Kundenrezensionen


100 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (73)
4 Sterne:
 (15)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Many Different Angles
Most people know that Hawking is a brilliant physicist, but after reading this book, one develops a respect for his other talents as well. Most noticeable is Stephen Hawking's ability to make very complicated ideas seem quite clear through good explanations, clear comparisons to real life events, and a soft humor. The organization of chapers mostly follows a...
Am 3. Februar 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The Cosmos, explained by a master
A Brief History of Time was first recommended to me this summer as a preface to my cosmology course that I am taking this year as a senior in High School. I am also in the midst of my second year of high school Physics. I just finished A Brief History on my third attempt to read it. The first time I only made it to chapter 2; the second time, I made it to about 6, but...
Veröffentlicht am 1. Mai 2000 von kraven82


‹ Zurück | 1 210 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The Cosmos, explained by a master, 1. Mai 2000
A Brief History of Time was first recommended to me this summer as a preface to my cosmology course that I am taking this year as a senior in High School. I am also in the midst of my second year of high school Physics. I just finished A Brief History on my third attempt to read it. The first time I only made it to chapter 2; the second time, I made it to about 6, but this time I finally made it through all 11. Hawking is one of the greatest physicists and cosmologists of the late 20th century, and that much is evident in reading his book. Hawking discusses topics of black holes, time travel, the history of the universe, and the large-scale structure of the cosmos. Although Hawking gives a very thourough and informative picture of modern day cosmology and physics, he often gives a slightly TOO complete picture. He also tends to jump right into many of the topics with little or no introduction, leaving the reader lost behind. Hawking's book is a great explanation of the cosmos as we see it today. However, this book is by no means for the faint of heart. Also, I would not recommend this book to anyone without a signifigant knowledge of general physics and cosmology. However, if you're ready for a thick read, jump right in!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen No master of the written word, 6. Dezember 1999
Von 
David Blake (Basingstoke, Hampshire, United Kingdom) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
Hawking is no master of the written word. Early on, he warns us not to consult his earlier books for more detail - because they are "quite unreadable". He also admits that, during the production of this book, his editor bombarded him with comments and questions. The impact of this editorial input is plain. The book wallows from unnecessarily long complex sentences written in the passive sense to snappy anecdotes from Hawking's life.
I found the early chapters very useful as overviews of the theory of relativity and quantum mechanics. The middle chapters - on black holes and the origin of the Universe - were clearly written with enthusiasm.
However, that enthusiasm seemed to fade towards the end of the book. The chapter on the arrows of time seems to have been lifted from an old speech. Here's what I'm about to tell you: this is what I'm saying: this is what I've just told you.
Also, the explanation of the cosmological arrow of time left a lot of questions hanging. Question: What will happen when the Universe starts to contract - will people start to experience time running backwards? Answer: Intelligent life could not exist because, by then, all the stars will have burned out. Well, OK - but does that answer whether time is in reverse or not?
Chapter 10 introduces string theory. Clearly this is an incredibly complicated subject and not capable of being explained in a book entitled "Brief History". However, the way the subject is introduced and then dropped is tantalising. Apparently, string theories are only consistent if space-time has either ten or twenty-six dimensions. All these extra dimensions are curled up into space of a very small size. I, for one, would have liked more explanation of what that means.
In summary, a useful but frustrating book that varies in tone as the pages turn. I feel a better populist book would have resulted if Hawking had used a ghost writer to interpret his ideas, rather than simply submitting his own words to the scrutiny of an editor.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Many Different Angles, 3. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
Most people know that Hawking is a brilliant physicist, but after reading this book, one develops a respect for his other talents as well. Most noticeable is Stephen Hawking's ability to make very complicated ideas seem quite clear through good explanations, clear comparisons to real life events, and a soft humor. The organization of chapers mostly follows a chronological order, which gives a sense of history from Aristotle to present day, yet also establishes concepts in an order that builds on itself. One also realizes that A Brief History of Time was written by a writer, not a scientist who happened to put ideas to paper. This makes a big difference in the enjoyment of a book, since good information in a dry, dull form can be difficult to read (remember trying to keep your eyes open while reading a dull textbook in a subject of interest?). On the other hand, interesting information presented in an interesting manner make A Brief History of Time as much of a 'page-turner' as physics can be.
In summary, a fountain of information from galaxies and black holes to quantum mechanics presented in such a way that is not only as easy to understand as it can be, but is an enjoyable experience to read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Master Piece on Theoretical Physics !, 26. November 2002
Von Ein Kunde
A most interesting book. Hawking envites the reader to look in the universe in its most deepst way: though physics. Though the book is not specially easy to read, Hawking managed to describe the most important achievements of modern physics in a very short and compact book. For anyone that is inerested in physics a must have ! His brilliant mind makes complex topics from physics such as quantum mechanics and relativity quite understandable. All without a single mathematical formula ! He discusses every topic only in its physical meaning rather than through mathematics. Also for people interested in philosophy, a reference for understanding how modern science "sees" the universive in its very essence, from the beginning to its end. If you want some answers for such questions like: what is time ? What is Space ? When was beginning ? Is time travel possible ?
What is the fate of the universe ? This is the book for you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Overrated - Nevertheless, worth reading, 28. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
When I first picked up this book, I expected much more. Hawking uses simple language to explain extremely complicated theories (relativity, uncertainty principle, quantum mechanics, GUTs) and I applaud the absense of mathematical equations (except one, E=mc^2). However, in my opinion, Hawking's explanations on some key cosmological points are sometimes too concise, whereas on the other hand too much time is spent on other topics such as particle theory. This book did not captivate me as much as it should have, despite reading it twice.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Genial, 5. Dezember 2003
Von Ein Kunde
Stephen Hakings schafft es einem das Universum in einfachen Worten näher zu bringen. Dieses Buch stillt den Durst nach Wissen über die Hintergründe unserer Existens. Hawkings schafft es dennoch ohne Formeln (mal von E=MC^2 abgesehen) zurecht zu kommen. Das Buch befasst sich von Aristoteles Auffassung des Universums bishin zu Theorien des späten 20ten Jahrhunderts.
Das Buch liest sich sehr leicht (da Hawkings immer wieder lustige Kommentare einfügt) und man ist immer wieder erstaunt über das was man liest. Ich denke dieses Buch war SEHR gut investiertes Geld. Aber der Erfolg des Buches spricht wohl für sich selbst: es hielt sich 237 Wochen in der Bestsellerliste der Sunday Times. Nathan Myhrvold von Microsoft stellte fest, dass von Hawkings Büchern über Physik mehr verkauft wurden als von Madonnas Büchern über Sex.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The ultimate book to start with on physics and the cosmos, 16. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
This is the second time I have read this book.
The first time I read it was when it was first released in the eighties... the updated 10th anniversary version is pretty much the same thing with some added discussion on string theory... basically more revised.
First of all, the book is not easy to read... especially for those who cannot clear their minds of everything to focus on what is being read. Without a clear mind you will be lost... it takes common sense, good logic and quiet surroundings to successfully read the book in its entirety.
Second, the topics covered are well laid out... from relativity, to quantum mechanics, to the cosmos, to string theory... and even a chapter discussing our existence and how God fits in the picture. All in all, every chapter builds on the next very well, and the visual/"plain English" descriptions blend well with the scientific terminology.
Third, the chapter on string theory (which was recently added) left me feeling a little hungry for more... although it describes what string theory is, I felt a lacking of completeness... probably due to the fact that this is a newer field in theoretical physics.
If you are interested in theoretical physics at all, and wish to understand Einstein's theories of relativity and how the fit with quantum mechanics, then this is the book to start with. After having read this book you will feel the urge to get some other books discussing quantum mechanics, space-time warpings, string theory, wormholes, and black holes.
Believe me... theoretical physics is a very interesting subject that has been developed over many years by brilliant minds... those who are able to open their minds to what the cosmos and the universe have to show can certainly achieve understanding... and perhaps question things further.
Enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The definitive though not the best-essential anyway, 13. Juni 2000
Von 
Vincent Toolan (London United Kingdom) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
Hawking has done the world a tremendous service by bringing the physics of the late twentieth century to a broad audience. For that alone he deserves enormous recognition.
Re-reading the book, ten years after publication, is a worthwhile effort. He has added material, with a fuller (and more up to date) discussion of string theory and wormholes in space. In fact Hawking never misses an opportunity to refer to Star Trek - though this is no bad thing.
Still, the book does miss the mark in a few ways. It is tremendously ambitious in scope, attempting as it does to encompass all the relevant physics from Aristotle through Galileo and Newton to Einstein and Kip Thorne and Hawking himself. The breathless novice could be forgiven for feeling overwhelmed at the pace. And though Hawking obviously prides himself on clear, plain-language explanations, his writing is often betrays his mathematician's lexicon (for instance, often describing "a class of objects...").
A longer but more sensible and structured path is now on offer from David Greene, in the Elegant Universe. But "Brief History..." has a certain timeless coffee table appeal and chatty style that ensures it remain a classic.
Hawking's prose occasionally betrays a touch of the arrogance that inevitably accompanies genius: he proudly relates being told he's "sold more books on physics than Madonna has on Sex". Quite so. But that doesn't lessen the achievement.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen very interesting but somewhat lengthy, 22. Januar 2002
I really do like the idea to address such an exciting subject to non mathematicians. The choice of topics is well balanced and gives you an interesting introduction into the modern view of our universe. In particular the introduction of sometimes contradictory models explain how physics works-the evolution of ideas. I personally admire one who admits errors in the course of his scientific career, as Hawking does. However despite the lack of any formula the book is not easy to understand. In contrary some formulas would help--at least the lengthy way of writing numbers (one million million million million million million million - a 1 with 42 zeros) does not increase the readability. I'm still looking for a book presenting formulas but explaining them and pointing out the consequences. Nevertheless I enjoyed reading "a brief history of time" and will now turn to "the universe in a nutshell". For all who have strong interest in topics such as relativity, quantum mechanics and space-time but are not willing to study mathematics this book definitely is an excellent starting point.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hawking's Brief History of Time, 1. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Brief History of Time (Taschenbuch)
One of the greatest living physicists, Stephen Hawking is also an amazing popularizer of science, a characteristic of many of the truly Creative Geniuses as opposed to the Follower Geniuses who are so abundant in science. I recommend that the reader consult parallel texts of slightly greater mathematical and physical difficulty to better understand what is going on, if necessary with the help of consultants or tutors. I have already remarked in other reviews for Amazon.com on the difficulty of understanding entropy, for example, which comes in many types not all of which are similar, and its relationship to probability, chaos, and so on is not quite settled at this time. The interested reader could consult Ruelle's book (I forget its date at the moment) for a readable and inspired account of entropy by one of its pioneers. There has also been some recent work indicating that more information can come out of a black hole than Hawking thought. I recommend that readers also read Roger Penrose's two books of the last 20 years, which are also popularized science which compare idealism and materialsm (the latter as represented by computer Ingenious Followers, in my terminology). Penrose and Hawking discovered many of their discoveries together.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 210 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen