Kundenrezensionen


40 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (31)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Heel on earth through the eyes of a child
"First they killed My father" is Loung Ung's Horror filled account of her childhood stolen from her by Pol Pot's regime which ranks behind only Hitlers for it's brutality and inhumanity. It is also a story of a family's love and sacrafice for one another. A father and mother's love for thier children a sister's love for each other but most of all a little...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Februar 2000 von yoco

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen How much can a 5 year old remember?
This is a good book. It portrays the Khmer Rouge horrors through the eyes of a five year old child. Having spent time in Cambodia, I find the book presents a clear and accurate snapshot of Khmer life; however, there's no way a five year old could recall the facts presented in such incredible detail. I recommend, therefore, that you read this as a cursory overview...
Veröffentlicht am 16. April 2000 von Auto Lobbyist


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen The other side of the fence, 2. Mai 2000
This book starts where mine ended, March 1975. Loung Ung almost instantly snapped me back to 1975 Cambodia with her wonderful way of describing first a delightful life as a five-year-old girl then a quick slide into darkness. Loung, we tried to help but it was like running up a fast "down" escalator. There were many tears shed on our side of the fence at Pochentong airport and in the air over your sad city. I can't add any more than this to all the other reviews.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Powerful Read!, 20. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I was prompted to pick up Ms. Ung's book after having heard her on NPR's Weekend Edition. She came across as an eloquent and sincere voice in the plight of the Cambodian people. Written through the eyes of a young child, her words take you on a horrific journey into a land and time in which murder and starvation are a way of life. By the end of the book she pulled me away from my tears towards a celebration of this child's survival. This book is a must read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The story of an exceptional young woman, 31. Januar 2000
Von 
I could not put it down. Loung's story is unbelievable. While I was reading her story I grew with her. In the beginning, you feel the sadness and pain she is going through. Towards the end the little girl grows out of this sadness and becomes incredibly strong and you as the reader experience this development with her and you stop crying when she does. Loung Ung is an exceptional young woman. I admire her work, accomplishments and her strength.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An exceptionally resilient little girl, 30. April 2000
I can only endorse the above comments on Loung's compelling narrative of her 4 year ordeal under the Khmer Rouge. The book should be compulsive reading for those members of the UN and Western Governments who were not troubled by the Pol Pot regime. I have visited Cambodia 2 years ago and the photos of Loung reminded me so much of the little children around Angkor Wat. I was so affected by this book I wrote to Loung.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Bravery Written All Over It!, 4. Juni 2000
Loung Ung's "First They Killed My Father" is a detailed account of a child's experience under Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge. Though it takes you through some of the terrible tragedies that occured in Cambodia, Loung brings strength and hope to the times they when almost seem obsolete. This is one book I had a problem putting down. Hope you enjoy is as much as I did.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen First they killed my father, 6. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
War sehr leicht zu lesen und hat mir sehr gut gefallen zumal ich kürzlich in Cambodia war. Ein tolles Buch ,das einem zum nachdenken gibt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen An eyeopener, 24. November 2012
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Excellent book. Well and thoughtfully written.
Told in real time by a little girl who lived through the horrors of Pol Pot's madness. It shows how little Loung was forcibly changed from a pretty, innocent child to a person so consumed by hatred that she eagerly runs to the scene where a Khmer Rouge soldier is horribly executed - and the experience does not even affect her that much at the time.
This is a holocaust that is all too often forgotten in the West because we, or our relatives did not experience it first hand. Perhaps this book and others like it should become essential reading matter in our schools.
This brings home what it is like to be a refugee during and after a wars fought for insane cultural or religious ideals.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen GOOD BOOK., 26. August 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (Taschenbuch)
no problem with my order. the book was exactly as described and received within 7 days. would order from seller again. thanks
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Opened my Eyes, 30. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Heard the author over the radio reviewing her book. It caught my interest where I normally would have not read a book like this. This book will stay with me as a reminder of how terrible the war was.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen An Unqualified 5 y.o. Adult-Child Narrator, 18. Juni 2000
This is one of those very difficult book to review because it has so many facets: craft, history, extremely early childhood memories, lost and grief. The subject is engaging, but the style and literary effort are not.
While I find the latter parts of the book interesting because of the humanity, or lack thereof, of Ung's experiences as a child in a labor camp, I feel somewhat distracted by her narrative voice in the first third of the book. Writting about extremely early childhood memories is a very difficult task (Ung is a five-year-old at the beginning of the book, and a ten-year-old at the end). And her voice is somewhat cumbersome throughout the book. She has what is best described as an adult-child narrative voice, which, of course, at times can be profoundly philosophical or sentimental to the point of being syrupy. I find it important to keep this in mind when reading her description of her father, a former government spy and police chief, as a very kind and loving man--very much an angel on every account. Naturally given the state of Southeast Asia at the time (I am well versed in SE Asia history and culture, having worked, travelled and worked in the region for over fifteen years), this is highly unlikely for anyone with such a resume. Also she describes her family as being middle class. This is false. Although the middle class is almost non-existent in Cambodia at the time, no middle class family can have three cars, several motorcycles and maids like Ung's family. So what we have here actually is a conflict in narration. We expect the "adult-child" narrator describing her experience with the "assumed" depth and judgment of an adult; however, Ung uses another approach, one completely devoid of the honesty and impartially of an adult. Yet, this is not to say that the suffering Ung and her family endured in the labor camps were real. Indeed, it was real, perhaps, even more real than any writer can fully describe.
This is a good book, an important book; however, I feel that the author and her editor did not fully "qualify" the narrative voice. After all, this is being sold as "non-fiction", "real accounts" and "survivor's tale". What Ung doesn't remember or know, she fabricates and speculates in dream sequences. But, frankly, how many of us remember anything from when we were five years old, much less with any depth. In the end, if the editors had paid less attention to the market force and urge Ung to write more honestly or at least to qualify her memories, this would have been an unshakeable work.
For 5-stars memoirs, I highly recommend Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt and Catfish and Mandala by Andrew X. Pham.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers
First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers von Loung Ung (Taschenbuch - 9. August 2005)
EUR 10,04
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen