Kundenrezensionen


8 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (6)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A "Must Read" in today's business world.
"Casual Power" went right to my problem area. I have only been in the 'working world' for two years. Within the first year of my job, they switched the company's policy from 'business attire' to 'business casual.' While the initial announcement excited me (being straight out of college- I had TONS of casual clothes!), I then realized that it would be...
Veröffentlicht am 16. Juni 2000 von Julia

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen Incompetent, trivial garbage.
Any of the sartorial advice in "Casual Power" could be dispensed in 15-minutes by any half-sentient clothing sales person. If not, find another place to shop.
The chapter on men's suits should be ripped out and burned. Or better yet, published as a guide to everything wrong and inaccurate about tailoring and style. Flat front pants are casual...
Veröffentlicht am 31. Juli 2000 von tonup-rocker


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A "Must Read" in today's business world., 16. Juni 2000
Von 
Julia (Bethesda, Maryland) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
"Casual Power" went right to my problem area. I have only been in the 'working world' for two years. Within the first year of my job, they switched the company's policy from 'business attire' to 'business casual.' While the initial announcement excited me (being straight out of college- I had TONS of casual clothes!), I then realized that it would be harder to dress each morning because I wasn't sure as to what 'business casual' actually meant- nor did they have a clear description.
After reading Sherry's book I was able to distinguish between 'business casual' and 'too casual,' and shop for the basic essentials to get me started out right.
Thanks Sherry...it was time someone addressed this issue!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Incompetent, trivial garbage., 31. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Any of the sartorial advice in "Casual Power" could be dispensed in 15-minutes by any half-sentient clothing sales person. If not, find another place to shop.
The chapter on men's suits should be ripped out and burned. Or better yet, published as a guide to everything wrong and inaccurate about tailoring and style. Flat front pants are casual? Perhaps, if you think Banana Republic invented the style. You can't get any more traditional -- just ask a Savile Row tailor to make you a pair of trousers with triple reverse pleats! Only old men and little boys wear pants with no cuffs? Sorry, but quite the opposite, and ironically, you should probably never cuff a pair flat front pants. And not even Joan Rivers can help you if you cuff tux pants.
But I think my favorite bit of tripe sums everything up nicely -- (paraphrasing here) "The sleeves of modern jackets should be worn lower on the wrist to complement the length of today's longer coats." Oh for pete's sake, Sherry! Unless you have adjustable arms, your suit cuff should fall right to your wrist joint, and leave about 1/2" of the shirt cuff showing. If it doesn't, tailor the coat or find shirts that fit. This is a rule carved on the hallowed streets of London and Milan, and it doesn't matter if we're talking about a stuffy Oxxford chalkstripe or some mylar number by Helmut Lang. If this is "Casual Power's" advice on suits, imagine what other undiscovered horrors lie waiting within it's pages. Shudder to think.
The only decent bit of advice in "Casual Power" is to get rid of about 90% of what you already own and think looks good and start over. Amen. Beyond that, the nice photographs of a wide range of good-looking outfits are somewhat redeeming. But again, go look in shop windows, or find a well-dressed clerk at Nordstrom and ask for their help. Or buy a copy of Esquire or W. Any style put in print is history before the ink dries. If not, it's so basic and traditional your parents probably taught you this stuff before your first date.
You still have to have a book on clothes and style? Every man should read Alan Flusser's book or Esquire's very tongue-in-cheek guide. Take both with a grain of salt, however. Women - forget it. Too trendy. Stick to the mags.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen casual power, 2. Mai 2000
Von 
barbara hofmeister (Rockville Centre, New York) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
After seeing Sherry Maysonave on the 'Today Show' I have to admit that I was somewhat curious about her book and so I decided to buy it. I actually did this more with my son in mind than myself. As Greg is gettng ready to graduate from the University of Colorado in Boulder just the thoughtof what he might wear to his interviews was enoughto keep me awake at night! And even if he somehow could manage to pull something together for the interviews, what he would wear once he got the jobwas even scarier! Reading "Casual Power" was like a dream come true.Not only should this book be sold in every univesity and college book store in the country, in my mind it should be considered as a 'requiredreading assignment' in some business classes.....I thought this book was such a great tool that I ordered 5 copies as 'college graduation' giftsfor my sons friends. They're all on their way into the working world w/varying engineering/computer science type degrees...and yet most of them have little or NO sense of how to go about puting together a wardrobe that will work easily and asssure them of always being 'appropriately casual' No doubt a lot of people are going to find this book to be a very useful tool but for college grads...it's a no brainer!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen casual power, 2. Mai 2000
Von 
barbara hofmeister (Rockville Centre, New York) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
After seeing Sherry Maysonave on the 'Today Show' I have to admit that I was somewhat curious about her book and so I decided to buy it. I actually did this more with my son in mind than myself. As Greg is gettng ready to graduate from the University of Colorado in Boulder just the thoughtof what he might wear to his interviews was enoughto keep me awake at night! And even if he somehow could manage to pull something together for the interviews, what he would wear once he got the jobwas even scarier! Reading "Casual Power" was like a dream come true.Not only should this book be sold in every univesity and college book store in the country, in my mind it should be considered as a 'requiredreading assignment' in some business classes.....I thought this book was such a great tool that I ordered 5 copies as 'college graduation' giftsfor my sons friends. They're all on their way into the working world w/varying engineering/computer science type degrees...and yet most of them have little or NO sense of how to go about puting together a wardrobe that will work easily and asssure them of always being 'appropriately casual' No doubt a lot of people are going to find this book to be a very useful tool but for college grads...it's a no brainer!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Casually RIGHT ON !, 26. April 2000
Von 
Dana Phillips (Sacramento, California, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I especially like the no nonsense approach to the importance of balancing one's preferences with what really works in the workplace. Sherry tells it like it is and leaves you with the confidence to be personally casual in your dress preferences without underestimating the importance of fitting into the culture of your work environment and risking making the wrong impressions. She gives the reader important ideas which can improve or strengthen one's professional image while maintaining a less formal, softer presentation of self. All these concepts can help us in our interpersonal relationships both on and off the job. Very helpful insights into understanding the importance of balancing one's preferences with correctness for the situation.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A must read for the modern business world, 22. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Bought the book for my wife, read the book for myself. I work in the field for a company that allows "business casual dress" for its field employees, and was not sure of what that ment. Sherry's book is both informative and very interesting. Sherry is a little conservative with some things, such as the wearing of short sleeve "dress" shirts, she is against it. I do understand her view, but don't agree completely. In general though her opionions and suggestions are on the mark. Both my wife and I have gotten our monies worth. I recommend this book as a good starting point on the journey of "business casual Friday" or "business casual workplace".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen "Casual Power" Reveals: You Are What You Wear, 24. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Sherry Maysonave's Casual Power, ostensibly a guide for business casual attire, transcends itself and emerges as a faithful guide to understanding how your appearance can affect your fate. Witty and humorous, the book is unapologetic in defining what is, and what is not, appropriate dress in the "new" relaxed business environment. Maysonave's shrewd advice is applicable to anyone interested in taking control of his or her own destiny. It is especially beneficial, however, to "self saboteurs" unaware of the influence or success they may be sacrificing because they overlook or underestimate the ramifications of their own appearance.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen casual power: How to power up your nonverbal communication a, 7. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This is a very interesting, well-organized, excellent book! It contains so much detailed information that nobody would be confused any longer as to what to wear and how to wear it for any particular occasion. I was very impressed with the author for her deep psychological knowledge and observation. After reading this book,which is also amusing and intriguing, I could feel myself transformed in a way! Anybody can learn and benefit a lot from it, but for a business person, this book should be one of his or her deskside books. I also think that every company, big or small, should have this book in its library.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Casual Power: How to Power Up Your Nonverbal Communication: How to Power Up Non-Verbal Communication and Dress Down for Success
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 2,48
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen