Fashion Sale Hier klicken b2s Cloud Drive Photos Microsoft Surface Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen
42
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 29. Juli 2001
One wouldn't say Kurt Vonnegut is an easy writer. Yet witty, sarcastic, endearing and painfully truthful in all which deals with human nature and contemporary society - with his seriousness hidden behind the bravade of the sci-fi facade.
Out of his many creations "the Sirens" is especially remarkable. The plot is vivid, there are several different story lines, all tied up in one knot later: a rich eccentric American gets lost in space with his pet dog and is turned into a wave; a handsome guy whose father made fortune in business guided by only one book - Bible - thinks somebody above likes him and has all luck in the world, and then he travels to Mars and back to Earth and finally, to Titan; societies overtake one another, personal dramas are interwined with historical processes. All thrilling, brilliant, witty! You laugh even if you don't want to and remain pondering the sad sides of the mankind.
Everything is taking place in the far future, but this book does not only reflect the realities of the 60-es when it was actually written, but in fact remains as up-to-date as one could possibly imagine. His ruthless critic of the American values and American way of making history shows solely that Vonnegut dares to use his contemporary realities to show us all that some basic things about a human being are always true; and that the future is in our own hands.
He does not provide a clue or a solution, neither he proposes the way out of crisis. He subtly suggests everyone should think with his own head and leaves all questions open. This is the most amazing things about this brilliant book and this is what leaves a swarm of thoghts and a feeling of intellectual satisfaction for a long time after. It is almost a decided fact that once you read it, you would want to come back and read it again.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Januar 2000
When people hear the name Kurt Vonnegut, they think of Slaughterhouse 5, or Cat's Cradle, or perhaps even that his books are often burned in high schools around the country for their dim look at human existence. Not to, in any way, down play the importance or greatness of his more famous works, as I love them all, but I must say that Sirens of Titan is superior to his other works. For some reason, perhaps the science fiction aspects of the novel, this book has not received its deserved recognition. I read approximately the first fifty pages thinking that this book would be about the same as his other novels. I almost put it away to start a different one. Thankfully, I pressed on. Literally, a few pages later, I was entranced by the language, the structure, the revealed surprises, and the humanity of The Sirens of Titan. Every time you think he has revealed the best secret of the book, another one reveals itself. This story is wonderfully intertwined between a set of characters, and the meaning of life. I have since read this book three more times, enjoying it more each time through. If you only read another book in your entire life, please let it be this one. Open your heart and your mind, and let Vonnegut pour into them his wisdom and hope for a better tomorrow.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Mai 1999
To all those Douglas Adams fans still hitch-hiking through galaxy: There was someone who wrote about all this years and years before!!!
Unfortunately the book is not currently edited in my f... country. They don't know what they miss! Found it more or less by chance in GB last year. All I can say: it is one of the best and exciting novels that I have read so far.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. September 2013
An interesting work of Vonnegut. His style is excellent as usual and the plot ok. It is a lot of science fiction, hidden meanings, irony and sarcasm. I have to admit that I did not get all of it, but the novel is excellent for further discussions.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Mai 2016
Wer erinnert sich nicht an die manchmal zähen Stunden im Deutschunterricht, wenn der Lehrer mal wieder ein besonders verschwurbeltes Stück Literatur zur Interpretation hervorkramte. Erst blanke Ratlosigkeit, dann hitzige Diskussion und immer wieder der mahnende Finger von vorn: "denkt an den Lebenslauf und die Zeit, in der der Autor lebte!" Was bin ich daher froh, dass ich dieses Buch einfach so zur persönlichen Erbauung lesen konnte. Keiner, der nach der Intention des Autors fragt. Niemand, dem ich Stilmittel oder sogar Symbole und Metaphern erklären muss. Obgleich es voll davon ist. Und auch wenn ich natürlich fieberhaft darauf rumdenke und mir mein eigenes Bild davon male, warum jemand eine derart abgefahrene Geschichte schreibt - dieses Bild wird Teil meines Universums bleiben. Malt euch doch selber eins.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2013
One thing the reader has to understand when delving into this book is NOT to take anything or anyone in this book seriously. At first it's difficult, but as the books goes on, there is a definite sense of freedom when one lets go of one's yes-I'm-trying-to-understand-this attitude and just looks at the characters and happenings with joyful aloofness. The quicker one assumes the mindset of this book's secret hero, the synclastically infundibulated (a condition perhaps comparable to enlightment) Winston Niles Rumfoord, the more enjoyment can one derive from this. It allows us to feel like the world is a bit of a joke and we're in on the punchline.

Hehe.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juli 2000
More in comparison to his other works, I mean. (Which are still - don't get me wrong - amazing.)
About the sci-fi: there are trips to Mercury, Mars, and Titan (one of Saturn's moons). There are plans of an interstellar attack, all run by one man, leading a totalitarian society on Mars by controlling the people who live there with pain-creating antennas implanted in everyone's head. There is time travel, to a certain extent. There are almost-human robots. And this (as mentioned by other critics) is one of the reasons I think this book hasn't been appreciated to its full value. People make a relation between 'extreme sci-fi' and 'lame'. I have made this relation before; this book forced me to bite my tongue. The sci-fi feel of this book only makes it more interesting, in the sense that more becomes possible, and the meaning of life - which is developed often in this book - can be spoken of by many different points of view.
Now, about the criticism of humanity: even though Vonnegut is well-known for his criticism and mockery of the human race, NEVER - in any other book - has it been so direct or cruelly honest. You can't help but appreciate the wryness with which he says everything he has to say about us. The banality for reason and meaning of human life in this book is, ironically, depicted in a hiralious and inventive fashion.
This book demonstrates - as much as, and maybe more than, his other books - that Vonnegut is the cleverest, most perceptive author out there.
Kudos, Kurt, on a book that will never be read for the last time.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Mai 2000
I agree with the reviewers who feel that this book should be ranked higher in the Vonnegut canon. It has a lot to say, often having to do with Vonnegut's preoccupations with the nature of time, and class, but you can approach it in a number of ways, all with some benefit.
What I mean by the title of this review, is something Vonnegut does often here, which sometimes is reminiscent of his Billy Pilgrim character. He explores the meaning of the word "punctual" in the sense of "existing at a point", as a way of looking at points in time. When someone speaks a truth, Rumfoord will appear, and ruefully observe that this person has indeed uttered a truth, but "oh, what a punctual truth", this meaning that the truth spoken will rarely hold up under the perspective afforded by a long overview of time, or in Rumfoord's case, the perspective of actual eternity.
The savage dog Kazak is here, so if you are a fan of his from "Breakfast of Champions" or elsewhere, you will not be disappointed. I am depressed about Vonnegut's rendering of Rumfoord, the quintessential upper-class guy, with a very well-depicted upper-class voice, as such a hero. Speaking as an American, it seems to me that Malachi Constant should be more the hero here, as I suppose he is, but in a very tragicomic way. I guess Rumfoord doesn't exactly end up smelling like roses at the end either, so, hey, who knows. Beatrice is interesting too. I felt sorry for her toward the end, but she seemed sort of happy in some ways... All in all, this book does make you think, and it is characteristically peppered throughout with Vonnegut's random telling observations.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. April 2000
"Sirens of Titan," by Kurt Vonnegut, is about a man and his life in the future. Malachi Constant is one of the richest men in the world. He is invited to see the materialization of William Niles Rumford and his dog Kazak. This man and his dog flew a space ship into a chrono-synclastic infundibula, scattering him throughout the galaxy. Rumford tells Constant of his future. Constant, not wanting to believe that he has a set future, does everything he can to make it not come true. Despite his efforts he soon finds himself living it out: first by being a part of the Martian army, then by going to Mercury, then coming back to Earth, finally ending on a moon of Saturn called Titan.
"Sirens of Titan's" theme would be that it doesn't matter how much one tries to escape it, there is a set plan for his or her life. Malachi Constant tries as hard as he can to escape his future given to him by William Niles Rumford. In every scene that occurs in the book we see Rumford's prophecy come true. Despite all that Constant does he still ends up doing the exact things that Rumford told him he was going to do. There is also something else in the book that is very significant. We find out that the setting for our whole existence is based around getting massages to an alien which is waiting on Titan for a replacement part for his space ship. Here Vonnegut is trying to say that maybe there is some purpose to life, but when we find out what it is we are not necessarily going to be happy with it.
This is a very great book for someone who likes science fiction. However even people who don't care for science fiction can be greatly pleased by the story line. I would recommend that this be one of those books you just have to read in your lifetime. I also want to say that if you like this book you should read Slaughterhouse Five also by Kurt Vonnegut.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. April 2000
I wish I didn't have to give a star rating to this novel. It just seems a bit presumptuous to put a subjective star rating on a novel that answers the question of the meaning of human existence! Seriously, this is a terrific book, and it was interesting to see that even this early in his career Vonnegut was already a master practitioner of the English language. Vonnegut's gift is the ability to take a novel that on its own, irregardless of the various ideas and deeper layers of meaning contained in the work, is extremely entertaining, contains many plot twists, suprises, interesting characters, and hilarious wit. Yet, the book also is a fascinating philosophical novel about a subject no less grand than the meaning of all human existence. Vonnegut is such an amazing writer in the sense that unlike some authors, he can write a novel of ideas that is still entertaining to those who don't have the patience for more "highbrow" literature, yet alternatively, he can write a entertaining, easy to read/follow novel that doesn't insult the intelligence of a more highbrow audience who are looking for something deeper that just a basic plot-focused book. I hate to sound like a blurb on the back of a novel, but if you were to read just one Vonnegut novel that epitomizes his writing style, this is the one I would recommend.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

11,54 €