Kundenrezensionen


95 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (55)
4 Sterne:
 (24)
3 Sterne:
 (11)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Thorough guide with good reference
This book is not for users new to writing code. However, if you have some programming experience, you will find this an excellent source to improve and learn about JavaScript. About half of the book details how the objects, functions and events work in the language. There are some good examples of code in this section but it is mostly reading. The second half of the...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Juni 2000 von PJY

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Thorough tech reference
This book is a very complete reference for the Javascript languge. It pays particular attention to the incompatibilities that plague the different interpreters/browsers. The book is fairly well written; it doesn't cause your eyes to glaze over from jargon overload. However, it also sometimes underestimates the skill and experience of the targetted reader, IMHO...
Veröffentlicht am 12. Juli 2000 von Nicodemus


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen Not for beginners, 24. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
I am pretty new to JavaScript and so I decided to buy three book to get me started: this one, the Visual Quickstart Guide by Peachpit Press and The official Netscape JavaScript Guide.
I started with the Visual Quickstart Guide to get a basic understanding of JavaScript but soon noticed that I was just copying the scripts in the book and didn't really learn any JavaScript. This is where the Netscape Guide came into play. It took me through everything step by step and I am now able to actually programm my own stuff. I use THIS book mainly to learn the stuff the previous two books didn't cover and also as a reference, one of the really big plusses of the book. Half of the book consists of a reference that lists all the objects, properties, even-handlers and whatnot. Just amazing, has helped me numerous times!
I cannot recommend this book for absolute beginners though. It just doesn't take you through the process of learning step by step.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent resource on JavaScript, 24. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
Recently I borrowed this book from a friend, and ended up buying it. As a professional web designer, I was more than delighted to have additional resources from which to create web sites, both clients' and my own. As I learned, JavaScript has capabilities far outstretching those of HTML, such as replacing CGI forms, creating popup windows, image swapping and making the page's background fade from one color to another on entry to a page, yet is much easier to write than Sun's Java. It can be embedded into HTML documents, consequently saving time loading, compiling, and writing. JavaScript is an amazing scripting language, and though I hope to learn actual Java later, this book has proved an excellent resource in learning JavaScript and adding dynamic content to web sites I have created.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Only Book We Can't Keep Around The Office, 20. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
We have now burned through eight copies of David Flanagan's book. Everyone wants to take it to their house -- where it generally stays.
It's an incredibly useful book: comprehensive, accurate and concise. It does lack a "cookbook/how-to" section, but I don't see that as a major failing.
In any case, I believe that the best javascript "how to" repositories are on-line -- the right place for a "how-to" center, since the state of the art progresses much more quickly than a book can be updated. (Anyone remember the days when you just relied on the Navigator object to do browser checks?)
If you want my advice, don't just get one copy of this book -- get one for the office and one for home. That's what I did.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Good, but not for the beginner, 18. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
This book is a very well written book and it does cover a lot of material, but it isn't the greatest book for the beginner starting out with no knowledge of programming. Yes, they say Javascript isn't really programming, but it does a world of help to be familiar with programming to understand this book. There aren't as many examples to fully understand the concepts and I thought some of the explanations were a little vague. This would be a good book to use in conjunction with another book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The best Javascript reference, 27. April 2000
Von 
Mike Christie (Cold Spring Harbor, NY, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
This is the best Javascript reference available.
The book is divided into three sections. The first covers "Core Javascript", defining the language itself with only occasional references to how you might use it in a browser. This initially seemed to me to be a roundabout way to approach the language--why wouldn't you want to explain it by examples in a web page? However, after becoming more familiar with the language I think it was absolutely the right decision, since it avoids confusing the document object model (see below for more about that) with the language itself, a confusion common among beginners.
At the end of the first section (which developers experienced in other languages can skim, but shouldn't skip) you know what Javascript code looks like and how to do assignments, define functions, and so on. The second section, "Client-side Javascript", is where examples start to show up that you can really run in a test page of your own. The examples are good and there are plenty of them.
The heart of the second section is the discussion of the document object model. After some introductory discussion, covering windows and frames and some of the more common Javascript tasks, there's an overview of the DOM. Subsequent chapters cover it in more detail. This organization makes it pretty easy to find what you need without even resorting to the index. For example, I find the forms chapter, and the chapter on how to use cookies to save state, to be very useful, and easy to find information in.
Finally, there's a reference section at the back. This is the most valuable section once you're well on your way with the language, and is what I now use most of all. It's comprehensive and clearly written.
The book does have one weakness, which has been noted by other reviewers here: it doesn't have a "cookbook" section, showing you how to do common tasks with Javascript. This is a serious omission because of the nature of Javascript usage. Very often a webmaster for a small non-profit or a small business will decide they want to do a rollover, or add an alert for form validation failures, or something similar. Users like this need something equivalent to the "Perl Cookbook"; a "How to . . ." section that gives you an example close to what you need.
Despite this caveat, however, this is still the best book around: an excellent reference, and a great way to learn the language.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Definitive but Could be more Functional, 12. April 2000
Von 
Michael Martine (Montpelier, VT United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
A great book, but I would've preferred "how to's" that covered common JavaScript uses, like rollovers. A little "cookbook" information would truly make this the "definitive" guide. Buy it anyway. O'Reilly books are extremely well-written. The best, in fact. Many computer books look like a bunch of technical gobbledygook when you open them up. O'Reilly books read like BOOKS.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen My companion - I don't go to work without it!, 30. März 2000
Von 
David Roach (Indianapolis, IN) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
One of the best in my library. Quick read. Concise, no lame jokes or philosophical episodes, plenty of practical examples. If you want to build a site which is sure to be compatible with both IE and Netscape, this book keeps you out of the ditches. The first half is a guide and the last is a concise reference. The index is great. I never fail to find what I'm looking for.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, in-depth and easy to understand, 26. März 2000
Von 
Armen Jamkotchian "Armen" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
This is the most concise and focused book on JavaScript. I had tried two other highly recommended books prior to this one, and both left me with many unanswered questions and an image of JavaScript of being an extremely awkward and unmanageable language. This book made everything crystal-clear. There are practically no aspects of the language not revealed in the book. After reading it you will have a structured and in-depth understanding of JavaScript, including its most subtle topics. Examples are short and very helpful. Do not hesitate to buy it. I wished there was the new revision of the book to cover JavaScript 1.4.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Not a fun read, 21. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
The book is poorly laid out, and the examples are not explained thoroughly. I already knew Java, so I was able to pick up JavaScript without a large struggle, but if I hadn't known Java, I would have quit reading the book about 10 pages in. One plus is the extensive reference section (200 pages).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen average, 15. März 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) (Taschenbuch)
This book is not good and yet it is not bad. I therefore conclude that it must be in between.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us)
JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (Classique Us) von Dan Shafer (Taschenbuch - Juni 1998)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,75
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen