Kundenrezensionen


8 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (6)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A New Trend?
This is a book about Object Pascal the language, something that is long overdue. The Delphi IDE is way cool and I love using it, but the language is what makes the tool worthwhile. When I solve a work problem I do it in the language. The IDE is just a pleasant place to get the work done.
This is a reference manual not a textbook. The author's style is simple...
Veröffentlicht am 22. Juli 2000 von Jack B. Lyle

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Decent as a language reference, but..
This book is decent as a language reference, but when it comes to a conceptual reference, it falls a little short. The first 3rd is the conceptual part. The latter portion is the language reference - goes over objects and commands and such. I was hoping for a little more from a desktop reference. If I were to only buy one book, it would be from Marco Cantu.
Veröffentlicht am 13. Juli 2000 von J. Thomas Dyess


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A New Trend?, 22. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
This is a book about Object Pascal the language, something that is long overdue. The Delphi IDE is way cool and I love using it, but the language is what makes the tool worthwhile. When I solve a work problem I do it in the language. The IDE is just a pleasant place to get the work done.
This is a reference manual not a textbook. The author's style is simple and to the point. There are no silly embellishments that get in the way of the information. However, I did read the book from cover to cover and that introduced me to several new Delphi features that I haven't explored before. Now it sits on my desk and gets picked up when I have a problem.
I hope this book is the start of a trend; Delphi books that are about just part of the product. There aren't many books on the Delphi section of the shelf (even at Amazon) and unfortunately way too many of those have a distressing sameness. Part one covers the neat stuff you can do by dropping components on a form (Delphi as Visual Basic) and part two drives off into database programming (Delphi as Cobol). That was fine the first couple of times I read it, but my user interfaces are very simple (usually just one form) and I don't do database programming. My work tends to be mathematical. There have been no books on mathematical simulations in Delphi, but I can tell you it works very well for that job (yes I admit it, Delphi as Fortran).
There is a practical problem with this book. The cover fell off the second day I had it. That's a shame, because the picture of the Lynx is very nice.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The first Delphi book really worth having, 6. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
This is one of the _very_ few Delphi books not offending your intelligence.
It has a scope narrower than all other Delphi books on the market: it deals with the Delphi Pascal language itself, and with its standard library, NOT with the Visual Components Library and Windows programming. This is, however, an advantage. There are many books on VCL, but none (until now, that is) on the language itself, at least in any reasonable depth and detail.
In the past five years I've checked almost all Delphi books on the market, and bought many of them. About two years ago, while still buying, I stopped reading them. This one is different: it's a keeper.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Delphi in a Nutshell Review by Robert Meek, 30. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
If you frequent the many Delphi newsgroups and programming lists available to all via the Web as I do, you'll note one question in particular that gets asked time and time again. "Can you please advise as to a good Delphi book?" It's a question that comes in many flavors, depending of course upon the proficiency of the writer, but unfortunately is rarely answered sufficiently. Not that there aren't quite a few high-quality books being published on the subject. There are! But like so many informational resources today, these books are usually written in devotion to one or two particular areas of Delphi interest or endeavor! Great for those who already command the language and need to explore in more detail their current needs. And of course there are a few beginner's books to be found, but these seem to mostly rehash simple descriptions of the VCL components, or take the reader on an example-filled journey through basic programming situations without considering the basic information necessary to satisfying the beginner's need to know why! "Delphi in a Nutshell" is the first and ONLY manual on the Delphi programming system that blends a complete overview of the subject with the kind of nuts and bolts information that every programmer, regardless of skill level, needs available every single day! Starting with a very precise look at what a Delphi project is, how it is managed, and the many files that make it up, Lischner continues ferociously into Types, Arrays, Methods, Exception handling, pointers, and just about every conditional need a programmer might come up against! A whole chapter is devoted to the Delphi Object Model, another on Runtime Type Information, and yet another on Threads called "Concurrent Programming"...three subjects sorely under documented over the years. And broaching topics I've not read more than a few paragraphs about elsewhere, the author considers Delphi's command-line tools in detail, explaining what they're for, when to use them, and providing a complete list and definition of every parameter! Finally, the SysUtils unit is broken down in it's entirety, providing not just a brief overview, but a complete listing and explanation of every procedure, function, and constant it provides us, broken down by use in such a way that makes Delphi's own help files on the subject seem amateurish by comparison! The discussion on it's Error-handling hierarchy alone is worth the price of this book. Never before reading this had I really grasped the elegant way Delphi provides for this practical need! Saving the best for last, the largest chapter in this book is called, "Language Reference". Stuck right in the middle, making it easy to get to with the thumb and forefinger, Lischner has documented for us EVERY keyword, directive, function, procedure, variable, class, method, and property that Delphi's version of Pascal provides for us! And these aren't the simple descriptions we're used to dealing with, but detailed explanations of their use, including return values, parameters, and even error conditions. In fact, in the final pages of this chapter he offers a complete list of all the runtime exceptions, their codes, and the exception classes that handle them! Delphi coders have been waiting for this since version one, and it's inclusion here has guaranteed a place for this book on my desk! To be fair, I do have two complaints about this book. First, and as it seems to be with all great reference works, it simply isn't big enough! And I'd like to see the author expand his expertise into other, equally important aspects of Delphi, and programming in general. And second, books such as this, which will undoubtedly be handled on a daily basis, should be bound in a manner that meets this need. This one isn't, and I'm sad to say that after only two nights of reading, I'm already forced to tape the pages back in place! Even at the expense it would cause, I'd lie to see this and other references bound in spiral notebooks, or even offered as unbound, punched pages which could then be placed in readily available loose-leaf binders. If there is, and I certainly hope to see one, a second edition of this book, PLEASE bind it properly! In closing, I just want to say that I own quite a few really great Delphi books, all of them being well used as a reference during my programming excursions, but "Delphi in a Nutshell" is the FIRST one that I have actually read cover to cover! Besides it's necessary factual information, it includes a plethora of tips, warnings, and other practical considerations that could only come from someone who has spent more time actually working with Delphi than most of us could ever attest to. And is written by someone who is so conversant in the language as to make even the most complicated subjects easy to understand and follow! Lischner is to be applauded for not only providing us with an invaluable reference work, but also with a pleasurable reading experience that meets and then surpasses all competitors. For once you can believe what it says on the back cover. ""Delphi in a Nutshell" is the ONE indispensable reference for Delphi programmers!"!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ray Lischner: Delphi in a Nutshell, 28. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
I am using this book a lot. I like the reference style info together with examples. It contains much of what I've always wanted to really understand (memory management, RTTI, interfaces). Great job.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Another gem from Lischner, 31. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
"Delphi in a Nutshell" isn't just another ordinary Delphi book. Once again Ray has manage to take on topics that are unique and not covered in any detail if at all by other authors. The chapters on RTTI and the Delphi object model alone are well worth the price. This goes onto my short list of "must have" Delphi books for any serious program (Ray actually now has 3 of the 5). Good work Ray.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Decent as a language reference, but.., 13. Juli 2000
Von 
J. Thomas Dyess (Jacksonville, FL) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
This book is decent as a language reference, but when it comes to a conceptual reference, it falls a little short. The first 3rd is the conceptual part. The latter portion is the language reference - goes over objects and commands and such. I was hoping for a little more from a desktop reference. If I were to only buy one book, it would be from Marco Cantu.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen From Procedure to OOP, 26. Dezember 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
We can state that for educational reasons its better to beginn in a procedural way of programming followed by oop. In procedural programming (which predates OOP), you create constants, variables, functions, and statements. Those have to be learned before OOP. I would say that even OOP is tougher to learn and much harder to master than procedural coding, you learn it better after procedural thinking. The truth is that almost anything that can be done procedurally can be done using objects and vice versa.
The Book bridges the gap between Procedural and OOP and goes beyond.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Very userful exam and powerful!, 16. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly)) (Taschenbuch)
i have a many delphi books. but this book is best than the other books. 'Delphi in a nutshell' has a very userful example and all contents are also good. this book is a really bestest delphi book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Delphi in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference (In a Nutshell (O'Reilly))
EUR 32,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen