Kundenrezensionen


8 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (4)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Essential Guide. Buy It.
You might be put off by the title - "'Bloopers'? I don't want to know what NOT to design, I want to know WHAT to design." That was my initial reaction. I was looking for a good intro to GUI for a graduate-level course and didn't want to teach by negative example. Well, fret not. Although he uses negative examples, Johnson does it extremely well and...
Veröffentlicht am 23. Mai 2000 von Robin Kinkead

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A Very Good Book, Slightly Flawed
If everybody who creates Web sites took Jeff Johnson's advice in this book, the Web would, for sure, be a better place. My only problem with it is that the advice could be better.
I was at the session at the Computer Human Interaction conference in Holland where Jeff Johnson spoke. But another Jeff, Jeff Raskin also spoke and showed how some of Johnson's examples...
Am 23. April 2000 veröffentlicht


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Essential Guide. Buy It., 23. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
You might be put off by the title - "'Bloopers'? I don't want to know what NOT to design, I want to know WHAT to design." That was my initial reaction. I was looking for a good intro to GUI for a graduate-level course and didn't want to teach by negative example. Well, fret not. Although he uses negative examples, Johnson does it extremely well and buttresses each yang with the yin of positivity - what the design should have done, and why it went wrong. The result is easily the best of the current crop of 'how to design GUIs' texts. It is readable, well-organized, and covers all the basics. I do not agree with the other Amazon reviews which question the negative slant and Johnson's frequent self-references. For me they fit right in and are appropriate. Finally, a usability book which was usability tested, the results used in editing the book, and the whole process reported in an appendix. Marvelous.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A perfect companion for "official" user interface guidelines, 22. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
This is an indispensable book for anyone involved in the making of software. In 560 pages, Jeff Johnson presents 82 carefully selected examples of mistakes in GUI software and mistakes occuring in the process of developing GUI software (a GUI Blooper). Instead of just pointing his fingers at the Bloopers which are listed, Mr. Johnson provides a VERY exhaustive walk-through of the mistakes including: Why is this a mistake, what category does it belong to, what could be done to remedy the situation (including examples), common reasons for committing this mistake. As extras, two case stories from Mr. Johnsons career as an UI consultant are provided together with some general remarks on user centred development. My favorite chapter of the book contains examples on GUI mistakes wich are due to poor management. This chapter ought to be required reading for any software manager. The Bloopers are grouped in seven chapters: GUI Component Bloopers; Layout Bloopers; Textual Bloopers; Interaction Bloopers; Web Bloopers; Responsiveness Bloopers; Man-agement Bloopers. This grouping combined with a very extensive index makes this book ideal for reference purposes. The layout of the book is simple and clear - some may say boring. There are a number of drawings with examples of remakes of GUI elements which, although effective, are somewhat poor. For dictionary purposes this book may rightly deserve 5 stars. But due to the fact this book is overly wordy (I would say that 20% of the text is superfluous) and due to a somewhat content weak chapter on Web Bloopers, it will have to do with just four stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen I Wish I Had it 6 Months Ago, 30. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
I wish I had this book 6 months ago before my company blew money on cruddy software. The front end was absolutely horrible, but being an amateur I couldn't place my finger on what it was. My company bought the software and I bought this book. Just simply looking through the book, I now realize just what the problem with the front end was. Every single "don't" the book tells you to avoid, the software does! It blew my mind just how bad the software was. Too bad Jeff Johnson didn't do the work on the software :^( Why four stars? Some of the concepts, in my opinion, were a little difficult to work with. He gives wonderful "don'ts" for examples, but some of those "don'ts" don't seem to always have a solution for a work around. (Especially when dealing with large amounts of information.) Despite the four stars, any person who writes any code should at least look through this book, or steal a friend's.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Good Overall, 25. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
This book explains more "don't" than "do." I found several instances within projects I've been involved that Mr. Johnson rails against, and after reading his explanation, I tend to agree. That isn't to say that one will agree with everything Johnson says(you won't), but for the most part he was very insightful. My only complaint is that there aren't enough examples of how to avoid some of the problems(in some cases the remedies are only applicable in simplistic situations) - the section on TTY interfaces especially. Also note, that while the book often touches on web interfaces, the text is obviously geared towards traditional software developers. Overall, a worthy purchase.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A Very Good Book, Slightly Flawed, 23. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
If everybody who creates Web sites took Jeff Johnson's advice in this book, the Web would, for sure, be a better place. My only problem with it is that the advice could be better.
I was at the session at the Computer Human Interaction conference in Holland where Jeff Johnson spoke. But another Jeff, Jeff Raskin also spoke and showed how some of Johnson's examples could be improved.
Raskin also introduced a book, The Humane Interface, somewhat deeper than this one, that helps you to really understand Web design. I'd reccomend reading and understanding Raskin's book so that you can see the few places where Johnson's ideas don't quite work. Then you can use this book, which is 95% right.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An Essential Book for GUI Builders, 9. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
Computers and similar devices are the constant butt of jokes for one reason: bad interface design. The problem is that most professional programmers are amateur interface designers, and it shows. And it hurts.
This book is by a pro whose career has been spent in designing interfaces and correcting the errors others make. He knows what he's doing, and we'd all be a lot better off taking his advice.
If you are designing information-based products that interact with people, you should first understand every point GUI Bloopers makes. This is a how-to, with lots of good examples, clearly explained. It is neither a work of psychology nor does it delve deeply into reasons why things work or don't. Read GUI Bloopers along with Norman's delightful book, The Design of Everyday Things (for motivation) and Raskin's thoughtful and thought-provoking The Humane Interface (for future directions).
This book made it instantly into the short list of my top recommended books for people who design interfaces. Get it, read it, follow it. Your customers will thank you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great combination of theory and application, 3. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
As a web designer with no software development experience, I found this book to be very helpful. I would recommend it to all web designers who have ever found themselves struggling with making site navigation and web applications user friendly. I've spent a great deal of time with some of the classics (Edward Tufte's books and Alan Cooper's About Face), but this book offers an ideal combination of theory and examples. Very glad I found it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Wish I had this book 10 websites ago..., 2. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann) (Taschenbuch)
Then while designing my websites, I would have saved countless hours trying to figure out what is good usable GUI design versus GUI 'bloopers'. This book is chock full of pratical information which you can put to use immediately. It is organized so that you can easily look up interface design do's and don'ts by category. The author discusses each blooper in great detail and cites what should be avoided and then recommends corrective actions. To further enhance the readability, most of the do's and don'ts are illustrated with screen images. Whip this book out in customer design meetings, when discussions get bogged down about label placement, font size, alignment, menu items, responsiveness, error messages, page length, links, checkboxes, radio buttons, toggles, navigation etc, etc, etc.
This book will definitely elevate the usability of your websites to new heights!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xb8050eb8)

Dieses Produkt

GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers (Morgan Kaufmann)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 0,78
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen