Kundenrezensionen


6 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (4)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Kultur
Ein ganz hervorragendes Buch über Ansichten vom 'typischen Deutschen' aus der Sicht anderer Kulturen. Dazu hat die Autorin zentrale Kulturstandards ausgewählt, beschrieben, erklärt, sowie Handlungsempfehlungen für beide Parteien gegeben.
Am Anfang wird wissentschaftlich relativiert und Grenzen Ihres Buches (der Kulturstandardforschung)...
Veröffentlicht am 19. November 2004 von loensissimo

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Buch von einer Deutschen in schlimmsten Denglisch...
Schon ein Blick ins Buch via Amazon genügt, um festzustellen, daß hier ein deutsches Skript Wort für Wort und mit teils falscher Satzstellung ins Englische übersetzt wurde. Insofern ist der Anspruch "our perception" in Englisch, d.h. aus Sicht der Amerikaner/Engländer mit Sicherheit schon mal IRREFÜHREND!

Daß diese Studie an...
Vor 16 Monaten von R.Dittrich veröffentlicht


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Kultur, 19. November 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception (Taschenbuch)
Ein ganz hervorragendes Buch über Ansichten vom 'typischen Deutschen' aus der Sicht anderer Kulturen. Dazu hat die Autorin zentrale Kulturstandards ausgewählt, beschrieben, erklärt, sowie Handlungsempfehlungen für beide Parteien gegeben.
Am Anfang wird wissentschaftlich relativiert und Grenzen Ihres Buches (der Kulturstandardforschung) klargestellt.
Zusammenfassend kann ich dieses Buch nur empfehlen. Es hilft dem deutschen Leser, die eigene Kultur besser zu verstehen. Zudem liefert das Buch dem Leser einer anderen Kultur wertvolle Informationen, die Verhaltensweisen der Deutschen besser zu verstehen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Die Deutschen aus der Sicht der "Anderen", 10. Oktober 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception (Taschenbuch)
Syliva Schroll-Machl's Buch basiert durchwegs auf der Methode der Kulturstandards, d.h. kulturelle Wahrnehmungen (sg. "kritische Interaktionen") jeweils zwei Vertreter verschiedener Kulturen werden im bilateralen Vergleich analysiert. Der große Vorteil dieser von Alexander Thomas entwickelten Methode ist, dass die jeweils anderen Perspektiven sehr leicht und anschaulich anhand konkreter Interaktionen nachzuvollziehen sind. Weiters erlaubt diese Methode eine sehr präzise Analyse von bilateralen kulturell bedingten Grundmustern die weit über den Erkenntnisgrad von universellen Kulturstudien (wie z.B. Kulturdimensionen, a la Hofstede oder Globe) hinausgehen.

Gleichzeitig sind die Ergebnisse aber selbstverständlich auch 'nur' im bilateralen Vergleich gültig. Perzeptionen eines Chinesen über 'die Deutschen' sind eben nur für Chinesen gültig und vice versa. Universell gültige Aussagen über 'Werte' die einen Vergleich mit mehreren Kulturen zulassen sind per Definition nicht möglich. Weiters gibt es selbstverständlich Einschränkungen im Kontext, so werden vorwiegend berufliche Situationen analysiert. Diese scheinbare Kehrseite der Medaille ist aber gleichzeitig die wesentliche Stärke dieser Methode: Die erhobenen und in zahlreichen Feedbackschleifen 'validierten' Kulturstandards erlauben nämlich eine präzise und Kontextabhängige (z.b. Interaktionen im Beruf) Analyse, die unheimlich hilfreich für z.B. interkulturelle Trainings aller Art ist. Der Prazisbezug und die Nachvollziehbarkeit machen die einzelnen Situationen zu einer tollen Trainingsgrundlage. Da sich Kulturstandards ausschliesslich auf der Normen und Verhaltensebene bewegen, sind sie sehr anwendergerecht im Gegensatz zur Werteforschung.

In "Doing Business with the Germans" beschreibt Frau Schroll-Machl, ganz gezielt Kulturstandards von Deutschen und ca. 10 anderen Nationen. Diese sind nicht nur sehr einleuchtend sondern von unschätzbaren Wert für Manager und alle die beruflich in diesen Nationen tätig sind.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Different terminology - Same constructs, 8. Januar 2014
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception (Taschenbuch)
Doing Business with Germans: Their Perception, Our Perception 3rd (third) Edition by Schroll-Machl, Sylvia published by Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht (2008)

Sylvia Schroll-Machl's book entitled "Doing Business with Germans" is the English version of "Deutsche - Wir Deutsche" and a meticulous piece of work true to the German core value of thoroughness. She claims there is no long tradition of German identity, as Germany " has only existed as a nation since 1871 ( or since 1990 depending upon how you view it)." The book is targeted at German and non-German readers alike, as well as to students and working professionals. This is enabled through the use of non-academic language to describe the various cultural standards. The book can still be used at universities as it is founded in theory, while not exposing the reader to the constructs which are unsuitable for most working professionals who have not had an initial encounter with the subject.

As a true interculturalist, it is not her goal to say anything negative that could create a gulf between Germans and other nations. At the same time, the author makes it clear that the reader's own cultural perceptions will determine how well they understand her message.
First the author defines the concept of culture, as is customary for a start, then she deals with the inevitable but more overall historical context pointing out principal eras of German history.

Being a disciple of the leading anthropologists myself, Edward Hall, Geert Hofstede, the pioneers of the trade, and Fons Trompenaars, today's cultural guru, as he is dubbed, I paid particular attention to the terminology used by the author. There is no mention of core values. Rationality, a declared core value of the Germans, is clothed in objectivism, which she combines with task-orientation, and thoroughness in detailed-orientation - and every aspect of culture she deals with is termed a cultural standard. The language used is sooner suited to working professionals who often have problems with the academic terminology.

Chapter one also already deals with communication style as it helps to underpin German objectivity and rationality. Chapter two, entitled "Appreciation for Rules, Regulations and Structures," is Hofstede's Uncertainty Avoidance. Attention to detail, also dealt with in this chapter, serves to mitigate risks. The cultural standard of Fons Trompenaars known as universalism versus particularism is dealt with under the heading "Rule-Oriented, Internalised Control". It is in this chapter that the social component of justice and fairness is embedded. The author sheds light on consensus as the best basis for rule-oriented, internalised control.

Hall's concept of monochronic time is the content of the chapter entitled "Time Planning". In the chapter called "Separation of Personality and Living Spheres", the author deals with Trompenaars' neutrality versus affectivity without using the original terminology for these constructs. She subdivides the concept of friendship into relationships with acquaintances and colleagues and friends, giving more filigree and sophisticated insight into this aspect of German culture. She describes German self-assurance as what others might see negatively as arrogance. Self-assurance and what she calls the regulation of distance serve to uphold the credibility (or, in her terminology, professionalism) for which Germans crave in a business context.

In this chapter, too, Schroll-Machl cites Krockow and Sana who broached the topic of German self-esteem and writes: "Assertive behaviour and impressive display can be used to mask the German embarrassment about their identity" (Krockow). Quoting Sana, she writes: "That is the reason for the inner anxiety, which hides behind their superficial self-satisfaction and occasional boasting" . Negative perceptions of Germans being cold, unemotional or lazy are also dispersed in this chapter.

On page 169 I finally found a familiar term: low-context. Hence this second to last chapter entitled "Low Context: the German Style of Communication" deals with Hall's unambiguous communication, that neither tolerates hints nor allusions, in all its facets such as assertiveness, conflict confrontation, dealing with criticism and problem solving." Generally speaking, context Is much lower in German communication than in that of many other countries, and, relative to the high context style of Asians, almost non-existent." When Germans use a higher context, "they too expect the obvious to be understood, especially where there is a common base of information." The author further states that this manifests itself in the fact that "relationships are built up, defined and interpreted without this process ever being acknowledged and spelled out". Schroll-Machl helps us to see these subtle differences in the triangle of situation (the task at hand or the context of the intercultural interaction), the people involved and their culture.

Other subtleties brought to the fore are the take on individualism. Individualism expresses itself in many ways, but the focus is always on the person as an individual. This may be seen as the relative emotional distance or independence a person has from group or organisational identity. With these words she inadvertently elucidates the American meaning of "inner separation", for those who may not have understood it up to now. Inadvertently, because this book is solely about Germany. She explains that it is not equivalent with egoism, which many people believe. What distinguishes egoism from individualism is the point at which the behaviour of one person has the potential to harm others, be it an individual, a group or a whole community. In Germany this damage point is marked by laws, regulations, contracts and agreements, and following these is therefore synonymous with fairness and consideration for others." As the author devotes two chapters to rules and regulations (one dealing with uncertainty avoidance and the other with universalism), it becomes unequivocally clear that individualism is not equivalent to egoism, so that anyone who maintains this after sensitization is still a prisoner of their own biases.

Schroll-Machl's German thoroughness expands on the subject of individualism to give a more detailed explanation than that of a "me" society:
"The 'motto' of this cultural standard could be : I am myself, I have my own goals and plans, as well as my own history and experience, therefore I am different from all others. I am unique. I make my own decisions in life. I have my own goals and interests, and when I make mistakes I take responsibility for them. I am the central point of my own life. I have to be happy and satisfied with my own life. No-one else's judgement of it is as important."

I highly recommend reading this book written by a German psychologist about the Germans as a nation. It will serve to deepen the understanding of some of the subtleties of culture. In Schroll-Machl's treatment of the standards, each chapter starts with a table of negative perceptions of the Germans through the lens of various different nationalities, emphasizing the fact that negative perceptions vary in proportion to the culture through which they are perceived.

Schroll-Machl ends each chapter with the pros and cons of the standards dealt with and offers recommendations for non-Germans working with Germans and vice versa. Following this, Schroll-Machl puts the standard into its own historical context. "Doing Business with Germans" is studded with anecdotes that help the reader to put the cultural standards in context. Sylvia Schroll-Machl also manages to maintain the objectivity that she describes in her book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Buch von einer Deutschen in schlimmsten Denglisch..., 8. August 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception (Taschenbuch)
Schon ein Blick ins Buch via Amazon genügt, um festzustellen, daß hier ein deutsches Skript Wort für Wort und mit teils falscher Satzstellung ins Englische übersetzt wurde. Insofern ist der Anspruch "our perception" in Englisch, d.h. aus Sicht der Amerikaner/Engländer mit Sicherheit schon mal IRREFÜHREND!

Daß diese Studie an der Universität Regensburg wohl entstanden ist, erklärt einige wörtlich ins Englische übertragene süddeutsche Redenswendungen.

Im Großen und Ganzen aber eher eine Lachnummer als ein ernstzunehmendes wissenschaftliches Werk. Ich hoffe, daß -sollte damit eine Promotion verbunden gewesen sein- sich hier Jemand findet, der für deren Aberkennung sorgt!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen At the first glance Germans seems crazy - later it gets even worse!, 20. Juni 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception (Taschenbuch)
Das Buch eignet sich nicht nur als Geschenk für ausländische Kollegen, die ebenfalls erhältliche Version in Deutsch ist auch ein schöner Spiegel, sein eigenes interkuturelles Verhalten zu reflektieren. Die Seminare der Autoren sind ebenfalls empfehlenswert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Super Buch, 16. Mai 2014
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception (Taschenbuch)
Es war sehr schnell, das Buch war wohlbehalten und billig.... Ich bin 100% zufrieden. Das Buch ist sehr interessant, obwohl ich an ein paar Informationen des Inhalts nicht glaube. :-)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception
Doing Business with Germans. Their Perception, Our Perception von Sylvia Schroll-Machl (Taschenbuch - 13. März 2013)
EUR 24,99
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen