Kundenrezensionen


44 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (28)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen She walks her talk. Surely Shirley MacLaine is a mensch!
The Camino. Road, path. I saw an ad for this book, noted the author, and *had* to have it, *had* to read it. And read it I did, in two days. I would have read all night, but for a prior commitment to show up--awake--for my day-to-day callings. This was no casual read: I went "on the road" with this book, I entered the road, and joined the pilgrimage...
Veröffentlicht am 13. Mai 2000 von M. R. Dallal

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Truth or Fiction?
Shirley! You go all the way to Spain and I never really felt I could actually picture it in my mind. I never really FELT the refugios or tasted the oily soup or felt those blisters. It seemed more like fiction to me. The visions and revelations you experienced seemed like fantasy. I feel like you just scratched the surface and embellished a lot of this amazing...
Veröffentlicht am 23. Juni 2000 von S. Joseph


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Truth or Fiction?, 23. Juni 2000
Von 
Shirley! You go all the way to Spain and I never really felt I could actually picture it in my mind. I never really FELT the refugios or tasted the oily soup or felt those blisters. It seemed more like fiction to me. The visions and revelations you experienced seemed like fantasy. I feel like you just scratched the surface and embellished a lot of this amazing journey. I am glad to hear however, that you've still "got it" - with all the guys still after you! I'm sorry but I was disappointed. I guess I wanted to learn more of the REALITY of this adventure than some of the same stuff from your last books. You don't have to preach to the converted. I admire and love you very much and I am glad your back safe.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen She walks her talk. Surely Shirley MacLaine is a mensch!, 13. Mai 2000
Von 
M. R. Dallal "LMT" (New York) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
The Camino. Road, path. I saw an ad for this book, noted the author, and *had* to have it, *had* to read it. And read it I did, in two days. I would have read all night, but for a prior commitment to show up--awake--for my day-to-day callings. This was no casual read: I went "on the road" with this book, I entered the road, and joined the pilgrimage. Shirley MacLaine walked the walk, and brought the story back to share. From Canterbury tales onwards, "story" is a critical element in pilgrimage. Stories not only pass the time, but pass on critical teachings to partners on the journey, people I would never have met except for the journey, sharing lessons crucial for taking the next steps on my own journey. I have read and enjoyed many of Shirley MacLaine's books. With this book, though, I went somewhere deeper, as if receiving subtle, pre-conscious suggestion that I embark on my own journey, my own pilgrimage-to-self, whether or not I leave my local world or my desk chair. The journey is inward, even if my day-to-day appears outwardly to be unchanged. I am changed by my encounter with this book.
As to the four stars. Ms. MacLaines dream/trance state encounters of Atlantis, Lemuria and the androgynic beings of previous lives were, for me, a blend of science fantasy, books on past lives, and my old Platonic philosophy days at Fordham. She shares her internal caveats and reservations about writing such experiences, and having read them, I understand why. There are few people in my local constellation to whom I can loan this book, as they will roll their eyes in their scientific ways and, most probably, will not get it. We all get what we need, and I certainly got much of the read I wanted.
What else could I have wanted? To dream more Spain through Ms. MacLaine's eyes, more scents, more road. More about hair roots, and where *did* she put her money belt while in the shower? Such an earthy book. Delicious. I was entranced by the journey. This book--the very idea of it--reverberates, and continues to trigger a vital energy shift for me. Brava.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Fascinating Quest!, 31. Juli 2000
Von 
Judith E. Pavluvcik (Dreaming of the beach in Hawaii, but living in the reality of the desert in Arizona!!) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
"There are many ways to experience one's spiritual education." This quote from Shirley MacLaine sums up this incredible book perfectly. This is Shirley's journey of one finding themselves, or re-discovering themselves on the centuries old Camino - a 500 mile spiritual trek across Spain.
I found this book to be wonderfully enlightening, illuminating, and I applaud Shirley for the courage to complete this journey of the Spirit. Shirley says, "The Camino itself helps facilitate the resolution of emotional issues."
The reader is treated to flashbacks of Shirley's past lives as she once lived along the Camino, including an amazing past life in Lemuria and Atlantis. I found Shirley's honesty and candor refreshing, and many of her insights hit directly home with me. I do believe that the reader will also gain as many insights as I did and stop and let it all sink in. We are treated to her lessons and fears that she has to conquer as well.
I really resonated with her thoughts on fear: "Never ask yourself what it is you fear - instead ask yourself what it is that concerns you. A fear thought, put out, will return, because all energy returns to the sender. Any energy always makes a loop until it regains the source. A concern thought will return also. A that moment discern why you're concerned."
I began my spiritual questing with Shirley's first book and have devoured everything she has written. She is not afraid to speak her truth and she is not afraid to seek to deepen her spirituality and then share the rest of that with humanity. I am sure that I am not the only one who she has deeply and positively affected. We are spiritual beings having a human experience and once again we are reminded of our mission - to reconnect to the Divine source - to love - to God.
Another wonderful quote, "I had walked the Camino in order to understand what we were capable of as human beings - such spiritual magnificence and such destructive fragmentation of our own souls. Were we all repeating such dramas even today because we hadn't remembered what we came from?"
I urge everyone to read this fascinating book. You too, will want to trek the Camino after finishing the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Warm & Open, 12. Juli 2000
I've never been on a pilgrimage, and was curious, so I enjoyed taking a vicarious one. I wanted to know the nitty-gritty stuff and I appreciated Ms. MacLaine's openness in writing from the point of view of a woman I could identify with, and not as someone trying to preserve a glamorous image. She comes across as warm and rather sisterly. Although the descriptions of the trek are vivid, it's not intended as an all-inclusive travel guide and shouldn't be read as such, it's a recounting of a personal inward journey. I did eventually find something a bit tedious about it, and the ending feels rushed. As to how much of Ms. MacLaine's mystical experiences I 'believe', I really can't say, I'm skeptical of taking them literally, but I don't think that is the point anyway. They were hers, and perhaps if the most we get from them is that the human experience is stranger and more complex than our day-to-day reality, maybe we've gotten the point.
Ms. MacLaine is to be commended for her courage in making her experiences public. She doesn't need the money from the book sales and the publicity is more negative than anything else. But because of who she is, she has the opportunities for a search that few of the rest of us have, and I believe her writing of her experiences comes from a genuine desire to share her findings. She asks only that we listen to them if we wish, and open our minds a little, she does not claim she has all the answers, nor that we should follow her. I think that's correct, I believe that although it's fine to follow in someone else's steps for a while, we're meant to find our own path. I find her humility touching at a time when anyone who's ever had a flash of spiritual insight thinks it means they should start a new church or organization and recruit followers, which traps them in a dogma that allows for no new insights, which leads to a closed mind. Maybe when one's mind remains open, there are no limitations to reality or the human spirit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Beautiful, triumphant, serene; dances like MacLaine's heart, 27. Juni 2000
"Can I prove...Of course not. But if I can imagine... in such detail, then where does that come from? Of one thing I am sure- I have a soul, and it knows more than I can presently comprehend with my mind... And again, the absence of evidence does not mean the evidence of absence." (From the final chapter)
This is a beautiful book.
Shirley Maclaine is a person and personality who both embodies and transcends most of the adjectives put on her regarding her career and her spiritual quest- some humbling, some life-affirming, and some (if I were her) downright insulting when it comes to the revealing of her soul's journey. Perhaps it is in that spirit that such a book, coming from such a learned and powerful spirit of a woman attaining even greater wisdom and polish in her sixties, could not help but be a wonderful read. Maclaine talks about her pilgrimage through Northern Spain on this famous spiritual path walked by queens, mystics, warriors and prophets in such a way as to have you practically walking with her. She brings so much of the physical reality of the path to your senses through her writing style, and gives dimensions of character, emotion and life to the many people she came to know along the way.
The beauty of this book however, is not in actuality how she seems to walk the fine line between fiction and reality when talking of her mystical and metaphysical experiences. (Her biggest fans/erstwhile disciples AND her most orthodox skeptics and detractors will have a field day with Lemuria and Atlantis alone.) She does tell in great and wonderfully novelistic detail the gradual revelation of how reincarnation has seemed to assert itself in the shape and rhythm of her life, and drew her to the Camino in the first place. She does paint and superimpose grand visions of the Spain of the ancient Moors and the Crusaders on top of the modern Spain of the Camino in the mid 1990's with beautiful and vivid detail. And the unexpected connections she makes among her many experiences and people, covering many places- even many lifetimes- propel the story and your interest as a whole.
What makes this book so enjoyable, however, is Shirley MacLaine's heart. MacLaine gives you the feeling that this entire book is a chapter in her diary, where there is no need to lie or impress anyone but the spirit of truth that inspires one to write. And then she makes you feel as if you are her best friend, and trust you enough to share the secrets of her soul. If the jury is still out for you on many of the spiritual concepts she all but took for granted before starting this journey, you will without a doubt feel, at times, virtually overwhelmed by her dream state visions. You will wonder at times who she thinks she is kidding. You will feel as if you will become exhausted by the degree of disbelief she asks you to suspend in following her through a looking glass unlike any you may have ever heard, real or fictional. But you probably won't throw up your hands and put the book down, because of the purity and innocence with which she delivers what is immediately picked up as the treasured experiences of her soul. At times while reading, I felt as if I were listening to the imagination of a gifted child. At other times I felt as if I were being told a fable by a modern day Aesop, with something to learn from it all that would enrich me. At other times, I felt like I was hearing a blow by blow true story of a woman's experiences with inspirational events that went misinterpreted. I felt all kinds of things while reading, but I never stopped reading, because I never stopped feeling this sense of outpouring love, giving it a stamp of truth that needed to not be ignored. That is what drives this wonderful, enchanting, even perplexing tale, and has you getting more out of it than you would expect.
My respect and unconditional positive regard for Shirley MacLaine has, through this book, grown tremendously beyond my mind's ability to fully explain why- which is what love is all about isn't it?
You will enjoy this very much.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen The Camino, 31. Mai 2000
I recently completed the Camino de Santiago and when I learned of Ms. Mac Laine's newest book I enthusiastically sought to buy a copy. After all, we are both now Peregrinos, kindred spirits who have survived the rigors of The Way and savored its many joys. What was revealed to her fertile imagination and how would it compare to my own experiences. On a less spiritual level, how did a Hollywood celebrity deal with the many daily inconveniences which are so much a part of pilgrimage. Finally, what route did she actually travel; which villages or cities did she stop in each night and what were her recollections regarding these locales.
I've finished the book and my inescapable conclusion is that it does not represent the enlightened musings of a fellow Peregrino but is, instead, simply another airing of Ms. Mac Laine's very creative perceptions of her prior existences.
This book should be bought and read only by those who are interested in the author and her unique perspectives on life and spirituality. It really has little to do with The Camino except that the latter provides a stage upon which this popular actress can continue to articulate her, arguably, entertaining metaphysical balderdash--any or all of which is no better or worse than you or I might conjure up. By her own admission, she cherishes her role as actress. As an actress she "creates reality."Which, as any good actress knows, is the name of the game. I have no problem with any of that. I simply contend that this book is not about The Camino. It is very much about Shirley MacLaine.
This work is really a celebration of celebrity. A status which bestows on its members a right to opine, for profit, on all manner of issues without the normal encumbrances of other writers, i.e. authenticity and outside validation of the facts. The hubris of this author is startling. Before 20 pages have passed, the author-- who I assume would have us believe that she is a serious and erudite writer--feels compelled to share the fact that she intends to walk The Camino braless. My oh My. Talk about significant reportage. I guess she is just trying to get us thinking about the inevitable movie which will follow.
To anyone who is seriously interested in The Camino, I would only offer the thought that Ms. MacLaine's experiences are the product of her own very talented and creative mind. To view her musings as a cause and effect model of what The Camino imparts to those who trod it is simply wrong. There is very little of value in her book to the aspiring Peregrino. If you so aspire, look elsewhere. In the final analysis, however, The Camino experience will be a unique one for each pilgrim. As the days pass and the experiences multiply, there will be an increasingly clear sense of the development of the deepest of personal truths. This intensely satisfying awareness is the essence of the solitary, unencumbered environment that is The Camino.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Another Spiritual Journey!, 22. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Shirley Maclaine is the only actress I ever pay any attention to, and it is precisely because of her spiritual journeys & the valuable information that she has to impart. It amused me to read a couple of the reviewers who were surprised that this book was so "spiritual" and not completley focused on the "Camino." Obviously, they had little knowledge of Shirley Maclaine when they started reading, or they would have known going in that they were going to be reading about "spiritual" adventures.
A couple years ago at the age of 40, completely caught up in Christian traditionalism, I started hearing a voice telling me that hell did not exist and encouraging me to search and question my beliefs. I started having dreams about past lives (one life during a period of intense racism, where I took a black child and raised him)--another life as a passionate artist in Italy. I didn't understand what was happening to me, and there were times when I honestly thought I was going crazy. One night, I found Shirley's book "Out on a Limb" under my bed. I didn't have any idea how it got there--I live alone, and I never purchased it. But I started reading and realized I was going through so many of the things that she described in this book. When she described her "Out of body" experience, I felt such a relief. This happened to me several years ago, every single night for an entire summer. I didn't understand what was happening at the time. I would go to sleep, and the next thing I knew I would be out of my body watching myself sleep. My church taught us that out of body experiences were sinful, and I never told anyone. At the time it happened, it was confusing to me, and although I felt that I could have gone anywhere or done anything--I didn't. I simply sat there every night and watched myself sleep. I wish I'd had Shirley's books at that time in my life.
The Camino is her best book of all. Thank you, Shirley. You have been one of my "teachers" and have helped me on an incredible spiritual journey of my own!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Altered visons...., 22. Mai 2000
I read "Out on a Limb" when I was much younger and was enthralled with Ms. Maclaine's frankness aoubt her past incarnations. In those days, I was frightened of my own shadow, and her openess made me feel many things were possible. Since she is just a bit older than me and experiencing the same need to reflect on the meaning of the live she has been living, the "The Camino" -- her continuing autobiography -- is very relevant.
I have made a few pilgrimages to high holy places in recent years, and have thought about the Camino for some time. I have been to Spain--my son lives there-- and mostly travled on my own as he and I never want to do the same things. When I first tried this, I was amazed solo traveling did not kill me, and in fact I found my self improved, better, stronger. Sometimes it's difficult for a woman to travel on her own, but it can be done. Perhaps now I will work up the courage to try the Camino.
The trip Ms. Macline made was long and difficult, and she did it the right way, unburdening her self by letting go of all but the essential material things and reflecting as she went along. The book is about her trip on the Camino, and her reflections along the way.
Ms. Maclaine believes she has lived past lives. I don't know if I have any past lives, but I think the possiblity exists. I have visited places in Europe where my ancestors lived for thousands of years, where I had never been in this life, but knew I had been there before. When I was a child, I recalled events that could not have happened in my current life. I used to startle my mother with these revelations. My mother and I both had incredible "ESP" and I don't know what that is except a heightened sensitiviry of some kind. When I went into labor with my first child at one o'clock in the morning, my mother woke up from a sound sleep because she heard me yelling 300 miles away. I wasn't on the phone (and I can't scream that loudly! ).
In "The Camino" Ms. MacClaine says she slept with a General in a past life. General George Patten also believed in reincarnation, and that he had been a soldier in a battle fought over a thousand years ago. But Maclaine says the reincarnation of her general took the form of the Swedish Prime Minister whom she slept with in this life.
Fortunately, the influx of Asian Indians into the U.S. is beginning to change the prejudice some of us have about 'past lives.' My friend Amara is Hindu, and she believes that Jesus was one of the incarnations of one of her Hindu deities.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Camino, 2. Juni 2000
One of my friends at work gave me Shirley's new book, and I was thrilled. In the traditional Christian world, Shirley MacLaine is one of those people who would be on the "LIST"---forbidden to any God-fearing, Bible believing Christian. I used to carry Shirley's books around in brown paper bags and pull them halfway out and read them when nobody was looking. Our preacher would be talking about how "Shirley MacLaine has lost her mind," and I'd be reading her books under the pews and thinking, "She makes more sense than the preacher." In Christian college, I got called on the carpet when somebody decided to investigate one of my brown bags to see if I was sneaking alcohol. GOD FORBID, he found something WORSE--one of Shirley MacLaine's novels, which would surely send me to hell faster than booze. Needless to say, my days in the traditional Christian experience were short-lived.
I think Shirley MacLaine is amazing! I think she's one of the bravest women alive. She has never been afraid to share her spiritual journeys for the benefit of those who can "receive" them and at the cost of personal ridicule from those who cannot.
People are criticizing this book and saying it was not about the Camino but about her own inner journey. I would have been disappointed had it not been. I don't care if Shirley walks the Camino, the Appalachian Trail, or walks to the corner drugstore. I want to know what happened to her spiritually along the way.
This is a wonderful book for all fellow "Pilgrims" and "Sojourners in a Strange Land."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen 10 stars for this book ....., 16. Juni 2000
Dear Reader (yes, I learnt that from Shirley MacLaine, it means sincerety and urging): Yes, a 10-star book. I just finished reading this beautiful book this morning at 5 a.m. and I did not want the book to end. It is now 7:30 p.m. the same day, and have been dwelling on this book all day ... so sweetly. All day it seemed as if I, my spiritual self (my physical self will follow, a smile), have changed overnight (that is strange, how could it be so fast, as if I have taken a miracular medicine) - especially about forgiveness. What is there not to forgive! In the subway going to work today, I thought of several old friends whom I could not or did not even think of forgiving in the last ten years or so, all of the sudden, after reading this book, I felt forgiveness is not only a must, it is a natural! At work today, I thought how could anyone not to love and sincerely care about his/her co-workers, while before reading this book I did not feel that way at all, not because I did not want to, it was because I did not realize in such a way. A book so gentle, yet so powerful. Many times while reading it, I stopped because the words were so clear and moving, as if I was there with Shirley. Then, many times, I stopped again, because I did not want the book to end. Yet I wanted to quickly read on because I wanted to know more ..... It was quite a struggle, trying to read quickly yet wishing not to finish it at the same time. Thank you Ms. MacLaine for sharing, so I am capable to be a better person, joyfully too. Thank you again, Shirley, because you are a God-sent.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Camino: A Journey of the Spirit
EUR 12,15
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen