Kundenrezensionen


303 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (259)
4 Sterne:
 (23)
3 Sterne:
 (9)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen King's masterpiece -- and one of my favorite books
I first read this book in 1980, at the recommendation of a coworker. I'd stayed away from Stephen King ... too popular for my advanced tastes. Anyway, I decided to take a look at the book about 10 PM (on a work night). Finished it about 7 AM the next morning. No book has ever taken over my imagination like this, before or since.
Since then, I've read all of...
Veröffentlicht am 5. Juli 2000 von John Ratliff

versus
2.0 von 5 Sternen umm..good book,but the ending..please
i happened to like this book kinda well....as i saw jack torrance to be a figure that i once was and am becoming again.the isolation,the insanity,and the catatonic fear.especially the fear of jack's pride being broken.where the hotel turned him against the idea of leaving it for doc's sake.just who exactly is the hotel manager???i feel tht jack torrance's condition in the...
Am 23. Oktober 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 231 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen King's masterpiece -- and one of my favorite books, 5. Juli 2000
Von 
John Ratliff (Santa Clara, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
I first read this book in 1980, at the recommendation of a coworker. I'd stayed away from Stephen King ... too popular for my advanced tastes. Anyway, I decided to take a look at the book about 10 PM (on a work night). Finished it about 7 AM the next morning. No book has ever taken over my imagination like this, before or since.
Since then, I've read all of King's work, and consider him the contemporary Dickens. But having just reread the Shining for, perhaps, the fourth time, it remains my favorite, and a modern masterpiece, in my opinion.
But I recognize this is essentially personal. I've not identified with any other character is literature as I do with Jack Torrance. I'm now more than ten years into sobriety and recovery, and I've often recommended this book to men that I sponsor. The depiction of the alcoholic personality, the combination of fear and resentment and self-pity, at war with Jack's very real love for his family and desire for goodness, is expressed in a way that makes it clear that King is writing of something he knows all too well on a personal level. Jack Torrance is one of literature's great tragic figures. I can only say, "There but for the grace of God go I."
[By the way, this is why I can't abide by Kubrick's interpretation. There's no tragedy or complexity in Nickleson's portrayal of Torrance. Kubrick's detachment from the human delemma ultimately doesn't work for me.]
I do believe that there is a coherent force/power of evil/darkness in the world, though it is not as powerful that the force/power of good/light. But I think one of King's most basic points (in all his work) is that we ignore the power of darkness at our own risk, that this is one of the real problems in the contemporary Age of Therapy. Central to the Shining is the way the force of the evil in the Hotel is able to utilize Jack's weaknesses ultimately to turn him to its purposes--to destroy what he love the most. I find this very, very realistic (viewing the supernatural stuff as kind of window dressing).
Having reached out for help in a way that the Torrance character couldn't, I'm now blessed with a life happier than I could imagine. But this book now reminds me of how much Divine Grace is involved for anyone blessed with the ability to build healthy loving relationships with those around him/her, especially family members, one day at a time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brillant, 30. Juli 2007
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Taschenbuch)
"The Shining" ist ein unsterblicher Klassiker! Hier zeigt Stephen King seine größte Stärke: Das Buch lebt von den Charakteren, die zu jeder Sekunde überzeugen: Danny, Jack und Wendy sind Highlights, und ganz besonders Danny ist supergelungen: Seine kindliches Denken, seine Ängste, sein Vordringen in die Erwachsenenwelt - genial.

Und anders als bei anderen Stephen-King-Büchern ist dem Meister die Vermischung des Alltäglichen mit dem Übernatürlichen hervorragend gelungen. Dannys telepathische Fähigkeiten werden so clever vom Autor aufgebaut und in der Geisterwelt des "Overlook" weiterentwickelt, dass das Unheimliche im Hotel überzeugend greifbar wird.

Chapeau! 5 Sterne.

PS: Das ungekürzte Hörbuch im englischen Original lässt einen jeden Satz, jedes Detail genießen. Nur leider wird es nicht von Stephen King selbst gelesen, der sich als begnadeter Vorleser bei "Bag of Bones" und "On Writing" erwiesen hat - die rauhe Stimme von Campbell Scott kommt zwar gut mit Jack zurecht, aber die direkten Reden von Wendy und Danny sind gewöhnungsbedürftig. Schade.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Best from the Best, 31. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
Here's the deal with The Shining: It's Mr. King's best. I've read all his novels from Carrie to Pet Sematary (The Talisman is next on the list), and The Shining beats them all.
I don't usually get a very overwhelming, sustained scare from any novel, even from "the Master of Horror." With The Shining, however, I literally could not read more than a few chapters at a time without some sort of break, and several deep breaths.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The BEST King Book I Have Read Yet......., 16. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
I have already reviewed this book six months ago, but I feel the need to say more about this brilliant masterpiece. "The Shining" was the first King book that I read. Since then I've read about ten more, on my way to reading all of his books, and have found that this book was my far the best one. The only one that came even close was "Misery". The book takes place in Sidewinder Colorado (a break from the usual Maine settings)in the heart of winter at the Overlook Hotel. Main character, Jack Torrence is a writer and takes the job as a caretaker in order to get some piece and quiet and work on the story he is composing. He takes his wife and his son, Danny with him. It is at the Overlook that Danny discovers that he has "the shining", a special telepathic ability to see things that will happen and to know what people are thinking. It turns out that the piece and quiet that Jack wanted is far from what he gets... It is an excellently written tale and the story line of cabin fever gone to an extreme is brilliant. I felt as if I was actually in the hotel viewing everything that was taking place. It is filled with hallucinations, ghosts, and most of all, the wit and evil sarcasm of one of my favorite 'evil' villians, Jack Torrence. There is absolutlely no way that you will not enjoy this book. I even suggest watching the movie (after you read the book) which is also excellent!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wow! You'll be to scared to put the book down!, 30. August 1996
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
Stephen King, The master of horror tells the story of a young family of three who take the loneliest job in the world... Winter caretakers for an isolated hotel with a very colorful hystory.
The father, trying to avoid the bottle, the wife trying to be supportive and their 5 year old son.
Danny is not a normal 5 year old however... He shines! He has the power to feel people's thoughts and to project his own thoughts into other minds...
But Danny sees more then thoughts in the hotel, he sees other gruesome scenes from the hotel's history... Blood from a Mafia shoot out, dead people seeking revenge...
But they are not real... They can't hurt you... That's what his friend the cook told him...
But powered by Danny's extraordinary abilities... Who Knows...
The hotel will do anything in its powers to get Danny's powers, including turning his close ones against him!
Stephen King's writing is diffrent... The beggining of the book is very slow... But when the situation gets dirty... He's the master of suspense!
Read this book with your back to the wall... You never know what might crawl up from behind you...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen They're just scary pictures in a book, 12. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
I saw the movie first, the Kubrick film with Jack Nicholson, and I thought that one was spectacular. But I am very serious when I say that the book is even better. Having read the original, terrying words straight from the pen of Stephen King, it almost makes me mad that Kubrick treated the characters so hollowly in his movie. In the movie, Jack Torrance is a man insane. In the book, Jack Torrance is a man fighting against the insanity. Wow! The characters are so real and handled so carefully, that being trapped inside the Overlook is no longer just a freaky experience. You run along with them, filled with dread, from all the horrible personifications of evil inside the hotel's awful walls. There were several times where I actually dropped the book and was too scared to pick it back up. Intellectually, you know it's not real. It's just a bunch of letters and words grouped together on pages. Still, whenever I go into the bathroom late at night, I have to pull back the shower curtain just to make sure.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen King's Masterpiece, 7. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
This is by far Stephen King's best work and one of the best novels I've ever read. It is not about a haunted hotel, a psychic child, or even madness and alcoholism, though it contains all of those elements. It is, simply put, about a father's love for his son. The motion picture, while scary in its own right, did not do justice to the story; conversely King's adaptation for ABC was truer and scarier. He even tweaked the ending a little, resulting in a powerful tug at any father's heartstrings. If you only read one King book, this is the one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen I knew Stephen King was good, but..., 23. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
...This book blows that way out of the water! This book ROCKED! It was extremely slow for the first 3 chapters (which I have tried to read about 10 times since I first got this book two years ago), so I skipped them and went for chapter 4. I started this on April 19th, somewhere in the middle of the day, and I finished it on the night of April 21st. The suspense was killing me! For being Stephen King's third full-length book ever written, I have to say that this was more fast and furious than his later ones or his Richard Bachman novels. Some novels tend to take a long, long time to introduce each character, so when the strange events and phenomena begin, we can more easily notice the changes in them. This book takes a while to introduce them, but it has the strange phenomena running parallel to this so we see clearly that strange things are happening, and at the same time, we get to know more about the characters. And what introductions to the characters, as well: Wendy, cracking up over how the Overlook Hotel is eating away at the family's sanity as well as their relationships and friendships; Jack, an ex-alcoholic, now deeply feeling the need to hit the bottle again as he falls apart from the strange occurences in the Overlook; Danny, who has this strange power, is slowly cracking up over the strange phenomena that is communicating through him and to him; and finally, the Overlook itself... Well, I guess I should not give away too much about this. Instead of writing all this, I could have summed it up with these 11 words: scary, suspensful, action-packed, surprising, haunting, spooky, and well-introduced. Oh, well. In even simpler terms, I say, read it. ...redrum... ...Redrum... ...REDRUM... ...REDRUM-REDRUM... ...REDRUMREDRUMREDRUMREDRUM!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Best King!, 22. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
I read "The Shining" about 1 1/2 years ago, so I don't remember is I wrote a review for this book... I'll write one anyway.
This was the first King book I ever read: I was bored one day, and my brother had it (and had said it was good), so I picked it up and started reading it -- I hid it under the cover in my room so my parents wouldn't know I was reading it (I was 12, but I didn't know if they would want me reading such a book).
Well, I eventually had to ask my mom if I could read it, because I read it SO much it was too hard to keep it out of sight -- of course she said yes.
Although the book had started off a little slow (and although it was, at the time, hard to understand everything Stephen King said -- "What's a PR smile" I sometimes wondered), I discovered that, unlike I had thought before, a book didn't need to be exciting THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE BOOK to be good/well written. Stephen King did a WONDERFUL job explaining abou the charactes (I couldn't get enough of "...officious little prick..."). I was amazed at how creative he could be (i.e. Danny's little friend, Tony), and at how much effort could be put into a single 465-page book!
Even if you think the beginning (or should I say the beginning 2/3 of the book) is too boring, PLEASE finish it out, because once you do, you'll realize that it was all worth it!
((After "The Shining", I read 15 other Stephen King books (all incredible), including (in order) "The Dark Half"*, "'Salem's Lot", "It", "The Stand"*, "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon", "Bag of Bones"*, "Roadwork" (Richard Bachman), "Hearts In Atlantis"*, "The Dark Tower I, II, and III: The Gunslinger*, The Drawing of the Three, and The Waste Lands", "The Green Mile"*, "The Long Walk" (Richard Bachman), "The Running Man" (Richard Bachman), and "Carrie".))
(A * indicates one of my favorite Stpehen King books.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A perfect blend of subtle horror and human drama, 11. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Shining (Signet) (Taschenbuch)
If you need blood and guts every few pages to stay interested in a book, you will be dissapointed. If your definition of drama is the murderous villains lengthy monologue before his final, grisly defeat, you will be dissapointed. If you're looking for a clone of the movie in book form, you will be /very/ dissapointed.
If, however, you appreciate one of those rare novels that leads you into the story step by step, immersing you with effortless grace into the world in which it occurs, a world that is, on the surface, plain and even non-descript yet brimming just beneath with murky, brooding awareness, then this one might be for you. If you appreciate full and starkly realistic characters painted in bold and brilliant strokes of emotion and personality, you may want to have a look. Finally, if you can accept Steven King as something more than "The Horrormeister", and instead as a natural story-teller who is as capable of capturing the subtles and nuances of terror as the hack and slash aspects, who can blend it perfectly into a familiar yet hauntingly awry world of ghosts darkness and ordinary people struggling against not only such mundane horrors as abuse and acoholism but horrors of a decidedly more supernatural nature, then you might be ready for this book.
I was captivated by the plight of Danny, a very unique young boy, struggling against unimaginable forces out of pure, unconditional love for his father. Likewise, Jack Torrence is not merely the bloodlusting maniac of the movie, but a man who is hounded by his alcoholism, all the way into the heart of the Colorado Rockies where he attempts to come to terms with his personal ghosts and heal the rift that is threatening to pull his family apart. Despite his best efforts, however, the sinister awareness that has infested the Overlook, an awareness birthed by years of murder and tragedy, slowly twists him to it's evil ends in a heart-breaking struggle of wills.
This book is full of disturbingly memorable imagery, moments of slow and creeping terror that will keep you turning pages deep into the night. The ending is a satisfying as it is tragic, bringing the grisly drama to a gut-wrenching climax and exorcising the tortured prisoners of the Overlook in a curtain of purifying flame.
As King books go, this is one of his finest. As far as any book goes, this is one of the scariest I've ever read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 231 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Shining
The Shining von Stephen King
EUR 3,99
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen