Kundenrezensionen


17 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (9)
4 Sterne:    (0)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen Only for intelligent people
I found that wrox books are quite informative, and being a web professional, these are the kind of books that you want to buy. If you are a web monkey and don't have any education of the art of programming however, you really won't grasp the concepts that are presented in this book. It's not meant to be a code source book, that you can find in the javascript...
Veröffentlicht am 11. Juli 2000 von Richard B Miller

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Am I supposed to be learning Javascript?
I've got a real problem with this traditional-computer science approach of learning all about variables and structure but nothing that you can actually use.
I had to actually RETURN this book, because it was such a waste. Little examples or real code, make it only good in "theory" and not in practice. You can do MUCH better.
Look, books don't seem...
Veröffentlicht am 25. Mai 2000 von Kirk R Hilles


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Am I supposed to be learning Javascript?, 25. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
I've got a real problem with this traditional-computer science approach of learning all about variables and structure but nothing that you can actually use.
I had to actually RETURN this book, because it was such a waste. Little examples or real code, make it only good in "theory" and not in practice. You can do MUCH better.
Look, books don't seem to be doing a very good job. If you want to learn Javascript, goto Yahoo.com and search for Javascript tutorial. I've just tried a few, but in an hour or two I've learned 20x as much as trying to read the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Only for intelligent people, 11. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
I found that wrox books are quite informative, and being a web professional, these are the kind of books that you want to buy. If you are a web monkey and don't have any education of the art of programming however, you really won't grasp the concepts that are presented in this book. It's not meant to be a code source book, that you can find in the javascript reference. This is to fully understand the concepts of JavaScript.(aka livescript for those of you in the know) Again, if you are a professional, this would be a great book for you. If you are a beginning programmer however, you might be better off getting a sams teach yourself book. start with the blah blah in 10 minutes. then get the 24 hours. 21 days is a waste. When you are at that point then come to wrox and get the real book on the language.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Amateur writing by intelligent hacks, 2. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
Ordinarily I'm a BIG fan of Wrox books, but this one let me down. Like many other reviewers, I was stopped too often by poor grammar, unintelligible sentences, and just plain wrong information. That this book ever made it to publication is an indictment of the Wrox editorial staff. Don't buy the book if you want to understand Javascript. In fact, don't buy it at all. I'm returning my copy (if I can).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Poor structure and littered with errors, 19. Mai 2000
Von 
T. Courtemanche (New York, Washington DC and Minneapolis) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
I managed to get through little more than half of this book before I got disgusted with it and put it away for good.
I found that this book was poorly structured, jumping from topic to topic without fully discussing it in a meaningful manner. The author(s) would simply say, please view chapter 3 for a details. That doesn't help if you want a reference or to learn in a progressive manner. I am already an expierenced javascript programmer, but there was a few functions that I wanted to revisit, so I see programmer to programmer professional javascript as the title and I thought this was exactly what I needed.
During the reading of it I found errors, granted minor, but if a novice were reading this they'd be even more confused that I was. All in all, this book was useless. For those who a real reference guide as well as some simple examples (as I did)I can strongly recommend Dynamic HTML - The definitive reference from O'Reilly press. Unlike this book it was broken into sections dealing with HTML, javascript, DOM and CSS separately, rather than scattering the languages randomly throughout each chapter.
Again, if you are a novice, please, please do not get this book. Hell, even if you are relatively good with javascript, I would urge you NOT to consider this one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A wealth of information - can't go wrong!, 14. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
Covers Javascript inside and out! If you started out with a QuickStart guide or Beginning series you have no idea what you are missing. What a powerful and enlightening book. Quick review to start and then dives into the good stuff! Thanks WROX! You did it again!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Oh boy, maybe if you never heard of JavaScript before..., 20. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
It's basically trying to put JavaScript everywhere without any details or real-life actions.
All exemples are very briefly explained and have provides NO BONUSES to anyone that have at least a small experience of JavaScript.
My goal when purchasing this book was to learn new tricks with JavaScript since I'm coming from VB and VBScript so I wanted to learn the special things about JavaScript. LOOK ELSEWHERE IN THAT CASE.
BUT, if you are looking at WHAT IS JAVASCRIPT AND WHERE CAN I USE IT? it might be an 'okay' start.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Brilliant!, 1. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
Exactly what I needed. Great reference, brilliant tutorials. The most comprehensive computing book in the world!
BUY IT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Index simply sucks, 24. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
OK, so I know this was not probably meant as a JavaScript reference. Then again, a good third of the book is reference appendices. These appendicies only go halfway -- they show the objects and their properties and methods, but not any of the syntax for invoking the methods. This makes the reference almost totally useless. That wouldn't be so bad if the index could point you to places in the text where these methods were explained in detail. However, this is the WORST index I've seen in any computer book.
This book earns a 2 from me on the strnegth of Wrox's usual saavy tone and attention to detail in the text chapters, coupled with an unparalled depth covering emerging forms of server-side, embedded, and other forms of JavaScript. However, it would be THE ONE AND ONLY BOOK you'd need on the topic if only it had a damn index worthy of the name.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Should be half this size - very incoherent, 22. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
It really looks like production team was under orders to produce pre-set number of pages no matter what. Almost 300pg reference section would comfortably fit in 100pg and would be of some use then- after major rework, and reference is important part of a book calling itself professional. For example, no information on object method arguments is included, not even a list. Tables are at least twice as large then what would be reasonable for the content - almost like they went printing Web tables from and old browser. What was supposed to be Netscape and IE specific reference really looks like a verbatim copy of some web intro page.
Proliferation of subtitles, many times just for one paragraph. Index with at least one level larger font size then what even Wrox itself used in ASP 3.0 book. Table of contents stretched out to 30 pages with big font sizes which rendered it almost useless.
Way to many "buy this further Wrox book" nagging in the text up to a point where you have to start suspecting that not things are not present on purpose just to make you purchase one more.
DHTML section is way too IE biased, even with no mention of some cross browser techniques you can see working on web. Client side JavaScript case study just goes presenting IE exclusive code, then some rambling how "Netscape can't do this" and then - a miracle - cross browser JavaScript library from the net :-) FI development of cross browser code was too much for authors they why not simply presenting several good libraries and explaining their inner workings?
Authors of at least half chapters seem to be at loss about their intended audience. If this was written for web developer then one would expect to see things like events and document object model covered in one place and not scattered (as some tutorials have to do). I can't blame for this so much authors but project manager and editors (6 of them :-) Book with many authors scattered all over the planet lever or dies by good or bad project management to provide coherence.
Chapters on server side, wsh and client configuration are fine but that is no more then several hundred pages. This book really needs major rework and split into two smaller volumes of which one would really be professional (with good reference section this time) and the other would be intro review volume. Then professional part would probably get 5 stars - and wouldn't break your wrist while you try to wade through to find something.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Enormous� Accurate, insightful and specific, 17. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: PRO JAVASCRIPT, (Wrox Us) (Taschenbuch)
I am your typical Web architect. Not really a pro, but knowledgeable enough to make me one of the best people in my company to work with consultants and do a certain amount of pre-visualization and early prototyping. My project is to get an Intranet/Extranet completed using either Microsoft or alternative products. I have to research and oversee (with others) implementation of both visual design and user functionality, for client (Intranet and Extranet clients) and server ends (including administrative tools).
I know the tools I "want" to use and the strategy I want to take, but I need some hard facts and intermediate to advanced descriptions of implementations.
This book has what I need.
Facts. Loads of example scripts. Analysis of using Java and Javascript. Analysis of extending application functionality through standalone script interpreters. Security issues. Client issues (for all relevant browsers) Server issues (for all relevant servers).
Awesome. Definitely the fruit of an enormous (there's that word again) amount of expertise and trial and error development.
If you have a little bit of knowledge about Web technologies (graphics, databases, servers, browsers and plug-ins), and have some familiarity with programming principles (best if you've taken a programming course or studied on your own for a few months) this book will be the glue that ties it all together for you.
Part reference guide, part bible, and all relevant.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

PRO JAVA SCRIPT, (Programmer to Programmer)
PRO JAVA SCRIPT, (Programmer to Programmer) von MCFARLANE (Taschenbuch - 23. Oktober 2001)
EUR 41,55
Gewöhnlich versandfertig in 1 bis 3 Wochen.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen