Kundenrezensionen


39 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (32)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A beloved classic of American Zen
This is a collection of talks by one of the first Zen teachers in the U.S. If you're already practicing Zen, I highly recommend this book. If you're new to Zen, you might love this book or you might find it largely incomprehensible, or maybe both. Suzuki makes liberal use of the paradoxical language that is typical of Zen--e.g., "For us, complete perfection is not...
Veröffentlicht am 15. März 2007 von Kim Boykin

versus
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Thoughts become thoughtless stone
So many books have been written about Zen, and so many reviewers have waxed prolific on the values of Zen, I'll not waste my time doing that myself. Suffice to say that this particular book was never intended by Shunryu Suzuki to be a book, and as such, it's probably close to the perfect book for anyone wishing to delve into the awareness of mind that Zen represents...
Veröffentlicht am 8. Juni 2000 von Curtis L. Wilbur


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A beloved classic of American Zen, 15. März 2007
This is a collection of talks by one of the first Zen teachers in the U.S. If you're already practicing Zen, I highly recommend this book. If you're new to Zen, you might love this book or you might find it largely incomprehensible, or maybe both. Suzuki makes liberal use of the paradoxical language that is typical of Zen--e.g., "For us, complete perfection is not different from imperfection. The eternal exists because of non-eternal existence." If you'd prefer a more ordinary, explanatory style, I recommend Charlotte Joko Beck's "Everyday Zen." If you're looking for practical instruction in meditation, you'll find it in "Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind," but you might prefer Philip Kapleau's "The Three Pillars of Zen," which includes more detailed instructions, with illustrations of sitting postures.

When I first read "Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind," for a college class on Buddhism, I wasn't quite sure what to make of it, but I did end up practicing Zen, and maybe this book had something to do with that. For many years, even while living at a Zen monastery, I suspected that a lot of the enthusiasm for this book was an "emperor's new clothes" phenomenon: a few respected people said it was wonderful, so then everybody said it was wonderful. I figured its aura of profundity was due in large part to Suzuki's congruence with our archetype of mountaintop gurus--the short sentences and limited English vocabulary, and the paradoxical language that sounds deep even though nobody actually knows what the heck it means. More recently, I've come to think that the emperor really does have clothes and that the big issues of human life are hard to talk about without paradox, and this is now one of my favorite Zen books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


9 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One Book, 14. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
Keep it simple. You don't need any other Zen Books. It's against the Zen idea to confuse the issue. This is the first and final word on how to meditate and the best book on understanding Zen. Don't be a fool and buy books on Zen by westerners. Tap the source, cut to the chase and just buy this book and only this book and maybe the tapes by Peter Coyote. Stop getting your spirituallity filtered to you by Winnie the Pooh. This is pure Zen. Keep it simple. One mind. Begginer's mind. Stay an absolute begginer. There. I've just given you the secret to life and all happiness. Like Faust seeking magical knowledge, you've found it. O lucky man.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Gute Einführung, 21. Mai 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
Einfach zu lesender Text, der durch seine Klarheit besticht. Das Gedankengut des Zen Buddhismus wird verständlich, auch wenn einige Aussagen der westlichen Leserin fremd bleiben. Dies ist aber der Philosophie selbst und nicht dem Text geschuldet. Das Buch ist graphisch sehr schön gestaltet.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Zen, 19. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
This is perhaps the best book for a westerner interested in zen buddhism to read (though Steve Hagen's Buddhism Plain and Simple is also excellent). Neither of these books really teach you much about Buddhism, rather they teach you how to be a Buddhist (or at least how to find the buddha nature which is already inside of you)
Don't let the first section discourage you, it gets much better. I was initially turned off by this book because it begins with an almost harsh description of how one should practise zazen (meditation). For example I did not like hearing that there is only one correct way to do it (you must sit in a lotus position with your hands in your lap, your head perpendicular to you shoulders, and so on and so on). However, it was a misunderstanding on my part as to what the author meant about meditation and what it is you are trying to achieve (or not achieve for that matter).
It was only after realizing the author's description of zazen is the best way to realize the illusions we have created in our minds about the world around us (not to sound like a nutball or anything).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Mind of Compassion, 30. August 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
"Simplify, simplify, simplify." Thoreau's message is aptly repeated in "Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind." No need to study philosophical theories, no need to go and sit on some mountaintop, no need to engage in spiritual gymnastics: Shunryu Suzuki encourages his students to learn to express their true nature in their everyday activity.
The book is actually a transcript of talks given at a Zen center. The only shortcoming of the book, then, is what is lost in the process of transcribing-the tone of voice, the emphasis on a particular word or phrase, the demeanor of the speaker. Nevertheless, Suzuki expresses himself with such clarity that the reader has no trouble understanding the many lessons that help the spiritual seeker find his way home.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Zen Mind, 10. September 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
What a Joy to read this book! So easy to read, and yet so profound!
Such a treasure! Not only for practitioners!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Buddhist book, 26. August 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Experience breathes from this book. Each page is a jewel. Don't read this book in one stretch. Read a chapter every time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A good introduction to Zen, 27. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Kindle Edition)
The title exactly depicts the content of the lecture which is an introduction to the Zen "philosophy", it's goal and some aspects of it's application - geared towards giving a beginner a head start into the topic.
I found it inspiring, practical and a very pleasant read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen First Buddhist Book, 8. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
This was the very first book on buddhism I ever read, and although many will point out it's shortcomings, I belive it is a good starting point for anyone interested in buddhism. Is there a bad starting point-if it sparks your interest? Progressing from this book is an easy step, and the book is simple enough for anyone.This is the first book on buddhism I give to people with new interests in buddhism as everything and anything can branch off and away from it. All the more indepth information can be taught from other books. Give this book a try (it's cheap too!) and lighten up on the bad reviews--at least people will show an interest without being overwelmed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Mountains are Mountains, 21. März 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (Taschenbuch)
It is March, 2000, and I have just ordered another 6 copies of this classic book on Zen sitting meditation. I first read it shortly after it was published in 1972, borrowed from the Cleveland Heights OH library. Since then I have returned to it many times and given many copies away to friends.
Some are grieving a loss, some are facing a major personal challenge, like cancer. Some are simply searching for truth or a sense of themselves.
In any case, I do agree with those reviewers who point novices toward a more traditionally instructive book like The Three Pillars of Zen. That book speaks to the logical structure of Zen study, its emphasis on teaching, practice and enlightenment. It is important to understand Zen in this historic and traditional light if one is to pursue it seriously. But Three Pillars is a "study book" - it is not a description of the sitting zen experience. Shunryu's lectures were "live" and directed to the experience itself.
As in the old Zen saying, his words are fingers, pointing to the moon.
Certainly, there may be purists who find dogmatic contradictions in some of Shunryu's comments. But he did not set out to teach the dogma!
This is an excellent book the serious zen student will return to again and again. And for the "everday man" among us, the "beginner" Shunryu spoke to, it is much better than a handbook of Hazleton platitudes, an erstwhile koan or a list of Covey's rules.
Sit up straight! Put your thoughts away! Sit and....
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

ZEN MIND, BEGINNER'S MIND
ZEN MIND, BEGINNER'S MIND (Taschenbuch - 1998)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 8,71
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen