holidaypacklist Hier klicken Jetzt informieren foreign_books Cloud Drive Photos Learn More madamet Samsung AddWash Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic NYNY

Kundenrezensionen

3,8 von 5 Sternen118
3,8 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 3. März 2002
The Lost Continent is not only Bill Bryson's best book, it must be one of the funniest books ever. It's one of those books that should not be read in public - it's simply too embarrassing to have tears of laughter streaming down your face while your whole body shakes. This happened to me on a very small plane. I was terrified I was going to bring the aircraft down, but I couldn't stop reading.
Bryson travelled through his native America after many years' absence living in Britain. So his view is uniquely that of an American and a tourist. It is sharp, honest and cynical but also loving - the way we all feel about a relative we love dearly but whose faults are more than apparent to us. His observation of small-town America is wickedly accurate and extremely funny.
In addition to the pleasure gained from the humour, the reader also gets a good deal of useful travel information. I would love to follow his route through the USA.
0Kommentar|68 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. September 2005
Zum Inhalt haben die anderen Rezensenten schon einiges gesagt. Daher nur zwei Ergänzungen:
1.) Wer andere Bücher Bill Bysons kennt, weiß wie gelungen er Information mit Humor verbinden kann. Selbst in seiner Einführung in die Naturwissenschaften (The History of Nearly Everything) gelingt ihm das schier Unmögliche - geballte Faktenvermittlung in ironisch-plauderndem Tonfall ohne jemals ins Flache abzugleiten. Auch in The Lost Continent finden wir diese beiden Element, doch war Brysons Humor nie frecher und bissiger als hier. Ich schließe mich der u.a. Warnung an: Nie in der Öffentlichkeit lesen! Das doch sehr schlichte Wesen seine provinziellen Landsleute stachelt den aus Iowa stammenden, aber in aller Welt umhergereisten Bryson zu Spotttiraden an, die einfach umwerdend komisch sind.
2.) Bei aller Bissigkeit - das Buch vermittelt eine große Fülle Informationen zum "echten" Amerika. Bryson schaut durch die Brille eines gebildeten Linken, der viele Jahre im Ausland gelebt hat. Immer wieder hält er sich länger an einzelnen Begegnungen und Eindrücken auf, sei es das TV-Programm, die Küche des Süden, der Rassimus, die Sehenswürdigkeiten etc. So nimmt der Leser nicht nur die Reiseroute wahr, sondern diese wird ausführlich kommentiert.
0Kommentar|8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2000
Yes, this is a funny book. Bill Bryson is funny, but his editors give him too much leeway. If you want to write about small town America then get off the Interstate Highways! And when you do get off the highway do not be surprised if staying in a motel with a superior attitude does not cause each town to open its secrets to you and invite you in. Fact of the matter is, the reason he comes across so many surly people in his travels in America or England is probably because most everyone he meets doesn't like him. It was with amazement that I read his "revelations" about how the interstate highways are all the same. Well, duuuh! I think with even the smallest foresight one would realize this and a good editor very quickly would say "Uh Bill, can you get off I95 sometime?" part way through his trip. If you want a true travel story about a funny guy travelling through small town America, read "Out West" by Dayton Duncan - small town America is still out there.
11 Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Dezember 2001
Der erste Satz sagt eigentlich alles über das, was den Lieser erwartet "I come from Des Moines. Somebody had to". Dieser Satz ist urkomisch und sagt eine Menge über die Bücher von Bill Bryson. Mit viel Witz und Ironie beschreibt er das Land seiner Herkunft und kann bei allem Spott und aller Ironie doch nicht verbergen, wieviel Zuneigung er für dieses Land empfindet. Für USA-Begeisterte und solche, die es werden wollen eine absolut empfehlenswerte Lektüre, denn man erfährt auf amüsante Art eine Menge wissenswertes über den "lost continent".
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juli 2000
Pity poor Bill Bryson. He had the chance many of his readers would love to have--travel throughout the US with apparently no money or time constraints. (Even if a Chevy Chevette may not be everyone's idea of comfortable travel!) However, the main word Bryson can find to describe places he doesn't care for is the oft-repeated "boring." The Mississippi River is "flat and dull," and merely driving is almost invariably "boring," unless the scenery is spectacular. Ah, what's a guy to do when he has book to write? Carry on, despite overcrowded national parks, sleepy small towns, ignorant people and the occasional threatening weather. Still, in spite of the negative attitude Bryson so frequently adopts, the book is entertaining and enlightening. Perhaps I enjoyed it so much because I agree with so many of Bryson's views about the over-commercialization of America's natural wonders and historical places. I also sympathize with his regrets for the lost small towns, particularly the downtowns which have been decimated by the development of malls, strip malls, large discount stores and fast food franchises until all small towns look depressingly the same. Perhaps the best thing one can say about a book like this is that it made me want to make my own journey of exploration, to discover the country on my own. And that, I believe, is the response any travel writer would love to have. Bryson succeeds and so I recommend the book to all readers who can smile at the foibles of America and Americans, including, perhaps, themselves.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. September 2000
My daughter and I were in a bookstore a few years ago and the saleslady said she had just read this book. I think it's hilarious. I sent Mr. Bryson a letter in care of the publishing company and got a nice letter from England from him several months later - he said it probably came to him via "snail mail"- my daughter and I each have copies of most of his books. I haven't read the newest about Australia but I'm sure I'll add it to my collection. I understand he is now living back in the U.S.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Juli 2005
Bill Bryson does it again.... a tongue and cheek look at his "home" continent, in search of the perfect small town.
The descriptions and wry comments are a wonderful mixture of side-splitting hilarious and poignant commentary. Didn't want to put it down, but I didn't want it to end either!
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Dies ist eines seiner früheren Bücher und mit Sicherheit nicht sein schlechtestes. Bryson fährt durch die USA (damals wohnte er noch in England)und beschreibt in erster Linie was für ein unglaublich weitläufiges und leeres Land die vereinigten Staaten doch sind. Das geschieht gewohnt witzig mit dem gewohnten Blick fürs Skurrile und den vielen spassigen Anekdoten.
Wer Bryson kennt und schätzt, wird den Kauf nicht bereuen.
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juli 2000
I first read Bill Bryson's "A Walk in The Woods", detailing his experinces on the Appalachian Trail and was eager to read more of his works. While I found this book entertaining and humorous, I was mildly disappointed. At times I found myself laughing out loud. Mr. Bryson has a wonderful wit and sense of humor. But as the book wore on, I became somewhat bored, much like the author himself. He was searching for the perfect small town in America but all he found was an endless stream of commercialism and neglect. Traveling through 38 states, he comments on a few wonderful and enchanting sights but mostly complains about over development and the lack of decent food. OK, we get it, but sorry Bill, that's America. I don't care for the commercialization either but he constantly beats a dead horse. He focuses on too many negatives and fails to accentuate the positives. This is a wonderful country and the people and scenery are all part of the unique tapestry that is America. He seems to speed on through his journey and fails to stop and smell the roses. He appears more interested in getting back to England than sharing meaningful insights of small town America.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. April 2011
Ich bin ein großer Fan Brysons, am liebsten sind mir seine Bücher in der Originalsprache, denn in den Übersetzungen geht doch viel vom Wortwitz verloren. Dieses Buch ist recht leicht zu lesen. Seit sechs Jahren lerne ich in der Schule Englisch und hatte keine Probleme, es zu verstehen. Ich kann es nur weiterempfehlen.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)