Kundenrezensionen


32 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (21)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


50 von 53 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Surely entertaining, but very anglo-centric
Bryson's book is an interesting walk through the history of science, offering a good mixture of facts and entertainment. Of course, the entertaining melody of this anecdote-rich book occasionally comes at the cost of a certain superficiality, but this should not be held against the author.
What is quite disappointing, however, is that this "Short History"...
Am 6. Oktober 2005 veröffentlicht

versus
47 von 57 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Enttäuschend - Einseitig und oberflächlich
Ich habe mich 250 Seiten lang geärgert und es dann sein lassen, schade. Zwei Hauptkritikpunkte:

1. Völlig angloamerikanische Einseitigkeit. Natürlich kann man darüber streiten, wer der wichtigste Forscher in diesem oder in jenem Bereich war, ein Buch aber über alle Fragen dieser Welt zu schreiben und dabei Humboldt oder Gauss aussen vor...
Veröffentlicht am 1. August 2006 von Chatou


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4.0 von 5 Sternen Good rough science guide, 15. Mai 2013
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
For unbiased readers without prior knowledge, this book is very very informative and entertaining.

One star minus, because at times it tends to drag a bit. A lot of fact-giving... which is only really interesting if this is your area of interest.

I would recommend it for older readers, although the connections between the different fields could easily open up a whole new world (literally) of knowledge for the interested young adult.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Entertaining and interesting, 27. August 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Short History Of Nearly Everything (Kindle Edition)
Bill Bryson's 'A short history of nearly everyting' is most of the time very entertaining, at times digging deep into scientifical matters and frequently also quite humorous. This not so superficial voyage into the realm of geology, paleontology, meteorology, archeology and a lot of other -logy's tries to give answers to many questions which you and I probably also had but never found an answer to in a concise and understandable text.

Some episodes contained a little too many names and facts to keep me 100% interested. Unfortunately, most continental european discoverers and scientists are not very prominent in this work. Though not a scientist myself, I found several factual errors I think should have been corrected, at least in the Kindle version I read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Popular Science at its Best, 27. Januar 2012
Von 
J. Kimbrough (Bavaria, Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
A travel journalist does an excellent job writing a general review of some science concepts and his book becomes a bestseller. With his humor and wit, he makes the general concepts of science accessible and enjoyable to read for the general reader. My son who is a professor of mathematics and physics recommended me to read this book and said this is the best popular general science book he has read. The first time where science made him "laugh"

If you never really had an interest in science or it has been years since you last studied science, read this book. If you like it and want more detail move on to Asimov's New Guide to Science (Penguin Press Science)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Seamless, effortless, 27. September 2010
Bill Bryson is a humorous guy, who loves travelling, research and writing, and a fresh written book like "a short history of..." is one of the results of the combination.
His hillarious style of writing entertains the reader until the last page. He is also good in mixing his opinion, news clipping, quotes from other authors, lively dialogue and historical facts into a seamless reading.
Gute Arbeit, great job.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen informative and entertaining, 17. August 2010
It's Bryson's usual style of writing that makes quite difficult (and boring) stuff understandable, interesting and even fun to read. For those who like Bryson and are interested in science its a really great buy. By the way, the title "a short history of..." is well chosen because it is primarily about the history of how things got discovered, etc. so it helps if you are interested in historical developments (narrated in an entertaining and easy going way). It's a book I will certainly read again, not because it's riveting but because it's well worth reading again and it makes you think seriously about things (and laugh) at the same time. (There are not many books I can say that about, can you?)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Loved it, 21. Juni 2009
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I loved every single page of the book. It's full of ideas, inspirational. It covers topics on really everything: from solar system, Earth, atoms, life on Earth, etc. It doesn't just present facts, but also the humankind journey to this knowledge, trying to answer the same 'how do we know that' question. Interesting insights on the lives of famous or less famous science people (a bit too much information on the personality of Mr. Hubble).

A big book: 478 pages, a challenge to make it fit my purse, but I carried it everywhere. Science reading can be really delightful.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Good & Entertaining Read - but..., 19. Dezember 2008
Reading this book is surely entertaining if you're at least a little
interested in science. His coverage of astronomy, for example, makes for
a great reminder of all those facts you'll surely have read or heard before, but Bryson manages to make them fun to read.

But: As other reviewers mentioned - his selection of scientific sources
is by no means exhaustive (and, yes, anglo-centric...). I personally can
live with that, as his book aims at people reading for fun, not as supplement
to university textbooks :-)

The thing I liked most: setting us (mankind) into a somehow "ultra-tiny"
perspective: We're definitely not as important as we sometimes make
ourselves believe.

My conclusion: Well worth reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Easy to understand, a good stepping stone into the deeper waters of science., 7. Januar 2008
I recieved the audio book first and was thrilled, I listened to it non-stop three times over while driving. The audio book is abridged, so I just had to get the book. I decided on the hardback edition with pictures and devoured it. Bill Bryson is a genius at making the incomprehensible comprehensible and interesting. After finishing the book it left me with a hunger for more of the same stuff, but a little bit deeper, so I went and ordered a copy of 'The Magic Furnace' and 'In Search of Schrödingers Cat'. They are not as witty as Bills book, but just as gripping.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Digging Up the Facts, Hard Questions and Personal Integrity, 8. Mai 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Mr. O'Reilly is well known for digging out the truth with investigative reporting. He is also forthright in sharing his views, and why he holds those views. As an interviewer, he seeks candor by using unexpected questions and interruptions to keep his guests away from canned responses. Many of his potential interview guests duck him. Those who appear frequently wish they hadn't.

If you have watched Mr. O'Reilly on his television show for more than a couple of years, you will find little that is new here. It is simply a condensed version of the most dramatic and newsworthy interviews he has done over the years. For those who have not watched his show much but are curious about the show and his journalistic work, this book is a good choice.

If you want to know what Mr. O'Reilly's views are on the subjects in the book, you can go to pages 174-176 and find them neatly summarized.

Each of these points is explored in one of 16 chapters that are mini-essays interspersed with interviews. Each chapter begins with what Mr. O'Reilly's views are, then switches to the background of the interview, then the interview, and the aftermath of the interview. In some cases, there is a second set of backgrounds, a second interview, and a second aftermath section. If you are like me, you will find the chapters with or about Puff Daddy, Eminem, Susan Sarandon, Al Sharpton, George W. Bush, Jesse Jackson, John McCain, and Dan Rather to be the most interesting.

Mr. O'Reilly holds himself to a high standard of personal integrity, and expects others (including national leaders, politicians, government officials, celebrities, educators, and parents) to do the same. He is also blunt, preferring straight talk to euphemisms. Whether you agree with all of his views or not (and I suspect that there is no such person), you will respect him.

The book has a major weakness though. The people who speak for views that Mr. O'Reilly does not agree with are usually not prepared for his questions, not very quick witted, and often poor candidates to debate the point for other reasons. If Mr. O'Reilly really wanted to write a book to explore these topics, he should have found better and more prepared spokespeople to debate him. I suspect that such a book would have made better reading. Perhaps that will happen in a future book. As it is, the prominent people in the book tend to come off primarily as not having much intelligence . . . or being so corrupt that they cannot even tell that they are lying to themselves.

If you know a young person who is interested in journalism, this book could make an inspiring gift.

Call it like you see it . . . and set a good example!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Komplexe Zusammenhänge griffig, 26. März 2006
anschaulich und so spannend beschreiben, dass das Lesen nachwirkt. Es ist schwer, das Buch aus der Hand zu legen, bevor ein Kapitel beendet ist. Das genialste sind Bill Brysons Vergleiche. Es kann sein, dass etliche davon schon vorher veröffentlicht wurden, aber sicher nie in so amüsantem Kontext. Man zittert mit Aminosäuren, ob sie den Sprung zum "leben" schaffen, man wundert sich, dass noch kein Asteroid richtig voll getroffen hat, man fühlt mit den frustrierenden Erlebnissen früher Entdecker und Forscher: Kurz, es ist ein faszinierendes Erlebnis und mehr als Lesen. Sehr, sehr empfehlenswert, auch als GEschenk für Menschen, die heimlich "Wer wird Millionär" gucken und denken, sie lernen dabei etwas dazu... Wer die Geschichte/n gelesen hat, weiß vielleicht nicht wirklich mehr Abrufbares, aber hat definitiv ein großes Verstehen von Zusammenhängen--Ich empfehle-Giorgio Kostantinos-The Quest--
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Short History Of Nearly Everything
EUR 7,83
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen