Kundenrezensionen


 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


65 von 69 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein tolles, schwieriges Buch.
Ja, es ist ein dickes Buch. Und schwierig ist es. Und man versteht sicherlich nicht alles.
Aber: es macht Spaß es zu lesen. Wenn man wirklich Freude an Sprache und dem hat, was man daraus machen kann, dann lohnt sich das Buch. Nirgends steht geschrieben, dass man ein Buch von vorn bis hinten durchlesen muss (womöglich in einem Zug - es müsste schon...
Veröffentlicht am 17. Juli 2007 von Logos Sophos

versus
116 von 123 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen "Wenn nur jemand mal sagen würde, dass das Buch so verdammt lustig ist."
Das Buch ist in jeder Hinsicht eine extreme Herausforderung. Es hat was von einem sehr komplexen Spiel. Ohne umfassende Anleitung ist dieses "Spiel" nicht spielbar. Aus der eigentlichen Lektüre erfährt man nicht einmal (oder habe ich nicht erfahren), dass die Handlung den 16. Juni 1904 abdeckt und es morgens um 8 Uhr an zwei unterschiedlichen Standorten, mit dem...
Veröffentlicht am 16. Oktober 2011 von jrgela


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

35 von 43 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A modern Odyssey, 14. April 2001
Von Ein Kunde
In his book Ulysses James Joyce has created a modern hero by transforming a classical myth into the parody of a wandering Jew who has to suffer loss and betrayal. Aspects of his two previous books "Dubliners" and "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man" were incorporated as well as some of Homer's "The Odyssey. The Greek power is replaced by a human being, touched by banal activities like urination, dementia, alcoholism or voyeurism. He created characters with features of Homer's figures, including Homer's themes, the quest for a father, the intervention of god(s) and other allusions to the original Odyssey. The modern parallel of Homer's epic takes place in Dublin and describes a day in the life of Stephen Dedalus, who is already known from "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man" and now reappears, Leopold Bloom and Molly Bloom, his wife, the three central characters that are modern counterparts of Ulysses, Telemachus and Penelope The novel shows us the actions of different Dubliners on June 16, 1904, mainly the day in the life of Leopold Bloom. Although Leopold Bloom is Joyce's major character the author spends considerable time on the protagonist of his first work, Stephen Dedalus, the main character of the first three chapters, who thus enables him to discuss the political and religious topics that now dominate Ulysses. Leopold Bloom, a middle-aged, Jewish advertisement canvasser, is introduced in the second part of the book, beginning the day anew at 8 o'clock and later wandering in the streets of Dublin.
James Joyce's Ulysses is considered as his greatest achievement and gave him one of the greatest influences of novelists in the 20th century. Its main strength is to be found in the variant of the interior monologue, the stream-of-consciousness with its flow of impressions, unfinished thoughts, associations, worries, hesitations and sudden impulses. Joyce uses the interior monologue to reveal the inner thoughts and feelings of his figures and thus gives a deep portrayal of character. Leopold and Molly Bloom are portrayed with a humanity that can hardly be found in another work of literature. The reader is completely united with the book, with its figures and with Dublin. You can nothing but smell, see, hear and feel everything these figures do. All of them seem to become real, as you can immediately identify yourself with them, their success and their failure, describing and discussing problems that are still topical today. Of course there is also another point of view, another group of critics. Some of them described and still describe the book as pornography, written by a lunatic. But I think they are wrong, because pornography, vulgarisms, obscenities and such things are generally simple and easy to understand. And I think Ulysses is not at all easy to read, it takes an enormous effort to reach the end of a chapter. Its various characters, happenings and narrators require so much concentration, which leaves no time to do or think of something else, at least none to arouse sexual excitement. In fact this great book often seems to be rather a mess and leads to confusion as it contains many, partly unknown difficulties, making it necessary to read some passages twice and thrice. One of these is the fact that there are several narrators, some of them not even identified. It is also often difficult to draw the line between fragments of narration and snatches of a person's thoughts, for example in the third chapter, when Stephen Dedalus gives a long description of his visit to his uncle, which first seems to be real, but then reveals to be only an imagined event. Realism and symbolism are mixed together to an extensive diversity of narrative structures that make James Joyce' Ulysses different from other books. And this difference justifies the efforts and the work the reading of Ulysses takes. The extraordinary experience of following the epic voyage of Stephen Dedalus and Leopold Bloom is not impossible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Sometimes infuriating but well worth the struggle, 13. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ulysses (Vintage International) (Taschenbuch)
There's probably not much about Ulysses that hasn't already been said, but having just spent well over a month of my free time struggling through this book I thought I would put my two cents in.
In my opinion, Judge John M. Woolsey's synopsis in his 1933 ruling on the work's obscenity charge sums up the book almost perfectly. It is indeed an astonishing achievement and a literary tour de force. It is, as he says, by turns brilliant and dull, intelligible and obscure. And of course it is unprecedented in its exceptionally honest treatment of sexuality.
I really can't agree with his contention, however, that every word of the book is purposeful in its contribution to the whole. In some ways, particularly the incredible realism of its characters' interior monologues and its ability to make a particular place and time come alive for the reader, Ulysses is perhaps the most well-written novel I've ever read. In other ways, namely Joyce's frequent inability to resist showing off his erudition and mastery of language, it is one of the worst and often cries out for editing. While there's not a word of Hades, Wandering Rocks or Penelope I would change, some other chapters (e.g., Cyclops, Oxen of the Sun, and Ithaca) become downright tedious despite their conceptual ingenuity and flashes of brilliance. Additionally, the book is sometimes cloyingly self-referential, plausibility too often bows to symbolism, and many of Joyce's allusions are so esoteric or ambiguous that they can only serve to distract the reader. While it has faults (and despite the book's deification in literary circles, I can't see any other way to characterize many of its quirks and stylistic excesses), Ulysses is nonetheless well worth the exceptional effort required to read it due to its penetrating and poignant illumination of human desires, delusions and relationships. As an added plus, at many points it is nothing less than hilarious.
Personally I found it very helpful to listen to a recording of the text on audio to get through the book (the version narrated by Donal Donnelly and Miriam Healy-Louie published by Classics on Cassette is extremely well done), as twice previously I had attempted to read it without such support and couldn't get beyond six or seven chapters. I would also suggest having at hand an unabridged dictionary, a book of scholarly annotations, and especially Harry Brimes' Bloomsday book for those passages where, despite your best efforts, you still can't figure out what the heck is going on (occasionally Brimes can't either).
Four stars may seem niggardly for a masterpiece, but I'm comparing it with King Lear and The Brothers Karamazov. If you're an Irish Catholic literary scholar with doctorates in western religion and etymology and an upcoming sabbatical, by all means add half a star.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


15 von 19 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Lesen mit offenen Augen, 24. Februar 2002
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ulysses, Sonderausgabe (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Ulysses beeindruckt. Weniger Inhaltlich als Stilistisch. Der assoziative Sprachstil erzeugt eine unmittelbare Nähe des Lesers zur Hauptfigur. Nahezu unkommentiert offenbart Joyce die Gedanken Leopold Blooms: Einschübe, Satzbrüche, emphatische Umstellungen ziehen sich durch die gesamte Erzählung und gipfeln in einer Art Inneren Monologs - sog. Bewußtseinsstrom. Hier hebt sich die Grenze zwischen Charakter und Leser völlig auf. Der Leser ist gezwungen in sich selbst die Gedanken der Figuren zu reflektieren. Folge ist einerzeits die extreme Nähe zum Protagonisten, man verschmilzt beinahe mit ihm, andererseits eine distanzierte und kuehle Stimmung, da selbst die negativsten Erlebnisse (zB Beerdigungsszene) emotionslos geschildert bzw aufgezählt werden. Die Emotionen entstehten erst im Kopf des Lesers. Daher empfindet jeder Leser dieses Buch anders. Arbeit bedeutet Ulysses allemal, denn es kann nicht wie ein spannender Roman gelesen werden, sondern man muss es sich erarbeiten, Seite für Seite. Wenn man sich entscheidet dieses Buch zu Lesen, sollte man sich Zeit nehmen, um es auch wirklich zu verstehen. Nur so erschließt man sich im Detailreichtum von Ulysses die wahre Groesse des Werks.
Zur Ueberwindung von Schwierigkeiten ist ein Woerterbuch von Nutzen. Vorsicht, eigene Wortneuschöpfungen von Joyce gibts etlich.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Der Mount Everest!, 3. Februar 2008
Wer aus einer Laune heraus seine Intelligenz unter Beweis stellen möchte, indem er Ulysses liest, der sei gewarnt: Das Buch wird im Regal verstauben! Für Ulysses braucht man nicht nur eine Menge Zeit, sondern auch die ungeteilte Aufmerksamkeit, um das Buch durchzuprügeln. Nichts zum Zeitvertreib, nichts zum Bekämpfen von aktuer Langeweile. Ulysses ist einer von den 8000ern unter den Büchern!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


13 von 17 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Perhaps the Most Challenging Novel Ever Written, 16. März 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Some people like to go for a stroll on the beach. Others like to climb Mount Everest. Reading Ulysses is much more like the latter than the former.

I have now read this book four times. I must really be a glutton for punishment.

Actually, the rereading is quite rewarding. When I first read the book in my youth, the only edition available was the one with all the printer's errors in it. Those errors made a difficult novel much more so. So I found that my understanding and appreciation rose substantially when I could read the original version.

As I grew older, I realized that I had had more experiences, read more books, and thought more thoughts. That meant that I found new layers of meaning in Ulysses.

I plan to keep rereading this book on a regular basis for the rest of my life. I hope you find it this engrossing as well.

What initially attracted me to the book was Joyce's ability to capture the inner dialogue that we all have. We alternate between thinking like angels and the basest animals. Joyce not only unveiled and portrayed that quality, he also imbued it with an elegance of expression that certainly exceeds my wit. It is almost as though an intellectual, well-educated literary comedian is invited along to make witnessing the internal dialogue more interesting.

Of even greater significance is the reaction that many have to the novel. They simply do not want to plumb into someone else's mind, unless perhaps it is the mind of a saint. But who knows what a saint really thinks?

The title, of course, is a dead giveaway (that few will need) that there are a literary analogy and symbolism involved. Those implications are enough to keep several Ph.D.'s busy for a career.

Mr. Joyce was a most learned and observant man. What remarkable things must have gone on inside of his mind!

If you are interested in extending your own ability to understand what is going on around you, I recommend Ulysses as a way to fill in the backdrop of what is not said when you are with others.

If you are more than satisfied with surface reality, then by all means skip this book. You'll wonder what all the fuss is about.

Perhaps the only exception to the latter is someone who loves a musical turn of phrasing, something Joyce excels in.

Enjoy your journey!

If you are like me, you'll find that it makes sense to keep your copy on the night table. You never know when you'll be ready for another trip to 1904.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen unbedingt kaufen wenn sie gut englisch sprechen, 4. Juli 2004
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ulysses. 22 CDs (Modern Classics) (Audio CD)
Ein wahrer Marathon fuer die Ohren. Die CD's sind von excellenter Aufnamequalitaet. Das Englisch ist sicher anspruchsvoll, aber man kann sich gut hineinhoeren. Die Sprecher sprechen eine klare und gut akzentuierte Sprache. Als Deutscher, der regelmaessig mit dem Englischen umgehen muss, hat mir dieses Hoerbuch sehr geholfen, meinen Umgang mit der Sprache zu verbessern.
Personen die nicht sicher englisch sprechen, moechte ich bitten, sich vorher zu ueberlegen, auf was Sie sich einlassen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Perhaps the Most Challenging Novel Ever Written, 18. Mai 2000
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Some people like to go for a stroll on the beach. Others like to climb Mount Everest. Reading Ulysses is much more like the latter than the former.
I have now read this book four times. I must really be a glutton for punishment.
Actually, the rereading is quite rewarding. When I first read the book in my youth, the only edition available was the one with all the printer's errors in it. Those errors made a difficult novel, much more so. So I found that my understanding and appreciation rose substantially when I could read the original version.
As I grew older, I realized that I had had more experiences, read more books, and thought more thoughts. That meant that I found new layers of meaning in Ulysses.
I plan to keep rereading this book on a regular basis for the rest of my life. I hope you find it this engrossing as well.
What initially attracted me to the book was Joyce's ability to capture the inner dialogue that we all have. We alternate between thinking like angels and the basest animals. Joyce not only unveiled and portrayed that quality, he also imbued it with an elegance of expression that certainly exceeds my wit. It is almost as though an intellectual, well-educated literary comedian is invited along to make witnessing the internal dialogue more interesting.
Of even greater significance is the reaction that many have to the novel. They simply do not want to plumb into someone else's mind, unless perhaps it is the mind of a saint. But who knows what a saint really thinks?
The title, of course, is a dead giveaway (that few will need) that there are a literary analogy and symbolism involved. Those implications are enough to keep several Ph.D.'s busy for a career.
Mr. Joyce was a most learned and observant man. What remarkable things must have gone on inside of his mind!
If you are interested in extending your own ability to understand what is going on around you, I recommend Ulysses as a way to fill in the backdrop of what is not said when you are with others.
If you are more than satisfied with surface reality, then by all means skip this book. You'll wonder what all the fuss is about.
Perhaps the only exception to the latter is someone who loves a musical turn of phrasing, something Joyce excels in.
Enjoy your journey!
If you are like me, you'll find that it makes sense to keep your copy on the night table. You never know when you'll be ready for another trip to 1904.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The book that most resembles, to my mind, an atlas. Really., 4. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ulysses (Vintage International) (Taschenbuch)
This is a book designed to make some people hate it, and make some people love it. That's what we all want to write - the seeds of a good debate.
Does one need to understand something to appreciate it? I first approached this book like any other - steam through the pages, and try to remember what the story was all about. I found a book which didn't make sense, a book that was near incomprehensible, and I felt frustrated that I could not see what the fuss was all about.
I could not hate a book I could not understand, however, except for the fact that it seriously dented my ego. A book I couldn't understand? Never! How dare it??
But certain fragments stayed in my mind, and I returned to it again, six months after my first read through.
Picked through the text, fell through the lyricism, and replaced the book back on the shelf, where it resided more as a symbol, a badge of courage than a book.
And I returned. Again and again. Snippets, fragments, open the book at random, extract. Replace. Repeat.
Bit by bit it began to fall into place, the characters and the ambition of the book began to emerge. Bit by bit I began to like it more. I had to stop judging it on its reputation, difficulty or intellectualism. There are sections I love, sections I find a chore to read, and sections I discover all the time. Bizarrely, previously tedious chapters began to come to life, and I began to appreciate them. Equally so, I began to dislike some I previously liked, and the whole balance is always changing. So, I can say that although I've read all the words at least thrice, I have not finished reading the book. And at my rate of a few pages a month, I never will. I hope I never will.
Most will either focus on the ambition or the difficulty of the book. There is no need to justify, I think, just read it. There is no need to judge it against any criteria other than yourself; you are the only yardstick any book needs (unless you're an academic, in which case something else is needed). There is no need to redefine "good" over and over again, and justify it.
Multifaceted, multilayered, and most of all, strangely human, this is a book I'm not done with yet, and I don't intend ever to be so.
That's why I'm giving it 5 stars. It never has ceased to uncover something new each time. The only other book that I can look at time and time again and discover something new all the time is a very good atlas! Well, that's why I think I'll give it 5 stars today. Tomorrow, maybe 4. It changes all the time.
Joyce won, didn't he? Everyone wants to write something which is near immortal, and by writing a book which would prompt endless debate, he achieved that goal.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An unique work and a remarkable novel!, 16. August 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ulysses (Vintage International) (Taschenbuch)
A very complex narrative! I think it must be the most difficult reading I ever made. Joyce built an entire new language of literature to write this remarkable novel, an original work in all aspects from tale to structure and language. People talk in many codes, from old rude Irish to Latin, Italian and common english. The description of inarticulate sounds like the cat's "Mrkgnao" was quite new to literature. The tale grasps to describe the everyday action of early century Dublin, a single day of the common life of some Irish villagers - every action, every thought and discussion, every joke, memory and dream! The story is about a man that represents the classic hero inside of the common man. Heroic deeds aren't done only in the bloody fields of senseless wars; the common man does great deeds every day without bloodshed. Remember that Ulysses was a a hero that hated war. Joyce believed that modern literature was empty within its meaningless structures and tales; only the profound significance of the classics could inject human soul back to literature. Joyce believed that people were always unconsciously reliving the classics models in their lifes, like a circle that never ends. Finally, the structure is made of many styles in order to create an entire new genre of modern literature. Think of something and you find it in "Ulysses": popular songs, discussions, theatre, oniric events, medieval tales, monologues, mind narrative... "Ulysses" has what it takes to stand among the greatest works of mankind's literature. Scholars say that Joyce wrote "Ulysses" as the book that would end with all books, the final stone of modern literature in its way to regain the soul of the classics. They may be right! "Ulysses" is a small world written into book. It's an unique piece of work!
Carlos Madeira Portugal, 16th of August of 1999
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Best book I've ever read. Period., 11. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ulysses (Vintage International) (Taschenbuch)
I don't want to elaborate on how hard this book can be to read (I think the other 75 reviews have covered that), but I will say that with Joyce you get out of it what you put into it. Those who love this book rave about its groundbreaking techniques & virtuosity of language. Those who hate this book complain that it is nothing but Joyce showing off & taunting his readers with a book that has no unity or point. This book DOES have a point. All the style in it is only used as means to an end. There are characters. There is conflict (there are several, but I believe the basic conflict is each character struggling with the reality their lives as opposed to what they want their lives to be). There is a climax (and what a climax it is). There is a resolution. This is, at heart, a very sad and haunting book. I think the message in this novel is that we are at the mercy of our lives (i.e. circumstances control us, not vice versa), and that the only way we can deal with the fact that we have no control over our lives is by fooling ourselves. It is a study of the contrast between what we think we are and what we really are. It is saying that the only way people deal with their biggest problems is by running away from them (note the way Leopold Bloom constantly avoids confronting or even thinking about his wife's adultery, and note the way Stephen Dedalus reacts when confronted by his mother; I could cite plenty of other examples). This may be the ultimate truth of life, that we can never face the truth about ourselves. Joyce never states this directly; it is left up to the reader to find for himself. I would be doing this book injustice if I didn't mention that it fleshes out 2 of the most three-dimensional, complete characters in all of literature.
This isn't a perfect book: the climax takes place about 200 pages before it ends. I also thought the last chapter, which is probably the most-praised chapter in the book, was disappointing. Joyce apparently tried to create a complete picture of a female character in about 50 pages, when it had taken him 700 pages to create 2 complete pictures of male characters. It threw off the pace of the novel to suddenly get inside the head of a completely different person. Ithaca could have easily been the last chapter, as it summed up all the day's events as opposed to going on to something totally different (which is what the last chapter did).
Still, the characters, the themes, and the sheer scope of Ulysses make it as close to perfect as any book can be.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Ulysses (Wordsworth Classics)
Ulysses (Wordsworth Classics) von James Joyce (Taschenbuch - 15. Januar 2010)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,79
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen