Kundenrezensionen


11 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (5)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen really outstanding book--highest kudos
I bought this book in january and have been reading snippets here and there. things change rapidly with apache (right now I'm working on webdav--which wasn't even released until a month ago for apache). Still, 98% of the book is up to date and the author organizes the material extremely well. I found especially helpful the discussions on installing mod_perl, security...
Veröffentlicht am 14. Juli 2000 von Robert Nagle

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Over-priced and over-hyped
I have to say, for the first time I feel like I have been duped by all the stars and the praises showered on this book by amazon customers. This book is good, but does not justify its exhorbitant price.
Almost 70-80 % of the book is just an explanation of the httpd.conf file. (This is the configuration file for the server that controls almost all its...
Veröffentlicht am 18. September 2000 von Rakesh Chaudhary


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Over-priced and over-hyped, 18. September 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
I have to say, for the first time I feel like I have been duped by all the stars and the praises showered on this book by amazon customers. This book is good, but does not justify its exhorbitant price.
Almost 70-80 % of the book is just an explanation of the httpd.conf file. (This is the configuration file for the server that controls almost all its functionality). If you read the documentation for apache (which is inside the config file!) carefully, you will see that this book just repeats the explanations in slightly modified text and larger font.
To summarize, read the config file, drop the book, and save some money for Christmas.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Solides, gutes Buch, 9. Januar 2002
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe das Buch als Beinahe-Neuling bzgl. Server und Hosting gelesen und hatte einen positiven Gesamteindruck.
Ein gutes Lernbuch, aber als Nachschlagewerk eher nicht geeignet.
Bereits nach wenigen Seiten ist man in der Lage, einen funktionierenden Server aufzusetzen. Dieser wird dann Schritt um Schritt den BedÃrfnissen angepasst.
Das Buch ist klar fÃr Unix-Server gedacht, wer dennoch auf die merkwÃrdige Idee kommt, Apache unter Windows aufzusetzen, sollte sicher ein anderes Buch kaufen. So werden denn auch gewisse Grundkenntnisse im Umgang mit Unix (und Unix-Ãhnlichen) Systemen vorausgesetzt. Auch Grundkenntnisse mit HTML sollten vorhanden sein.
Schön erklÃrt werden die Konzepte und Ideen, auf denen Apache aufbaut. Damit weiss der Leser nicht nur WIE er etwas tut, sondern auch WAS.
Zu sagen ist allerdings, dass das Buch an gewissen Stellen ein wenig verwirrend sein kann, etwa wenn der Autor ein Beispiel zeigt, in welchem Elemente aus spÃteren Kapitel vorkommen. Diese Probleme lösen sich aber nach weiterer LektÃre beinahe immer. Dennoch scheint mir das Buch manchmal ein wenig 'verwinkelt' zu sein, so dass es nicht ganz einfach ist, ein fÃr die eigenen BedÃrfnisse eher unwichtigeres Kapitel auszulassen und ein spÃteres zuerst zu behandeln.
Eine gute Sache ist m.E. auch das Kapitel Ãber die Einbettung von (nebst den Ãblichen) Perl (CGIs), PHP und eben auch (Java-)Servlets, was ich in manchen andern BÃchern vermisst habe, wie auch das Kapitel Ãber die unterschiedlichen Möglichkeiten des Hostens von mehreren Websites oder die diversen Ãbersichtlichen Appendix'es.
Und auch das Ãbliche Kapitel Ãber Securityfragen ist vorhanden.
Weiter ist ein ganzes Kapitel Performanzfragen gewidmet.
Empfehlenswert
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen really outstanding book--highest kudos, 14. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
I bought this book in january and have been reading snippets here and there. things change rapidly with apache (right now I'm working on webdav--which wasn't even released until a month ago for apache). Still, 98% of the book is up to date and the author organizes the material extremely well. I found especially helpful the discussions on installing mod_perl, security and login access. My only complaints are that the book doesn't easily list respective functions of the standard modules on a single page, and that it doesn't list some of the apache offshoots, like apache for java and xml. I know that Oreilley is working on updating their earlier apache book (which wasn't really worth reading anyway), so there's bound to be excellent books about apache coming down the pipe. However, this book has answered every question I have had, and covers things more thoroughly than a web how-to might. Highest recommendations.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Rajesh's review, 24. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
The book has a step-by-step explanation of everything that Apache does and you can do with Apache. It even has tutorials on basics like regular expressions, HTTP headers. If you want a book that tells you about Apache -- this is it. You dont need another. In a single word , fantastic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent Apache Book, 12. Mai 2000
Von 
R. Krause (Tempe, AZ) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
I leafed through both this book and the O'reilly book at a local store just to weight the two before making a buying decision. Professional Apache looked alot more complete and covered alot more than the O'reilly title. In fact this title seems to cover alot more than any other Apache book I have looked through.
I have found the book as being quite easy to read and understand. It also does a really good job at fully explaining the aspect of Apache that the book is talking about in that chapter. As for currency, the latest version of Apache is talks about is 1.3.9
I also did not find the book to be stale, dry reading. It was quite interesting. The book read quite quickly. I went from knowing very little about Apache to feeling quite confident with it in only a couple of days.
All in all, a very good book to have.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Simple answers to complex questions, 2. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
I have been trying to figure out virtual hosting for weeks now and read the chapter on setting up multiple hosts on a single Web server. All I can say it "wow". I look forward to seeing what other titles this author releases.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Professional Apache, 11. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
This is an excellent book that covers just about everything you'll need to know to get the most out of Apache. It's much more accomplished and up to date than the O'Reilly book.
Everything from advanced Apache build options to implementing virtual hosts, cgi and dynamic content (including php3) to performance and monitoring are covered in a detailed yet easy to digest way. There's a good chapter on security which covers authentication as well as server security in good depth.
The author makes little attempt to cover Apache running under Windows, though this is explained in the first chapter. However, if you can get Apache up and running on a Windows machine without help, the book will still be of enormous use.
My only criticism is that Wrox insist on putting moody pictures of their authors on the front cover of their books. Why couldn't he at least smile?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen To the point info!, 1. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
This book contains information that you can implement within a few minutes.It is clear and explains the concepts of Apache webserver in a simple manner.I implemented virtual hosting within minutes of reading this book!Great book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Great Apache Book, 9. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
First off, don't confuse this with a web design book: this book will not show you ANY HTML coding whatsoever. This is all about configuring Apache... and that it does with aplomb.
Apache is really easy to get up and running, and although this book shows you how to do that, that's not the half of it. It's the tough stuff: virtual hosting, dynamic web sites, and the Apache modules, where this book really earns it's keep.
In short, there's nothing you can do with Apache that this book can't show you, in my opinion. Quite obviously, it's not really aimed at the average Joe, but if you're running a medium sized web server or above, and you're running Apache, you'll probably benefit from reading this. Especially good is the content on dynamic sites and secure serving: this is, of course, the basis for modern e-commerce, which is probably what 90% of us buy this book for! More good stuff comes in the way of monitoring Apache, and tuning the performance - after reading this book, and applying some of the knowledge contained with, I found myself with a horribly reliable Apache setup which I no longer need to fiddle with. Job's a good 'un, as we say in Yorkshire!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen so far, an excellent book!, 26. Dezember 1999
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Pro Apache (Professional) (Taschenbuch)
I compared the three Apache books out there, and thought this (Professional apache) was the most up-to-date and easiest to understand. I'm relatively new to programming, so I haven't gotten into the nuts and bolts of this, but what I've read so far is very helpful. It includes stuff on PHP and maybe a little XML too. Apache Server Bible was good too, but this one seemed to cover more material and was much easier to understand.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Pro Apache (Professional)
Pro Apache (Professional) von Peter Wainwright (Taschenbuch - 1. Oktober 1999)
EUR 48,61
Nicht auf Lager. Bestellen Sie jetzt und wir liefern, sobald der Artikel verfügbar ist
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen