transition between Path and Lusitania. Well, anyone coming to Xenocide, be forewarrned: The chapters alternate between two planets, and there is some philosophy and physics discussion. Perhaps this book isn't for you. If you've already read the other Ender books, however, please read this book - though I don't think you'll need urging - if you're like me, you won't be able to rest until you finish all the Ender books.
Anyway. Despite all that, or perhaps because of it, Xenocide is a wonderful, powerful book that will live in your heart and mind forever. Personally, I loved the physics and philosophy discussion. I loved the theories about philotes and matter and the descolada virus. I loved the way it made Xenocide not just a novel, but something I had to think about, something that I had to make part of me. I couldn't just skim this book, or rush through it to find out what happens - I had to savour every word, to relish every bit of theory, to try and understand it. And guess what? I never took physics in school, and I'm not the greatest science, math or philosophy student, but when I read carefully, and payed attention, I understood for the most part what he was talking about. And it was great! I loved the way Card brought Path into the novel and made us see things through the eyes of a completely different culture. I loved the aspect that Path added to Xenocide.
And, not that it needs mentioning, I also love the qualities that have always made me love Orson Scott Card's writing from the start. His intense, real characters, who are not always perfect, are not always good, are not even always likeable, but are so REAL that you can't help but fall in love with them and thier very human shortcomings and emotions and hurts. The way he develops these characters through all his books, starting in Ender's Game, continuing into Speaker for the Dead, and now into Xenocide. The way he develops the relationships between all the characters. Card has created characters that everyone can feel for, that everyone can empathize with, because no matter how different you are from Card's characters, they are REAL.
Xenocide is a wonderful book, like Ender's Game and Speaker for the Dead before it. Just as Speaker for the Dead builds on Ender's Game, Xenocide is a completely differnet story than the two before it, but is built on thier foundation, and is an incredible, powerful book that will keep you riveted to the last page, and then will hold you still, forcing you to run to the bookstore and buy the fourth book.
You will not forget Xenocide. The philosophy and theories within it will haunt your mind and heart and stay with you forever. Thank you, Orson Scott Card, for giving us the gift of the story of Ender and his families.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Not a great sequel, 8. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
If you liked "Ender's Game" and "Speaker for the Dead", don't read "Xenocide". If you didn't read them, get them first, and then don't read Xenocide".ý
It's not that "Xenoside" is so bad. I guess many SF writers would like to write such a book. But It is still nothing like the first two books in the series, and it kinds of diminish their memory in the mind. In some ways it is like the sequels to Herbert's "Dune": too much symbolism and philosophy, especially religious philosophy (which in my opinion is the worst kind in a SF book), but without the brilliant plot and ideas. ý
There are too many characters, some of them which do not have any justification, and some which behave in ýan arbitrary and unexplained way. As in Card's other not-so-good books, there are too many elements of soap opera. The end is even more open than in the two previous books, which probably means that Card plans another sequel, probably even worst. There really should be a law against sequels to great books!ý
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Card gets better and better after each book!, 18. November 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
It really is interesting to see how many people disapproved of this book. I thought it was absolutely excellent. Ender's game was an excellent peice. He created several great, thought provoking characters. Speaker For The Dead took it to another level. Now, Xenocide. I finished it a day ago and treasured every word. Card has really outdone himself this time. He answered so many questions and raised so many new ones. Children of the Mind should be great. For all you readers out there who are disgruntled by Card's idea for faster than light travel, don't be so close-minded. If you read closely, the characters have to do quite a bit more than just wish in order to travel between outside and inside space. Card, I applaud you for bringing back some old, important faces from EG.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Ender continues to please..., 21. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
At first I was a bit intimidated by the 700 some-odd pages that is Xenocide, but I ultimately found it to rewarding reading. As is typical with almost all Card books, the character development and interaction is stellar. The Endaer series is chalked full of individuals who are faced with ethical and moral decisions and I've found myself wondering what I would do in the same situation. I find Novinha and all of her children fascinating. The scheer dysfunctionality of that family is what I enjoy so much. Maybe 'cos I'm a bit dysfunctional myself.
I enjoyed thoroughly the world of Path and treachery inflicted upon them by the Starways Congress. We see the neurosis and/or blind allegiance of an a young lady, bound by duty, unwilling to see the truth that would ultimately set her free from the OCD. How many of us are afraid of to reach inside of ourselves and admit that we are wrong? Introspection is a very difficult thing to do, as evidenced by Qing-Jao (I know I'm spelling that wrong). I found that part of the story very engaging and compelling.
Like Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide explores the philosophies and ethical dilemmas of the people of Path and Lusitania, but it's not without the action. I felt that the burning of the Pequenino forest was just about the most exciting part of the book. Once again, humans prejudging and killing innocent beings all in the name of "justice." A great illustration of how easy it is to incite a mob. Unfortunately, it does seem to be just about that easy.
Xenocide seems to be bridge that links Speaker and Children of the Mind, but it was a necessary one. Granted, a lot of it was a bit boring and difficult to read, but once those layers are peeled away, we're left with another fine novel by one of the finest students of human behavior. Hat's off to you, Mr. Card
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Bad science fiction has never been better., 12. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Xenocide (Ender Wiggin Saga) (Taschenbuch)
I rarely bash products... but Xenocide was disappointing. Not because it focused on ethical dilemmas rather than action, or even because the book had almost nothing to do with Ender, but because the situations, plot line, and characters that Card developed in this book are completely ridiculous and unbelievable.
I'm all for exploring interesting ethical dilemmas, but when an author sacrifices all credibility to discuss tangential issues, it creates a tedious and underwhelming experience for the reader. My biggest issue with the book is the supernatural intelligence and skills he gives to his characters to get them out of impossible situations. In this book you'll find amateur physicists discovering how to break the speed of light (he just tried really hard and figured it out - and discovered that he only had to wish for it), xenobiologists defeating the descolada virus and then reeingineering it to fix the genetic defects of people who live on a planet many light years away (of course this happens during the course of weeks), and last but not least, Miro magically abandoning his crippled body for a new one in a fantastical voyage into a new dimension.
But Card didn't stop there... As Ender had become a tedious an boring character in this book, he chose to literally split him into three. Ender becomes Ender, a New Valentine and a New Peter, all created out of thin air during Enders first voyage outside of the universe... and these characters are real flesh and blood... I mean Card actually just pulls these characters out of thin air and expects the reader to accept it.
I could rant on and on, but I won't... there are some upsides to the books. The Godspoken characters on Path are quite good, and the Hive Queen / Piggies continue to be interesting, but it's hard to put up with all the remaining Ender/Valentine/Peter/Miro baggage to just enjoy those parts.
The characters in this book are weak, the plot is weak, and Xenocide simply doesn't live up to Card's previous books. If you read Enders Game, and Speaker for the Dead, and are looking for another Card book to read, try the Worthing Saga. It's a much better read, and you won't feel like you're totally wasting your time on Xenocide.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen