Kundenrezensionen


133 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (73)
4 Sterne:
 (39)
3 Sterne:
 (15)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Different Seasons -- 4 short stories
Stephen King is the master of writing characters the reader can relate to and see within himself/herself. He has provided that experience again with this collection of short stories.
"Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption" brings us the story of a man convicted of killing his wife and her lover. The narrator, nicknamed "Red", is a fellow...
Am 20. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen A decent book
The first story in this four "novella" collection is "The Shawshank Redemption", a story about a wrongfully accuse man trying to survive in a maximum security prison, which is one of King's best works, although it is only 100 pages long. The next up is "Apt Pupil", a sick and twisted tale about a teenager that becomes obsesed with the...
Veröffentlicht am 29. November 1999 von Ben Berry


‹ Zurück | 1 214 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Different Seasons -- 4 short stories, 20. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
Stephen King is the master of writing characters the reader can relate to and see within himself/herself. He has provided that experience again with this collection of short stories.
"Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption" brings us the story of a man convicted of killing his wife and her lover. The narrator, nicknamed "Red", is a fellow inmate who gets to know this man over the many years they are imprisoned. In typical King style, the story takes place well before prisoners' rights movements, and the environment is abusive at best. This story provides a look into both the ugly and beautiful sides of human nature, and enraptures the reader with the strength and hope of its characters.
"Apt Pupil" also provides a study in human nature, and unlike the previous story, it is deeply disturbing. A teenage boy discovers that an elderly man living in his neighborhood is a wanted criminal who worked in Nazi deathcamps. The boy blackmails the old man into giving him a sort of history lesson: firsthand accounts of the torture and killings. The story is most disturbing because it describes aspects of human nature we have all experienced, and shows us what could happen if we don't keep ourselves in check.
"The Body" is a wonderful coming-of-age story about four boys and their last summer together before high school. They have heard rumors that another boy they know, who has been missing, is dead. They strike out to find his body and become heroes, and end up finding themselves and becoming men. This story is warm and real, and leaves the reader feeling both nostalgic and hopeful about the future.
"The Breathing Method" was the only disappointment in this collection. (Especially disappointing following the three amazing stories before it.) A secretive men's club sits around telling stories to entertain themselves. A doctor offers this tale to supposedly frighten the others, but it is far from fear-inducing. I found myself not caring about the characters at all, and impatiently waiting for the story to get better. It didn't.
All in all, a terrific book. The first three stories are must-reads. But skip the last one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen To raise the ire of regular King fans, yet with a defense..., 29. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This is by far the greatest book in the King collection. Most King fans back him for the horror, but here's the gold. Two of these nuggets are stories that I have lined up to read to my kids someday, lessons on life. First we have "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption", a story of the lenghts of hope. The other important one is "The Body", which through my attempts to be tough and steeled still brings me to tears with how close it slices to memories of a not-too-far gone childhood. I implore anyone who has yet to thumb their way through these to do so as soon as possible. I only read Salinger more often than these.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A somewhat different Stephen King, 21. Mai 2000
Von 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
Two of the four stories in "Different Seasons" ended up as the movies "Stand By Me" and "The Shawshank Redemption," perhaps the two best movies ever made from King's written work. That should serve as notice just how good this collection is. These are not horror stories, but instead highly effective charachter studies and well told in their own right. "Different Seasons" shows what kind of writer King might have been had not horror been his first love. This is one of his best books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein untypisch typisches Stephen King-Buch, 19. Juni 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Taschenbuch)
Different Seasons ist eine Sammlung von vier Kurzgeschichten. Jede von ihnen behandelt ein anderes Thema, doch eins haben sie stets gemeinsam: hat man einmal angefangen zu lesen, fällt es schwer damit aufzuhören.

Den Auftakt macht Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, eine Geschichte über einen spektakulären Gefängnisausbruch und allem voran, über die Macht der Hoffnung.

Darauf folgt Apt Pupil. Diese Geschichte schlägt einen gänzlich anderen Ton an. Hier läuft es dem Leser oftmals kalt den Rücken hinab, wenn er sich in die Beziehung eines eiskalten Jugendlichen zu einem ehemaligen SS-Mann vertieft. Die Thematik wird dabei so großartig umgesetzt, dass die Handlung den Leser lange Zeit nicht los lässt.

The Body, vielen bekannt durch den Film Stand by Me, hat mir persönlich am besten gefallen. King beschreibt eindrucksvoll die Freundschaft von vier Jungen, die in ihren Sommerferien aufbrechen um die Leiche eines Jungen zu finden, der im Wald auf den Gleisen von einem Zug getötet worden ist.

Die letzte Geschichte The Breathing Method enthält als Einzige die Elemente des Übersinnlichen die man in vielen Büchern von King wiederfindet. Dennoch steht im Fordergrund nicht der Horror, sondern der verzweifelte Wunsch einer schwangeren, einsamen Frau ihr Baby sicher zur Welt zu bringen.

Different Seasons zeigt sehr deutlich die Vielseitigkeit von Stephen Kings Werken. Wer ihn lediglich mit Horrorgeschichten in Verbindung bringt, irrt. Dennoch ist jeder Geschichte der unverwechselbare Schreibstil von Stephen King deutlich anzumerken. So kann das Buch als ein untypisch typisches Buch von King bezeichnet werden, das nicht nur Fans gefallen wird.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Masterful, 14. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
This work gets 5 stars simply for having two of King's greatest works in it. The Body and Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption are both simply incredible, the latter of the two marginally better than the former. With this work King showed he was more than a mere horror writer, he proved he was a storyteller, who when 'on'is nearly untouchable. No vamppires, no werewolves, no psycho killers, simply incredible human stories.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen 3 good stories, 1 horrible one, 5. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
I am not a great fan of Stephen King. I tend to find his later books a little vulgur and depressing for my liking. However, I completely love Different Seasons! The Body and Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption are incredible. They are interesting and they keep your interest without being shocking or out there. I found them to be two of the best stories I have ever read. I also liked Apt Pupil. However, do not read The Breathing Method! It is heinous! Not only is it boring for half the story, it them turns completely ridicules. Besides that story, this is a tremendous book, I would recommend it to anyone.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen 2 great stories, 1 forgettable story and 1 bad story, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
kireviewer (Sunnyvale, Ca United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
I'm not a big reader of horror stories, so my reaction to this book will be different than rabid King fans. I was told what a great writer King could be and how he could develop characters and tell a story. For the most part, those reports were true. This book is four "short" stories:
"The Body" is a great coming of age story, about 4 boys on their last fling before adolesence. It was made into the movie "Stand By Me".
"The Apt Pupil" is an excellent, but disturbing exploration of two evil minds. One is the student, whose mind is developing with the help of the master. The other is the master, who has repressed the evil for years but has it brought out again by the student. I haven't seen the movie, but I bet Hollywood softened the ending.
I honestly can't remember much about the "Rita Hayworth". It was the trials and tribulations of an innocent man going to prison, but it didn't have enough impact to leave a lasting impression.
The last story is just a quick horror story with cardboard characters. Members of a mens club try to impress each other with stories. A doctor tells in vivid, gory detail of a single woman who wants to have a baby so bad, she delivers after head is cut off in an accident. The whole thing has a silly ending where the club folds up and flies away.
"The Apt Pupil" and "The Body" would make me want to read more King novels. It wouldn't matter that are horror stories, as long as they have the rich, entertaining storylines and well developed characters. If King's horror stories are more along the lines of the one horror story in this book, than I wouldn't be interested in another King novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A book for all seasons of the year, 20. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
Different Seasons was the first Stephen King book I have ever read. I chose to read it after watching the movie "The Shawshank Redemption", which I thoroughly enjoyed. I was interested in reading the story on which the movie is based, so I soon found that "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption" was one of King's novellas in Different Seasons.
One of the ways I determine whether or not I like a book is if I become involved in the story; not as a reader, but as a character. If I can envision the actual events and feel that I am watching the story unfold, then the story is worthwhile and a pleasure to read. I felt this way while I was reading Different Seasons.
The first of the four novellas, "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption", was interesting to read. It was somewhat unfortunate that I had seen the movie beforehand because I found myself making many comparisons and contrasts. Nevertheless, I came to enjoy the story of Andy, Red, and prison life in Shawshank.
The story "Apt Pupil" was the basis for a recent movie of the same title in 1998. I have not seen the movie -- yet. I found this story to be the most captivating of the four; it left my eyes riveted to the page and I almost finished it in one sitting. The story of a young boy who becomes obsessed with a Nazi was well-written and intriguing how King built up to the final climax. By far, "Apt Pupil" was the best story in the book.
Next comes the story "The Body", which served as the basis for the eighties movie "Stand By Me" (I have not seen this movie either). The story of boys on a quest to find the dead body of another teenage boy was quite interesting, but seemed to drag on and became boring at some places in the middle of the story. I expected, based upon the other stories in the book, to be met with a climax in the end, but was disappointed. If you enjoy reading stories about life and the pros and cons of growing up, then "The Body" is a good read. If you expect a climax or unending suspense like myself, then this story does not make the cut.
Lastly, there is "The Breathing Method", the story of a young pregnant woman who learns the Lamaze breathing method from her doctor. This is a story within a story, however, since the story is told to members of an obscure club to which the narrator belongs. This story did not disappoint me, however, since "The Breathing Method" ended with an awe-inspiring climax that was well-written by King. Although it was the shortest story of the four, it is still a good novella. By the way, "The Breathing Method" is the only story of the four that has not been made into a movie -- yet.
To conclude, I enjoyed Different Seasons and recommend it to anyone who is willing to let his/her imagination wander into the realm of fiction. If you dislike King's horror stories, I recommend this book as an alternative to his more gruesome books, since there is only a little bit of horror to spur the mind. Overall, these four novellas are worthwhile reading for all seasons of the year. Enjoy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen A decent book, 29. November 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
The first story in this four "novella" collection is "The Shawshank Redemption", a story about a wrongfully accuse man trying to survive in a maximum security prison, which is one of King's best works, although it is only 100 pages long. The next up is "Apt Pupil", a sick and twisted tale about a teenager that becomes obsesed with the holocaust, only to find that there is one of the head SS officials living nearby. He blackmails the Nazi into giving the boy information about the holocaust, causing him great mental stress. Although it is a very intriguing plot, the disturbing ending and the sometimes awkward writing cause for a mediocre story. The next novella is "The Body", which has been made into the movie "Stand By Me". In this, the main character, Gordie, which is 12 yrs. old, goes on a trip with his friends in search of a dead body and learnes a bit more about life and death than he wished he knew. Unfortuately, too much of the book is spent with Gordie rambling about different nonimportant events, therefore making it seem like more of a task then a pleasure to have to read through the story, even though the movie is highly recomended by me. The last story is "The Breathing Method", which tells you of a club of sorts, in which men get together for a few drinks and tell some stroies, on of which is included. The first part of the novella, in which the narrator explains how he was invited to the club and what it was, is intruiging and a joy to read, however, the part in which the tale is told and the wrapping up of the story is full of awkward sentences with a mundane choice of words and actions, causing this story to be the worst in the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen These four stories are not scary at all!, 7. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Different Seasons (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
Shame to say, I didn't know who Stephen King is until two years ago. All I knew about him was he is very famous in writting horror novels. So I expected the stories in this book would be scary. But it turned out all four stories were not scary at all. It's kinda all of the blue. This is the first Stephen King's fiction I borrowed from libraries. After I have finished reading it, I think I must buy it in bookstore to be one of my collections at home. There are four stories altogether. But I didn't read them in order as they do not have any relationship between one another.
Rita Hayworth And Shawshank: It's the second best story in this book and it's also the least scary one. It's a good story telling about people in prison. But don't expect any scary moment. You would be disappointed if you do so.
Apt Pupil: It's the last story I read in this book. I wanted to give up reading this one at the very beginning as I got bored really quick after reading its first few chapters. But I have to thank God I didn't. 'Cos it came out to be the best one among the four after all. It has a very well-written ending. I was deeply attracted by it. It's a can't-leave-it-till-I've-done kind of stories. Maybe you would easily get bored at the beginning, but it worths to read to the end then you would find that it's superb. But Weiskopf, the goverment agent in the story, is too apt to predict correctly all Todd Bowden has done. It's too surreal.
The Body: It's the third best story in this book. It's about a four boys' adventure. They got into the woods to look for a dead boy. Quite interesting, but not as bright as the first two.
The Breathing Method: It's the least interesting one. I bet that's why it was put as the last one of this book and it's the only one which wasn't made as a film. But I would have to say it's the most scary one while comparing with the other four stories.
The last thing I want to point out here. It's very odd that these four stories are separated into four seasons. 'Cos I found no relationship between these three stories and its corresponding season, except the winter one. The first three are not seasonally-related.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 214 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nightmares & Dreamscapes
Nightmares & Dreamscapes von Stephen King
EUR 4,62
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen