Kundenrezensionen


7 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (5)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen Things you were afraid to ask about firecrackers, 26. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
(As noted in the last pages of this book, firecrackers are now politically incorrect, suffering the wrath of do-gooders, safety mavens and law enforcement. For those of us old enough to remember a pre-"nanny state" summer, this book brings back wonderful memories. By the time I was old enough to get real cherry bombs, they were outlawed. But I could tell a few stories...)
I always wondered how even today, firecrackers in their millions could be produced. The answer, documented in his book, surprised me. This book reveals the fate of the companies whose names appeared on the labels I saw in the 1960s. Ever wonder what happened to Kwong Hing Tai? The authors reveal how the firecracker trade developed in China and made its way to the United States. Even some of today's importers are mentioned.
Technically speaking, the book is well printed and the illustrations are crisp and sharp, not bad for paper originals that may be most of 100 years old. Although not exhaustive, there is good reference for collectors. I'd recommend you to get a copy of this book while it is still available. I look forward to many hours of pleasure leafing through my copy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A delightful book that will spark your imagination!, 25. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
Just received this stunning book, "Firecrackers: the Art and History" by Warren Dotz, et al and George Moyer. It has brought back a flood of memories of the "good ol days" of my youth. Although I fondly recall blowing off "Black Cat" and "Red Devil" crackers, I had no idea that there were so many other beautiful brand labels produced by so many countries. The images of exploding crackers are reproduced in such vibrant color that you almost have to cover your ears. The authors have apparently gone to great lengths to include archival quality illustrations that really bring to life the historical lineage of firecrackers, from "bursting bamboo" to "atomic bombs". I wholeheartedly recommend this book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent Imagery, But Light on Historical Accuracy, 12. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
Mr Dotz's book arrived today and I promptly perused though it. The illustrations are copious and beautiful. The historical accuracy leaves much to be desired as the book suffers from the same flaws as many texts on the history of fireworks. Chief among these is the tendency to repeat the assertions of others without the requisite critical thinking. For example, there is no evidence that Marco Polo brought fireworks into Italy, the late Mr. Manochio's assertions notwithstanding. The book also wants references and bibliography, although image credits are given. The historical shortcomings aside, this is a fine book, recommended to all friends and foes of fireworks.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Stylish and historic: this book has POP!, 23. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
I absolutely love this book! As a graphic designer, I was immediately attracted to these beautiful, nostalgic and quirky firecracker labels. "Firecrackers, the Art and History" is lavishly illustrated and designed in such an artistic and playful way that the images seem to burst off the page. Furthermore, I was truly impressed with the amount of research the authors provided about the origins and history of firecrackers. The cultural history of firecrackers was surprisingly so engaging that I'll never look at them again in the same way. If you are a designer, art lover or pyromaniac you will think this book is terrific!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Art! and History?, 1. August 2000
Von 
Tom Wenke (Bellingham, WA 98225) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
Excellent beautifully illustrated book well worth the money. The illustrations and layout are extremely well done. This is easy reading that covers some terrtory not well documented anywhere else (Vietnam.) Some historical inaccuracies especially in the history of the manufacture of "Chinese" crackers in the 20th century. Overall an excellent job! Highly reccomended to anyone who has an interest in the subject, or who just likes the imagery of the old labels.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A beautiful celebraton of firecrackers as cultural icon, 16. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
Gorgeous photographs in both color and archival sepia tones. This well-researched book covers the beauty of firecrackers in both celebration and label art. Definitely a worthwhile read for anyone who's interested in Chinese culture, pyrotechnics or graphic design. A marvelous book, one of a kind. Very well done!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Fun, Informative, Beautiful etc..., 17. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History (Taschenbuch)
Anything that promotes that which is clearly an important part of American History should be applauded. The pictures are great, information good and overall a very enjoyable read. Definately something to share with the whole family!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History
Firecrackers: The Art and History: The Art of History von George Moyer (Taschenbuch - 1. Juli 2000)
EUR 14,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen