Kundenrezensionen


87 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (37)
4 Sterne:
 (15)
3 Sterne:
 (8)
2 Sterne:
 (13)
1 Sterne:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A fitting conclusion to one of the great series
"Children of the Mind" finishes the story of EnderWiggins, as he finally reaches reconciliation with his past and present. A dazzling array of ideas and conflicts, the novel comes to a very satisfying conclusion. Starting "Children of the Mind" was a tremendous relief, because the ending of "Xenocide" had angered me with what seemed like an...
Veröffentlicht am 19. Juli 2000 von Robert James

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Thankfully, this is the end.
Personally, I am glad that this is the end of the "EnderSaga". Basically every character has already been exploited tothe fullest, and addition of any more characters would seem artificial and contrived. It is particularly sad that Card doesn't seem to intend to flesh out the characters fully - in some places (particularly Grace Drinker's house) the chracters...
Am 21. April 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A fitting conclusion to one of the great series, 19. Juli 2000
Von 
Robert James (Culver City, CA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
"Children of the Mind" finishes the story of EnderWiggins, as he finally reaches reconciliation with his past and present. A dazzling array of ideas and conflicts, the novel comes to a very satisfying conclusion. Starting "Children of the Mind" was a tremendous relief, because the ending of "Xenocide" had angered me with what seemed like an arbitrary escape from the plot complications. Rather, the introduction of Peter and Valentine from the combination of Ender's mind and the new mode of instantaneous travel come to fruition in this novel, and prove to be the point of Card's entire quartet. As always, this deeply religious man uses science fiction and fantasy as allegories to study the human spirit in all its facets. Essentially, Card is proposing the divine nature of the universe, and its identification with each and every mind as part of that divinity. Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau proposed much the same thing, as did Robert Heinlein in "Stranger in a Strange Land." But Card takes these concepts to their broadest reaches in his recreation of the very structure of the universe, hinging the entire plot and character development of his entire series on this discovery. Like all endings should, this novel moves much faster than the previous two books; in many ways, it's the easiest to read of the series after "Ender's Game." Anybody who professes to be a science fiction fan needs to read this series; it's one of the classics of the genre
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Thankfully, this is the end., 21. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Personally, I am glad that this is the end of the "EnderSaga". Basically every character has already been exploited tothe fullest, and addition of any more characters would seem artificial and contrived. It is particularly sad that Card doesn't seem to intend to flesh out the characters fully - in some places (particularly Grace Drinker's house) the chracters don't seem to think, but rather blurt out pieces of the plot. They are either omniscient or Card chose to leave out the wonderful passages delineating the characters' train of thought that were the key features of the earlier books. Likewise, the imagery is quite lacking. Despite the fact that the characters hop from planet to planet I felt little difference. The very idea that each nationality settled a single planet that is exactly like their homeland seems "a bit" contrived. The superscience (exchanges of soul, instant travel, etc.) is poorly handled, at least in my opinion. Card seems to use Jane's "teleportation" just like Ender's incredible intelligence in Ender's Game, to surpise and overwhelm foes. But unlike Ender's Game, where the reader cheers for Ender, in CotM I found myself thinking that Wang Mu and Peter were exploiting someone else's resources. It is truly a sad sight to see one's once-favorite character's die down. The plot is somewhat naive. The character's are either tangled up in their personal relationships or are very crude in their means (once again, Peter and Wang Mu). All in all, I am happy that this is the end. Any more would be stupid.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen A Book that should not have been written, 26. März 2000
It's sad to see the Ender saga fizzle away in ever-increasing complexities and meta-physics which are not substitutes for new concepts and plot directions. Sometimes when you have painted yourself into a corner it's better to jump out a window and forget the little bit that is left to tidy up. I feel that it is at least two books ("Children" and "Shadow") past the point that this series should have been left to stand on its undoubted early merit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great! I liked it more than Ender's Game, 4. Juli 2000
Von 
Scott (Fishers, India) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
This was a great ending to a good series. I really enjoyed all the finishing of the series. Jane was an enity that I enjoyed all along and even more so in this book. I enjoyed learning more about the hive queen and "piggies" also. "Xenocide" started a lot of issues that gets solved in this book . I had a hard time putting this down. Good job Card!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Read just to see the ending... not much else here., 28. Juni 2000
Von 
Skye Knighton "skyknyt" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
This book had sadly little new... It just seems to be a rehash of Xenocide, and a drawn out one at that. I loved Ender's Game and Speaker for the Dead, but since then he's gone downhill with this series. As well, a significant portion of this book could have been left out, with little or no damage to the plot. Perhaps Card's status has resulted in editors being unwilling to alter his manuscripts... He should've spent his time making the Ender's Game script (yes yes yes!).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Bravo!, 14. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This concluding novel to the Ender's series is wonderful. It tells the story of Young Valentine and Peter's attempt to stop the destruction of Jane and the planet Luistania by the Starfleet.
Take one last ride with Ender; It's a ride you will never forget.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting Read, 13. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
It was an interesting read. I thought it was a little toospiritual at times but in the end a satisfying book. It is obviouslynot the last of this series - far too many loose ends and mysteries unsolved.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Good book, but disappointing conclusion to Ender series, 22. Mai 2000
As with most of Card's books I found this a very interesting book to read. But at the end of the book I was disappointed. I felt that I would have enjoyed the book a lot more if Ender was not one of the main characters. You fall in love with Ender in Ender's Game and you want to see him put his harrowing experience at Battle School behind him, but you miss the happiest years of his life in this series because we are watching Valentine in space. When he gets back together with his wife, instead of being happy he is "bored to death". And the book ends without really dealing with the descolada issue. The reincarnations of Peter and Valentine were interesting, but they really seemed ill-fitting to the rest of the plot. I am finding Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow much more worthwhile reads.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen fini', 17. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I think this book was an original ending to an original saga. It is not the best of the four(of course Ender's game is,) but it does leave the series feeling complete in an original and exciting way. I completely enjoyed the series and highly recomend them all to my friends and also to you. I give the quartet +1 .....5 STARS ENJOY!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen A stunning key concept framed with mediocre subplots, 12. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
As hard as Card may have tried, the charm of the earlier books in the series is still out of his reach. The book is simply lacking. Card abandoned his usual pacing and wrote a book that feels completely rushed. Any part of the book could have been so much more. Even the superscience Card adds into the plot cannot make up for bad characterization, lack of description, and poor logic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xb4141c78)

Dieses Produkt

Children of the Mind: 4 (The Ender Quintet)
EUR 5,20
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen