Fashion Sale Hier klicken reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

3,7 von 5 Sternen
23
3,7 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 25. Februar 2000
I did not like this story. Dallie was so insensitive and cruel. And he slept with hundreds of women and Francesca knew this but she STILL gives herself to him. SEP gave him all the advantages over her and she had none over him. The story was too one-sided. He treated her like dirt and she accepted it. I was so thrilled when she left him. Unfortunately the story did not end there. I kept hoping she'd never see or think of him again. Maybe bring in another love interest who was worthy of her and who could love her. But no. SEP apparently still had unrealistic hopes for Dallie being the love interest. The book had a lot of boring parts, too. Who cares about Dallie and Holly's romance? Why bother to tell their entire story? What is the point? I REALLY HATED that part of the story. Dallie did not deserve Francesca. He was so unfeeling toward her. I thought it very improbable that she could fall for him with the way he treated her. And then when she left him (for years) he never bothered to look for her...he hardly even thought of her. This does not redeem him at all in my mind. This does not convince me that he loves her or that his feelings might change. Of course, she pines for him and thinks about him often. How utterly pathetic. He didn't suffer when she was out of his life. Then all of a sudden their back in each other's company and they are in love? I don't think so. I didn't care about Dallie and I especially didn't see the point of rehashing his old romance with Holly. Maybe those two should've gotten back together since he thought more about her than about Francesca. I'll never read this story again and wish I'd never read for the first time.
0Kommentar| 13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Februar 2000
Everyone knows SEP is a good writer, able to come up with interesting characters from wildly disparate backgrounds who somehow get together, but this book is not one of her greats. First off, it suffers what I consider an "80's disease" - a Sidney Sheldon/Judith Krentz - like obsession with designer names, foreign princes, descriptions of yachts, and lots of pre-AIDS catting around. Secondly, its characters are not all that endearing: our heroine is obsessed with looks, money, and success, and our hero is obsessed with bimbos and failure. He neglects to tell her he's married; she neglects to tell him she had his son. I had a hard time liking these people, wondering if it was worth the effort to sort through several relationships and lots of confusing flashbacks. I don't feel I'm giving away too much here--if you like SEP, you'll struggle through it anyway--I just wish someone had warned me what I was in for.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Juli 2015
man sollte keine billigen kindle Bücher kaufen.
eine Aneinanderreihung von Modelabels und Automarken von den 20-er Jahren bis heute.
Der Inhalt springt hin und her und macht eigentlich keinen Spass
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. März 2000
After devouring all of SEP's other books, I had this one on order for over a month. I finally received it, settled down and was thoroughly disappointed. Icouldn't get into it, it was very slow moving, the story unbelievable and the cat fight where everyone stood around watching was uncalled for. I was really disappointed. Sorry.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Februar 2009
Ich habe fast alle Bücher von SEP gelesen und auch dieses hier verschlungen, auch wenn es nicht gut war wie beispielsweise "This heart of mine".
Die Story an sich ist recht spannend, die Entwicklung der Charaktere glaubaft und nachvollziehbar. Allerdings fand ich die vielen und detaillierten Nebenplots ein bißchen nervig. Gerade die Story um Holly Grace und Dallie oder um Chloe und Black Jack war zu extensiv und hat von der eigentlichen Geschichte zu stark abgelehnt. Dann hätte ich mir eher noch etwas mehr Gerry und Holly Grace gewünscht.
Schade finde ich auch die Kürze in der die Liebesgeschichte in der "Gegenwart" abgehandelt wird.
Alles in allem ließ sich das Buch aber gut lesen und SEP ist auch, wenn sie nicht in Topform ist, immer noch sehr amüsant und besser als so manch anderer.
Besonders schön finde ich auch das Wiedersehen mit Dallie, Teddy und Francie in "Lady Be Good". Es ist immer wieder toll, Figuren von SEP in anderen Bücher wiederzutreffen und zu erfahren, wie es ihnen ergangen ist.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Oktober 1999
Okay I admit about 5 years ago I bought the original book but I could not get through it because it started off to slow. Well I decided to try it again when I saw it at a used bookstore and I was very glad I did. This book was to funny for words, and I do not think I have seen anything like the fight scene between Fancy and Dallas in anything I have ever read. Buy this one buy do not put it down after the first hundred pages or so it gets a whole lot better.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Juli 2013
I am a huge Susan Elisabeth Phillips fan, but this one is my absolute favorite....I especially enjoy the clash of characters and different backgrounds between the easy go lucky Texas Golf pro and the uptight upper-class British Drama queen. I can also recommend the audio book, where the discrepancy of the main characters is even enforced by their accents (Texas slang vs. the British accent) - just hilarious!
I could have done without the first couple of chapters though, where the author describes the heroine's upbringing, which just seems to go on and on. That part does not really do anything for the plot and could have been cut down to about 20 pages...but that's just her writing style, I guess.

I am not easily excited by a book , but this one, I can just read again and again as it contains just the right mixture of story, interesting characters, romance and humor.

.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Mai 2000
I decided to buy Fancy Pants because the character, Dallie and Francie, appeared on her book "Lady Be Good". I enjoyed all of SEP's books I owned and so I wanted to try this one also. This one was rather different than those I had. It had lots of flashbacks, very complicated characters, and of course the taste of the 80's. I can't say that this was one of her best, but I don't think it was a disappointment for me also. I did managed to finish it :0). But if you don't consider yourself a truly SEP fan, I think you should try her newer books, like Dream a Little Dream or It Had to be You. If you are SEP big fans like me, I think you should give this book a try to taste some different experience.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. September 1998
This is the third Susan Elizabeth Phillips' books I've read. This was not the usual "stay up all night and read" kind of book. I found it slow getting into and hard to get interested in the characters. The book was complicated as far as characters go...Francie and her European ties/Dallie with ties to golfing and Holly Grace having been married to Dallie at one time and now Francie's best friend. It captured my interest midway in the book; however, after that I really thought it was good. If you are a devoted Susan Elizabeth Phillips fan, this is not her typical book. Her other works are great. This book is mediocre in my eyes.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 1999
Admittedly this might not be SEP's best book in terms of wit and fast pace, it is starting out really slow but it is picking up and is getting more and more interesting. It is different from all her later books maybe because it is focusing much more on character and less on snappy dialogue one is so used to in her other books. I therefore found it profounder and it had me so hooked I couldn't stop reading. If you give it a chance and don't get impatient with the slow start you might actually find out that it is one of SEP's most special stories.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden