Kundenrezensionen


 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


13 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen whoever wrote the review for a.com is a moron.
I appreciate amazon. com's effort to give brief reviews of books so that people may browse, and find something that catches their fancy. What I don't like is the obvious fact that whoever wrote this reviewer obviously never read the book. At best they might have skimmed it. First thing, Franny is not pregnant. Her physical illness is a manafestation of her spiritual...
Am 7. August 1997 veröffentlicht

versus
2.0 von 5 Sternen Crimney J.D. Your characters smoke too much!
"Zooey" opens with Zooey taking a bath and for the next 68! pages he never leaves the bathroom. Denouement occurs when Zooey draws shut the shower curtain so Bessie, his mother, can enter the bathroom. Zooey and Bessie engage in a Verbal Karate match and accomplish nothing save the lighting, dragging on, and extinguishing of countless cigarettes.
Oh yes -...
Veröffentlicht am 11. August 1998 von mambodog


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

13 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen whoever wrote the review for a.com is a moron., 7. August 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I appreciate amazon. com's effort to give brief reviews of books so that people may browse, and find something that catches their fancy. What I don't like is the obvious fact that whoever wrote this reviewer obviously never read the book. At best they might have skimmed it. First thing, Franny is not pregnant. Her physical illness is a manafestation of her spiritual crisis. also she's not worried about her friends becoming housewives. Lastly, Zooey is not there simply to pester Franny. The book is just a wee bit deeper than that. Salinger is analyzing the form of function of religion, and also connecting it to the family structure, Zooey's comment about Franny not recognizing a bowl of "consecrated" chicken soup is one of the cornerstones of the novel. Jesus, or what ever spiritual entity you choose to identify with, in Salinger's opinion, is not just some abstract being sitting on high, looking down at us without caring. Instead, as one of the quotes on Seymour and Buddy's door says, "I move not without thy knowledge." The Zooey story is one of the most important religious/philisophical works of the second half of the twentieth century. It ranks with Camus' The Plague as some of the best descriptions of the human condition. To trivialize it the way that the amazon.com review is a shame for fans of the book. More importantly, it might deny others the chance of discovering this boo
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


16 von 17 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Salinger Does It Again, 17. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I read Catcher in the Rye many years ago, and absolutely loved it, as much people do. However, I hadn't heard much about any of his other books, so recently I decided to look into it. This is when I fell upon Franny and Zooey. This book means a lot to me now for many reasons. It's a work of absolute genius. You can see hints of Holden in Zooey AND Franny, and I always like when an author makes subtle hints towards a different book. Franny and Zooey touches on everything - love, family, religion - and youth. The way Salinger portrays Franny to me is moving. She's this lovely young girl, who seemingly has everything for the taking; however, the road to adulthood makes her question EVERYTHING. Many young people question everything, and sometimes I don't think it's talked about enough. Salinger does it justice. Another reason I enjoyed this book is because you can definitely see what an influential author he was. Kurt Vonnegut HAD to have been an admirer. This book is fabulous, deep, and interesting. Who knows? It may make you look at life from a different perspective.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Great Reading!, 4. Juli 2000
Von 
Michelle Ewing (East Point, GA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I'll have to admit that when I first picked up this book, I kept thinking how much more I liked _Catcher_, my personal favorite of all time. Of course, maybe that's because I still haven't made the mental transition from youth to adulthood (though maybe I should have by now). Both stories read much like _Catcher_, though obviously written on a higher level. Like most other readers, I got more out of Franny than Zooey, though both carry powerful messages. I really don't think you can read one without the other, though I believe they were originally published separately. If you like this book, be sure to pick up a copy of _Nine Stories_-- _A Perfect Day for Bananafish_ will strike you as being oddly familiar. A must read for any Salinger fan!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Franny Glass, will you marry me?, 30. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Honestly this book affects me much deeper than most stories I read. I think I am in love with Franny Glass and I despair of ever meeting a girl like her in "real" life. I loved every word that came out of Franny's mouth and have promised myself that anytime I feel that I am becoming too cynical, haughty, ironic, and so on, I would read this book and just admire the simplicity and generosity of Franny and Zooey. More than anything else (to me at least) this book sounds off an alarm or a talisman against the idiotic nonsense which may overwhelm an individual (such as mediatrash, career-hunting, life-decisions, academic conformity, insincerty, work, school, your boss or teacher) and the difficulty of remaining pure and not embittered by everything. The highlight of the book is simply Franny's (and Zooey's) innocent, empassioned, and original thoughts. Her words have a clean freshness and seem to have managed to maintain a sublime originality, unfettered by the conformity of thought dished at out universities or (even worse) just about anywhere else where there are people. It breaks my heart that that moron Lane does not understand what a gem he has in his girlfriend Franny, and how intently she listens to him and writes him and obvsiously values him while he does not recognize that while he blabs about his presumably pretentious and mediocre English paper (ugh!) he is sitting at lunch with a beautiful genius.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Two beautiful stories, 3. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I highly recommend the two stories "Frannie" and "Zooey". The stories are complex, dealing with philosophy, psychology, and religion, but the simple, central, universal theme is love. Almost everyone can relate to the characters Zooey, Frannie, Lane, Bessie, Buddy, their father, etc. and either shares characteristics with them or knows someone who does. Criticizing others for being "phony" is not a happy way to live as Franny and her brother Zooey demonstrate. Everyone is "phony" in some way and has faults and flaws; that is why almost everyone who reads this book can relate to it. Too much cynicism and criticism is unhealthy. The simple way to combat them is to love; love people, yourself, life, etc. even if they are flawed. Buddy's fat lady is in all of us and epitomizes love. Salinger's work does not carry a new, radical, profound message; his true genuis is how he states it with very human characters and realistic insights that leave the reader saying "Yes! I've felt that way before!" "I've read in the bath tub, and my mother disturbed me the whole time!" "I've felt lost at college when I couldn't decide what I wanted to do with the rest of my life!" and so many others. These characters and dilemmas are timeless which truly marks oustanding literature.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A realistc novel, 19. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Franny and Zooey is a novel that is so simple yet so complete. Salinger sums up all the lessons of life and religion. The book itself is separated into 2 stories, "Franny" and then "Zooey". Both stories are complex dealing with philosophy, psychology, and religion. However, the central theme of this novel is love and intelligence. This book examines the depths of human belief and happiness while at the same time the idea of resisting phoniness travels through it. Franny is a college student dealing with Life's Big Questions while Zooey helps her find the purpose of life. Salinger creates characters that any human being can relate to. We strongly recommend this book.. Once again, another wonderful book written by Salinger.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Interesting and Beautiful, 22. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Franny and Zooey is an excellent book that forces the reader to get into the characters' heads and draws the reader into a search within oneself. It is a beautifully written story of two people who know that they are different and that phony people are everywhere. Franny becomes obsessed with the "Jesus prayer", and has a nervous breakdown. Zooey shows Franny that her obsession with the "Jesus prayer" is just another example of phoniness. This book really allows the reader to get wrapped up in the characters and identify with the characters in a wonderful way. A very incredible book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Seeking Spiritual Connection, 20. März 2011
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
"Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you."

-- 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NKJV)

An all too infrequent subject for literature is considering how following the Bible might impact one's life. In this case, a young woman (Franny Glass) reacts to the world's phoniness by continually repeating a brief "Jesus prayer." In the short story, "Franny," this subject is introduced in the context of a weekend date in New Haven before a football game. Franny's attempt to draw closer to God contrasts powerfully with the superficial concerns of Lane, her date.

In the companion novella, "Zooey," we see the more sensitive reaction of Franny's brother, Zooey, to her more prayerful life. His solution is to attack her motives and methods, weaknesses that she's well aware of.

From both works, there's a haunting sense of being alone amid a secular world focused on trivia at a time when one is seeking to develop a spiritual foundation. Franny doesn't have a prayer partner to help her learn more about prayer and to develop her spiritual life. As a result, her foray leaves her weakened and vulnerable. The angst of the existentialist questions about the meaning of life comes through very strongly.

While not being overt about it, J.D. Salinger is setting up the case for detachment as the solution to the pain of modern living, as a contrast to either playing the world's game or seeking to find a meaningful spiritual connection.

I first read these works when they were initially published in book form in 1961. I didn't like Lane any better this time, but I wasn't as pleased with Zooey as I was on the initial reading. My reactions to Franny were about the same.

For anyone on a search for God, don't just guide your life by one Bible verse. Draw from the whole Bible, learn the Gospel message, and spend time with believers who are interested in helping you find answers to your questions and concerns. At some point, the Holy Spirit will take over . . . something that doesn't happen in these works.

It's good food for thought. Although the circumstances of the story are clearly dated into the 1950s, I think the search for spiritual meaning represented here is timeless.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Self-enlightenment vs. force-fed spirituality, 18. Juli 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
The first story, "Franny", is by itself a marvelous read (and yes, I think it is rather ambiguous whether she is pregnant). The second story, "Zooey", doesn't have the same light touch, and the reader can't help but feel the oppressive weight Franny must have suffered under the tutelage of her pedantic older brothers. It is interesting to compare the ending of Franny to the ending of Zooey. In both, Franny attains enlightenment and at least momentary peace, in the first story through chanting the "Jesus Prayer" and in the second story through the realization that Jesus (Zooey's Fat Lady) is in everyone and that we live in his universal audience.
If one is not careful, it would seem that Zooey's message to Franny is a repudiation of the spiritual enlightenment of the "Way of the Pilgrim" and that Franny accepts the revelation. Is this a victory of Christian spirituality over Buddhist enlightenment? Isn't it a bit odd that Zoo! ey, whose exhausting lectures and insensitivity drive Franny to tears, is the angel who delivers this message? Upon more careful consideration, however, the reader should see that continual prayer to God and recognition of God's continual ubiquity are actually two sides of the same coin. Perhaps Salinger was trying to dramatize the difference between self-enlightenment and force-fed spirituality. Even if the two messages are the same, the former makes for a better read and can be done in a third of the pages.
There is clearly tremendous dysfunction in the Glass family, and I think overachievers everywhere will get chills up their spine as they relate to Salinger's characters. But even non-overachievers can relate to the anguish of adolescents learning how to discover who they are and to live for themselves instead of trying to match others' expectations.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Die Familie Glass, Part 1, 28. November 2014
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Franny and Zooey (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Franny und Zooey. Zooey und Franny. Ein Geschwisterpaar aus der New Yorker Upper Class.

Franny: Als Franny zu ihrem Freund Lane fährt, um gemeinsam zu Essen und ein Footballspiel anzuschauen, bricht Franny zusammen.

Zooey: Frannys Zusammenbruch liegt ein paar Tage zurück und ihr Bruder Zooey und ihre Mutter Bessie kümmern sich um Franny in ihrem Manhattaner Zuhause. Dabei entspinnen sich diverse Gespräche um Religion, Zooeys Schauspielkarriere und um Bildung im allgemeinen.

Salinger, der eher für den "Fänger im Roggen" bekannt ist, veröffentliche beide, zunächst als Einzelstücke gedachte, Geschichten 1961 in einem Band. Das Buch bildet einen Teil der Geschichte um die Familie Glass. Es fokussiert die beiden jüngsten Familienmitglieder Franny und Zooey, die hier auch als Kapitel oder Teile dieses Buches umfunktioniert werden. Obwohl die eigentliche Handlung auf ein Minimum reduziert ist und man im Grunde von einem Kammerspiel sprechen könnte (würde es sich um ein Theaterstück handeln), gibt Salinger nicht nur ein interessantes Familienportrait wieder, sondern philosophiert um den Sinn von Bildung und Religion. Nebenher spinnt er geschickt das Schicksal der Familie ein, die den Verlust eines ihrer Kinder bzw. Bruders - Seymour - nie richtig verwunden hat. Auch sprachlich gehört das Buch zu den besseren, wenn nicht sogar sehr guten Literaturen, und macht das Buch lesenswert.

FazIt: Eine andere, nicht unbedingt leichte Lektüre, über die man erst einmal nachdenken sollte.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

francy und zooey
francy und zooey von J D Salinger (Taschenbuch - 30. Januar 2001)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 22,95
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen