Kundenrezensionen


63 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (38)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Yow!!!
How can you even review the ultimate pirate book of all time? I read it when I was 9 and loved it. I read it again when I was 34 and loved it again! (Actually, I read it several times between, as well.) Long John Silver is arguably one of the most Macchiavellian characters you will ever find between the covers of a book. (I'm mainly reviewing it to raise the...
Am 22. August 1999 veröffentlicht

versus
2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Tedious
I found reading tedious until the part when Jim got to the island. Then the story picked up though I still hated the language, but I was spoiled by reading trash when I was younger so that probably explains it. The beginning was slow to me, but then the story picks up quickly.
Am 15. Juli 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Yow!!!, 22. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Treasure Island (Taschenbuch)
How can you even review the ultimate pirate book of all time? I read it when I was 9 and loved it. I read it again when I was 34 and loved it again! (Actually, I read it several times between, as well.) Long John Silver is arguably one of the most Macchiavellian characters you will ever find between the covers of a book. (I'm mainly reviewing it to raise the average rating. Anyone who thinks this book is boring has to have a screw loose!) From the arrival of the mysterious Billy Bones, to the attack on the inn, to the sea voyage, to the mutiny, to the battle for the island, to the treasure hunt, even to the final fate of John Silver, this book is a stunning rollercoaster of suspense and adventure! I'd give it ten stars if I could.
Here's a bit of information you other readers might enjoy: the meaning of the pirates' song--
Fifteen men on a dead man's chest Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum!
The real-life pirate, Edward Teach (Blackbeard the Pirate) once marooned 15 of his men on a small island named Dead Man's Chest. He put them ashore with no weapons, equipment or supplies--just a bottle of rum.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


12 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Piratenabenteuer, das auch nach dem Film gefällt, 4. Juni 2001
Die eine oder andere Verfilmung des Stoffs hat sicher jeder schon mal gesehen. Das Buch lohnt sich aber trotzdem: spannend geschrieben, keine Längen. Besonders beeindruckend: Long John Silver, der immer die Partei ergreift, die ihm gerade am besten nutzt. Sein Opportunismus trägt ihn sehr weit. Gelegentlich wundert man sich allerdings, wie naiv die Hauptperson Jim Hawkins ist. Na ja, er ist ja auch fast noch ein Kind und steckt in einem gefährlichen Abenteuer: eine Bande Piraten will ihm eine Schatzkarte abjagen, mischen sich unter die Besatzung eines Schiffes, meutern es und dann kommt es auf der Schatzinsel zum großen Kampf um den Piratenschatz. Das eigene Englisch muß übrigens nicht 1A sein, man versteht das meiste sehr leicht. Zusammenfassendes Urteil: ein Klassiker, den es sich wirklich zu lesen lohnt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Kein Kinderbuch, aber ein wunderbarer Klassiker, 25. Januar 2008
Robert Louis Stevenson - Treasure Island

Als ein alter Pirat in der Taverne Admiral Benbow" stirbt findet der junge Jim Hawkins in dessen Truhe eine Schatzkarte - die des verstorbenen Captain Flint. Bald kommt auch Flints alte Mannschaft, um nach der Karte zu suchen, doch Jim hat die Karte mit sich zu einigen einflussreichen Herrschaften genommen, mit denen er sofort in See sticht, auf der Suche nach Flints Schatz.
Doch noch ehe sie auf der Schatzinsel angekommen sind meutert die Mannschaft und lässt die Suche zu einem todbringenden Abenteuer werden.

Es ist mir ein Rätsel, wieso man dieses Buch unter ,Kinderbüchern' finden kann, angesichts der Gewalt und der allgemeinen Sprache, die verwendet wird.
Dennoch hat mich dieses Werk von Anfang an gefesselt und, trotz einiger langatmiger Stellen, bis zum Ende nicht mehr losgelassen. Auf 224 Seiten findet man das, was andere Autoren in einer fünfbändigen Reihe untergebracht hätten, was zwar einiges zu kurz kommen lässt und wodurch ewige Dialoge erst gar nicht entstehen können, aber es steigert erheblich das Gefühl, dass es sich nicht bloß um eine fiktive Geschichte, sondern einen Realitätsbericht handelt.
Erzählt wird die Geschichte von Jim Hawkins, der, einige Zeit nach den Geschehnissen, von seinen Mitabenteurern dazu angehalten wird, jene wiederzugeben. Leider erfährt man dadurch sehr wenig über die Aktivitäten der Meuterer, wenn sich Jim nicht grade bei ihnen befindet, weshalb ich mir zwischenzeitlich einen Omniscient Narrator gewünscht hätte. Wenigstens wird Jims Bericht durch einige Zusätze von Doctor Livesey ergänzt, der Wichtiges erzählt, was Jim in seiner Abwesenheit nicht mitbekommen hat, aber dadurch die Erzählstruktur unangenehm unterbricht.
Aufgrund der Kürze des Romans sucht man großartig entwickelte Charaktere vergeblich, sodass vor allem Squire Trelawney mit Gefolge und die Piraten arg eindimensionale Nebencharaktere werden. Auch erfährt man nicht Vieles über Jim, dafür aber umso mehr über Long John Silver, der nicht nur die gefühlt meisten Sprechpassagen und den unvorhersehbarsten Charakter hat, sondern auch nebenher für mich absoluter Sympathieträger des Buches war.

Als Einstiegslektüre in die englische Sprache ist dieses Werk wohl das denkbar ungünstigste, aber allen, die schon Erfahrung mit wirrer (Piraten-)Sprache gemacht haben kann ich Treasure Island" nur ans Herz legen, besonders, wenn ein kurzes, aber trotzdem spannendes Buch gesucht wird, in dem nicht die Farbe jedes Hemdknopfes einzeln beschrieben ist.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Skilled Fantasy of Human Greed, 18. Mai 2000
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Treasure Island (Taschenbuch)
Treasure Island is one of a small number of books that are both for children and adults. The appeal of the book for children relates to the story line: pirates, buried treasure, sea voyages to faraway places, and a boy hero. The appeal of the book for adults is in seeing a wonderful example of how events operate at many different levels. Long John Silver quickly becomes the focus for adults. What is his true nature? What will he do next? Clearly, Silver is one of the most interesting and memorable of all fictional characters.
A problem that children will have with this book is that the language is somewhat foreign to them. Some adults and children will find that the book starts slowly compared to newer novels (which often have the equivalent of a chase sequence in the first 5 pages).
My advice is to stick with the story for the first 6 chapters, and see how you are doing. By that time, the story will either have cast its spell on you, or you will be able to tell that this book is not for you.
A final reason for reading Treasure Island is because the book has been read by so many people. You will find references to the story in other literature and in conversation with others. You will also run into establishments called The Admiral Benbow Inn. It would be a shame not ot know its heritage. Also, finding someone else who likes Jim Hawkins and Long John Silver for the same reasons you do is a great shortcut to becoming better acquainted.
Personally, I found the story irresistible. I would have written a very similar book if I had the skill to do so. The plot is nicely balanced, and the characters provide an unusual perspective for what could easily have been a real potboiler with little to recommend it. The book has great charm, given its focus on pirates, which makes it compelling for me. I have now read the book 3 times, and enjoyed it more each time.
Have a great read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wonderful and unforgettable!, 4. Februar 2004
Stevenson's 'Treasure Island' is certainly one of the most highly celebrated adventure stories in literature and has thus influenced other such stories ever since. As it is the first major novel I had ever read, I was very curious to read it again in English, and I was positively delighted that it still gripped me.
Jim Hawkins is the son of the inkeepers of the Admiral Benbow, in which an old seaman called captain puts up one day. One day the captain, who turns out to be a very disagreeable fellow, is visited by another seaman. He falls ill afterwards, and soon after having been visited by another seaman he dies. He leaves behind a chest containing a chart that reveals the hiding-place of a famous pirate's treasure; thus, wicked and evil 'men of fortune' desperately look for it, not caring about anything else than the chart. Jim and his friends, a doctor and a squire, arrange a voyage to the island on the chart. Among the hands is John Silver, the one-legged cook, who, though appearing friendly and faithful, turns out to be a former member of the infamous Captain Kidd, the very pirate who hid his treasure on the island. They eventually reach the island, and there it comes to a mutiny which costs many lives and it is up to Jim now to take matters into hands and save the faithful from a fatal end.
Although Stevensons's novel is over a hundred years old, it is still appealing and enjoyable. The narrative is exciting and fluent, the characters interestingly enough described, the plot intriguing. And since there seems to be a revival of pirate films, 'Treasure Island' is perfectly recommendable as a bit of leisure time reading - and, of course, for breathing a bit of Carribean air.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Never too late to read "Treasure Island", 21. November 2008
Von 
Serenus Zeitblom (Köln, Europa) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 100 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Treasure Island (Taschenbuch)
Stevenson is one of the many impressing Scotsmen, and 'Treasure Island' is one of his most renowned books, describing the hard initiation of Jim Hawkins' and the singular, captivating personality of Long John Silver at the same time.
You might know the story vaguely from memory, translations or abridged versions: a treasure is awaiting, but has to be gained, and with all strength and wit which young Jim has and develops. Try the original now for its wording as well as its structure. It clearly differs from the normal children's version and/or translations etc.

The book is like a classical Penguin classic: sober, handy for the small font size and with some introduction that helps a normal reader to get more than just the story out of the book.

Fetch the treasure!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wonderful and unforgettable!, 4. Februar 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Treasure Island (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Stevenson's 'Treasure Island' is certainly one of the most highly celebrated adventure stories in literature and has thus influenced other such stories ever since. As it is the first major novel I had ever read, I was very curious to read it again in English, and I was positively delighted that it still gripped me.
Jim Hawkins is the son of the inkeepers of the Admiral Benbow, in which an old seaman called captain puts up one day. One day the captain, who turns out to be a very disagreeable fellow, is visited by another seaman. He falls ill afterwards, and soon after having been visited by another seaman he dies. He leaves behind a chest containing a chart that reveals the hiding-place of a famous pirate's treasure; thus, wicked and evil 'men of fortune' desperately look for it, not caring about anything else than the chart. Jim and his friends, a doctor and a squire, arrange a voyage to the island on the chart. Among the hands is John Silver, the one-legged cook, who, though appearing friendly and faithful, turns out to be a former member of the infamous Captain Kidd, the very pirate who hid his treasure on the island. They eventually reach the island, and there it comes to a mutiny which costs many lives and it is up to Jim now to take matters into hands and save the faithful from a fatal end.
Although Stevensons's novel is over a hundred years old, it is still appealing and enjoyable. The narrative is exciting and fluent, the characters interestingly enough described, the plot intriguing. And since there seems to be a revival of pirate films, 'Treasure Island' is perfectly recommendable as a bit of leisure time reading - and, of course, for breathing a bit of Carribean air.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen "If studious youth no longer crave. . .", 11. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
If studious youth no longer crave the naivety & adventure that Jim Hawkins, &c. did, they do themselves a disservice.
The fact that this book has accreted 45 reviews is testament to influence. What then remains to discuss are its merits.
Accessible enough for young people (I first read it when I was eight), even for the refined reader it will evoke that arresting singability that the great adventures from the Odyssey to Beowulf to 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea all can & do.
It is not high art. Stevenson wrote popular fiction. In order for such higher art to exist it must have a healthy popular fundament to support it, to paraphrase Pound. Treasure Island is such art--fit for the scops, & the ears of the restless.
The best support for Treasure Island may be the epigraph penned by its author, which serves as an elegant & frank testimony to Stevenson's feelings about the importance of the folk tradition:
"IF sailor tales and sailor tunes, / Storm and adventure, heat and cold, / If schooners, islands, and maroons, / And Bucaneers and buried Gold, / And all the old romance, retold / Exactly the ancient way, / Can please, as me they pleased of old, / The wiser youngsters of today:
"SO be it, and fall on! If not, / If studious youth no longer crave, / His ancient appetites forgot, / Kingston, or Ballantyne the brave, / Or Cooper of the wood and wave: / So be it also! And may I / And all my pirates share the grave / Where these and their creations lie!"
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen I loved it way, way back then and love it now, 23. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Treasure Island (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Robert Louis Stevenson played a big part in my young life -- he and Edgar Rice Burroughs started me reading in earnest and kept me reading. Unlike some of the reviewers below me, at 9 I had no trouble at all comprehending Treasure Island or anything else Stevenson wrote.
Full-blown characters, and what a passel of them. The story runs on from the start like a runaway freight train. The duplicity of Squire Trelawney and Dr. Livesey versus the cunning of Long John Silver made for excellent conflict. Captain Smollett was the right kind of leavening.
And even after all his conniving and treachery, Stevenson was able to give Silver a certain likeability -- I wasn't unhappy to see him sail away, and neither was Jim Hawkins.
Of course, even with all his initial innocence, Jim Hawkins came from just the right mold, believably apprehensive and fearful when that was called for, but able to rise to essential occasions.
This wonderful story was praised more eloquently than I can by culzean7@cs.com below.
It's a pity that school teachers still force-feed good stuff down the throats of kids today, then turn them loose to plaster graffiti all over these review pages. With all the Judy Blume lying around, why waste the likes of Stevenson and Steinbeck and London on them?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Literary Analysis of Treasure Island by Robert Stevenson, 31. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Treasure Island (Taschenbuch)
In this classic 1883 novel, Treasure Island, is the story of a boy named Jim Hawkinsis following a treasure map that could lead to treasure or danger. {In the story, you can tell how the setting and the use of character traits make it a good book to read and a fun book to amagine.} In this book, if there was no setting there would be no book! "that was, at least; and befor noon to my unexpressable joy, the highest rock of Treasure Island Had sunk into the blue round sea." At this point the dotor and Jim had found the treasure and are leaving the island. Without charcter traits there would be a tastlessness to the story. "I remember him as if it were yesterday as he came in plodding to the inn door, his sea chest following behind him in a hand barrow; a tall, strong, heavy, nut brown man." this makes you picture what he looks like. it's like you are looking right at him. Jim was my favorite character in the book because he was very coragous and smart, and his personality made the story seem like you were living it. with th euse of terrific character traits and very desciptive setting you can see how without them, the book wouldn't be so intriguing
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Treasure Island (Junior Classics)
Treasure Island (Junior Classics) von Nicolas Soames (Audio CD - 31. August 1996)
EUR 12,99
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen