xmas15 Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt Mitglied werden bestsellers-of-the-year-2015 Prime Photos November Learn More pantry tvs Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle WINTERFIT


4,6 von 5 Sternen28
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: TaschenbuchÄndern
Preis:11,95 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung

Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 28. Februar 2011
"Nothing to envy" tells the stories of 5-6 persons from North Korea who ended up escaping to the South. Barbara Demick interviewed people from one city in North Korea and was thereby able to check the narratives making it very likely that the accounts of the people interviewed are as factual as possible. I am very impressed by the approach: too often we go for the dramatic and emotionally touching effect rather than for intersubjectively agreed narratives (aka "the truth"). Demick also makes a point of mentioning that the people who had the courage to escape from a terrible regime were people who are singleminded and that just this singlemindedness can also pose a problem in South Korean (or any other) society: what is heroism in one context can be stubbornness and a resistance to fit in in another. Apart from these more philosophical learnings, I really appreciated how Demick tells the stories of her informants: respectfully, as truthfully as possible and emotionally compelling. When I read "Nothing to Envy", I had actually wanted to read on a train ride just for a bit after a long day of teaching and had already packed a few DVDs to watch in case I get tired of reading. I never stopped turning pages until I had finished "Nothing to Envy".
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 3. November 2011
I thought this was one of the most interesting books I have ever read. It contains a detailed, objective account of life inside this secretive state. The picture near the beginning that shows the darkness that descends over nearly all of the country at dusk is incredible. It's packed full of facts about the ordeals and trials that the common people face. To read that the children only receive presents on "The Great Leader's" birthday and not their own is sad enough but when you get to the part about the detention centres it really is heart breaking. That said, I feel it is important that we know what goes on behind the facade and for that reason this excellently written book should be compulsory reading.

If you like this, I also recommend the peerless Kate Adie's book, "The Kindness of Strangers. The Autobiography". Both made deep and lasting impressions on me.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 28. September 2010
Der Journalistin Barbara Demick gelingt es, in diesem Buch sehr gut, dem Leser Eindrücke in das Alltagsleben unterschiedlicher Nordkoreaner, Männer wie Frauen, zu geben und die Schicksale schließlich in deren Flucht nach Südkorea zu beenden. Dies schafft die Autorin durch einen sehr lebhaften, unverblümten und gut lesbaren Stil, der vielen Journalisten zu eigen ist.
Das Buch ist vor allem deshalb empfehlenswert, weil es auch auf seltene Momente wie eine Romanze zwischen zwei jungen Menschen eingeht, wie man sie vielleicht aus
der Zeit des Kalten Krieges kennt oder wie sie viele sogar erlebt haben! Unglaublich berührend und bildhaft beschreibt Demick einzelne Gespräche, die sie mit den tristen Bildern des nordkoreanischen Alltags und dem Machtapparat Kim Jong-Ils umspannt. Natürlich schreibt eine westliche Frau und kein Nordkoreaner selbst diese "Memoiren" nieder, doch gelingt es ihr in ihrer Sprache, Gefühle und Spannung vermitteln. Dieses Buch hat die Qualität eines mitreißenden Romans, ist aber kein Roman.
Besonders lesenswert ist die letzte Phase, auf die sehr wenige Nordkorea-Autoren in ihren Büchern eingehen: Die der Verarbeitung von Erinnerungen und den Problemen einer Integration in die südkoreanische Lebenswelt, die sich grundsätzlich von der Welt, in der die Flüchtlinge aufwuchsen, unterscheidet.

Für alle, die sich für das alltägliche Leben in Nordkorea interessieren, gibt das Buch sicherlich Eindrücke, politische und historische Hintergründe kann man aus anderen Fachbüchern heranziehen!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Juni 2013
It is very difficult for many of us in the comfortable West to really comprehend that life can, in fact, be hell on earth in some places. Can there really be a regime so bent on its own survival that it controls its own people in such a way that the masses end up living like caged animals who are taught what to think, how to act, and whose lives are so predetermined from infancy? North Koreans are not, in fact, robots or brain-washed, but compared to the rest of the world, their lives, horizons and realities are so cruelly limited merely so a small clique of government leaders and their immediate circles will not collapse into total destruction, and in order to maintain this delicately balanced leadership, its people are destined to lives beyond most people's outside its borders can imagination! "Nothing to Envy" is a well-titled book, which if it doesn't make you think differently about your own world and certainly about that of the people of North Korea, then I don't know what will. Well done, Ms. Demick!
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. August 2014
I think almost everybody has heard about complete shutout of everything outside of North Korea in North Korea, and I think almost everyone has heard of famines there. I have read several articles about the atrocities going on there, I have even been to the DMZ between North and South Korea, so I've had a glimpse of what's roughly going on there.

What I didn't know, though, is what that exactly meant for the people living there. I had no imagination of their lives and didn't know what complete shutout or famine might mean in real life. This book gives me that insight which makes me understand really how unreal the world is seen in North Korea and how everything is built lies upon lies, and the people aren't even aware of how they suffer.

Very interesting stories, extremely good to read, I can barely lay it down, fascinating, shocking, intense all the way. A must read for EVERYONE.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Oktober 2012
Ich denke die Situation in Nordkorea kennt jeder. Aber bei allen Berichten in Radio, Fernsehen und Co vergisst man doch immer wieder, wie extrem die Lage dort eigentlich war und auch ist. Barbara Demick schafft es, dem Leser das Leben in Nordkorea wirklich gut zu schildern. Das Buch besticht durch seinen sachlichen Schreibstil (ursprünglich wurde der Inhalt ja in der Los Angeles Times veröffentlicht) und die authentischen Augenzeugenberichte von Geflohenen. Da dies die Originalfassung ist, die kein Übersetzer interpretiert hat, bekommt man die Information ungefiltert von der Quelle.

Fazit: Wirklich empfehlenswert für jeden, der sich für Nordkorea interessiert. Ein wunderbares Buch.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. März 2014
this book gives you a bonechilling view into a ountry without hope , without real friendship, without any hope
a country where your husband ,wife or even your parents can become your enemy with just 1 spoken word
where death and despair are just one conversation with the wrong person away
Nothing to envy is a good title but a heavy understatement
heavy read but absolutly worth it
you think your life is bad , you have no idea what bad is if you have never read anything about north korea
Eyeopening and a devinitive MUST READ for ever youngster in the first world
this book puts a perspective on how good any life in the first world actually is
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. August 2015
As this book is based on stories from North Koreans that has left the country, it provides reliable insights, although strongly biased towards experiences from people that got into conflict with the system and not covering the millions living their usual life. Nevertheless, the book is much much better than all the other books, and news about DPRKorea, that are based on assumptions and imagination, and that make conclusions based on hardly nothing. Thank you for the book. The only exception is the last chapter, that is, as all other books based on opinion of westerners that think they know all, know all better, and have always right ....
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. August 2015
Das Buch wurde mir von einer ehemaligen Studentin empfohlen, die unlängst in Asien war.
Nord Korea war ein Land über das ich nicht viel wusste, außer den üblichen Klischees (oder den Nachrichten), doch diese Augenzeugenberichte geben einen erschreckenden Einblick in eine völlig andere Welt.
Die Puzzlestücke der Berichte ergeben ein Gesamtbild, zeigen auf, welche Hoffnungen und Ängste die Bewohner haben, welche Lügen und Bigotterie in der Diktatur inszeniert werden - und wie Auswege gesucht und gefunden werden.

Ein Augenöffner, der den Wissenshunger weckt und der der den Verstand noch lange danach beschäftigt.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich.
am 22. Januar 2012
This is just an excellent book. It gives a good insight in daily North Korean lives. That's all I have to say.
0KommentarWar diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Kunden, die diesen Artikel angesehen haben, haben auch angesehen

Im Land des Flüsterns: Geschichten aus dem Alltag in Nordkorea
Im Land des Flüsterns: Geschichten aus dem Alltag in Nordkorea von Barbara Demick (Taschenbuch - 2. September 2013)
EUR 9,99

Aquariums of Pyongyang: Ten Years in the North Korean Gulag
Aquariums of Pyongyang: Ten Years in the North Korean Gulag von Kang Chol-Hwan (Taschenbuch - 9. Februar 2006)
EUR 16,05