Kundenrezensionen


24 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (19)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A small treasure full of powerful words of wisdom
This is the best book I've read on the process of writing, and on expressing one's creativity. I wish I had found it years ago! I especially appreciate the quotes she uses from artists and writers (namely Van Gogh and William Blake) to help explain the creative process and how important it is to express it every day and without fear of criticism. Wonderful.
Am 22. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Tough going, but does make a good point.
The book seems quite archaic in viewpoint now, and could be updated for modern readers. Still Ueland makes a great point, that you need to wrtie with soul and passion from your heart, not strive for some lofty, arty goal. She points out what is wrong with much of popular culture today, it seems more an imitation of greatness than greatness. In a sense, you can't...
Am 6. Dezember 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A small treasure full of powerful words of wisdom, 22. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This is the best book I've read on the process of writing, and on expressing one's creativity. I wish I had found it years ago! I especially appreciate the quotes she uses from artists and writers (namely Van Gogh and William Blake) to help explain the creative process and how important it is to express it every day and without fear of criticism. Wonderful.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Reference-Book For Living, 22. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
The more I read from Ueland, the more I became convinced that I had found a book that would be yellowed and dog-eared on my bedside table thirty years from now. Each observation that she makes feels so common-sensical, friendly and right at its core that it seems as though someone ought to have pointed it all out to you before. This is not the typical self-conscious guide to life or writing; it's a conversation and an excercise in encouragement.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The book of a lifetime, 25. Januar 1999
I found this book by accident while browsing through a now-defunct Los Angeles bookstore/cafe. It was the luckiest accident of my life. At that point I had been a professional writer for more than twenty years, but I rarely enjoyed my work, and I felt all of it was disposable in one way or another. At first, reading "If You Want to Write" gave me an incredible, if unfamiliar, feeling of joy and self-confidence. Afterwards, I began to surprise the hell out of myself in terms of what I was able to accomplish. This simply written book states some of the most profound truths about life and creativity I have ever read. Whenever I get stuck on a project I go back and re-read it, and its warmth, generosity, and brilliance always inspire me to go on. It should almost be titled "If You Want to Live", because far more than being a how-to book on writing, it makes an eloquent argument that we all can live creative lives as long as we're true to ourselves.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Tough going, but does make a good point., 6. Dezember 1999
Von Ein Kunde
The book seems quite archaic in viewpoint now, and could be updated for modern readers. Still Ueland makes a great point, that you need to wrtie with soul and passion from your heart, not strive for some lofty, arty goal. She points out what is wrong with much of popular culture today, it seems more an imitation of greatness than greatness. In a sense, you can't fake soul and heart. If it doesn't come from you, the reader will know. Still, the book takes forever to make its points and Ueland's constant "I'll try and tell you about it later" proclamations throughout the book make you wonder if this wasn't a first draft. Like most writing books, this one is a wee bit overrated. Wanna write, do it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The importance of realizing the Emperor has no clothes...., 31. Juli 2000
Von 
JH "JH" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
A dear friend gave me this book (scribbling her own words of encouragement on the first page) and it became one of the best gifts I have ever received. I had taken some writing courses that had left me completely disenchanted with the writing process. One teacher's "esteemed" writing bored me (he could actually claim one published novel) and I wondered why the most pretentious writers in our class received the most praise. It was a case of "the Emperor's clothes". I wondered why it was that MY favorite writers in the class were considered lousy students - far from being technically perfect, these lively people wrote the way they spoke. Reading Brenda Ueland's book was a revelation. At last, somebody honest! Somebody who finally said that EVERYONE has something interesting to say. I only wish I had been one of Brenda Ueland's students - impossible, since this book was written in 1938! This book should be required reading in every high school. One need never worry that someone else is a better writer - the point this book makes is: because no two people are the same, everyone's experiences are unique and everyone's writing has worth. So I'll never be a Hemingway or a Fitzgerald, but at least the letters I write to my friends have become more colorful. Thanks to Brenda I am now writing for my true authentic self (instead of trying to please those stuffed shirts who've been policing my words since grade school). If you haven't read this book yet, what are you waiting for? Everyone should be encouraged to write.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Inspiring truth, 5. April 2000
Von 
Michael Dicarlo (Ashburn, Va USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I first read this book 2 years ago but consult it frequently. Brenda Ueland speaks the truth and helps all of us searchers to look within ourselves deeper and bring out our true selves. It is not just for writers but for anyone wishing to lead a more creative, energized, spontaneous, and fulfilling life.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen It should have been named otherwise!, 9. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
I decided to read this book on the advice of another author, Harold Klemp. Well, I don't regret it! Being a French speaking reader, I usually take a long time to read an English book, but I took 4 days to go through this one! I used a yellow hightlighter pen, and when I finished it, it was mostly yellow! Indeed, the title of this book should really have been "The Art of Living." Even if it was written before my time, I think Brenda Ueland speaks for today's aspiring writer, painter, artist within, or creative entrepreneur... Through numerous examples, and some excellent quotes from William Blake or Van Gogh, Ueland shows you how to believe in yourself, and how to "live life fully!" I am nos recommending that book to all my friends! But, please don't believe me... experience it by yourself!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen READY TO LEAVE PERFECTION BEHIND - SING FROM THE HEART, 4. Januar 2000
Von 
M. C. Meinert "moysey" (ANDOVER, MA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Wow. This book was one of the best gifts I've ever received. It is incredible. I understand those, looking for something technical, would find it 'boring'. I used to be a biochemist, then a lawyer. Now, I'm a singer and landscape designer. Suddenly, it's clear: I am 'in' the world, but I am not 'of' the world. Being 'in your head' is essential (mustn't skip that step, esp for we head cases). But, FINALLY, I have experienced that what comes from the HEART is what lives forever. When I sing, people don't remember whether I got the right notes at the right time .... rather, they remember that they were deeply touched. You can touch people too! (this book is also an excellent summary of ACIM, Buddhist, Biblical, etc principles)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Gutes Buch, wiederholt sich allerdings zu oft, 21. August 2009
Von 
T. Schmidhuber "TomStar" (Friedrichshafen) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: If You Want to Write: A Book about Art, Independence and Spirit (Taschenbuch)
"If you want to write" ist ein tolles Buch für alle, die auf der Suche nach Inspiration sind. Brenda Ueland versteht es, den Leser zu inspirieren und zu motivieren, das eigene "kreative Ich" auszuleben. Die Denkanstöße sind hierbei nicht nur auf das Schreiben bezogen, sondern können auch beliebig auf andere kreative Tätigkeiten ausgeweitet werden. Wichtig ist nur, daß man sich traut, seine Gedanken auf Papier - oder wohin auch immer - zu bringen.

Inhaltlich fehlt es dem Buch meiner Meinung nach an nichts, allerdings hatte ich das Gefühl, daß die Autorin nach der Hälfte des Buchs anfängt, sich immer häufiger zu wiederholen, anstatt neue Denkanstöße zu liefern. Daher vergebe ich auch nur 4 Sterne.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen For anyone who Creates..., 19. Juni 1999
Von 
This book applies to anyone who Creates, to anyone who wants to live life like its supposed to be. If you want a technical book about writing, this wont do it for you. But if you want to put yourself on paper for the world to share, this is it. This book gets to the core of writing, and reminds the reader of why a person loves to Create. I am 16 now, I got the book when I saw thirteen, and I still reread it every few months. If you are an artist or if you just love life itself, you will love this book and you will never forget it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

If You Want to Write: A Book about Art, Independence and Spirit
If You Want to Write: A Book about Art, Independence and Spirit von Brenda Ueland (Taschenbuch - 14. Mai 2010)
EUR 7,68
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen