Fashion Sale Hier klicken Sport & Outdoor calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More madamet saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

3,9 von 5 Sternen158
3,9 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 30. August 2004
A friend told me that "Moby Dick" is really a two part book and I now know that to be true. Much of the book is a detailed explanation of whaling of the anatomy of whales.
A segment of the book, mostly at the end, is the true novel. The novel portion of the book is in the nature of an adventure story, along the theme of man vs. nature. Ahab, the obsessed whaling captain chasing after Moby Dick to the exclusion of his commercial duties to the ship owner and the crew is matched against the powers of the great White Whale. I will not spoil it for you, but suffice it to say that, if you have an interest in whales or whaling or nature novels you will enjoy "Moby Dick".
I started reading "Moby Dick" after reading Jacques Cousteau's "Whales" (see may Amazon review) in preparation for a vacation which included a whale watch. Cousteau's many quotes of Melville drove me to seek their source. For this I was satisfied. I do not consider "Moby Dick" to be a great novel. The character development, save that of Ahab's obsession, is shallow to non-existant. The action scenes do grip your attention. Toward its end this is a book that you will not want to put down. There are some interesting "time capsules" in its pages, such as the repeated references to whales as fish, a misnomer thoroughly dispelled at modern marine parks. A reminder that "Moby Dick" was written in 1851 is the warning to a Negro crewman: "I won't pick you up if you jump...We can't afford to lose whales by the likes of you; a whale would sell for thirty times what you would, Pip, in Alabama"
Overall I give "Moby Dick" a moderate recommendation.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Dezember 2012
dieses buch ist genau wie das andere Moby dick, nur das mein sohn es in engish lesen möchte ok ok
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Dezember 2009
It's actually hard to describe what this book really is. I'd say it's:
- 40% Whale Fishing for Dummies
- 10% adventure book
- 50% gibberish

It goes something like.
I went to a city to get myself hired on a whaling ship. Then i went to a Hotel and I saw a painting that I'll for the
next two pages describe - and please let me for the next 3 pages describe how I was organising myself a DIY bed. Then
I got a room, that was really interessting - so interessting that I needed 2 pages to describe it. Then I met this guy
Quegueg - let me take next page to describe how it looks. Than I went to the church (let mi describe it for next few
pages).

Somewhere around page 100 I finally went to the see. But before I start with the real adventure, please let me, for next
10 pages decribe various types of whales... Etc, etc, etc.

This book is as alectrifing as a Electrician Engineers manual on transistor. How this became a classic? I do not actually
know. The real adventure in it, is to find any adventure written in it.

It's the first book in my history that I've not been able to read wholly (so I skipped last 200 pages) to find out the
end - and believe it or not, I needed to call a friend of mine to ask him how the movie ended for I was not able to
get a clear endig out of the book. After that, without remorse or regret, I've thrown it into the garbage can.
33 Kommentare|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. August 2003
Während der Lektüre von Moby Dick habe ich mich leider immer wieder fragen müssen, warum es zu den großen Abenteuerbüchern gezählt wird. Melville verfranst sich in seinen Schilderungen immer wieder in nichtigen Kleinigkeiten, die nun wirklich nichts mit dem Handlungsstrang zu tun haben, und spart sich den wirklich interessanten Teil für die letzten 25 Seiten auf. Das kommt mehr oder weniger einer Folterung des Lesers nahe. Trotzdem 2 Sterne, weil Ahabs Dialoge bzw. Monologe sprachlich hervorragend sind. Ich persönlich stelle jedoch die Anforderung an ein Buch, dass es nicht nur sprachlich, sondern auch inhaltlich fesselnd ist.
11 Kommentar|4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Januar 2000
I was so terribly disappointed with Moby Dick. I was expecting a novel of tremendous stature to justify its legendary reputation. However the story drags on and on. Worse, it seems that Melville is so in love with the whaling industry that he feels compelled to give the reader a lesson on whale anatomy, the different types of whales and the differing types of blubber they produce. Interesting? Not for me.
Most surprisingly, I found the story to get boring once they went to sea. At the beginning, while at port, I found the characterisations and the discussion about the whaling communities to be interesting.
Bottom line: I can't understand how anyone could like this novel. It was a PAINFUL read.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Juni 2000
What a terribly dry book. I cannot concieve how this book has become a classic. The author could not have written a more boring book.
The action is slow if existant at all, and written in a way that you would think if it was narrated you would think a sermon was being given.
I picked this book up with the greatest intentions. I never read it in High School. Now I know why, my English teachers were sparing me the trouble.
0Kommentar|3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Dezember 2012
Ich muss diese Version für die Uni kaufen, jedoch habe ich bisher keinen Vorteil gegenüber anderen günstigeren (oder als ebook sogar kostenlosen) Varianten entdecken können. Wem es also nur um die Geschichte geht, sollte sich dieses Buch auf keinen Fall kaufen.
11 Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Februar 2013
Wie auch schon "Great Expectations" muss ich hier leider sagen, dass ich das Buch nach fast einem Monat immer noch nicht erhalten habe udn daher mich auch nicht zum Inhalt äußern kann. Schade eigentlich... enttäuschend.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. September 1997
For readers of good fiction (Rushdie, Conrad, Steinbeck etc.) this outdated and outmoded novel is an arduous and pointless effort. There are many better books on sea adventure
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. August 1998
Sure, it's a great story. It made for a smashing movie. It's so badly written that I want to scream. Pick up the Cliff's Notes.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden