Kundenrezensionen


46 Rezensionen
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of Those Rare Books
Over the last fifteen years, a growing number of books have shown up in trade paperbackland on the subject of Buddhism. More seem to arrive daily, invited or not. Most of them are aimed at the general reader and beginning buddhist. This makes it progressively more difficult to sort out the superlative from the merely satisfactory.
Of all that I've read [and...
Veröffentlicht am 18. Mai 2000 von Richard L. Hanson

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen Misleading Presentation
I have advised people against reading this book as an introduction to Buddhism. Although it is written in simple and clear language, the author neglects to define certain key concepts of Buddhism in terms the western mind can comprehend, leaving it open to misunderstanding.
Am 30. März 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of Those Rare Books, 18. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
Over the last fifteen years, a growing number of books have shown up in trade paperbackland on the subject of Buddhism. More seem to arrive daily, invited or not. Most of them are aimed at the general reader and beginning buddhist. This makes it progressively more difficult to sort out the superlative from the merely satisfactory.
Of all that I've read [and I've read them all] "Buddhism: Plain and Simple" stands out from the rest. Steve Hagen succeeds in one of the hardest tasks in writing: being straightforward without being dull; being concise without seeming frugal. No essential point of Buddhism is left uncovered, yet the author never pontificates or short-changes the reader.
The book is a gem of both inspiration and practicality. It takes a subject that often seems far too idealistic and places it at a level that resonates with the daily Western experience of life. It is a "quick read" without ever coming off as "Buddhism For Dummies." All this and at a price that will make it a convenient and affordable present for all those friends that have so often asked us, "what the heck is Buddhism?"
Find it, read it and buy another copy for someone you love. Better yet, give it to someone you don't love. It might just change their life.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Plain and Simple, 13. Juni 2000
Von 
Kieran F. Johnston (Shah Alam, Selangor Malaysia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
I have often thought that the essence of any religion should be inscribable on a space the size of a thumbnail, and then applied like a transdermal patch to infiltrate a person's life. Hagen's book does that: it can get under your skin if you are willing to apply it. One of the strengths of this book is that it neglects certain key concepts of Buddhism that make it accessible to the Western mind. This book is aimed entirely at the experiential aspect of life, not the intellectual. It has to soak in through the pores rather than pierce the cranium. Don't read this book: attend to it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The first accurate understanding by an western person, 26. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Gebundene Ausgabe)
There are already many English books about Buddhism way of thinking written by Japanese and western authors. But many of them describe only the history and facts of Buddhism and repeat old Asian style puzzling logic that is not valid for the modern mind. This is the first English book I have read that describes the genuine meaning of Buddhism in simple words. Simplicity is not elementary. It is true understanding. The only regret is that this book still insists much on liberation from anguish and less on the creative and positive side of Buddhism.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen True to its title, 31. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
This is an excellent book. Hagen explains Buddhism in an absolutely clear, perfectly concise manner and gives simple, everyday examples to illustrate his points. It is an ideal read for a beginner, because it cuts to the heart of what Buddhism is in a way that is easy to understand. I would reccomend this book to everyone, not least of all the people who feel somewhat lost in their lives.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Plain and simple it is... and clear, 13. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
Ah yes... sometimes the answers are so clear they cannot be seen... for the ones who need to be "enlightened," so to speak... there's nothing you can read that can't be read... yet this is a very direct introduction to what needs not be explained... The Big Eye is open...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The best book to get started in Buddhism, 14. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
"~I am a newcomer to Buddhism, but when I get a hankering to learn about any subject, I read about it voraciously. This has been almost counter-productive in studying Buddhism since, as Hagen stresses, no words can really describe the reality we seek. In fact, I have read several books about Buddhism, Zen, and the like; but I own just two: Buddhism Plain and Simple, and Peace is Every Step by Thich Nhat Hanh. By far, Hagen's book is my favorite.
the wrong reasons -- to control my emotions, to sort out moral dilemmas, and to find peace of mind. Through Buddhism, I've made great progress in all those areas by simply eliminating them as goals and just experiencing life moment by moment. This may sound odd if you haven't practiced Buddhism, but you will quickly appreciate this lesson after reading Hagen's book. You will discover that the practice of Buddhism does not involve traveling to the Himalayas or meditating in the forest. You will learn that you don't have to abandon your religion or your friends or your job. The word Buddhism stems from the Sanskrit word for Buddha, the awakened one. Buddhism is simply the path of awakening. This book is a wonderful guide on that path. You will not be the same after reading it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Thought-provoking and profound, 1. Mai 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
An excellent book to read if you have evered pondered life, death, purpose, the universe, self, suffering, pleasure, beliefs, or morality.
This is about buddha-dharma- the teachings of the Buddha. It is not about rituals, customs, or different interpretations of the Buddha. Instead, it describes what the human existence appears to be and how awareness is the key to Reality.
The author does not make conclusions for us. He presents the information and it is up to us to use it any way we want. There are no "rules". Buddha-dharma can be considered a "non-religion". Having beliefs actually limits your conception and realization of Reality.
I see no reason why not to pick up this book. If you have Western beliefs, you should open your mind to another point of view. You will get something out of it. I do not agree with many points this book brought up, but in other cases the author was right on the money.
This book WILL GET YOU THINKING. And after you read it, you may think that it wasn't actually THE BOOK itself that got you thinking! (You'll know what I mean.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, 5. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
This is a really amazing book for those in the West who don't really know that much about Buddhism, and are looking for a place to start. However, one doesn't need to be Buddhist or even plan on becoming Buddhist to read this, it is relevant to everyone.
One warning, this book teachs the basic principles of Buddhism. It is not very comprehensive, but that is part of the beauty of it. Steve Hagen doesn't go on and on about the differences between (for example) Theraveda and Zen Buddhism. He doesn't teach us about Buddhism, instead he teaches us how to be Buddhist (which I would argue is much more important).
If you have been practicing Buddhism for a number of years, I doubt you would learn much from this book. But if you don't know the difference between dharma and duhkha then I can't recommend this book enough.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Simple - with an amazing depth, 23. Juni 2008
Von 
Sharad Gandhi (Munich) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I have read this book again and again for well over 5 times; and certain sections, well over 50 times. Every time I discover insights and depths I had missed before. True understanding of anything as profound as the Buddhist philosophy can only come from within you. It is the awareness that grows in you and becomes a part of your person. Then you "know". It is the difference between "believing" and "knowing" (or "seeing") that this book brings out so well. This book, better than most, is the catalyst that allows that process to happen within you. This book is not just for reading. It's content has to be absorbed, digested and integrated into your being. This book is a companion I can pick up anytime and reading just a few lines gives me so much.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, 18. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Taschenbuch)
I loved this book, it's well written and contains loads of information. At places the going is a little rough, but overall the book is great!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana)
EUR 9,49
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen