Kundenrezensionen


33 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (26)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Probably the best Wall Street book!
Probably the best Wall Street book I have ever read. Even at University in Switzerland we have looked into the legendary takeover battle and largest leverage buyout of RJR Nabisco by KKR in 1998. The two authors, Bryan Burrough (a reporter for the Wall Street Journal in New York) and John Helvar (Senior Correspondent for the Wall Street Journal), draw the amazing story of...
Veröffentlicht am 11. Dezember 2002 von T. Kunz

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Entertaining Board Room Antics
Its a good book from the perspective of corporate politics. Insightful as to the motivations of the different players. Disappointing from the finance side of things, as there was not enough information about the inner workings of the deals proposed to buy out RJR.
Veröffentlicht am 11. April 2000 von Brian Christiansen


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Probably the best Wall Street book!, 11. Dezember 2002
Von 
T. Kunz (bei Zürich) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Probably the best Wall Street book I have ever read. Even at University in Switzerland we have looked into the legendary takeover battle and largest leverage buyout of RJR Nabisco by KKR in 1998. The two authors, Bryan Burrough (a reporter for the Wall Street Journal in New York) and John Helvar (Senior Correspondent for the Wall Street Journal), draw the amazing story of "The Fall of RJR Nabisco" in great detail. The Book kicks off with the boardroom meeting where management presented the idea of the buyout only to go back in history of key management and company histories as well as corporate America in the 80s.
The authors describe characters like Ross Johnson ("never tell the truth, never pay in cash and never play by the rules") of RJR and Henry Kravitz of KKR as well as deal tactics and financing instruments of buyout houses and investment banks with great detail make the booking an excellent read.
If you are interested in this topic, I suggest you also read "Den of Thieves" and "Taken for a Ride", both of which cover the Investment Banking world of M&A deal tactics.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen For sure the best Wall Street book, 30. September 2004
Von 
T. Kunz (bei Zürich) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Barbarians At The Gate (Taschenbuch)
Barbarians at the Gate is the best Wall Street book I have ever read. Even at University in Switzerland we have looked into the legendary takeover battle and largest leverage buyout of RJR Nabisco by KKR in the year 1998. The two authors, Bryan Burrough (a reporter for the Wall Street Journal in New York) and John Helvar (Senior Correspondent for the Wall Street Journal), draw the amazing story of "The Fall of RJR Nabisco" in great detail. The Book kicks off with the boardroom meeting where management presented the idea of the buyout only to go back in history of key management and company histories as well as corporate America in the 80s.

The authors describe characters like Ross Johnson ("never tell the truth, never pay in cash and never play by the rules") of RJR and Henry Kravitz of KKR as well as deal tactics and financing instruments of buyout houses and investment banks with great detail make the booking an excellent read.
If you are interested in this topic, I suggest you also read "Den of Thieves" and "Taken for a Ride", both of which cover the Investment Banking world of M&A deal tactics.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Excellent Read..... Even 10 Years Later, 28. Mai 2000
Finally got around to reading this book and I must say that it is FASCINATING!
What was most interesting to me was the lack of intelligence and abilities of those running RJR Nabisco and all their high-paid Wall Street help. If these are the kind of people who "run" our economy, we're in BIG trouble.
An excellent story... even 10 years later.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Barbarians at the gate? Hell, they're already inside!, 1. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde
A good read for a complete novice on the world of Wall Street and corporate America. We benefit from the indepth research of the authors, clearly close to their subject, and, from their good journalism, as they know how to tell a story without losing the layman. My subtitle for the book would be 'all I ever needed to know about LBOs' -- the RJR Nabisco buyout is an excellent case study. There's little too much extraneous detail on the characters -- it's distracting -- but perhaps that's an effort to give them some depth. Indeed, it's a pity that many of the main protagonists are so reprehensible -- I found it hard to empathise with any of the characters. And the story does leave the reader with a sense of disillusion on two points: the sheer waste of money and resources squandered for the sake of egos; and clearly, contacts (especially amongst the 'jocks') are as, if not more, important than diligence, competance or intelligence
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Barbarians Brings Wall St. To Life, 11. Februar 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Why read fiction when all that you have to do is open the Wall St. Journal? Barbarians at the Gate gives the reader insight into the behind the scenes details that go into a major corporate transaction. Laymen, don't be swayed!!! This work of non-fiction reads like a Grisham or Turow novel. Deals are cut, backs are stabbed, and a lot a money changes hands. Just another day at the office for players in this arena.
Having become a mergers & acquisitions advisor subsequent to reading this book, I have come to realize how true to life it actually is. Heylar and Burroughs do an excellent job of explaining the complexities of a buyout without inundating the reader with boring (trust me...boring) details. This book is a must read for people interested in a good story, as well as people interested in life on the Street.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Descriptive, 29. März 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Barbarians provides a detailed look into the biggest LBO in history - RJR Nabisco. The author does any amazing job of describing the events, people, industry and money involved in this transaction. The author paints a perception of what drives men in the LBO industry - ethically and economically. He doesn't try to sway your opinion one way or the other. The chain of events, themselves, makes this book worth reading - no player in this transaction is left untouched. I recommend anyone interested in LBOs to pick and read this book. Tremondous insight into the LBO/power player industry
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Very readable,thriller-like story of corp. takeovers of 80s, 7. September 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Excellent inside look into corporate America and Wall Street takeovers frenzy in the 80s. Book is written in a very readable manner that does not require any deep knowledge of economics or financial theories. Reader is led to astonishing discovery of how the power of networking and personal egos control the world of business and finances. It reveals the tremendous power and opportunities that the CEO of the big corporation is given, and leads to understanding of who the real "players" are.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Will the real Man in Full please stand up?, 28. April 2000
OK, first - this is a truly ripping yarn. There's enough corporate intrigue, maniacal boardroom posturing, gulfstream abuse and small men with big egos in these riveting 600 pages to knock even the Ewing family of Dallas into a cocked hat. From the beginning Burrough draws you into the preposterousness of what is happening, setting out well drawn characterisations of each of the main players, flipping between them in that totally enchanting "meanwhile, in Gotham city" fashion. Before long the threads are pulling together into a whirling tarantella of greed assaulting you from every side. It's difficult to work out who's meant to be the villain, mostly because I think everyone was. Full grown men startle for their utter failure in self-reflexion as much as for the appalling lengths to which they will go in the name of self-interest.
The climax is as good as any thriller (I completely missed my stop on the tube, finally snapping out of a daze thinking, "hey I haven't been this excited since Jodi Foster went head to head with Buffalo Bill in Silence Of The Lambs!").
Secondly, and maybe not intentionally, Barbarians at the Gate is a piercing social/historical commentary - just by "telling it like it was" the narrative skewers the eighties, Wall street and the Reagan years so brutally it might as well be a spit roast.
On this level it is leagues ahead of the celebrated fictional works which purport to do the same thing. In particular, Brett Ellis' "American Psycho", and Tom Wolfe's "A Man in Full", fare badly against Burrough's genuine article. I would be amazed of either Ellis or Wolfe hadn't read this book, but the novels of both are anemic and implausible in comparison. Barbarians at the Gate is more deadly accurate, it doesn't exagerrate or caricature the wall street banker like American Psycho does (and what value is there in caricaturing something which is so patently ridiculous in itself?), and the plot - needless to say - has a ring of credibility which is singularly lacking from A Man In Full.
Oddly, the one area where the book falls down a little bit is in its aspiration (if it has one) to present a sensible, clear, commercial analysis of what was going on. But that's a trade off - had the Burroughs taken that route, then surely some of the dramatic impact would have been lost.
As it is, he's produced a cracker.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Giant Egos Clash at the Top, 25. April 2000
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
I am a management consultant who works with companies that are interested in improving stock price, and I know many of the more humble people portrayed in BARBARIANS AT THE GATE.
I would like to put this book into perspective for you. 20 years ago our firm did a survey of CEOs and found that 99 percent felt that trying to improve stock price was unethical and immoral, and involved doing manipulative things.
After the takeover wars of the 1980s, most CEOs believed that improving stock price was an important task and could be done in an ethical way. There is nothing more disruptive to a company than to go through a hostile takeover, whether the bid succeeds or not. Raw greed and lust for power hold sway at such times, and many people will pay the price for having attracted the sharks into their swimming pool.
Prior to the RJR Nabisco purchase by KKR, many large companies felt safe because of their size. They were suffering from "stalled" thinking, because it was widely believed that a deal of this sort could not be financed with debt at the time the takeover occurred. That was wrong: For a price, the money is always there.
For those who have not been in these bruising ego battles, what you will not realize is that these contests are a lot like those you will remember from grade school on the playground when the teachers were not around. Bullying, threats, and naked power carry the day in a lot of situations. But because this is about ego, a lot of mistakes are made. RJR Nabisco continued to strain under mountains of debt for years, even after lots of refinancings because of the LBO.
KKR's track record looks a lot different now than it did before buying RJR Nabisco. A lot of the fever behind the LBO's is gone, for now. Bring back a bear market for a few years, and this whole phenomena will recur. Some smart lawyer will find a way around the defenses that so many rely on for now. The only ultimate defense against the circling sharks is to have a high-priced multiple stock. That is the only timeless lesson for companies.
If you are wondering how accurate this book is, it is more right than wrong. The authors did, however, miss some of the most intriguing ironies of the situation. Perhaps someday, someone with inside knowledge will write the sequel or unveil the whole, delicious irony. That should be a great story that will outsell GONE WITH THE WIND.
With the benefit of this context, I do recommend you read the book. You'll find it stranger than fiction in many ways, and very exciting to watch. The authors have captured the emotion of the moment very well. It's a whale of a story.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Real Life Soap Opera, 4. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
An excellent, well written book which you'll find difficult to put down. Certainly a must read for business students who may not remember the events when they happened. My only caution: this is not a light read. There are a great number of characters in the book and more sub-plots than I could casually track. Definitely recommended reading for that next long plane trip.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen