Kundenrezensionen


28 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (13)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A must for anyone serious about Perl DBI development
Programming the Perl DBI continues the long O'Reilly standard of providing accurate technical information for a reasonable price. If you develop or use Perl DBI, BUY THIS BOOK!
Chapter 2:Humble beginning to start a Perl DBI book with how to use other types of data storage and retrieval features. I found this very enlightening as a solution to persistent data...
Veröffentlicht am 24. Februar 2000 von Thomas A. Lowery

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A book about the DBI, not programming databases from Perl.
This is a good book, IF:
- You want the online documentation with some extra fluff on databases, extra examples and the DBI spec. in one handy place (pages 187 - 333 are pretty much available online, the rest of the book is the online material filled out).
- You are interested in learning about the DBI, the book is about the DBI rather than database...
Am 7. Juni 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A book about the DBI, not programming databases from Perl., 7. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
This is a good book, IF:
- You want the online documentation with some extra fluff on databases, extra examples and the DBI spec. in one handy place (pages 187 - 333 are pretty much available online, the rest of the book is the online material filled out).
- You are interested in learning about the DBI, the book is about the DBI rather than database programming.
This is not a good book, IF:
- You want to learn how to program databases from the web (the widest application of Perl today is covered on one example/page and is an absolute joke).
- You want to learn how to program databases other than Oracle (the massive Windows market, and other markets are left to you, the reader, to extrapolate techniques from the book to practice).

This is a terrible book, IF:
- You are a Perl/programming beginner.
- You want to learn about databases.
- You want to troubleshoot your application (to not include much more driver specific material, when the DBI relies so heavily on the database's driver, means that essentially the book's use is very limited in the real world).
The DBI is a great tool in the Perl armoury; this book does not do it justice. You will learn more from the online documentation, DBI mailing list and the very generous Perl community than you could ever get from here - save your money (The forthcoming 'Web Databases with Perl' from Manning looks far more promising, but it's not out until Oct 2000).
Of course, if the book is supposed to be nothing more than a guide to the DBI in the very limited scope of being a recycle and slight expansion of existing material, then you can't fault it, and it is a nice read. A lot of the reviews for the book reflect this sentiment. However, if you are after more, you will end up questioning what O'Reilly were thinking. On these grounds three stars is generous.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A must for anyone serious about Perl DBI development, 24. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
Programming the Perl DBI continues the long O'Reilly standard of providing accurate technical information for a reasonable price. If you develop or use Perl DBI, BUY THIS BOOK!
Chapter 2:Humble beginning to start a Perl DBI book with how to use other types of data storage and retrieval features. I found this very enlightening as a solution to persistent data challenges not requiring a full database system.
Chapter 3: A basic intro to SQL. Simple and to the point.
Chapter 4-6 Describes development using Perl DBI. The information is excellent, as DBI is only an interface to the database systems. These chapters describe how to use the interface, the standard features supported, and expected results. Do you want to learn about reading BLOBs or binding output columns? Need to use bound input parameters? The information is all contained in these chapters.
Chapter 7: I enjoyed the quick comparison between DBI (DBD::ODBC) and Win32::ODBC.
Chapter 8: The description of DBD::Proxy and how to begin, is worth the price of the book. These simple pages make interfacing Linux to Win32 (NT/9[58]) easier to explain and do.
The appendixes provide information about the DBI interface, what properties are available from which handle, also, a brief description of the drivers available. Good reading. I'd reference this section if selecting a database provider for a Perl solution. Enjoyed reading which driver supported what features. Is this information available in pod format, yes, however, this book provides it in one cover with an index. I'd check the driver pods for changes or additional features, as the development of DBD drivers continues.
Interacting with a database system is a complex process. Using Perl DBI gives a standard interface to this complex process. This book does not explain how to use advance features of a particular database system. This is left to the reader and the large number of database references available. If you want to use a stored procedure with a trigger or execute a stored query, Programming the Perl DBI explains how to make the call, however, you'd need to know what to execute, and results to expected.
As I stated in the beginning, this book is a must for anyone serious about using Perl DBI.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen proved its value within days of buying it, 29. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
this is a solid book that's been needed for a long time. it's a good introductory text for perl programmers on how databases work, and how to use the dbi to access them.
i'm one of many who has spent hour after hour bashing my head against the dbi. of everything i've developed in perl, database interactivity and the dbi specifically has had by far the steepest learning curve. what i would have given to have this book six months ago.
even though it comes after my painful experience, though, i've already found information in this book i hadn't gleaned elsewhere that will help me immediately in projects i'm working on. the chapter on dbish alone is worth the price of the book to me.
i'm also glad to see a very detailed breakdown by major dbd drivers. my most significant problems were sussing out the specifics of dbd::informix; even with the generous help of jonathan leffler, i had a hard time figuring out some of what's clearly stated here.
the one thing this book is missing is a detailed explanation of installing the dbi. addressing the basic issues for each major driver would probably easily double the size of the book, but this information is some of the hardest to learn on your own. since the book is targeted at perl programmers, it would be valuable to include the rdbms-specific information about installing the drivers that perl programmers are unlikely to have experience with. this information would also be crucial in easing communication with the various sysadmins and dba's whose help will likely be needed to get any perl-database project off the ground.
i'd like to see an expanded second edition, or perhaps an advanced title, to expand on this complex topic. it would be nice to see an explanation focused for db developers and dbas on how to use perl for their work.
kudos to alligator descartes and tim bunce for an excellent book that makes the dbi more accessible. once i got a rudimentary understanding of the dbi under my belt, i was quickly able to demonstrate perl's power for database connectivity in my work environment. by easing the initial learning curve, descartes and bunce are helping perl prove its reputation as an easy-to-use, powerful programming language.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Useful, even for insiders, 27. Februar 2000
Von 
Jonathan Leffler "Ankylosaurus" (Palo Alto, CA, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
I'm biassed; I'm the primary author of the DBD::Informix module. And I bought my copy of the book.
The Cheetah Book has a lot of useful information in it. Obviously, it describes the core DBI functionality very clearly, but it also contains a lot of information that was not previously available in a form comparable to what is in the book. For example, the extensive Appendix B, which lists a lot of details about each of the various drivers, is very useful and informative indeed. The information is not yet available elsewhere in this format, and you'd have to download all the drivers to be able to get all the information in one place. The guide to using the DBI Proxy Server is invaluable. The non-DBI database information in Chapter 2 is interesting; it shows how diverse the Perl modules are. And the comparison with Win32::ODBC is illuminating.
There is information in the main text which has not been documented before, such as the "use DBI qw(:sql_types);" -- that isn't in Appendix A (the DBI Specification), either, but that oversight will no doubt be fixed so that it is in 'perldoc DBI' by the time DBI 1.14 is available on CPAN.
This book does not attempt to teach you the rudiments of Perl, and nor should it. It does not teach everything about SQL, and nor should it. It doesn't teach you about every possible use of DBI, and it shouldn't try to do that either. It is a pity that the use of DBI with the Apache web server and mod_perl is not covered at all, but even that would be difficult to do sensibly. Half the effort would be in explaining how to handle HTML and CGI and not in using DBI per se. Nevertheless, should there be a second edition, this is something that should be covered in outline, even if not in complete detail.
If you have any intention of working with DBI, either as a regular user or as a driver writer, you need this book. It is clear and pleasant to read. Having the DBI specification printed in book format is worth the price of the book alone; the rest of the material is also very valuable.
Go, Buy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A must for using Perl and DBI!, 28. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
The only moan I have is that it didn't come out earlier.
The shop where I work asked me to cost a project using Perl as the back end for a T1 sales feed into an Oracle DB. They wanted to know if they could buy a package to do this. After a little research, I fell over the DBI. They were amazed at the "cost", and delighted with the speed.
I finally got the book about a week ago. Lo and behold, it also covered flat files. A large part of this shop's income comes from a custom doc library, flat files exported from many different DBs. So not only did the book aid with optimising the script I'd already written for the Oracle interface, but it's going to make all our lives easier for the next release of their commercial app.
The book is extremely well-written. (In a past life, I was a tech writer. Nothing worse than a badly written techie book.)
The flow is well thought out. Not being a DB meister, the first few chapters were extremely helpful. In my case (and I'm sure, many others as well), I had to get up on DBs in a large hurry. With the Cheetah book, I was able to do so.
The examples given are concise, easy to follow, and they _work_. The latter point is invaluable.
I would recommend this book to anyone who uses Perl and the DBI.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent resource for newcomers and experts to DBI, 25. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
As a relative newcomer to the world of Perl and DBI (but not to databases and languages), I found this book to be right on the money. Not too often do you find a book that provides just the right amount of detail.
It was nice to see core database concepts being discussed in enough detail to make novices feel comfortable, but not to the point of turning off seasoned database experts. The inclusion of advanced topics such as transactions and database proxying provide the meat that would satisfy any advanced user. And of course, no database programming book should be without a chapter on Microsoft's ODBC, and this book covers it in sufficient detail.
And to top it off, a copy of the DBI specification, as well as an outline of what constitutes a DBI driver (DBD) provides enough incentive for those who want to dig a little deeper, or to add to the long list of supported databases.
This book is a great addition to any Perl/RDBMS programmer's bookshelf, and will remain in my library for a long time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Worth it if you are serious about Perl DBI, 27. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
The man pages and perl doc just do not cover the details in depth enough for professional use of the perl DBI. While this book contains a lot of introductory material, the later chapters include many details that I have just not seen in any other reference -details that can make or break a program.
If all you are is a hacker that uses ->do() everywhere, never check error returns, don't know what an array of hash references is good for, then the contents of this book are not for you. The man pages are plenty. But if you really care about performance, and how to write programs that make the most of the facilities at hand, this book gives the details that aren't in the man pages.
For Perl programmers the Perl DBI is one of the most important facilities in the language. Understanding it depth is one of the requisities of Perl guru-dom.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Oh so *THAT*'s how it works!, 18. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
After reading the other reviews for this book, I bought it expecting a handy reference manual plus some extra tutorial stuff that I wouldn't need (I've been using DBI for years).
How wrong I was. Yes, the reference stuff is great (thanks Tim!) - but the first half of the book was entertaining to read and contained a wealth of information that I thought I knew (but didn't).
The chapter on database proxying was worth more than the purchase price in itself.
Other fine books have included a chapter or two on DBI, but they are no substitute for this.
Excellent stuff. Highly recommended.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Good DBI Reference, 25. Februar 2000
Von 
Ericson Smith (Miami, FL) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
This book is perfect of persons of my Ilk. I know Perl quite well, and I know SQL and databases just as much.
This tome fills in the blanks about DBD that hooks everything together. Most importantly, I finally have a comprehensive reference, instead of a bunch of miscellenous man pages sitting on my desktop :-)
Knowing about the intricacies of each driver (in my case Sybase) clarified several issues and helped us solve some thorny problems at my job.
More mod_perl stuff would have been nice, but when was the last time you bought a book with everything in it?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Login to the future of Perl/Database access, 23. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl (Taschenbuch)
In "Programming the Perl DBI", Alligator Descartes and Tim Bunce have taken the already excellent documentation for DBI and framed it with a techno-anthropogical view of the last 25 years of data access to one side and a menagerie of DBD function descriptions to the other. Their use of megaliths are the perfect backdrop to demonstrating the various paths in and around the DBI, and the depth and breadth of the subject coverage is exceptional. This is, hopefully, the beginning of a trend of well-written books on firmly established Perl modules.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl
Programming the Perl DBI: Database Programming with Perl von Tim Bunce (Taschenbuch - 25. Februar 2000)
EUR 28,71
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen