Kundenrezensionen


34 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (18)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein modernistisches Muss!
Ich muss zugeben, dass ich das buch 2 Mal lesen musste um es richtig schätzen zu wissen. Der Erzähstil ist anders als alles andere und etwas schwer zu verstehen. Kein Erzähler nimmt einen bei der Hand und erklärt. Man muss schon selbst mitdenken und auf alles von alleine draufkommen. Das macht das Buch aber auch sehr spannend. Eins der wenigen...
Veröffentlicht am 31. März 2009 von Corina Orlinger

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen About missed chances and the blooming life
"Mrs. Dalloway" is a melancholical story about a woman in her fifties. But because the story is combined with many thoughts and descriptions, it is not an easy read.

In Vriginia Woolf's "Mrs. Dalloway" the protagonist, a woman passed the age of fifty, walks through the streets of London, looks at the shops, people, flowers and listens to the various sounds,...
Veröffentlicht am 26. Juni 2011 von laxschrift


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein modernistisches Muss!, 31. März 2009
Von 
Ich muss zugeben, dass ich das buch 2 Mal lesen musste um es richtig schätzen zu wissen. Der Erzähstil ist anders als alles andere und etwas schwer zu verstehen. Kein Erzähler nimmt einen bei der Hand und erklärt. Man muss schon selbst mitdenken und auf alles von alleine draufkommen. Das macht das Buch aber auch sehr spannend. Eins der wenigen Bücher die nach jedem Mal lesen besser wird. Wirklich alles versteht man wohl erst wenn man Virginia Woolfs essays gelesen hat.

Handlung? die ist ziemlich egal. es geht viel mehr darum was die charaktere denken, fühlen und planen. da es fast keien handlung gibt werden sich manche - die Woolfs Intentionen nicht verstehen - vermutlich langweilen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen a whirlwind of language, 5. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Taschenbuch)
I guess I came to this book through the back door -- first I read Michael Cunningham's pulitzer prize winning book The Hours (based on Mrs. Dalloway) which I LOVED, and then I decided to read the original. First off, I must say that Cunningham impressed me even more when I fully understood the references and parallels that he uses. As for Mrs. Dalloway, it is the language itself that dazzles. The plot is nothing to speak of -- it's similar to a Jane Austen book when lots of interesting and not-so-interesting people interact in their mundane lives. It's what Woolf does with the subtle interactions and her stream of conscious writing that makes this book so good. Having read maybe 6 of Woolf's works, my favorite is still To the Lighthouse. Maybe that's because Mrs. Ramsey is so much more human -- Mrs. Dalloway is always described as distant and cold. This book is a love story of sorts about how Clarissa turns down the true love of her life and instead marries a wealthy politician. Like Ulysses, the narrative jumps around the minds of various characters in their journey from morning in London when Clarissa goes to buy flours to the evening of her party. It is a bit difficult, but the language itself makes it worth the effort.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


22 von 25 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Woolf through and through!, 11. Juli 2001
Von Ein Kunde
I've read a few other works by Virginia Woolf and I am always delighted by her prose. She has a wonderful way of going off on a tangent, stream-of-consciousness-like, and with one little phrase, bring the reader back to the real, physical world. She is highly creative as you will see in her novel Orlando and even makes a seemingly dry subject like "Women and Fiction" into something fun and interesting, as in A Room of One's Own. Mrs Dalloway, is the story of one single day leading up to the culminating event of a party in Mrs Dalloway's home that evening. We meet several people, some of whom have nothing to do with Mrs Dalloway, but are nonetheless important to the story. Each character has a very distinctive voice and manner of thinking. This is perhaps the most amazing thing about Mrs Dalloway and Virginia Woolf. Woolf is able to give each of her characters personality without losing her own on the way. It's a rather ordinary story about a day in an ordinary woman's life, but told by Woolf it becomes something quite extraordinary indeed. If you have read Michael Cunningham's "The Hours" without reading Mrs Dalloway, I would recommend reading it again after reading Woolf's novel. Both are wonderful works of art.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen About missed chances and the blooming life, 26. Juni 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Wordsworth Classics) (Taschenbuch)
"Mrs. Dalloway" is a melancholical story about a woman in her fifties. But because the story is combined with many thoughts and descriptions, it is not an easy read.

In Vriginia Woolf's "Mrs. Dalloway" the protagonist, a woman passed the age of fifty, walks through the streets of London, looks at the shops, people, flowers and listens to the various sounds, "Bond street fascinated her; Bond Street early in the morning in the season; its flags flying; its shops; no splash; no glitter." And she thinks of the party she is giving this very evening, but her mind also drifts back to the past, when she was young, and in love with Peter Walsh, and also with Sally.
But the story isn' t that simple to follow. The story jumps between the various characters displayed in the book, mostly of Mrs. Dalloway and Septmus Smith. Also Virginia Wolf alternates the narration now and then, direct - indirect speech, a lot of description, thoughts. "He never knew what people thought." So this book is not an easy read. Sometimes it es even hard to follow and understand, you get the information just piece by piece and sometimes you can miss importand facts.
The story seems like a hotchpotch. Maybe it is because "Mrs. Dalloway" was created from Woolf's two short stories. "Mrs. Dalloway in Bond street" and the unfinished "The Prime Minister." But this book gives a good vision of the blooming spring, shortly after the first world war and the story is full of peotic - sometimes too much - language.
It is a very melanchocical story, "Despairing of human relationships (people were so difficult)...", and the story is best, when it deals with depression. Early in her life Virginia Woolf suffered on depression after her father died.
Virginia Woolf (1882-1941) a well known novelist, essayist and publisher. She established the Hogarth Press in 1917 with her later husband Leonard Woolf. Her best known stories are "Mrs. Dalloway" and "To the Lighthouse." She drowned herself in 1941.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ask not what the book can give to you. . ., 19. April 2000
Von 
brassawe (Cedar Rapids, IA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Taschenbuch)
Perhaps the helpful remarks I can add to those above is that this dense little book does demand a lot of its readers. It is not a book for that airplane trip, nor is it a book for the beach. It is a book to be read amid quiet with no distractions, and only a few of us have managed to fashion such a place in our lives. If one has not, perhaps a different choice would be better.
Having said that, the stream-of-consciousness narrative is very accessible. Ms. Woolf has a knack for capturing the essence of many minor characters in very quick, brief sketches, giving the book a great deapth.
Clarissa is a more complex person than her passion for parties would indicate, complex in her sensibility and love of the beautiful, complex in those aspects of life that she has rejected. Septimus is a vivid study in madness, something which Ms. Woolf knew a great deal about. Then there is third principle character, Peter Walsh, about whom little has been said here. He is in his early fifties, was radical in his youth, a "failure" in middle life according to the estimate of the "successful," and plagued with women problems for a lifetime probably attributable to his constant love for the frigid Clarissa. Peter Walsh is a brilliant character study from the point of view of one similarly situated. Sally Seton, the only person whom Clarissa ever truly loved, is a vividly portrayed secondary character whom one runs into every day today--the aging hippie. All of these people move through a finely recreated London of that time.
I have to rate this novel a nearly perfect little gem.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen "What a lark! What a plunge!", 1. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Taschenbuch)
These, Woolf's, words are exactly as I would describe the book. The delightful style encompasses something I never encountered before in literature. Virginia Woolf exibits two distinct voices: one almost flippant, and one rich, plunging into the depths of a woman's soul. Woolf allows Mrs. Dalloway (the clever title says it all about her identity) to portray the societal role that an early twentieth century Mrs. must fulfill, and the inner voice of strength that Clarissa Dalloway must have. The words are exquisite and Clarissa is just lovely.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A wonderful evocation of London., 21. Oktober 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Taschenbuch)
Although I know that this book is a masterpiece of literature I liked it very much. I'm living in London now and found this book to be a wonderful evocation of the sights, sounds, and smells of the city--Westminster, Whitehall, Belgravia, Regents Park, etc., etc.-- especially as they must have been in the 20s. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in what London is and was like.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen gute Reihe zur Vorbereitung, 3. November 2010
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Wordsworth Classics) (Taschenbuch)
ich habe mir dieses Buch als Uni-Lektüre zur bevorstehenden Prüfung gekauft.
Folgendendes war für mich daher positiv:
- günstige Preis (und trotzdem schöner Einband)
- Vorwort einer Universitätsdozentin, die wichtige Kernaspekte auf einem höheren Level thematisiert als es die gängigen Lektürehilfen tun.
- ausgewählte Bibliographie um weitere Werke zu Mrs Dalloway zu finden.

Alles in allem kann ich die Wordsworth Classics Reihe empfehlen. Mrs Dalloway selbst war sehr interessant zu lesen, vor allem im Hinblick auf den innovativen Erzählstil Woolf's.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Stylish Prose Gaudily Frames a Day-Long Character Study Emphasizing Self Talk, 11. August 2010
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Hörkassette)
"Wealth makes many friends,
But the poor is separated from his friend." -- Proverbs 19:4 (NKJV)

Think of Mrs. Dalloway as being the anti-Ulysses (the James Joyce's masterpiece). The concepts for the novels are similar, but the styles are polar opposites. I recommend becoming familiar with both works in order to appreciate the different ways that character studies can be developed during a day by relying extensively on thought life. Both are brilliant, but in much different ways.

Mrs. Dalloway is English, delicate, fussy, ornate, and feminine. Ulysses is Irish, crude, unrestrained, common, and masculine.

What stands out the most about Mrs. Dalloway are the many original descriptive sentences and phrases that look as though they went through 200 rewritings to be so polished and complete. Their expressions overwhelm the story at time because the reader is left gasping at a stunning turn of phrase or an idea. In writing, you can sit and admire and forget to read on.

A blessing of listening to the excellent reading by Virginia Leishman is that the brilliant writing is better integrated into the story by forcing you to keep going. I enjoyed the experience. I don't want to discourage you from reading the book first, but I believe you will appreciate the overall craft more if you listen before reading. It's the same advice I provide for William Faulkner's books. There's a beauty in the oral expression that is otherwise lost.

I found the story to feel a little dated. I also found myself not being terribly engaged by Mrs. Dalloway or her husband. That's a pretty big problem to have when listening to or reading a novel. Someone today who wrote historical fiction about this period would do it differently.

Naturally, if I were only rating the marvelous ornate writing, this would be five stars. Most writers can only sit back in awe of such writing. On my best day, I wouldn't be worthy of holding a candle for Virginia Woolf.

Enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen probably my favorite book of all time, 13. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Mrs. Dalloway (Taschenbuch)
It captures the very essence of transcendence. It's a literary miracle.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Mrs. Dalloway (Wordsworth Classics)
Mrs. Dalloway (Wordsworth Classics) von Virginia Woolf (Taschenbuch - 1. März 1996)
EUR 2,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen