Kundenrezensionen


404 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (263)
4 Sterne:
 (41)
3 Sterne:
 (27)
2 Sterne:
 (27)
1 Sterne:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Beginning of a Beautiful relationship
Ahh, the Fountainhead. I gave it 4 stars because it is not quite as good as Atlas Shrugged.
But then again, if you are reading this you probably haven't read that book either.
Look no further for a book about a man who does not know the meaning of the word "compromise", Howard Roark. Some people tend to take everything very literally (at least...
Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2000 von D. Dohoda

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Flawed but Inspirational
It's always great to see extremists of both colours arguing about Objectivism and Ayn Rand in general. Both sides miss the point. Although the philosophy of Objectivism may not stand up to close scrutiny, The Fountainhead and its companion Atlas Shrugged are interesting, inspirational novels that have a lot of value for an intelligent, dedicated reader.
Some have...
Am 18. Februar 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 241 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Beginning of a Beautiful relationship, 19. September 2000
Von 
D. Dohoda "chaosopher" (Massachusetts, United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
Ahh, the Fountainhead. I gave it 4 stars because it is not quite as good as Atlas Shrugged.
But then again, if you are reading this you probably haven't read that book either.
Look no further for a book about a man who does not know the meaning of the word "compromise", Howard Roark. Some people tend to take everything very literally (at least judging by other reviews). Howard Roark is a man who will not let his ideals be torn asunder by his coworkers, so-called friends, and associates. Neither will the media take him down. Is is an idyllic tale of a man who did something we all want to do: chase his dream.
If there's something wrong with that, then I suppose we are all in some real trouble and this book isn't going to help!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A challenging book that will make you think., 7. Juli 2000
Von 
Ernest Boehm (Des Plaines, IL United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
As time passes I see myself disagree with the philosophy of Ayn Rand more and more, yet her work has challenged me to think and question my own philosphy of life. I am not a hard core objectivist and I am actually a little amazed at how far hard-core objectivist go especial in their challenge of modern physics and quantum mechanics. But this book is a great book is worth examination and questioning.
The Fountainheads characters are really amazing and interesting.
Howard Roark the protagonist is a talented college drop out who struggles to become an architect. He refuses to design anything other than to his own design and will not be influenced by the whims of cleints or fads in design. His buildings are prefect in the book and Roark will pay out of his own pocket to fix his mistake in design. And he would rather see a building of his design destroyed than corrupted. Roark is driven by solving problems of design not by fame or fortune.
He is contrasted by Peter Keating who unlike Roark always caves in to be popular opinon by catering to the whims of clients and critics. While Roark is almost uneffected by people, Keating is totally dependent on others for his ideas, dreams and sense of self.
Dominique Frankon is Roarks lover who wants to see him destroyed and tries to destroy him herself. For she is tortured by the fact that everone gives in and compromises themselves. She tries to destroy Roark because see believes that he can not hold out forever against the world and she would rather see him destroyed than live a subservient life.
Gail Wylan is Roarks best friend. Wylan is a newspaper owner who is a tyrant over his empire. He tries at first to control Roark and fails which is what starts there friendship. Wyland is forced to choose between public opinion and Roark in a court case. Wylan must choose bewteen power or intergity.
Toohey is the devil in the form of a critic. He praises those who will give into society and attacks those who will show independence and integrety in their work. He wants to destroy indiviualism and replace it with a dull mediocracy. He wants to control mens minds by making them dependent on his evaluation of the world. He is facinated by Roark while Roark has little fasinatition with him. Toohey knows that he must at all cost destroy Roark.
As I have said Rand will make you think. But challenge her ideas in your own mind. THE PASSION OF AYN RAND by Barbera Branden is an excellent biography for those who love or hate Ayn Rands views.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen THE FOUNTAINHEAD - Lovers and Legend, 30. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
This book is almost un-critiqueable due to its uniqueness and the awe with which it is held by the late Miss Rand's more devoted followers. But I'll try! The plot spans the years 1922 to about 1938 and traces the career arc of two rival architects, Howard Roark and Peter Keating. Roark's approach to design and function in architecture is roughly based on Frank Lloyd Wright's; Keating is a meretricious copyist incapable of an original idea whose main function seems to be to look good in a tuxedo while entertaining clients. Roark's fatal flaw is that he accepts no client changes to his architectural plans - none whatsoever, not even the most conservative Greek column on the ground floor of a bank building. Of Roark and Keating, whom do you think has the more successful career? By the late-1920s Keating has become the toast of Manhattan while Roark is reduced to poverty. Yet it is Roark to whom Keating slinks when he has trouble designing an ultramodern skyscraper for a prestigious competition. Roark is allegedly the egomaniacal one, yet he helps Keating without asking for recognition or payment of any kind.
Things get even more perverse on the love front. Not to give too much of the plot away, but a sensous, emotionally distant woman who is just Roark's type takes up with exactly the kind of men who hurt Roark the most. It's utterly appalling and yet, in Rand's equation, somehow convincingly human, which makes it all the more appalling. The path to heroism in an Ayn Rand novel is never easy.
There's a lot more going on, including a sleazy gazillionaire publisher with the seeds of greatness, an urbane man of letters who should have been murdered in the crib, and a public housing project that didn't survive to see the light of day. But probably the most salient feature of THE FOUNTAINHEAD is that it is a philosophical novel about the nature of human progress, how it is achieved, by whom and at what cost. (Lucky for us, the speechifying is relayed mostly through dialog and doesn't clutter the plot.)
So is THE FOUNTAINHEAD a good book? I'm not sure that Miss Rand would agree with the tenets of "vox populi, vox dei," but suffice it to say that the book hasn't been out of print since it was first published in 1943 and the New American Library still derives a significant amount of its income from Rand's writings. Read this book, and if you like it go on to the more challenging ATLAS SHRUGGED. You don't have to adopt any kind of political agenda to enjoy THE FOUNTAINHEAD.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A wonderful book; but hints at dogmatism to come, 6. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
I have not done a comparison of other books rated at this site, but a total of 195 customer comments thus far appears to indicate, at the very least, that this enduring work has had much influence, positive or otherwise. I read the book many years ago, and it impacted me personally in both positive and negative ways. All in all, I cannot say I'm worse off on account of it, but who can really say?
From a literary perspective, you will find few books written with more eloquence or passion than this one. Ms. Rand was, in my view, a very talented woman, perhaps a flawed genius . . . The plot is intricate, fascinating and tightly woven. As a lawyer, I recall the courtroom scenes as being somewhat naive and "Hollywood", but most people are not attorneys, so one can live with that minor discrepancy.
Ms. Rand eventually became dogmatic, as did her philosophy and later novel; seeds or hints of this can be seen in the Foutainhead. The book is very appealing to the young--with its passionate idealism and black and white view of things; therein lies a material danger that young minds can be drawn in to the dogmatism and "judgment"-- against themselves and others--causing significant psychogical harm. By the same token, if not turned into a cult or inflexible system, if read with an instruction of caution (perhaps from a teacher or parent), the book can give some sense of insight, direction and meaning to the "abyss", the world of an adolescent.
I understand that Ms. Rand and her philosophy became so dogmatic so as to become almost a cult, or, at the very least, a religion. People who disagreed with her were even excommunicated, as though Ms. Rand was the Pope and her detractors were errant followers. This has happened with many influencial systems throughout history (e.g., Freud and his followers). Too bad. The book, and to a lesser extent, her philosophy, has many wonderful qualities.
Depite the foregoing concerns and cautions, the book, all in all, is a classic.
Give it to your children and students, but teach them to be strong and think on their own.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen To those who are stirred by a powerful soul, 26. Februar 2000
Von 
Jee Ho Kim "Jeeho Kim" (Fort Lee, NJ USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
Many of those who read the Fountainhead have tried to classify it -- the shallow saw it as a book about architecture, the cynical, a book about extremism, and the more respectful and intelligent majority saw it as a book about identity and not falling to the will of the consensus. But I think this last statement is as trivializing the work as the formal two. Many lost, seeking individuals these days try to "find oneself", and seek identity for its sake. There is nothign noble or great about this. What makes this work then so noble and heroic is the unbreaking integrity of the main character, Howard Roark. Roark was not so lost or so unsure of himself. He had no identity to find. Instead, throughout this 700 page work, all he tries to do is bring out the thing in himself to the world without making it impure by inteference or unwelcome influences. The idea seems to simple, but Ayn Rand writes in such a way as to move you through Roark's single-minded integrity. In the end, one gets the feeling that this "integrity" for one's work was not unreasonable obsession, or stupid extremism, seeking identity, or just about building pretty buildings. It was integrity.
In short, what the author says is this: In our lives we are forced to make so many compromises which conflict with out basic beliefs. But in soem things there shoudl be no compromises at all, no matter what society will say or do, because in the end your integrity is more important then the judgement of strangers.
Read this work. It will stir you like no other..
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Flawed but Inspirational, 18. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
It's always great to see extremists of both colours arguing about Objectivism and Ayn Rand in general. Both sides miss the point. Although the philosophy of Objectivism may not stand up to close scrutiny, The Fountainhead and its companion Atlas Shrugged are interesting, inspirational novels that have a lot of value for an intelligent, dedicated reader.
Some have pointed out that Ayn Rand's characters are cardboard; they are indeed one-dimensional, but each in a specific way. I viewed them more as characterizations of specific traits, and the technique (assuming it was intended) heightened my enjoyment of the novel.
Others have waxed poetic about the long, self-serving, drawn out passages. This is also true, but numerous authors of classics employ the same technique. Who, for instance, could claim that the writing of Thomas Hardy is not a disgraceful example of butchered English? Nonetheless, his literature is still valued for its depth and meaning.
I like the novels. They inspire me, they motivate me, and, yes, they give me sanction to be the self-centered human that I am. It would be a shame to not read for yourself and draw your own conclusions; keep an open mind, challenge the assertions, but draw your own conclusions. The works of Ayn Rand were and are popular with young, intelligent readers for a reason.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Long, but excellent, 14. September 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
Ayn Rand's "The Fountainheas" is an excellent book. Even though all its characters are idealized, it gives you a clear hint about the problems that our society has. I doubt that all altruists are aware of the terrible consequences that are evoqued by a governmental wellfaresystem and rule for their poicies only to get more power, like Ellsworth Toohey. But I agree that the consequences are enormous and shorten individual freedom. "The Fountainhead" is a very long book, sometimes too long. One can see that Ayn Rand is primarly a philosopher and not a writer: But the ideas that are presented by the person of Howard Roark are important and contradict completely the development of today's western societies.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A masterpiece, 14. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
I've read this book in a Dutch translation. It was the first time I heard of Ayn Rand.This book was marvellous to read. The story of Roark is one of the victory of the individual over the mass. It is about a person's integrity, so difficult to keep in a society like ours. It was a great surprise to me to discover that this book was written in the first half of the century and moreover by a woman. Nor the subject, nor the style of writing can indicate this. The subject is timeless. I can understand some don't like this book very much because in this real world we don't often meet people like Roark. He belongs to a novel. We don't have to compare ourselves or others with such an ideal character. It didn't spoil my reading and I can only recommend this novel very much.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


19 von 25 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Aktueller denn je, 14. Juli 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Fountainhead (Taschenbuch)
In diesem Buch von Ayn Rand, dem Vorläufer von dem grandiosen Werk "Atlas Shrugged (Wer ist John Galt?)" geht es im Grunde um den Kampf zweier grundlegender Kräfte, die im Menschen wirken. Die eine Kraft, die von Ellsworth Toohey personalisiert wird, unterstützt die Gleichmacherei, Profit und Bezahlung ohne Leistung, das "Recht" der Schwächeren, Altruismus und Selbstaufgabe zugunsten des unverdienten Wohles von wem und was auch immer. Nach Ayn Rand die zerstörerischste aller gesellschaftlicher Kräfte, die aber auch die Seele und den Geist zerstört - und unersättlich ist.

Die andere Kraft, personalisiert durch den Architekten Howard Roark, unterstützt kompromisslose Authentizitzät und Einzigartigkeit, Gerechtigkeit und Leistung, den Genius im Menschen, der keine Kompromisse in seiner Integrität macht, weder in seinem Privatleben noch in seinem Beruf. ...

Ellsworth Toohey kommt warmherzig daher, als Freund von jedermann, ist aber in seiner Proklamation der Selbstaufgabe und des Altruismus voller Hass und säht Gewalt und Zwietracht wo er nur kann. Howard Roark wirkt kühl, verschlossen und unnahbar, aber er ist voll von starker Liebe: zu seiner Architektur und zu einer Frau, deren makelloses Wesen er erkannt hat und mit ihr darunm ringt, endlich aufzuhören, ihn vernichten zu wollen.

Warum will ihn Dominique vernichten? Sie gönnt ihn der Welt nicht ... sie kann es nicht ertragen, dass ein so außerordentlicher Mensch wie Howard möglicherweise im Sumpf der Mittelmässigkeit untergeht und zum Opfer von "Plünderern" wird.

Was sie aber erst spät lernt, ist, dass die Kraft, aus der Howard lebt, die Kraft "aus erster Hand", stärker ist als alle Manipulationsversuche. Makellosigkeit ist nicht korrumpierbar, weil sie sich nicht um die Welt der "Zweithänder" (Schmarotzer, Parasiten) schert.

Was die einen zur Rage bringt, ist die Freiheit der anderen (dieses Thema wird in Atlas Shrugged auf die Spitze getrieben).

Ayn Rands Buch, das lange Zeit wie eine Bibel für mich war, adressiert ganz klar diese Kräfte, die in jedem Menschen sind. Die Frage ist: Welche Kraft gewinnt die Oberhand - und eine andere Frage ist: Was sind die Konsequenzen?

Das Buch ist grandios für die Selbsterkenntnis und brlliant für eine Analyse, wo wir heute gesellschaftlich stehen.

Dietrich von Oppeln-Bronikowski
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Profound Influence, 1. August 2000
I first read this novel during my sophomore year at a top business school. The influence this work has had over my professional and personal life is truly incredible. I have since read this work at least five or six times. Each re-read has served as a catalyst for change in my life and helped me to succeed not only in the external view but much more internally. If you really want to find self worth and true value, read this book and let yourself struggle with all that you currently believe in.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 241 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Fountainhead
The Fountainhead von Ayn Rand
EUR 10,99
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen