Fashion Sale Hier klicken Strandspielzeug studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More MEX Shower HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen14
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Format: Audio CD|Ändern
Preis:5,49 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 6. August 2002
Nein, neu sind die hier wieder veröffentlichten Songs sicher nicht, aber Kristofferson's Songwriter genialität kann man auf dieser CD prima kennenlernern. Der außerordentliche Poet mit seiner markigen Stimme entführt den Zuhörer in die 70er County/Folk-Szene mit allen zugehörigen Attributen: Liebe, Whiskey, being stoned, being poor and lost in my time. Er tut dies sentimental, traurig, gefühlvoll und, wie bereits erwähnt, genial. Eine meiner absoluten Lieblings CD's.
0Kommentar|22 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Kris was never blessed with a great singing voice but his voice is good enough on his own songs, which he sings with a conviction and honesty sometimes (but not always) lacking in cover versions by others. In that way, he may be compared with Bob Dylan, another outstanding songwriter with vocal limitations. As somebody who regards the human voice as the most important musical instrument of all, I cannot say that Kris is one of my favorite singers, but he has just enough to make me want to listen to his music every now and again. Perhaps it is the desperation with which he sings Help me make it through the night, or his attempt to find spiritual answers in Why me lord.
So on this compilation you will find his original recordings of songs that have become classics across several different genres of music, including pop, rock, country, soul, R+B and reggae. The most successful song of all is Help me make it through the night, which has charted for several different singers. Sammi Smith was first, selling two million copies in the USA, topping the country charts and reaching the top ten in the pop charts. John Holt, a fine reggae singer, took it high up the British charts. Another popular song, For the good times, was a country hit for Ray Price and a pop hit for Perry Como. Among the other singers who have been successful with his songs are Janis Joplin (Me and Bobby McGhee), Johnny Cash (Sunday morning coming down), Waylon Jennings (The taker) and Brenda Lee (Nobody wins), but this is by no means a complete list.
This collection features several duets on songs that (with one exception) Kris didn't write. Larry Gatlin joins Kris on Help me. Dolly Parton is featured on Put it off until tomorrow. Joan Baez joins Kris on a live version of Hello in there. Rita Coolidge, who recorded a couple of albums with Kris, is represented by three duets.
This, then, is a fine collection of music by an outstanding songwriter who, despite his vocal limitations, is worth an occasional listen.
0Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Januar 2003
Einmalig - Kris
Die Zusammenstellung seiner alten Hits paßt wieder in den Trend altes wieder aufzulegen, was längere Zeit in Vergessenheit geraten war. Ich freue mich, daß ich die alten Songs, die ich letztmals vor Jahren auf Platte hatte, jetzt als CD in meinem Schrank zu haben.
0Kommentar|10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Mai 2011
Tja so ist das nun mal, die "Alten" sind die Besten. Gute Musik zum Träumen,Traurig sein und zum Fröhlich sein. Eindringlich und klasse vorgetragen von einem großen Künstler und einer tollen Stimme.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Januar 2015
Was ist auf dieser CD mit den guten Songs von/mit Kris Kristofferson geschehen? Offenbar hat hier moderne Technik die herrliche Musik zu einem Einheitsmatsch "verarbeitet"...
Schade!
22 Kommentare|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Juli 2009
All 23 of these tracks were written or co-written by Kristofferson with the exception of Hello In There, Help Me, Put It Off Until Tomorrow and We Must Have Been Out Of Our Minds. The numerous cover versions of this formidable artist's songs are more familiar than his own. Classics like Sunday Morning Coming Down, For The Good Times and Help Me Make It Through The Night demonstrate his unique compositional talent and ability to capture universal feelings and moods. This compilation is rather unusual as it omits well-known numbers like The Best Of All Possible Worlds, Casey's Last Ride & Darby's Castle in favor of earlier compositions and duets with Dolly Parton & Joan Baez.

Cover versions of Jody and the Kid hit the charts 1968 and From the Bottle to the Bottom in 1969. That same year Roger Miller took Me and Bobby McGee into the country charts whilst Ray Stevens scored both a pop & country hit with Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down. In 1970 Ray Price achieved the same with For The Good Times. The following year Janis Joplin's powerful rendition of Me & Bobby McGee reached number one whilst Gordon Lightfoot's flowing folk version also made the charts. Help Me Make It Through the Night remains one of the most covered songs of all time; this includes an atmospheric interpretation by Gladys Knight & The Pips.

The gospel song Why Me was probably Kristofferson's greatest hit as it stayed on the Billboard Hot Hundred for months round about 1973/1974. His collaborations with Rita Coolidge contribute Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends, I'd Rather Be Sorry and We Must Have Been Out Of Our Minds, the last two from Breakaway. The duet with Dolly Parton comes from the album The Winning Hand by Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Kris Kristofferson & Brenda Lee, plus there's a moving live duet with Joan Baez, a John Prine song titled Hello In There that reminds me of Leonard Cohen's Please Don't Pass Me By.

The Essential is a more conventional compilation of the work of this great composer who's considered a country singer but sounds more like a singer-songwriter in the Bob Dylan and James Taylor mould. Whatever his personal style, his timeless songs transcend all musical boundaries as they appear in a plethora of pop, rock, soul, gospel, classical, jazz, blues, latin, R&B, electronic & other interpretations. This collection deserves five stars for offering some obscure gems and on account of the duets with the aforementioned female vocalists.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Januar 2003
Kristofferson hören, einen alten Whisky vor dem offenen Kamin genießen und der Abend ist gerettet.
0Kommentar|8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. April 2013
Wer Kristofferson mag, für den ist auf der Scheibe viel drin, vor allem eine Anzahl alter, bekannter Songs, wie der Titel ja schon sagt. Hin und wieder lege ich sie auf, je nach "mood"
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Oktober 2014
...immer wieder gern gehört.
Seine bekanntesten Titel, kraftvolle Interpreten:, also einfach reinhören und sich's mit einem guten Drink auf dem Sofa gemütlich machen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Oktober 2014
Zuschlagen ohne Reue !!! Eine hervorragende Zusammenstellung seiner Hits !!! Ein ganz "Großer" der Szene !!!!! Ein Muß für jeden Countryfan !!!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

5,99 €