Kundenrezensionen


62 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (49)
4 Sterne:
 (8)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


22 von 22 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway neu kennen gelernt
Ich habe Ernest Hemingways Romane in der Schule kennen und hassen gelernt - "Wem die Stunde schlägt" war mein persönlicher Langweiler. Und das führte dazu, dass ich nie wieder zu Hemingways Bücher gegriffen habe, obwohl ich wirklich eine Leseratte bin. Als ich vor kurzem noch einmal den Film "City of Angels" sah, in dem Meg Ryan "A moveable feast"...
Veröffentlicht am 14. Juli 2003 von Sabine Weiden

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Ah, Paris in the 1920s ...
I would read this if only to know what the legend Hemingway's life was like when he was young, 'very poor, and very happy'. That it is set in Paris in the 1920s appeals to my illusions and gives it romance; that it talks about many literary stars of the 20th century - Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, Scott Fitzgerald - living and working and engaging in the everyday makes...
Veröffentlicht am 23. Juni 2000 von Jane Pek


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

22 von 22 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway neu kennen gelernt, 14. Juli 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe Ernest Hemingways Romane in der Schule kennen und hassen gelernt - "Wem die Stunde schlägt" war mein persönlicher Langweiler. Und das führte dazu, dass ich nie wieder zu Hemingways Bücher gegriffen habe, obwohl ich wirklich eine Leseratte bin. Als ich vor kurzem noch einmal den Film "City of Angels" sah, in dem Meg Ryan "A moveable feast" liest und toll findet, kam ich auf die Idee mal nachzuschauen, um welches Buch es sich handelt und war überrascht eine Autobiografie zu finden. Ich habe es gewagt mir "A moveable feast" anzuschaffen und wurde sehr positiv überrascht. Hemingway schreibt leicht und interessant über seine Jahre in Paris um die 20er Jahre. Die Einblicke in sein Leben und die Schriftsteller um ihn herum (sehr interessant die Kapitel über die Reise mit F. Scott Fitzgerald) sind so verfasst, dass man das Leben vor sich sieht, wie es passierte. Ich habe hier einen Hemingway kennen gelernt, der spannend und kurzweilig schreibt. Nichts ist mehr da von dem Bild, das ich noch vor kurzem hatte. Ich werde jetzt auf jeden Fall mehr von Ernest Hemingway lesen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen In the pantheon of my all-time favorites, 31. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
A Moveable Feast is a memoir with all the movement of a fine novel. A young, struggling writer comes to Paris to live with his wife, baby and cat in a cold water flat. The uncertainty of his career, the lack of money, the cold winters should be insurmountable; in fact they are the best times of his life as Paris responds with affordable good food in corner cafes and the great company of artists and other writers, notably Gertrude Stein, Ford Maddox Ford, James Joyce and Ezra Pound. It is a place of becoming. The bubble darkens with the arrival of F. Scott Fitzgerald whose troubles transcend eccentricity, suggesting that money and success are not perfect ends, as Hemingway finds as he inescapably outgrows Paris. I hated to have this book end; it was like Hemingway was leaning toward me across one of those cafe tables, telling stories, confiding his heart. There was never a dull moment or word.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Final Masterpiece, 19. Juli 2000
Von 
J. Mullin (Plantation, FL USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Hemingway's writing was always very auto-biographical, but in A Moveable Feast, published after his lifetime and written late in Hem's life, he actually uses real character names in recreating Paris of the 1920's. For any Hemingway fan, or for those interested in first hand accounts of life with Gertrude Stein, Alice Toklas, F. Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce and others, this is truly a must read.
The book is everything that most late fiction by Hemingway is not. It is lean, romantic, and genuine, without the blustery heroes and stilted dialogue of missed efforts like the dreadful Across the River and Into the Trees.
Here Hemingway looks back fondly on his days with Hadley in Paris, slipping into cafes to sit all day and attempt to write over a cup of coffee. He remembers trips to the racetrack, a hysterical road trip adventure with Fitzgerald to retrieve a car, and other memorable details from the lives of the Lost Generation living abroad. He also takes shots at some so-called friends who turned on him, not passing up on an opportunity to get in the last word. There is some doubt as to whether Hemingway ever wanted this book published, but I am very glad that they did. It is a book to cherish and come back to every couple of years, and it had aged better than anything else Hemingway had written.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Evocative Masterpiece About 1920s Paris!, 25. Juni 2000
Von 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Whenever friends ask me why, at my age, I still love Hemingway, I smile and think about this book. They say "Hemingway' and conjure up familiar visions of the older, bloated and blighted boozer bragging about his macho accomplishments in the world of war and sports, while I consider the young Hemingway in Paris. I am thinking of a much younger, intellectually virile man, a far more alert, aware and alive Hemingway as a 'moveable feast' walking through the streets of a rain-swept Paris on a quiet Monday morning, heading to a café for some café au lait and to begin his long day's labor.
In this single, slim tome Hemingway beautifully and unforgettably evokes a world of beauty and innocence now so utterly lost and irretrievable both to himself, through his fame, alcohol, and dissipation, but also to us, for Paris as she was in the 1920s was a place made to order for the lyrical descriptive songs he sings about her in this remembrance; endlessly interesting, instantly unforgettable, and also accessible to the original "starving young artist types" so well depicted here. As anyone visiting Paris today knows, that magical time and place has utterly vanished. Tragically, Paris is just another city these days.
Yet this is a book that unforgettably captures the essence of what the word 'romance' means, and does so in the spare and laconic style that Hemingway developed while sitting in the bistros and watching as the world in all its colors and hues flowed by him. The stories he tells are filled with the kinds of people one usually meets only in novels, yet because of who they were and who they later became in the world of arts and letters, it is hard to doubt the veracity or honesty he uses to such advantage here. This is a portrait of an artist in full possession of his creative powers, full of the vinegary spirit and insight that made him a legend in his own time, and consequently ruined him as an artist and as a human being.
There are few books I would endorse for everyone as a lifelong friend. This, however, is a book I can recommend for anyone who wants the reading enjoyment and intellectual experience Hemingway offers in such wonderful abundance in these pages. Take my advice, though. Buy it first in paper, read it until it begins to fray and fall apart (and you will), and then go out and buy yourself a new hardcover edition to adorn your shelf, so on that proverbial rainy afternoon when the house is quiet, the kids are gone, and you just want to escape from the ordinary ennui and humdrum of life, pull "A Moveable Feast" down and hold it close enough to read. A cup of steaming tea by your side, return all by yourself to a marvelous world of blue city skyscapes, freshly washed cobblestone and unforgettable romance; return once more to Paris in the twenties, when life was simple, basic, and good.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Evocative Masterpiece About 1920s Paris!, 25. Juni 2000
Von 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Whenever friends ask me why, at my age, I still love Hemingway, I smile and think about this book. They say "Hemingway' and conjure up familiar visions of the older, bloated and blighted boozer bragging about his macho accomplishments in the world of war and sports, while I consider the young Hemingway in Paris. I am thinking of a much younger, intellectually virile man, a far more alert, aware and alive Hemingway as a 'moveable feast' walking through the streets of a rain-swept Paris on a quiet Monday morning, heading to a café for some café au lait and to begin his long day's labor.
In this single, slim tome Hemingway beautifully and unforgettably evokes a world of beauty and innocence now so utterly lost and irretrievable both to himself, through his fame, alcohol, and dissipation, but also to us, for Paris as she was in the 1920s was a place made to order for the lyrical descriptive songs he sings about her in this remembrance; endlessly interesting, instantly unforgettable, and also accessible to the original "starving young artist types" so well depicted here. As anyone visiting Paris today knows, that magical time and place has utterly vanished. Tragically, Paris is just another city these days.
Yet this is a book that unforgettably captures the essence of what the word 'romance' means, and does so in the spare and laconic style that Hemingway developed while sitting in the bistros and watching as the world in all its colors and hues flowed by him. The stories he tells are filled with the kinds of people one usually meets only in novels, yet because of who they were and who they later became in the world of arts and letters, it is hard to doubt the veracity or honesty he uses to such advantage here. This is a portrait of an artist in full possession of his creative powers, full of the vinegary spirit and insight that made him a legend in his own time, and consequently ruined him as an artist and as a human being.
There are few books I would endorse for everyone as a lifelong friend. This, however, is a book I can recommend for anyone who wants the reading enjoyment and intellectual experience Hemingway offers in such wonderful abundance in these pages. Take my advice, though. Buy it first in paper, read it until it begins to fray and fall apart (and you will), and then go out and buy yourself a new hardcover edition to adorn your shelf, so on that proverbial rainy afternoon when the house is quiet, the kids are gone, and you just want to escape from the ordinary ennui and humdrum of life, pull "A Moveable Feast" down and hold it close enough to read. A cup of steaming tea by your side, return all by yourself to a marvelous world of blue city skyscapes, freshly washed cobblestone and unforgettable romance; return once more to Paris in the twenties, when life was simple, basic, and good.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen An interesting story about writing, people and being alive.., 13. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
A Movable Feast is such an interesting look at life. I think the strongest part of the book was his way of extracting thoughts about life from the people he met and the little things he did. It seemed like everyone he met, he came away with a metaphor or something to life by. One of my favorite quotes from the book was after he had his meeting with the painter Pascin, "They say the seeds of what we will do are in all of us, but it always seemed to me that in those who makes jokes in life, the seeds are covered with better soil and with a higher grade of manure." I think his comments on life are what make the book so interesting and such a picture into how he felt. Another very strong point of the book were the characters. Although they were real people, he characterized them in such a way that he could say relatively little about them and they felt like such developed characters. It was especially amazing that so many famous people were in Paris at one time and it added so much to the story to learn about what they were like as people in just in passing during Hemingway's life. Many of them were just aquaintances but you came away with an understanding of them. There wasn't much of a plot so people who like big rockus plots wouldn't necessarily enjoy it, it was more of just a memoir of a specific point in time. The imagery was strong and added much to the pictures you got in your mind of Paris at that time and he used it to further his point, like how it felt being in Paris at night. His detail makes the book interesting and I enjoyed how when he had dialog it was as though the people were actually speaking, complete with curses and just obscure topics of conversation that any friends would have. It was in this way the characters came to life as well, and they were all interesting characters with vices and differences that Hemingway made sure to note to an often comic effect. Another aspect that made me really enjoy the book was it's pictures of what it is like to be a writer. I loved how he talked about his work and how certain times and places you could write so easily while others you couldn't. The book really seemed to be about what it is like to be alive and he took a very indepth and insightful approach to that which was easy because they were "very poor and very happy." I think not all people would enjoy this book because of it's longwindedness and wealth of detail that makes the story move rather slowly along with the fact that there is no fast moving plot. However it was a very enjoyable read and anyone who likes detail, interesting characters and a look at work, love and being alive.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Romance of 1920s Paris and the "Writing Life", 10. Januar 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
My God, if you're a writer or hoping to be -- you will love this book! A short time ago I was rereading this, and I'm just struck by how enjoyable it is. Maybe it's even one of the reasons I set out to be a writer in the first place.

These are sketches of Hemingway's early days in Paris as he joined other expatriate writers and artists living there. Need I say more? How about that he recalls meeting the likes of Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, Scott Fitzgerald, and that the writing is quite beautifully understated and so easy to read.

What do I think of Hemingway, in general? In my opinion, he remains a model for that whole Raymond Chandler/James Cain school of noir writers.

Hemingway's short stories remain vital and are wonders of economy and understatement. If you pick up Collected Stories (Everyman's Library Classics), here's a few I recommend:

"The Killers"

"A Clean, Well-lighted Place"

"Indian Camp"

"The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber"

Hemingway, more or less, invented "minimalism." Just remember that when you're reading Raymond Carver stories. Bukowski has said that Hemingway was his model, too (only that Buk's work is less crafted and more intentionally primitive -- and injected with more vulgarity and humor). That Hemingway-esque striped-down, simple use of language is something that we (as writers) should all try to go for. Simple is always better.

What's interesting about Hemingway is that his writing is minimal yet also concrete. He uses language to evoke the physical, tactile experience of his characters, which very unlike the work of most well-known minimalist writers like Chuck Palahniuk, whose work, in my opinion, is more sketchy, with characters who are less real and three-dimensional.

Hemingway's novels have aged less well, in my opinion. The descriptive parts in all his books remain beautiful, but the terse dialogue and macho posturing/simplicity has dated them. We hardly ever get inside the heads of the characters and are subjected to view them from the outside, understanding them only from their limited behavior and dialogue (like in a movie). Others might disagree with my assessment.

Getting back to Hemingway's A MOVEABLE FEAST, it's highly recommended for all the impractical dreamers out there, like myself, in love with the romance 1920s Paris and the "Writing Life."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Masterpiece, 28. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Of Hemingway's works, this one may contain the greatest number of memorable and lyrical lines. It was tough for me to put it down and to me it felt like I already knew the people depicted and like I was looking and listening through a parlor or bedroom window.
But I first read it 25 years ago and the next generation has grown up at a greater temporal distance from H than I did. So, I suggest that it would be a good idea for someone reading this for the first time to have already read at least a couple of H's novels. (At a minimum I would read "The Sun Also Rises" and a few of the short stories before reading "A Moveable Feast"). It also might help to have at least some passing acquaintance with H's biography. Appreciation of this book will also be enhanced with some minimal knowledge of the history of the early part of the last century, alien times to many of us. (I assume that in Paris today it is no longer possible to buy milk directly from the goat from a man with a herd who brings them to your apartment every morning). However, reading the early H. novels should well acquaint one with the relevant history.
This book contains my all-time favorite H sentence: "People are always the limiters of happiness, except for those very few that are as good as the spring itself."
How can you not love a book with a sentence like that in it?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Two orders of Cafe Creme in Paris with Hemingway, 6. Dezember 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL. After this novel, I would do anything to be able to have a coffee with Hemingway and his expatriates at the Closerie de Lillas cafe. The most astounding part is that this novel is TRUTH, maybe colored with nostalgia but are amazingly touching portraits of some of the greatest literary giants of the century. When I put the novel down, I felt like I KNEW Hemingway. There were so many times he would make me laugh out loud or sigh with regret! I've read a great deal of his more reknown novels, but this novel is tied for my favorite novel of his along with Farewell to Arms. It's inconcievable that such extraordinarily talented people collected in a few Parisian cafes in a few years, and they were all acquaintences. What an idea! His stories of F.Scott Fitzgerald were especially illuminating and hilarious, but my favorites were: Ford Madox Ford & the Devil's Disciple, Birth of a New School ( especially funny ), With Pascin at the Dome, & Ezra Pound and the Bel Esprit. Hemingway's wit and sarcasm are so real, they leap off the pages and he seems to be engaging you in conversation. This novel really opened up my eyes to my perspective of Hemingway, most of his novels are stories that are semi-autobiographical so we have to decipher truth from plot. There is no need to figure out what is Hemingway--because it is ALL Hemingway!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Final Masterpiece, 19. Juli 2000
Von 
J. Mullin (Plantation, FL USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Hemingway's writing was always very auto-biographical, but in A Moveable Feast, published after his lifetime and written late in Hem's life, he actually uses real character names in recreating Paris of the 1920's. For any Hemingway fan, or for those interested in first hand accounts of life with Gertrude Stein, Alice Toklas, F. Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce and others, this is truly a must read.
The book is everything that most late fiction by Hemingway is not. It is lean, romantic, and genuine, without the blustery heroes and stilted dialogue of missed efforts like the dreadful Across the River and Into the Trees.
Here Hemingway looks back fondly on his days with Hadley in Paris, slipping into cafes to sit all day and attempt to write over a cup of coffee. He remembers trips to the racetrack, a hysterical road trip adventure with Fitzgerald to retrieve a car, and other memorable details from the lives of the Lost Generation living abroad. He also takes shots at some so-called friends who turned on him, not passing up on an opportunity to get in the last word. There is some doubt as to whether Hemingway ever wanted this book published, but I am very glad that they did. It is a book to cherish and come back to every couple of years, and it had aged better than anything else Hemingway had written.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition
EUR 8,03
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen